A fresh thread looking for JURONG mummys...

How about this CC
DAYSTAR CHILD DEVELOPMENT CENTRE
Blk 653C, JURONG WEST STREET 61, #01 - 460, SINGAPORE 643653

Anyone send their kids there ?

hihi...

i am also told not to put my gal name in First Skool JP. their waiting list is to long n there is no hope that my gal can get a place in there.

yun,

how old is ur child? daystar told me they do not accept 18 mths PG this yr.
maybe u can call n ask them again.

Hi BBC,
My boy is 20mos old now, actually I can wait 1 year if FIRST SCHOOL can accept him,But still rejected..
Called to FIRST SCHOOL at Blk 671 too but also FULL and was told no vacancy up to 2yrs...
Went to Brightkids at Blk 641 also full..
Called st.Elmo also full, so no choice Have to put him to Playgroup first while searching for suitable CC.Had enrolled Him to The Enrichment Classroom in Jurong West sport Complex..and can only start the playgroup in this September

Happy Mother's Day!!!!

cutiebb, wow i thought my mum is young but your MIL is even younger! Luckily your mum can help you take care of your gal. If your mum is working like mine, how to help...My dad doesn't work and hasn't been since i was in sec school. So my mum has no choice but to work as she is paying for their current 4-room at Sengkang on her own. I've enquired with HDB and confirm my flat will turn 5 years next year in November already. But to buy a 2nd subsidised flat, i'll have to pay a resale levy of 45k so i think thou i will get a 4-room resale as near to my mum as possible, i will choose to just buy off the open market and not take any HDB grant.

poshies, i take care of my son the moment i was discharged, heh. My mum trained me well lar. Day 1 onwards she trained me how to bathe, feed & change him already. Thou wound was painful and back pain, my gynae encouraged me to keep moving. He told me the more i move, the faster i will recover so i just continued to do evthing. I admit i was quite afraid when i returned to Jurong after confinement, worried i cannot cope on my own. But realised ok lar, just that almost everyday, can't have my first bite or bath until near 5pm. Don't know why also, haha. I don't dare to bring my son out also. He always cry until like i'm torturing him. Sometimes i worry my neighbours will call police! Any idea how to get rid of phlegm? I've heard some people say mix abit of pearl powder with water and let them drink. But i don't dare. I thought pearl powder is for the face?! Haiz..too bad i can only sell my flat next year!!!

ashwen, the First Skool at JP is very popular because it's relatively new and it's cheap. IIRC, after the $300 subsidy, its only $400 per month. To me, $400 is reasonable considering the location of the childcare and the facilities. But their programmes and quality of teachers, i really have no idea.

yun, ever checked out the branches of Cherie Hearts? I know there are a few branches in Jurong, you should take a look
I think there is Whispering Hearts near Frontier as well. This year confirm full lar but you can enquire about next year.

<font face="segoe ui">butterwaffles</font> <font face="segoe ui"> thats why me and my sil very angry with our in law...never think for their sons de...only know how to ask for money...and they never bought a single thing for my gal at all...always claim they are poor</font>

<font face="segoe ui">yun</font>,<font face="segoe ui"> i think next choice is cherie hearts which u can go and enquiry...</font>

yun, i went to brightkids and st elmo also.
st elmo called me 2 times, but i reject them as that time my gal have not reach 2 yrs old.

brightkids website is quite impressive and i set as my 1st choice bcos is nearest to my home. after visit, i dun like this cc. it is quite dark as they close 1 side fo their curtain. ventilation like not very gd also. maybe when i visited them was during lunch time, the whole place was filled with food smell.

i went cheerie heart. quite like it. but they dun have a place for my gal so still on waiting list.

my gal is goin to motherwell in jun. hope is a gd cc ba. cc is clean n well ventalite

HI Puffgal,
Yah,will go to carpediam and Cheri hearts to check,

Hi BBC,I went to Brightkids yesterday to ask for the registration form. I dunno who Iam talking to but the way she talk to me is quite unfriendly..she keep saying "we are full, we are full" and dun bother to explain more
Went to Whispering hearts just now, I also dun like the CC, saw few childrens sleep by the window and the window is half open from bottom, I juz find its quite dangerous coz people can see them or even touch them when they pass by..

