A fresh thread looking for JURONG mummys...

cheesecake, for now, i work from 8.30am-6pm. But if i leave my office at 6pm, there is no way i can fetch my boy before 7pm. So i'll be changing my reporting hour to 8am so that i can leave at 5.30pm. But i also don't think i can reach my office by 8am. So now, don't know how...Have to discuss with my boss. I work at Cityhall...you??

Pri 3 liao?? Pri 3 means 9 years old liao right? Why would they give priority to a 9 year old *scratch head* Or is it because your SIL's kids very kuai4 lan4? LOL. But your gal never protest ah? If my MIL dare to leave my boy in the jumperoo, my boy will scream...even if my MIL wants to just leave him at one corner also cannot, my boy will scream the house down.

Did they object when you guys decide to put your gal at IFC? I think my BILs know liao but my MIL doesn't know yet if not she sure give me black face, haha. My husband asked maybe i could help his mum find babysitting jobs in the forum here, i was like, aiyoh i myself don't want your mum to take care of our boy you ask me to recommend her to other mummies??! Siao, i won't do it lor, later karma. Thanks for the tip, then i think i sure just walk :p Should be ok for me because i walk quite often to my MIL's place too...at first i thought i could give bus 241 a try because die die i must drop my boy there at 7am sharp. Meaning i would need to take the bus by 6.45am i think. Should be ok? Need to try it out man...

butterwaffles, mine is 8.30 to 5.30. Yah, I leave office also very hard to reach by 7pm. So you definitely cannot reach at 7pm if you knock off at 6pm. I am working at Raffles Place, close to you =)

Yes Pri 3 loh.. but the main priority goes to the 3 yr old toddler then the Pri 3 boy. So sometimes the toddler makes noise, my FIL will go pacify/attend to her first then consider my girl's needs.. Then my girl also one super baby, can tahan one.. hungry also dont cry.. so they feel its very easy to take care of her. Can leave her alone and they can go do their own things.. But to me, I think they are very bochup loh.. Your boy good leh, at least can protest.. My girl like "suffer in silence" kind..

They are very displeased with my decision, made a lot of sarcastic remarks. SIL also add fire to it.. then sometimes in FB will post remarks like "Let God bless our children, teach us cannot be stubborn, must accept others blessing etc" Put it in a nice way, but actual meaning I know one.. But luckily my hb also help me, so not too bad.. Though that is the case, until now I can still feel that they are still not happy but I dont care. What matters is my girl is happy and doing well..

Your hb so funny. If you post, then other mummies will sure ask you why you dont let your MIL take care of your boy right?

You can try out the 645am bus and see how.. My hb is taking the 7-710am bus and have to wait or sometimes cannot get onto the bus..

cheesecake, heh, brought my boy for his vaccinations ytday. PD say he big size but no need to go on diet yet!

Fwah...your SIL post on FB ah? Sometimes i post stuff on FB hor, i block out my BILs and their gfs, hahahaha! I don't have any SILs yet, heh. Ya, i think your inlaws take your gal for granted leh. But i think your gal really guai, can stay in the stroller like that?? I carry my boy but sit on my sofa, 5 mins not up, he screams already. Eh, your SIL should be happy that you guys decide to send your gal to IFC instead? Then his dad can concentrate on her kids right? Haha...If i leave at 5.30pm sharp, i can make it by 7pm one...cheong lor. But morning really very difficult. Now thinking how how how...depending on my husband is out of question. I might have to discuss with my boss and apply for slightly shorter working hours and take a pay cut

<font face="segoe ui"> morning all...after reading the posts, feel that being mummies are not easy....sigh...i told my mom to gv my ger another 2mths trial in CC, if really she cant, then i will change her to 2hrs playgroup...my mom tell me 2hrs better...faintz...haaa...anyway will see how till end of the year, i feel august is a super stress month for me...haaa...just hope everything turns out oki, sigh</font>

cutiebb, grandparents will always think stay at home better de
Yes, being mummies really not easy. That's why 1 for me is enough, no more liao. Can't tahan...financially and mentally, wuhahahahah!

<font face="segoe ui"> butterwaffles...ya...i also told hb, maybe 1 is enough, dun nid to be stress all over again...haaa</font>

butterwaffles, good hor your boy is big size! Mine is super small size.. only 8.2kg at 15months..

