A fresh thread looking for JURONG mummys...

morning....
i wanted to bring my gal to library. but i scare she will run around n make too much noise. is the children section noisy??

ashwen,
my hubby said the same thing when i source for enrichment class for my gal. but in the end, he also agree as i insist to let her go.
i not into LNT as it is more to sit down lesson. i prefer my gal to attend lesson that is learn through play.

hi bbc,
my hubby condition like not very good... keep hearing him complaining... he had really lot and lot of pox....

my gal is okie... think her is recovering stages already..

my boy yesterday went to school... after day only kena send back.. .though he had clearance from doc but school claim there are still some not dried spot there need to go back...

poshies,

adult if kena chicken pox will be very xin ku. children will heal faster.
must be hard on u as need to take care of 3 person. do take care . ^_^

Hi ashwen,
LNT at jurong safra has relocated to their Jurong east branch le..there is no more LNT in Jurong safra.
My boy was at LNT Jurong safra for one term only, after they relocate, I didn let him continue.
He was very cranky first few lesson.. but was enjoyed after that. I cant imagine he can sit down and listens for the whole 1hour..its incredible amazing.(he is a type that cant stop moving one)
But after closed to one term I found him felt boring le.. he start to throw tantrum and not cooperate.
Anyway,Worth trying

<font face="segoe ui"> ashwen, if you want send urs to LNT, i would suggest you to look for other branch, cos im from safra branch to jurong east branch...i can say the english and chinese teachers are good, but not the japanese teacher. she cant 'click' with the toddlers, i feel, and she speaks so soft and not confident and she cant bring toddlers to attention, just doing her job...so i dont like her...so im not continuing with LNT after this term finish.

i have enrol my gal to zoophonics @ Bt Timah branch, now under waitlist...hopefully july or aug got place for her</font>

<font face="segoe ui"> morning mummies, wana ask for advise, im going to HK in early june, bringing my 18mths gal along, you think i should bring her for H1N1 jab? and this jab will cause fever right?</font>

cutiebb99,

my gal now in zoophonics in bukit timah branch. which timing did you choose? my gal is attending their 4pm lesson on sat.

i heard not everyone will develop fever after H1N1 jab.

i wanna ask for advise also...
yesterday night, i snatched a pen from my gal so that she can stop playing n go to bed. end up she cry n scream her lung out. i did not give in n carry her into her room. my hubby end up saying i am being rude to snatch things from my gal and i am leading a bad example to her. but before snatching, i had already told her afew times to give me the pen. so no choice i have to snatch away the pen lor. i know snatching is a bad example. wat will ur do if this kind of things happen?

<font face="segoe ui"> BBC, i choose sunday class 9.30am, cos i want to have the 30mins chinese lesson...heee....still on wait list lor...#3 in list...hee

i scare lei...then duno want to bring her or not, if want, then i intend to go on 29May, but heard need 2 jabs right?

for me, i also do the same, snatching...cos i told my gal, cannot take the pen, she dun listen maybe 17.5mths nia, dun understand, me say few times, still dun give. so i snatch fm her lor, same lar...cry until lungs out, theni use other stuffs to bluff her...haa</font>

Hi Cutiebb99,
ya I realised ur gal is there coz I saw your posting abt LNT in another thread abt it.
thanks for the advice.

Hi BBC,
my BB is starting to make demands and test his limits already. Basically at this age, still very diff to "explain" to them why they cannot do certain things. You can say when they in good mood. They will sort of understand. Though they might not do accordingly to your request.
You can try to exchange stuff with them. And do this often for both things they can hold and those they can't. So they will be accustomed to the idea of "exchange".

I have been trying to keep my son out of then kitchen. At 10 mth old, I brought him to the kitchen entrance. And point to him - this is your "limit". If you want to enter the kitchen, must "bao bao" cannot walk in / crawl in.
He actually understood. And will always crawl till kitchen entrance and stop and wait to be carried in. This worked for 3 mths.