Where is motherwell ?

Morning mummies...

hi yun,

i like carediam but hubby find them x for a void deck cc. so end up we didnt register with them. i like their indoor gym facility.
maybe u can try Q-dee. i like but x also..

i have the same experience with brightkids. i spoke to the principle and she is not friendly either. i wan to put my girl on waiting list and she say their cc is full. I told her maybe can write down her name n give me a call if there is a vacancy. she just told me to go online to fill in the form. dun even bother to write the name for me.

motherwell is at blk 976 Jurong West Street 93. my gal cousin is in this cc. so far my SIL say not bad. so just try out lor. so far hard to get feedback on this cc. only heard from my SIL.

puffgal, which part of jurong do you live at? I have to say my MIL won't jijiao about money. Thou we are only able to give her $300 a month, she still okay, still very willing to take care of my son and buy things for him. If everytime in-laws always ask $ from us, i will feel very stressed and will avoid them as much as possible *oops*

yun, i've made appointments to view a few childcare centres. Will feedback here when i'm done with them. But not all are at jurong because it is impossible for me to reach jurong by 7pm after work. I look for childcare centres that are along my way to work. So far, i've made appointments with Cherie Hearts @Chervons, Cherie Hearts @Eng Kong and Pat's Schoolhouse @Arena. Have emailed Learning Vision @Biopolis as well but haven't made appointment yet. Am also going to visit one at Yunnan Crescent as well but i haven't called yet. Another one is at Yung Ho Road, Gracefield i think. But not sure if it's a christian childcare.

Any mummies here send their kids to PCF Ayer Rajah West Coast Sparkletots? How do you all get to the childcare centre? Doesn't look very accessible to me from the map...

Hi BBC, I went to Carpediem at block 739 yesterday. However, I found the little corner(classroom) of my son's age group is too small for 12 children + 2 teacher inside and Iam thinking how they are going to sleep there..
I got the pre-registration form and the teacher told me waiting list is long, most likely have to wait after CNY 2011.

Hi Butterwaffles, yes..yes.. let me know after your visited.
I am keen on PAT'S SCHOOLHOUSE but its too costly for me (Iam SAHM now)

Halo everyone!

Seems like mani childcare centres ard jurong area fully booked wif long waiting list. I'm also on the waiting list for my first skool at JP since last yr. Looks like fat hope to get it.

yun, i have the schoolfees, timetable (daily activities) and the programme details for Pat's. Very detailed. If you want, do PM me, i can email you the document
It IS very expensive. You are a SAHM?? Then the subisdy is only $150, will be very very taxing on your husband! For me, i'm keeping an open mind. Learning Vision @Biopolis just called me so i'll be visiting this one too next week. I'm a FTWM so i need a place where it's accessible by public transport as i'll be the one doing all the fetchings in the mornings and evenings...

Angel, my son now drinks milk only! Still small...but i've wondered about your question as well. My mum told me to get a pressure cooker. She said just cook a soup, a veg dish, add rice and that's a nice meal already because for vegetables, usually can steam or stirfry? Where do you live huh? I live at one of the blks near Pioneer mrt station...

Morning....

yun, carpediem is small. thats y for that price, my hubby would not wan to put my gal there.

angel,

at least they put you on waiting list. i cant even put my gal name on their wating list. so maybe u still got hope.

i am lucky to have a nice MIL to cook for us for weekday. so i dun really have this problem. go back n eat nia.... haha BTW i cant cook. only know how to eat.... so lousy hor

something to share. after doin marketing, you can prepare fish/ pork/chicken portion that ur child needs before putting them into the fridge. just put them in a small plastics bag/ container for each portion. just take out the portion each time you wan to cook for them. small portion is also easy to defroze.