Last time when she doesnt know how to crawl and walk, she will guai guai stay there, but now hor, cannot sit still one.. My in laws want to take care becos they feel its easy mah, no need much effort to keep looking at her, can do own stuff.. my SIL not happy also becos when we send to IFC, then no more extra allowance for in laws so she prefer we let in laws take care.. (thats another set of long story.. haha)

Yah, if you leave at 530pm, can reach at 7pm.. but morning time really cannot negotiate with hb to help out? else really very rush for you leh.. becos you still need to take 241 back to Pioneer, need a bit more time becos of the morning rush..

cutiebb, grandparents are like that one... just stick to your plan and let her try for a bit more, if really cant then change..

The first thing I think about if got no 2 is breastfeeding! OMG, thats the most tiring thing ever, cant imagine doing that all over again.. so really must consider if really want no 2 or not..

cutiebb, sometimes, having #2 is not we want or not right...its when you look at your #1 playing alone and you start to wonder liao,whether 2 will really be better. Personally, i'm very contented with my son. But i cannot say for sure i won't have #2 because i might just have #2 for the sake of having a companion for my son...so bad of me right, hahhahaha!

cheesecake, ahhh....totally understand about your story about the allowance part :p This is part of the reason why my BILs not happy also, haha! My husband really cannot help out. He works at Changi
Sometimes Loyang, it depends. Plus he travels quite often, not in town half the time. If he is in town, he's usually out from home by 5.30am. Eh, big size may not be a good thing...because he is heavy, by the time he was 6kg plus, my cheapo baby carrier cannot use liao. I ended up buying a really expensive one but super worth it lar. My boy now 8.7kg already. But i believe once he can walk and run, weight will be normal again. You bf for very long?? I never...i only bf for 2 days in the hospital. After that, the nurse squeezed my boobs until my nipples bled. Then i found it soo painful to bf, i expressed. After confinement, i stopped totally...my boy is on total FM now, haha. But my parents say i bf also no use because i eat alot of junk food. Always drink coke and bubble tea *oops* So if you really bf hor, yes, super duper tiring. I feel that in order to bf, one must have the determination and also the support of your family members.

<font face="segoe ui"> cheesecake...ya lor...will try another 2mths and see....cos in fact my ger go CC all plus together not even 1mth...haaa....

same here....lst of all, to get conceive already stress liao, then after that BFeeding lar....haaa....all over again lor...abit scare...haaa...

butterwaffles....me same as u, sometimes see my ger alone, feel shes so lonely, but when some things happen, dun even want to think of hvg #2...haaaa</font>

cutiebb, you bad mood ah? Saw your FB status....ya...to me, mainly because financially we are very tight. But also because i don't have enough family support so it is hard to have #2. I had a very difficult pregnancy also, so think of going through the same shit for 9 months ago, i get cold feet. If i have #2, it could only be one reason: accident. LOL!

<font face="segoe ui"> butterwaffles...ya lor...hear something abt my in law again...everytime hear things abt them will boiled de....haaaa.....</font>

cutiebb, don't boil lar...count ourselves lucky that we don't live with them. I try to bochap bochap and still bochap. Very du lan sometimes but i tell myself just bochap because i don't want to put my husband in a difficult position...unless i really bobian lar. Else usually, i act blind, deaf and dumb.

Hello mummies..

RE: No 2
Yeah, sometimes I see her play alone, also thought of having a companion for her too.. So if I have one, will also is becos for No.1, so I just as bad as you all..

butterwaffles - what happen during your first pregnancy?

For bf, really need a lot of support. But only my hb support me so its a tough period for me. My In laws always blame me for total bf then my girl so small size blah blah.. Then my SIL always ask me go buy FM to standby in case I no milk.. abit demoralizing loh.. Luckily my girl is a small eater, so I managed to total bf for 8.5 mths only, stop becos that time I fell sick and need to go on antibiotics so just thought might as well stop loh.. but its super tiring process esp when I go back work, everyday bring the fridge to go, pump, bottles.. like going on holiday like that, big bag small bag.. and midnight also need to wake up to pump.. And like what you said too, must watch diet, so during bf time, I watch diet closely.. a lot of things cannot eat/drink.. so the thought of going through it again really make me super sianz! haha.

cutiebb - yeah like what butterwaffles said, we dont live with them very good liao.. just one ear in one ear out... thats what I do sometimes. Or they say anything just say ok, but dont need to take action one haha..