But recently few days, he starts to 'test' his limits. He will put 1 hand or 1 foot into the kitchen to 'test' our reactions. If we ignore him, he will proceed further... If we says "No, cannot come in. Wait, wait" then he will "wait" for maybe a few seconds more, then try to enter again. Very funny...

Hi... i'm new to this post... just wanna ask if anyone send their child to the PCF at blk 642. would like to know if the school is good not??

and has anyone attend SMILING STAR SPEEDY CHINESE CHARACTER RECOGNITION?? i went for their briefing at my place downstair. looks like very good for learning chinese.

hello mummies!
long time no post...bz arrr...

about sling:
i use the MIM sling, even till now my boy 2.5yrs liao i still slinging him if he needs to sleep when we r out...

BBC
about the snatch pen....well very subjective hor.
u r right to give proper warningSS but perhaps ur DD dun even care whether u snatched or not. ur gal was more upset that she didnt got what she was holding previously. makes sense?
if your gal knows the concept of time, perhaps can use the 5-3-1 method:
-say mummy will keep ur pen in 5 mins time
-then after 2 mins, say mummy will keep ur pen in 3 mins time
-then after 2 mins, say mummy will keep ur pen in 1 min time
-after times up, take away pen no matter how much they cry

this is coz:
children cannot easily cope with transiting from 1 activity to another (unlike adults). in order for them to change from 1 activity to another, must give proper warnings to get them prepare themselves mentally.
eg coming up from bath, or finishing tv

errrrr too lor soh liao

Hi Pixie,
I think children can cope with activities transition. It all depend on their 'wants / desire" at that time. Don u find that they can easily drop the toy or item they are holding if they find something more interesting which comes along.
Ending TV time to transit to books.. difficult. Ending TV to go out to play?..haha piece of cake...

hi poshies....
went to Focus on the family yesterday to the little gym. brought my girl. altho shes below age limit, they let her play coz there wasn't any kids there. so if anyone is free n want to play during the late afternoons, can let me know. my girl likes the place but i think she could do with a little bit of company and it 'll be good to see some of the mums on the thread too.

its $8 ph. she lets the kid go in to try, if the kid likes and stays then pay, if dun like, dun need to pay.

i also asked abt playtime - yea...cost like 200 without funding so we have to wait wait wait...till theres funding...
pm me if interested to play at the gym. weekdays. sat is too crowded so im not keen.

Hello mummies, i'm back! Been rather busy recently, glad to see many postings here!

yun, I've visited Pat's already. Curriculum wise, i have to say they are impressive. They are teaching phonics using Letterland. My colleague tells me for phonics, there are 3 ways to teach and they are Zoophonics, Jolly and Letterland. The place is not big (Learning Vision @Biopolis is bigger) but the porridge that the auntie is cooking smells very nice ah. They only do their cooking for the kids for breakfast and teatime. The rest of meals are sent to their centre by the Pat's branch at Ridgewood. The principal is a chinese. She speaks very good mandarin but her english cannot make it. Also, now their centre opens at 7.30am instead of 7am. One thing i'm very uncomfortable with is the teachers. Only one male teacher (he was teaching music &amp; movement to the kids and the kids were having so much fun!) smiled and laughed alot, the rest of the teachers did not smile at all. All looked pretty stoned to me. Toilets are reasonably clean but small when you consider the no. of kids they have there. There is no waiting list at the moment. It is indeed very pricey and the only reason why i called the centre to visit is because i want to know why it's so expensive. And now i know why because the programmes are indeed good. But we have to consider how much our kids can actually absorb, the quality &amp; passion of the teachers and what we as parents can afford to do with our kids after work and during weekends. Even with the best programmes, if the teachers cannot deliver or our children just aren't the sort to be able to absorb fast enough, it's pretty pointless to pay so much.