I do not have time to cook as well for weekdays, Nor does my MIL. Occassionally she will cook some soup. But not the full meal. So everyday I will tabao from the coffeeshop beside Pioneer MRT. Everyday! Everyone at the coffee shop knows me liao. Haha..

My prob is... on weekdays no one cooks for my BB as well. My MIL does not want to cook for him.

My BB is a picky eater and eats very little of what he wants to eat for that day.
I tried to cook something and put in the fridge for my MIL to reheat. But even that she also don want. She thinks that he is still small.. milk and rice cereal will do. What I prepared is "extra" esp. since he doesnt like to eat.
But recently I found out that she has been feeding him outside food coz when she eats, he will want to eat her food too.
So now that he has had outside food, even worse! He doesnt want homecooked food anymore.
My dilemma : still prepare homecook for him or give him outside food? He is only 12 mth old.

butterwaffles: I staying near lakeside mrt.
How old is ur bb?? Mine is 26mths already. Dun think milk n cereal is sufficient for his dinner.

BBC: I juz register my interest online. But was told by them my number ard 100. Where got chance? Haha. Anyway the staff there not beri friendly, n they turn down my request to view the place oso. Saying i can cum n view when they offer me a place.

Little Sunny Side Up: I myself eating tabao food everyday but i got my reservations on outside food esp for bb.
I can only reach home ard 7pm even if i knock off on time, how to bath baby n prepare my own stuff n dinner also. Headache siah!

Really envy plp got family support to look after the kids n meals.

Hi Angel,
I understand what u mean.
I usually knock off and reach home with tabao food by 615 pm. Even so, I still find it diff to change out of my work clothes, cook BB food, feed BB, eat my own food, play with BB, bath BB, esp since once I reach home BB wants me to carry. And then he sleeps by 8 pm. So everything must do in 1.5-2 hr

<font face="segoe ui"> my friend is working in Kidzone childcare, Blk 862 JW St 81...maybe can check out this one, anyone?</font>

Hi BBC,
Yah..thats what I told my hubby too.Space so small, not convenience too as I staying at block 65x, quite a distance to there.

Iam SAHM, cook everyday for my BB, like Steam codfish,corn/pork ribs/wintermelon soup but he also eats outside foods when we go outside on the weekend, he is a big eater, eats everything what we eat.
We going to Jurong Point almost everyday for Lunch, shop shop and just BB and me. Really glad that I can be with him 24/7.never regret to sacrifice my job and be a fulltime mum to take care of him.
By the way, he is 20months old

cook dinner:
have u think of catering from outside. they will deliver to ur place n only need to cook rice. think will save alot of time on cooking.

ashwen,
i feel 12 months is too young for outside food. i only start to let her try when she turned 18 months.

angel,
for bb food, i still find it quite easy to prepare. every thing just steam/ put inside the porridge. i use rice cooker to cook the porridge. is easier as dun need to look after the fire.
as for food, just pack small portion before hand. in the morning, take the meat from freezer n put in the normal fridge portion. by the time we reach home in the evening, the meat will be defroze. everything can be done in 30 min. all these are base on my weekend experience. so hope will help.

Angel, my boy is only 3 months! Haha...every growing phrase will have new challenges huh.

cutiebb, talking about childcare centres...maybe mummies here can check out Little Wings

yun, meaning you had a choice lar? Whether to be a SAHM or FTWM? For me, i don't have a choice de, die die must work, haha! If i don't work, think my boy will eat grass. Awww, very cute boy you have! It must be great, being able to care for his every need
I wish i can do dat too...

Hello jayden.
he looks so happy n cute ^_^

yun,

i can neber imagine to quite my job n stay at home with my gal. i think i will go crazy... heee
lousy mummy. u are so wei da.