cheesecake, i had really bad MS, until hospitalised for dehyration...things only got better when i was around 15 weeks preg. By then, i got busy preparing for my wedding. By the time my wedding date arrived, i was already 7 months preg. After my wedding was over, i kenna PUPPP rashes and pelvic bone pain. I think in total, i was on more than 2.5months of hospitalisation leave. It was truly difficult...i was lucky that my parents tried their best to cook for me and make sure i ate. My weight dropped to 38kg at the end of my 1st trimester...But some people think i exaggerate my MS. Very sian that time, always feel very pek sek and du lan with ppl. Ppl say preg will be happy &amp; radiant, aiyo, i felt as if i was at the lowest point of my life. Now i look at my son, i know everything was worth it! But i won't do it again voluntarily....hoho.

butterwaffles, aiyo.. its must have been a difficult time for you.. imagine pregnant, weight still drop to 38kg! And to handle a wedding at the same time is not easy too.. Poor mummy... your son better treat you well ah haha =)

cheesecake, everything wrong timing lor. When my wedding dinner ended, i jitao concuss. Haha....

re: flash cards
Any mummies can share what is the most cost efficient way to DIY flashcards? I've tried goggling on ideas but somehow, there are many different guidelines on flashing cards at toddlers. If my boy is 6 months plus, should i start with dots or pictures? When i flash, must i read aloud?

Butterwaffles – you must be glad that your wedding ended liao haha...

RE: Flashcards
It also depends which method you want to use eg Shichida or GD etc.

For me, I used GD. What I did was buy the books then follow the instructions to make the cards myself. But its tedious! I ordered the cards from a paper supplier, then use the dots to paste on the cards. For numbers or words, I print them and paste on the cards cos printer not big enough to print onto cards directly..

Hi Cheesecake,

my 16 mth boy also 8.7 kg only.
last mth sick, even fall to 8.1 kg.
I also BF for 8 mths !!
my bb doesnt eat much.
Nowadays willing to eat porridge, but cannot have meat inside, even small pcs of mincemeat he will also spit out. So dunno how to let him gain weight.

Hi Butterwaffles,
how's ur solids weaning?

Hi Butterwaffles / cheesecake
how much u guys spent on material to make flashcard?

my sis makes her own flashcard too.
There is a BP for S'pore ed flashcard.
I now looking for 2nd hand flashcard also.

butterwaffles,
u must flash the card very fast <1 card per sec and to read aloud.

my boy goes to LNT, the teachers there flash the cards and read can "lightning speed"

HI mummies, I'm also a Jurong mummy - staying at JW st 24. Can I join this thread ? I chanced upon this thread as im looking for feedback on childcare in Jurong.

Hi Ann01jan,
welcome to this thread

I am looking for a small cup with attached straw for my boy, prefer with cap on the straw.
Coz nowadays he always want to snatch our cup when outside..
Or anyone come across rectangular shaped water bottles with straw that mimics package drinks?

Hi Ashwen, cheesecake,

I have tried flashing those english words &amp; math dots to my boy when he was ard 4 mth. Bt I realized it's harder for my boy to stay still &amp; undistracted, nw tat he's 9mth.

Even when I show him those educational DVDs, he also v distracted; touch this n tat, wana to move away. His attention span is maybe abt 5 mins. Any tips to make him conc a bit longer?

Ps: I bought my flash card from a mummy in d forum.

hi mummypooh,
I tried the flash card, but my son also dun really see.
But in class, he does, I guess speed and sound is the key, coz the teachers are very fast and try to go a bit higher pitch. Max per session 1-2 minutes.. tat all.

but also perhaps mine like to watch tv.. he will always pause what he is doing and run to TV if he hears music or some TV ad songs.

but dun force if he dun wan.. juz rest a while and come back to it later.

Hi Ashwen,

I think milk is the main weight gainer.. as it contains all the nutrients and vitamins the baby needs.

Eversince my girl joined the 922 IFC, her milk instake shoot up and her weight grew steadily.. now is 8.7kg at 15.5 mths as compares to 8.1kg at 14.5 mths..

RE: Flashcards
I only did the cards for Maths and Engligh. For paper I spent around $154 to buy blank flashcards, but didnt use finish so I did sell off some to other mummies.. Now still got somemore haha.. Then buy dots for maths cost around I think $15? Printer ink is expensive, think around $150 for 3 catridges.. overall, not cheap haha..

I started flashing the cards since birth. When younger its easier. When she reaches around 10-11 mths, its very difficult to flash anymore. Now depends on mood. If happy will sit down to see. If not will run away at the sight of the cards haha... So now I seldom flash the cards liao..

Welcome ann01jan!!