re: carrier
Thanks so much mummies, for trying to help me with the baby carrier issue! I ended up buying an Infantino one from Kiddy Palace as it was having a 20% discount. Babybjorn is indeed expensive! I've decided to just get the Infantino one as i only need it to carry my son to my MIL's in the mornings. I missed him alot so for this week, i brought him home on Tue &amp; Wed nights
I don't know if this will actually improve the 'connection' between me and my son but i have to say compared to the week where i didn't bring him home for even a single weekday night, he is much more responsive to me and smiled to me more. It was tough getting up so early and taking the bus with him, and i felt bad waking him up but i enjoyed the time with him at home at nights. So now, i'll bring him home on Tue &amp; Wed nites, Mon &amp; Thur nights, i will leave him at my MIL's. Hope he won't be confused with this arrangement!

poshies, how are your husband and your gal?? Must have been really tiring to take care of him and your gal!

ashwen, my husband is the same kind as you. He commented that i'm really kiasu to look for childcare centres now and the enrichment programmes. He commented that the childcare centres i'm looking at are too expensive and asked me to consider PCF ones. His opinion is PCF ones may not be that bad and is alot more affordable. He commented that not every single programme in a 'good' school is necessary and will be enjoyed by our son. So it is better to send him to a school where it can reasonably prepare him for P1 and for enrichment, we'll see what is really necessary and what he likes so we have more control over the $ we spend. I have to say i think he makes more sense this time so i'm going for the openhouse at this new PCF centre at blk 553 Jurong West St.42. Any mummies wana go tomorrow as well? It's open from 9am-1pm
It's actually called Little Wings but from the website, it has the PAP logo so i assumed it's under PAP as well thou i'm pretty sure the fees are different too.

Angel, before i delivered my son, i bought a 2nd hand MIM sling from a nice mummy and i'm worse than you. I tried using on my son at home first but he will wail and wail. So technically, i've not properly used the sling even once. I don't know if my son really hates to be slinged or i'm just not good with one...

springles53, the playtime you referring to, how does it work? So it's $200 a month?

Re: zoophonics
I would like to know if any mummies here know if phonics are taught in kindergarten. Personally, i don't know phonics. If don't know phonics, how can we coach our kids if they have problems with it? Any places teach phonics to adults? Hahahahaha! I think it's so difficult nowadays, very competitive. Hope our kids can cope with the stress...

Hi Butterwaffles,
Thanks for sharing for the PAT'S INFO.
Teachers are very important role in the CC,they should be more friendly.So our children will be happier too...hehe..

My hubby says the same thing as your husband.
But he do agree that early education is good for the child. he saw the improvement on my son and he felt that my boy is happier too
We both can't wait to let him attend the playgroup on this september.

waw..Block 553 is quite far from my place le.. if not, I will very very keen since its a new centre.

yea, ask poshies...she is the one organising the playtime but basically it used to be 20 dollars for 3 sessions wtith funding as focus on the family is a charity non profit org. so may have to wait till sept for them to see if they can get funding. for now to do it , its v. expensive. i checked again yesterday when i went there...it will be around 200 PER parent child pair.

Dear Mummy,

I had more than 10 years of experience in taking care of newborn to young children.

Staying near Pioneer MRT, along Pioneer North Road, (or st93).

Please feel free to contact me (Auntie Gua Zi) at 92981308 or 62679881.

yun, no problem
I think teachers are the most important. Even with the best curriculum, teachers are the one carrying out the programmes. But how would we know whether teachers of a particular centre is good? It's down to trial and error sad to say! Blk 553 is not very near to my place as well but to me, ok lar, i can take bus 185 or 502. Just that got to alight at somewhere and walk through a cluster of HDB flats to get to blk 553 or take feeder bus 334. I've visited the place and i've got good vibes from the teachers there. But because it's a Saturday, can't see them in action so i'll be paying them a surprise visit next month. Fees for toddler class to N1 is $342 nett after the $300 subsidy. From N2-K2, it's $288.50 nett. I'm waiting for the openhouse next month for another PCF centre at Blk 922 (street 92) before i decide. But Blk 922's toddler class is alot more expensive, not sure why the hugh difference in fees. But it's alot nearer to me compared to blk 553.