I also know or think 12 mths too young for outside food. But what do you do when BB doesnt want to eat own food? In general, my BB is very guai type. But he will make a lot of fuss during mealtimes. Dun wan to eat, refuse to open mouth / spit out food / do the nausea/vomit action/ wave his arms to brush away the spoon / put his hands into the bowl to play with food /
He has been like tat from start of weaning.
Friends doesnt not believe me until they see him during mealtimes.

Whenever I hear ppl says their BB eats everything, I envy them so much.

Anyone has any tips or recipes to share with me?

BBC, i think i will ki siao too, if i face my boy 24/7 but ever since he was born, there was never a day when i wondered if i could have done more for him if i'm a SAHM
If my husband can take home 10K a month, i will stay home, hahahaha!

ashwen, i believe some children are just fussy eaters wor. I have a colleague, her gal can eat one meal a day only. She is just simply not hungry! But her weight and height are in the healthy range. My MIL always boast that the porridge she cooks, small kids sure eat. She says she will chop up veg, potatoes and carrots. Then she will grind the meat and somehow cook it until its nua nua then add the meat juice into the porridge. She mentioned that by doing that, the porridge will taste sweet naturally, no need to add soya sauce. But overall, i think as long as your boy is not losing weight, should be ok? Just now i visited a childcare centre and i was talking to the principal on how they handle fussy eaters. She said actually for them, is pretty easy because in a childcare, its basically monkey see monkey do. She said even fussy eaters who go childcare will end up eating whatever is served because their friends eat too. If they really don't want to eat, they will give milk given by the parents and add cereal. Then offer fruits...

Butterwaffles,
I can be FTWM If I put my boy in CC, but Iam wondering If I can be part with him ? iam too used to him le..like addicted.
My Hubby doesnt earn much too, so must know how to control hehe...
We are even think twice of Having number2..

<font face="segoe ui"> Ashwen, I agree with Butterwaffles...when kids goes to CC, they really monkey see monkey do...like my gf told me her gal doesnt like to drink water, but goes to CC, she see her friends drink, she also follow and there is a volume of how much they must drink everytime, so it become like a 'competition' between the kids...

even my gal, she also dun like to drink water, but when shes outside and see any kids with bottles, she will ask for her and drink together...very funny right</font>

Morning mummies.. is finally FRIDAY..

the thought of SAHM always come across my mind when my gal fall sick. i will feel heartache to leave my darling behind with my MIL n i go to work. I will feel guilty. but hubby not earning more than 10k a month so die die also have to work. haha

ashwen,
is ur son teething?

Huh...I dont know need to wait for how long till he goes to cc. Maybe I shd make friends with my neighbours and bring him over everyday for meals. hahah...
The prob is.. most of the time my MIL will handle his meals since I am working. But she doesnt see this as a prob. She always says milk and cereal is enough. Dun know why we "force" our BB to eat other stuff. But she always like to sneak snacks and other adult food for him. Frankly I think she is too lazy to cook for him everyday. That's why she is even happier that he doesnt want to eat homecooked food. She always tell my BB. "Next time u grow up, Grandma will BUY what u want to eat for u!!" Nvr once I hear her say I COOK for u.
From what I know last time when she took care of my nephew, they also always tabao food for him!!

BBC,
my son not currently is the "real" teething stage, I think, as in he is not drooling like mad. But he still bites everything he can reach.