Ashwen, oh yes which LNT you went to? I brought my girl for trial at JE branch when she was 8.5mths. But she totally cannot concentrate.. so I brought her back to Kindermusik where she truly enjoys, can dance and drown in music kind.. haha..

Mummypooh - probably you can try different languages DVDs? Last time I show my girl the Baby can Read, sometimes she watch till yawn, then I record the Chinese program on Channel 8 Sunday morning for her, she can sit there and watch non stop. Then later I switch back to Baby can Read, then she can sit still and watch again.. funny..

Hi Cheesecake,
my son also bot dun drink so much milk leh.. day time ~ 180 ml X 2 and night and morning feed ~ 210 ml.
Usually no middle of night feed..coz he sleeps thru.

I must try to make him eat more... the prob is my MIL doesnt care or think he is small size... my SIL doesnt like her baby to be "Michelin" so controls his diet. So My MIL also used to it. So she also dun increase his milk intake. When she saw the TV ad for obese/fat kids will have health issues.. She even says oh our BB will not have such prob. I fainted.

During dinner when he doesnt wan his porridge anymore.. she will says.. milk is his main source of food..
During daytime esp late aftnn she will not give him milk or other snacks coz it is near dinnertime... "must let him be hungry.. then will eat dinner" She cooks 1 big bowl of porridge (outside handmade noodle type of big bowl) and expect him to finish all in one serving! Else she says he everything also dun eat.. might as well just give rice cereal!! I ask her to cook the porridge in early aftnn for him to eat during lunch and dinner.. she says cannot.. porridge put too long will "Sheng shui" (become diluted) and after eating will cause a lot of wind...

HI Cheesecake,
my son goes to the LNT in JE. Sometimes I wonder if he is learning stuff there.. coz he cant really follow the activities.. and like keep staring "blur blur" at teacher and other kids.

Yet, once out of class, in the common playarea, he is back to his normal self. His teacher seems to think he very "guai" and focus on learning.. haha.. so funny

cheesecake, what made you decide on GD instead? Actually, i'm not very sure which 'method' i should follow...i'm not trying to drill stuff into my boy's brain or what, just trying to stimulate him because at my MIL's, it's nothing but TV TV TV. All variety shows or the Ai show...

ashwen, you tried cooking meat in different ways? My nephew, doesn't like meat that's cooked with porridge but if it's like, 'BBQed' meat, the kind we have during CNY? The one that comes with the steamboat?? Can't rem the name offhand now *old liao* If it's dat kind, add abit of butter, he will eat! He prefers 'adult' kind of food...not sure if you know what i mean! Have you tried the Avent magic cup? Can't rem if that comes with a straw. Thou my boy now starting on solids, i've not let him try drinking from sippy cups, only hold. He will hold but he will use it to bang the floor or his own head *faint* So far ok, he's taking brown rice, oatmeal &amp; barley cereal. He has also tried carrot, apple, pear, plums, pumpkin, sweet potato, peas...am thinking of lettting him try honeydew, rock melon, broccoli, spinach soon
For me, the only flashcards i'm using now are given by my ex-boss. I've not really started DIY-ing flashcards but i have a pack of 100 blank cards, also given to me by my ex-boss. Yesterday during lunch, i went to buy a stack of A4 size papers, 280g/m3. 125 sheets cost me $22.90. I'm planning to use my office's paper cutter to cut the papers into half lor. I still can't decide if i should write the words/numbers or print. Because printing is expensive!!! I'm still reluctant to use powerpoint on my boy. He already faces the tv 12 hours a day for 5 days a week. I have very serious myopia, i don't want my boy to be like me also leh. Wow, your boy goes LNT too? I don't have the budget to send my boy to extra classes...How much do you pay for the extra classes?? Am shortening my working hours from Nov onwards from 42hours to 36 hours per week. No choice, as my company only allows employees on part-time employment to work a min. of 11 hours to a max. of 36 hours per week. So weird right? Haiz. Good point is, my boy doesnt have to wake up so early anymore, i can cook in the morning, and evening can pick him up much earlier and got time to do some activities with him. Now very cham, 8pm earliest then can reach home, by the time i change and feed him, he already tired and cranky...then next morning, 6am wake him up liao. Poor thing lor.

ann, welcome! So how's your search for a childcare centre so far? Difficult right? Mummies here have a hard time, because somehow, all childcare centres seem to be full!