springles53, oh i see, i know what you are talking about already, i've seen poshies posting about this! This reminds me of a friend, who is very involved in organising gatherings among the mummies she knows from this forum. They will have bi-weekly gatherings at one of the mummy's house (take turns) or somewhere child friendly and every mummy will bring their children, and together, they will have 'playtime', so that the kids can learn to socialise, have fun and learn things together. Every gathering has a different theme. Of cos, all the mummies live in the same area so it's easier. It's interesting and it's free, haha!

hello butterwaffles
my son goes to GUG in suntec and they follow the zoophonics. i should say its good, coz they emphasise on the phonics, and the zoo animals + action when saying zoo phonics helped children to remember

another popular one is the leapfrog dvds. you can go amazon and check it out

my trial: i play the 1st stage of the leapfrog to my son daily for 1 mth, he knows the phonics when i sing him the song. now he is progressing to the 2nd stage where you use the phonics to make words, especially 3 letter words + vowels. the 3rd stage is where you have consonants, and special vowels. all the stages they have catchy songs so that your child can remember how to sing and then remember
the 4th stage, if i remember correctly, are dates, months, numbers, blahblah
then the 5th stage is maths i think?? not sure

but my son remembers leapfrog way of learning than zoophonics coz he learns zoophonics once a week mah. so not fair to compare

btw mummies
i am officially a jurong mummy!
just bot a resale in jurong east, few mths down the road i will be moving to JE liao

no more chiong back from sengkang to chaichee to jurong east to sengkang daily....

but workplace is still far from home (east - west), but still i can bring my boy back home every night lor

Hi butterwaffles,

I'm a jurong mummy,the mummy meet up cum kids playgroup sounds interesting, does d child has any child age limit?it's gd for children have playmates n be more sociable.do u have any details on tat? Thanks

pixiepixel, wow, i didn't know there is this leapfrog thingy, also another way of learning phonics? I'm keen to learn phonics, i wonder where can adults learn phonics ;p I've noticed a few kindergartens sprouting up and around, like zoophonics kindergarten, shichida kindergarten etc but i don't think their curriculum can compare to those which have been much longer in the industry like Little Skool House? A few childcare centres i've visited are using Letterland and Zoophonics, have not yet come across any that uses Jolly...hmmm. Or leapfrogs dvds! Congrats to you!!!! Wow, you really fast hand fast feet leh. Mind sharing how much you've sold your sengkang flat for and is your jurong flat expensive? Happy for you! Don't know when will be my turn...i've been looking at the new punggol/sengkang BTOs and i'm so itchy to apply but cannot. Plus the resale levy of 45K if i were to buy a 2nd subsidised flat really makes me think twice. Knowing that you can bring back your kid if you wish to is great
I've been bringing my son home on Tues &amp; Wed nights to 'compensate'...it's very very tiring but the toothless grins he gives me in the mornings are just totally worth my panda eyes heh.

Daphne, the mummies meetup was an idea of my friend. I think this idea can only be made a reality if we have enought onz mummies who have enough free time to organise and come up with themes twice a month
For age limit, i'm not too sure but i think it's not a big issue, heh. But again, maybe we should have a meet up sometime, without the kids, haha!

yun, exactly, can take bus 241! I'm not sure when but when they call/email me, i'll PM you also, maybe we can go together ;p But just to let you know that for now, they already have a waiting list from toddler class to K2. Your boy toddler class right? Fees for toddler class is $577 after the $300 subsidy, not cheap thou it's a PCF centre. Much more expensive than the PCF centre at blk 553.