He has always been a small eater. His current milk intake is 150 ml 2-3 times a day in day time and 180 ml just before and after sleeping.
Rice cereal = 2 times a day, 5 scoops, 150 ml water.
Now 12mths 2 wks, 8.3 kg, 72 cm.
Baby rice cracker 2 pcs / day (this is the only item he will ask for and finish.
He will ask for bananas too but can only eat abt 3-4 cm of it.

yun, if you are considering #2, then it's even harder for you to work right? For me, confirm no #2 so i don't have to think so much...Actually, working provides a sort of 'relief' for me. After 10 weeks of ML, thou i can't bear to leave my son with my MIL, i'm happy to see my colleagues again because can have lunch together and gossip! Haha...And got a chance to doll up to go to work. If i stay home all the time, i think i won't bother to dress up because really very tiring to be a SAHM
So SAHMs really wei da...

ashwen, i think your boy is abit on the petite side, so he doesn't eat as much compared to his peers. I think my boy is damn fat compared to yours! He is now 3 months and at the last PD visit when he was 2.5months, he was already 6.4kg and 61cm long. So imagine how dua jia4 he is.

Any mummies here can recommend a reasonably priced and use friendly baby carrier. I hope to bring my boy home every night soon but i need a baby carrier as i take the bus. He is too heavy for me to carry on one arm on the bus and he refused to stay in the sling (but i gota say i'm not very good with sling either). Any recommendations? I hope to get one tonight...

butterwaffles,
what is ur budget for the carrier?
I use babybjorn, a bit ex. but gives good back support for mother, esp if ur is big size.. U need for long term... can invest.
If u want can lend u mine this evening to try out with BB, make sure he likes it. Babybjorn only upright position. Is your BB's neck strong enough already?
If want budget can try to buy from the "Want to sell section".

U can also try Naforye cheaper and can carry many ways but not so much back support for parents. Got BP on-going for Naforye.

ashwen,

my gal is only drinking 150ml for milk since dunno how many months old. each day only 3 intake and cant finish every feed. she is currently 23months. her weight is only at 10kgs+-.

her weight really bother me. but doc always say as long as she eat well. den oki lor.
maybe u can give cheese.

butterwaffles,
i used babybjorn when my gal is 2 months - 12 months old. i can say is very easy to use. highly recommended.

ashwen, i'm not sure about my budget because i have no idea at all how much should a baby carrier cost. I'm looking for one that is user-friendly and not hot! Because my son perspire very easily. Can i know where you bought your Bjorn from? Which model is it huh? My son's neck is not strong enough yet. He can hold his head up for sure but not for long i feel...his head will start to do the indian dance after a while, heh.

BBC, you use bjorn too?? Looks like it's worth investing in one. Where did you buy yours and how much was it? If you can remember lar...haha.

oh i had been using bb sling since my boy... used for more than 1 year... then he know how to walk then never used... my gal used till now also can used.... coz she love to be carry mah...

on leave today so no chance to touch pc till now. My BB just nap when we want to go out!! hahah..
Gg Qian Hu Fish Farm later to see fishes!!

hihi poshies..
long time no hear from you. I hope ur hubby n gal are oki now. take care

ashwen,
nice day to go on leave today. this morning rain so heavy, i dun feel like goin to work. haha

Hi BBC,
got rain this morning? Sorry didnt know it rained. Coz we woke up at 11 am. All 3 of us..me, HB and BB. haha.. My MIL was up early as usual.. commented we 3 sleep till "the Sun shines on backside" then wake up..

Went to Qian Hu juz now.. found that the fish variety seems to have reduces and so has the sizes..
Anyway, my BB not interested in the fishes. More keen on making friends with other ppl there.

was also at the Library on Sunday. BB also spent all his time walking ard, making friends, pushing chairs and throwing books from shelves to the floor.
I think he annoyed many parents as he distracted many kids. But seeing how happy he is and how much he enjoys and laughs.. I really can't bear to stop him.
When I looked at how grumpy/serious/and even unfriendly some of the other kids are, I really start to wonder.. will my BB grow out of this innocent and genuine friendliness and jovial nature.

While here I am, busy looking for enrichment schools for him. My HB says I am too kiasu... and trying to deprive my BB on his childhood.

Any mum has any advice/ experience to share?

Btw, any comments on Little Neuro Tree at Safra?