mummypooh, what i feel is, i'll try to work with my boy, not against him. If he is the kind who prefers physical activities, likes to roam around, very curious/kapoh, i'll try to find activities to suit his personality, keke. Because i don't wish to destroy a child's love for learning, he must enjoy the learning process (thou i know very difficult under the education system here). Frankly, i'm also reluctant to flashcards at my boy as i feel he should be given the real thing. Why should i show him a picture of an apple and read Apple to him? A real apple, given to him, let him explore, is much better right? But i cannot help but join the kiasu ranks as the primary 1 standard now is too high, too demanding. If my boy cannot concentrate for long, cannot sit still for long, i won't push it...i'll try to find other activities. You can try visiting the kiasuparents forum. Really very helpful esp for clueless parents like me, heh. By the way, my friend advised me to start flashing colourful pictures first. After 1 year old, then start with very very simple words and numbers

re: weight
Wow...looks like my boy is overweight for his age. PD says he doesn't need to go on a diet for now but he is fast approaching the 100th percentile
I don't want him to go TAF club in future...cheesecake, your husband managed to ask the principal on how the last month's fees are deducted ah? Heh.

re: educational dvds
Anyone heard of Richard Scarry educational dvds? Am keen to buy if anyone has any to let go
I'm also looking for this book, The 5 Love Languages of Children by Dr Gary Chapman.

ashwen, a 16month old boy definitely needs his solids and i think by now, milk is the supplement, should not be the main source of food right? Your boy sleeps through the night i think it's ok. But all along, i thought for a boy his age, he should be having 3 main meals a day with snacks in between? Your MIL not worried about his weight? Overall, is your boy healthy? My MIL feels the same way about porridge, that once cooked, must consume, cannot keep for too long. But i think as long as the porridge is kept warm, finish within the day, it's ok. Your MIL can cook using the thermal pot, confirm the porridge by dinnertime still very nice and warm de. If you are worried, i suggest you visit this PD, bring your boy for an assessment. To me, she is very good and not expensive. I only go to her if my boy is unwell. Dr Dorothy Ong at Bukit Timah Plaza. Consultation is $45.

Hi Butterwaffles,
my son watch lots of TV too. Daytime mainly cartoon and SCV kids channel..
Evening will be the Ch 8 loh..
He likes colourfully pics, cars, animals and songs. Will get excited when he sees these.
My niece only likes to watch Pooh and Friends adventure - in Chinese and will request for it. She can repeat the same few shows and wont get tired. She watched so many times that she can follow what they says and tell you the story. She is 29 mth old.

Ya for meat stuff, he doesnt like meat in porridge, tough and bland but he likes fried chicken wings. He can finish one mid joint or one drumlet.. boiled chicken wing dun wan.. and likes char siew..will eat char siew bao or from wantan mee. But cannot always give these type leh.. too much salt isnt it? Overall he is healthy loh.. just small size.

LNT lesson
Weekday (Thursday or Friday) classes @ $550 per term of 12 weeks
Weekend (Saturday or Sunday) classes @ $600 per term of 12 weeks
An annual membership fee of $50 applies.
but is already cheaper compared to Shichida.
The teachers are all very nice.

Hi Butterwaffles,
my PD and GP both says he is undersize. But as long as healthy is ok. Just try to let him eat more loh..

My son likes bread, cakes, cookies, kuehs (carrot cake , chwee kueh), banana..french fries, fried chicken wing, char siew bao. Will eat boiled carrots and brocolli..

dun like sour stuff -- yogurt / sour fruits - orange, kiwi, grapes etc.

<font face="segoe ui"> wow good morning mummies...one day never read, the thread is so busy...haaa...anyway i didnt get to read all...heee...

cheesecake, you saying u send ur ger to Kindermusik, where is it?

wow, ur ger drinks more in IFC...thats amazing...haaa</font>

Ashwen – last time my girl also drank very little when she was at LSH. Now she is drinking 2 x 180ml in school and 200ml in morning and 230ml at night. Overall got almost 800ml. All the while she can finished her solids but very slow or minimal weight gain. So it appears to me its the milk that giving her the weight haha. But as what butterwaffles says, solids is a must at their age cos they are very active, need to energy to run and move around. But hor cannot give such big portion at a go, they wont be able to finish one. Somemore will make their little tummy bloated and cause indigestion. PD also says cannot feed big portion cos once tummy too full, they will feel uncomfortable.