Good Morning Mummies!! Countdown to Long weekend. Very excited.
I have events lined up everyday!! : )
Fri : Expo - Toy Convention / Food Expo / JL Sales
Sat : Studio Photoshoot for BB + us.
Sun : Baby Gym + Isetan Trip ( to use $50 voucher from friend for BB first mth. GG to expire 31 May 2010!! Talk abt last minute)
Mon : Zoo! Will be BB first trip to the zoo.

Btw, any recommendation for Baby Gym in West or Town Area suitable for 1-2 yr old? I want to 'train" my BB better balancing skill.
Ikea one admits 1 yr old?

hi butterwaffles,
yes yes.. please PM me...thank you very much
Iam not working, so the subsidy is only $150, then I have to pay $727/month...waw..really expensive. with this kind of price, can go to Little skool house le...
Anyway, Iam still interested, please let me know..tq.

Hi ashwen,
U meant Baby gym inside IKEA alexandra ? the second floor one ? they only accept kids with height 90cm.

Hi pixiepixel,

May I Noe hw old is yr child when started on leapFrog Dvd? Do u Noe can I get those DVDs at our local toy shops or deptstore?

Hi butterwaffles,
w/o kids ah? I guess d best activities r makan cum chit-Chat or shopping for mummies only.keke. But it would be great to for kids to play w themselves while we njoy chit chat session over mealtimes.(hopefully,;p kaka)

am looking for a child care centre for my 18 mths old boy. Just wonder if any mummies here send their kids to these childcare or heard of any reviews?? Much Much appreciated

1) Ichiban Montessori @ Yunnan Cresent
2) Carpe Diem Playskool @ Taman Jurong

yun, exactly...with that amount, can go Learning Vision also
I'm still waiting for their email/call, then i will decide. Any mummies here can shed light on those few-hours-per-day nursery/kindergarten and full-day nursery/kindergarten? I just assumed that nursery and kindergarten is also whole day but now i realised i might be wrong! *sotong* Is there such a thing as full-day nursery/kindergarten?

shir shir, i didn't consider Appletree wor, so can't help you on that...how old is your kid?

mummypooh, i've seen those Leapfrog dvds sold at Robinsons, hehe. Don't know Kiddy Palace sells that or not...Ya, like an informal meet-up for jurong mummies
Would be great to know mummies who live in the same area so we can share information and lobangs! haha...

BBC, great place! The site states that admission is free for children under 1 year old but those under 1 year old know how to 'play' liao ah? heh...

smile, i've considered Ichiban Montessori before but i have not visited the place. Since you are considering that place, i assume you are living near Pioneer mrt?? Yunnan Crescent is very very near my block...I've seen a few good comments on Ichiban Montessori on other forums but would be good to pay a visit to the place yourself. I'm still deciding whether a mainstream or montessori setting is better for my son...Carpe Diem Playskool @ Taman Jurong i did not consider as my place does not have a direct bus to that school. How old is your kid??

poshies, good morning! Must be very tiring! Still need to travel for work! Mine is totally desk bound ah...small fry, no need to travel at all ;p

hihi... morning mummies..

butterwaffles,
they have a corner for bb under 1 yrs. can go there n take a look. best is to go when ur bb know how to sit on his own.
I just went yesterday to drain my gal energy... haha...

my gal finally goin to cc tmr... hope she can adapt fast....

any mummies going for motherhood fair this week? my mil on holiday... so i'm FTSAHM from Wed till Friday but need to bring 2 kids out... coz my boy CC close for a week.,... too much Chicken pox case... was bit angry coz my boy had recover from chicken pox mah....

BBC, when will babies start to sit up on their own? Not so fast right...lol. I think it's a nice place, judging from the pictures on the website. So will u be following your gal for the first few days at the cc?