For porridge, I think better don’t cook early and separate into two meals becos I heard that once you scoop out, will cause “wind” in the remaining portion. How I cook is, grind the rice then use a pot to bring to boil. Put the lid on for approx 15mins. After that, add a bit more water then cook for a while then soft liao. The meat/veg I will steam separately then mixed in later. Its quite fast and easy, my hb also learn too hehe..

Butterwaffles – actually i just heard from my fren that GD works for her kid, so I just bought the books and see whats to be done. Then turned out need to make flash cards which is not too bad so I just give it a try. But I have colleagues who swore by Shichida and they told me have to attend classes one. I so busy where got time to go down to town for class few times a week. So didn’t really explore it. This flashcard thingy is really to stimulate the brain. I also dunno is it becos of the flashcards, my girl is super active. Last time at my FIL place, they also everyday let her watch TV like cartoons for older kids or MIL sing KTV to her which i don’t really like. So now in IFC its good cos no TV haha. Only go home she can watch a bit during dinner, then after bath let her listen music before zzz

Maybe if you got budget, can consider kindermusik? Its costing me $308 for 8 lessons including home materials..

Forgot to update you on the school fees. The principal said the last month school fees will be deducted from the deposit and they will refund the balance to us. So just rem to give 1 calendar month notice. Eg if you plan to withdraw in 16 Dec, you have to give notice by 1 Nov. Give earlier notice if possible. I already notify them that we are withdrawing in Nov hehe..

Cutiebb, kindermusik is at tanglin mall. Now i also enjoy going to the class until my hb said that its seems I looking forward to attend class more than my girl!

Yah, I was quite surprised during the first week in the new IFC cos she finished all the milk without fuss unlike LSH where teachers have to take so much efforts and yet she still refused to drink somemore. Now I need to buy FM more often than before but I like it =)

ashwen, looks like your son prefers food that are more flavourful
I think chicken wings are fine, you can always marinate with teriyaki sauce? For sour stuff, i think it's an acquired taste! I used to hate sour stuff too when i was younger, my mum said so. Somehow as i grew older, more adventurous with food, can accept liao. Keke...ya, too much fried stuff not good right. If my son loves fast food, i think i will end up baking french fries for him at home. No matter what, home cooked food has less oil and salt. Wow, the LNT lessons are not cheap! For the Shichida classes, there is no way we can afford to send my boy there. Plus for that, the parents must be very very hardworking at home as well, practise with the kid then can see results. If that's the case, i don't see the point of sending my boy to Shichida. At most a few lessons, once i know what's going on, everything at do at home by myself right? Wuhhahahaha.

cheesecake, same...good thing abt IFC is no tv, hoho. Kindermusik is like music and dance is it? I saw the kids at Pat's Schoolhouse having kindermusik lessons, those are included in their curriculum. I'm not sure if i have the budget for this also, hahahaha! I will see how, most important is my boy enjoys himself
Ahhhh, your gal withdraw, my boy come in liao
Anyway, they'll be schoolmates next year when my boy goes Ichiban, keke. Good for you that that IFC teachers manage to get more milk into your gal! Maybe it's got to do with the environment? The centre is still new, not many kids, pretty peaceful place. Thanks for the explanation on the fees! For now, am just waiting for Nov to arrive. I think for sure my boy will scream. Brought him to KKH last weekend and he was staring at the nurse and PD. Stare for 2mins, then cry like kenna chopped. Haiz. Nowadays fetch him from my MIL's, he will jump and squeal when he sees me, very excited. But he won't cry when i say bye bye, he will grin! But I think i will cry when i put him at IFC

cutiebb, i think because LSH is the first place cheesecake's gal had to get used to...plus the aircon issue. If her gal goes to 922 first, then to LSH, things may very well be different...so it is very hard to say if this cc is good, that cc is good....at the end of the day, good or not, depends on whether our kids can adapt to the place and be happy in -_-" Trial &amp; error!

butterwaffles - yes kindermusik is music and dance.. You can let your boy go for trial before signing up. Yeah some CC includes kindermusik in the daily curriculum so its good hor but school fees maybe more exp lah..

Hmm, they will meet in Nov in IFC for a short while as I will withdraw her on 15 Nov so easier to pay school fees.. After a few times, you should be ok le.. its only beginning then we feel sad to leave our babies at IFC.. Like now, my hb just put and go haha...

cutiebb - its like what butterwaffles had said.. as long as baby is happy and healthy.. doesnt matter where.. no matter how branded or expensive a school is, if your child is not adapting well, then its a sign that we need to take action liao

hi cheesecake,
I just went to website for see.
kindermusik also available @ JP MFS
but only for 18 mth and above. (ABC music and Me)
Will u let ur gal continue after 18 mths?

The LNT term gg to finish.. my hb says want to let BB hv term break (I think he want the term break for himself, haha) So I thinking or other places as well.

I will go to the parent workshop and see.

<font face="segoe ui"> ashwen i think kindermusik at JP dun hv weekend classes...

butterwaffles &amp; cheesecake, i agree with you all...whether cheap or ex school, as long as healthy is the most impt thing...so now im seriously thinking if i shld withdraw my ger from LSH becos of health reason..and put her in apple tree 2 hrs playgroup and plus weekend enrichment class....</font>

ashwen, you mean JP has kindermusik? I didnt know! haha... my friend wants to trial the Julia Gabriel (at Forum) at 18mths, so probably I will try it out and see if my girl likes that. If not, then maybe stick back to kindermusik..

cutiebb - I thought you want to let her try out another 1 month? If she really cant adapt by then should pull out, rather than let her continue and health suffer too..

cheesecake, hmmm...i think of my boy dancing i feel like LOL. Any boxing classes for kids? My boy very violent, likes to bite things, pull hair/ears, grab plants n give them a good shake until it dies. So on 16 Nov, your gal will proceed straight to Ichiban?

ashwen, which parent workshop r you referring to?? So your boy cfm going cc next year? Actually, you've ever considered letting your boy try his hands at art &amp; craft classes? keke...

cutiebb, are you under pressure to withdraw your gal from LSH? Frankly, i think kids need a few months to adapt to a new environment. What if you pull her off, put her in the playgroup, she also falls sick or not happy? How is she doing there now actually? She has friends there? Morning she goes to school, she okay?

Hi Butterwaffles,
Kindermusik hv a parent workshop on 17 sep (fri)

my boy's fate next yr still not confirmed.
My mum says can take care next year end feb.. if my sis found a CC for my niece to start in Dec and get a maid without problem..

My plan is to continue my cc search.. and book one first for Feb-11. If by then, my mum can take care, I will cancel or see if can postpone the deposit / booking etc until he 3 year or when No 2 comes along.
If my mum cannot help in Feb-11 , at least I still hv backup plan.

<font face="segoe ui"> butterwaffles...i heard from my friend it will take 6 mths for them to be resistance against virus in school...

my ger has been falling sick since week 2, 3 and 5...this week is the 6th week...

she dun like school, every morning will cry at home lst then reach sch cry another round...but then after that oki, then when she think of us again, cry again...she got friends...friends who will help her tak water bottle, etc when she wants to goes home (cos she will usually be the lst few to go home)...but she still dun want to go sch everyday....sometimes i wonder is it she stay at home for too long liao...haaa</font>

Hi Butterwaffles,
my boy juz started to 'dance' recently too. Very cute and funny. (2-3 mth after learning to walk)
If I have time, will upload video in facebook.

Hi Cutiebb/ cheesecake
ya juz checked from website that JP MFS only have wed, 5-545 pm for ABC &amp; Me class (above 2 yr)
aiya tanglin mall not sure if my hb wans..

Jts, I just confirmed a 2D1N trip in Oct-10 to Malacca via coach. Will bring BB!! Still long time and very short trip but I am very excited to bring him for his 1st holiday overseas.

I am collecting his passport this sat.

Hope he can tahan the long boring coach ride

ashwen, so you going to the workshop with your hubby? For now, really no budget for any extra things for my boy! Haha...still haven't bring him for his virgin swim, haiz. Scared to bring him to the public pool, but the Hwa Xia ones, the outlets all not very convenient for me. I see i see...hmmm, quite uncertain hor? Will you be going ahead with your no.2? Since your boy is now 16 months liao, considered an ideal time? Sooo cute, do upload when you have the time! I still cannot imagine little kids dancing, hahaahha! Do enjoy your malacca trip, i'm tempted to go somewhere too for my boy's first year birthday next year but i think he's too young to remember anything! Might consider going away only after he is able to tell me he doesn't feel well at which area, etc etc, haha. So for the coach ride, must prepare alot of things to entertain him lor, keke.

cutiebb, same, i heard it takes them 6 months. From what you've said, i think it's ok to let your gal to continue for the time being. I know it is very heartbreaking and stressful to see her getting sick like this. I know i will be tempted to pull my son out too if the same thing happened to him....Follow your gut instinct. If you feel it's time to pull her out, then by all means...just keep in mind that when she goes N1, she'll still have to go through the whole cycle again. But again, N1-K2 can also choose the whole day kind or a few hours per day kind
Do you give your gal any supplements? I'll be starting my boy on the Childlife Colostrum Probiotics soon...strengthen his gut system, keke.