Any mummies here can recommend me places where i can bring my boy for his first haircut? At first wanted to go to this place at Suntec but now i think it's too far. Prefer to go somewhere nearer...By the way...we don't have a facebook group for jurong mummies do we? ;p

Poshies,

huh!!! abit unfair on ur side.
i am not goin to motherhood fair.like nothing much to buy.

butterwaffles, bb usually can sit from 7-8 months ba... i remember my gal can sit when she is 7 months old.
you can go harbourfront, beside gymboree for his 1st haircut. can let ur son have his 1st swim there also.. very cute...

butterwaffles, thank you so much for your comment. yes i stay near Pioneer mrt
glad to hear that there are good comments on Ichiban Montessori. My boy is 14 months now. The other reason why i've chosen these 2 CC was becos they are the only one the has slot available at this moment. I've put my boy under wait list for the My First Skool at Jurong Point when he was just 3 month but yet they say still full. I fell off my chair
. I've called up other CC, they are full and on wait list too. Haizz

Are there any nice CC to recommend?

poshies, you mean the motherhood fair at Suntec is it? Aiyoh...looks like i really must try to accumulate more leave, so that when my son goes childcare, i have leave to take for such instances.

BBC, sounds interesting! My son now 15 weeks old, don't know if he is too young? The reason for my looking for a nearer place to cut his hair is because he cannot stay awake for too long. He'll get real cranky! He can stay awake/play for max 1.5hours after taking his milk, then he will be real cranky liao.

smile, wow same as me, i live next to the new sports stadium. Same here, i also fainted ah, when i just delivered my son and i called to enquire. Number of toddlers on waiting list when i called a number of weeks back was around 250. Heh. Mission impossible. I assume you will prefer CCs around our area? So far, i'm considering Cherie Hearts @Chervons and this PCF childcare at blk 553 Jurong West St.42. There will be a new PCF childcare/kindergarten at blk 922 (street 92), opening in July this year. Not sure if you mind PCF centres but if you don't, maybe you can consider. There is also a MMI at the Jurong West extension sports stadium. The Little Skool House at Jurong Safra has a long waiting list too if i'm not wrong. But you could try to enquire since they only allows parents to submit their names on the waiting list 3 months before their intended date of enrolment. Another one near to our place is Pat's Schoolhouse at Arena Country Club. Super pricey thou.

butterwaffles, yeah really big head!! Wah we live near to each other hee hee. what does PCF stand for? Is it the one under PAP? MMI, little skool house are all quite pricy, i dare not think about it ;p oh ya, u have mentioned about good comments on Ichiban Montessori, may i know what kind of good comments? So u have found a CC already?

smile, PCF stands for PAP Community Foundation, hahaha! Yaya, it's under PAP
But i've realised there is another kind called Little Wings, it has the PAP logo also *blur* Yes, MMI &amp; Little Skool House are not cheap *gulp* I think Ichiban Montessori is around $680 (exclude gst) before subsidy? There is another one called Ichiban Yunnan, this one costs slightly more, $700 (exclude gst). The few good comments i've saw were from this mummy who used to be in the pre-school industry
She seems to be very into montessori education and she did mention Ichiban Montessori, saying parents can consider this school. I've not found a CC yet...i'm still waiting for the openhouse for the new PCF opening in July before making my decision. But i've decided to send my boy to a mainstream CC instead of a montessori one so not considering montessori childcare...

butterwaffles, thanks for your comments, u are very helpful
yes it cost $680 but not sure if it's subjected to GST or not leh, if it is then i will faint again hahaha. BTW, sorry for my ignorant, what is the different between a mainstream CC and montessori CC? I am actually open for options at this moment maybe becos i don't know much hahaha...

hi Yun,
I din know that Jurong Safra LNT had close down.... haha i was original planning to put my gal there but hubby no keen as he think it is not nessary.. so in the end we din start her on any course...

Hi Cutiebb,
Read that u planning to holiday in HK, well it is good to get the jab.... u never know.... it is better prevent then sorry right.... i don think i will be travelling with kids at the moment... my boy too noti to go anywhere....

Hi Ashwen,
Children are smart... they know how to test "water" and challenge our limited... therefore u need to enforce what is needed.....

my boy till now know he can not cross or walk on road... regardless it is main road or carpark.... without adult holding his hand....