Aiyo, maybe my method of teaching flash card is wrong. I will try again n flash fast fast n see wats my son"s response. Haha. Last time, my boy also love to watch tv ESP commercial add. But nw, he dun seems to watch anymore wor. I guess he's busy exploring d things ard him. Keke

Hi butterwaffles,

Wats Childlife Colostrum Probiotics ? isit for immunity system? Can our kids eat if less than 1 yr old? I ever mentioned abt taking suppl for my boy to prepare him for his 18 mth CC, bt my hubby not v supportive coz he felt tat still so young, can his young n immature body system absorb d suppl n no side effects.

Hi Ashwen,

May i noe Wats this Kindermusik parent workshop? Isit a brief intro for parents abt their programs?Is there any registration fee?

All mummies,
Lastly, do u mummies celebrate yr child 1yr old bday?
If so, do u celebrate it? Juz like full mth party?

mummypooh, actually i agree with your husband, i also scared they are too young, should not be taking so many 'extra' stuff. But this Childlife Colostrum Probiotics is recommended by his PD so i think should be ok
More for his gut system! http://www.gnc.com.sg/product/05500010.aspx

Buy in GNC very expensive so i bought from a nice mummy who organised a spree for it...think she wanted to buy a few bottles for herself.

My boy turning 1 next year in Feb. Don't think i will hold a grand celebration for him because i feel lazy and i don't want to waste money, haha. Most likely will have a nice meal with family members, then we'll bring him out to play! Maybe go zoo, swimming etc. Am planning to make a donation to the Children's Cancer Foundation in my boy's name but not sure if that's possible, keke. Would like to make it a habit for my boy, every year his birthday, must remember the less fortunate instead of expecting cake lar, presents lar, celebrations...(save me the trouble as well ;p). But if your boy's ah gong ah ma want to celebrate for him, you also cannot say no mah rite...

For Supplements, I give my boy Totalac mixed with his regular milk - it is a milk which contains Colostrum as well.
http://www.totalife.com.my/view.php?page=Product%20Health%20Care%20-%20Totalac
I have intro Scott's Cod Liver Oil, but he dun like.

The Kindermusik workshop is free - think for parents to learn more abt the course.
http://www.kindermusik.com.sg/kindermusik-workshop.html

Birthday celebration - I had a BBQ @ SAFRA Jurong with both sides of immediately family. We didnt want a big celebration with lots of friends, but didnt want a boring sit-down dinner at restaurant.. Went to Kidz Amaze and planning to go there to swim but it rained.

I havent brought my son for public swimming too.. coz either rain / not free.. last mth he had bad flu so didnt dare to bring..
Anyway, we have own bath tub so used in as 'swimming pool' for him.

butterwaffles, u can consider a 2nd hand mambo inflatable pool. I saw abt $30 can get from the WTS Section. then BB can "swim" at home.. any time u want.. my friend has one... she always use it.

Can see my facebook a/c under the Jurng Mummies grp. I have posted pics of Bday and Video of swimming and Baby's First walk.

Oh ya, sidetrack and advertise a bit -
http://bit.ly/9okkEJ
Some items I am selling - Diaper Bag, Knee Pads for crawling babies, Pre-walker shoes, Boys Tie, Suspenders, Cowboy Style Saliva Bib, Girl's headband etc.

Butterwaffles - Yes, my girl will go Ichiban on 16 Nov..

Ashwen - We are going for our first short trip this weekend to Penang.. But we worried my girl cannot tahan the long coach journey, so we took plane instead..

RE: Colostrum
I also giving my girl this childlife one. Its to build up their immune system. Depending on the age, you can adjust the portion according to instructions. My PD actually recommend to give probiotics supplement, so I am trying out that in addition to Scotts Cod Liver Oil.

RE: Swimming
I also bought the Nambo tub for my girl to swim at home cos go to the baby swimming session is so exp. My hb said that if we fill up the tub with water also not so exp haha.. Also better cos public pool got chlorine.. might not be suitable for young babies.

RE: 1st Year Old Birthday
I only held a small gathering at my home with both sides family and a few cousins. My MIL cooked some dishes and we ordered a cake and balloons. Think if too many ppl, need to clean up like hell..