A fresh thread looking for JURONG mummys...

poshies, no leh, i'm not breastfeeding. I only expressed for one month then stopped already so all along, he was bottle-fed. Avent teat...

pixiepixel, heh, happy hor...you must miss your boy alot :p) I won't say he shakes his head but his head will move alot, as if trying to get the teat off his mouth. If i continue to hold the teat in his mouth, he will use his hands to 'beat' my hand or 'push' the teat off! What is rooting??? Yes you are right, after a while, he will accept the teat...What am i doing wrong huh?

butterwaffles
rooting usually more for breastfed babies but any baby will root. it is a baby's instinct to turn the head left & right to search for the mother's nipples.
im not sure if your boy is rooting, because i dont know his feeding history. is your boy both on latching and bottle feeding? if so, yes he should be rooting for your nipple, and not for the teat. thats why dont want the teat that was in his mouth.

whats the brand of your teat?

hihi...

regarding teat, my gal have problem with avent teat. she cnt suck well. so i change to NUK latex teat and it work perfectly fine for her.
maybe u may wanna try.

pixiepixel,
hope ur boy get well soon.

<font face="segoe ui"> hello mummies, its me, MIA for so long...just started a new workplace, so didnt dare to come in here...hows everyone?</font>}

hi butterwaffles...
maybe u want to consider to change the teat... coz i realise most babies find avnet teat too hard.... u might want to consider pigeon, coz their wide neck on fix nicely with avnet bottles... so u don need to change the bottles... if not if can only consider nuk as their teat design is more closely to nipple....

haha just nope i have pigeon wide teat bottle size s for sales.... haha good to clear my extra too... haha it is brand new... my gal had promoted to size y... don know why i bot so many size s at that time... don know whether can go back n exchange anot...

Hi Morning...

cutiebb99,

how's ur new work place??

Poshies,

we can start in May ah. Let me know more k details k. even my fren's oct 09 bb aslo can join in?

pixiepixel, BBC, poshies, my boy is 100% bottle-fed. Alamak, i already bought extra Avent teats somemore. I've never considered the possibility of the teats being unsuitable because i use avent teats ever since he was born. So if even after a while, he accepts the teat, i should change too? For his pacifier, i give him Nuk thou....

Last night my MIL pushed the issue of leaving my boy with her during week nights again. I don't know how to reject her nicely. I tried telling her that i'll definitely leave my boy with her if i'm tired out from work or if i work OT but she won't have it!

Really worried that my boy will not be close to me if i really leave him with her thou pixiepixel had assured me that it won't happen. Any weekend mummies here can share experience? Last night my boy stayed over with my MIL's and now i'm missing him like crazy thou i enjoyed my first good night's sleep in 2 months. I feel guilty for leaving him there but also too tired out. How can i maintain the bond? Everytime i bring him over to see MIL, she'll never let me carry him anymore even if he wails his head off. Part of the reason why she is pretty insistent on me leaving my boy with her on weeknights is because i need to take a bus to her place. She feels it is not safe for me to carry my boy on my own to take public transport because i buay steady...

Butterwaffles,

maybe buy a NUK big teat to try out.
if really have to put ur son with ur in law during weekday, u may try to maintain the bond by bathing or feeding him.

BBC, thanks! If my boy continues to 'shake' head, i'll give both Nuk and Pigeon a try..cos i don't want to change teats if the head shaking is just a weird habit of his -_-"

Once my boy is at my MIL's, i'll never get the chance to do anything with him. The more i think about it, the more i feel i can't do it thou i know it'll mean ample rest for me at night. Can i know how you mummies cope with a colicky baby during the first few months while having to work in the day? For sure i'll be the only one handling him at night because my husband will never wake up...

hi butterwaffles,
if ur mil near u?? if yes u can go n visit him everynight one mah...

actually i'm weekend parent for my gal due to my boy need more attention though he is bigger but also my mil prefer to stay at her place so my gal playgroup is at her place now.. my gal was with me till 2 year, before that my mil will come to my place on monday stay till wed which she will bring my gal back to her place till fri and bring her place... at 1st is okie coz my boy got lesson on thus night.... now as she start playgroup (my gal is the one request for school) i will only see her in the weekend... but the last weekend and coming weekend she will not be at home... last night i just ask my hubby will my gal don want to come back..

my gal is very funny one... every week monday morning she don want her nanny only want mummy, on friday evening when she see me, she don want mummy only want nanny.... haha i have to con her at night coz my mil will go back on friday... then i will take of 2 kids over the weekend... will bring my kids to my mother place on sun....

but your child is your child they will still stick to you want... my gal from young is taken care by my mil in law, once i stop latching on... i bfg till she is 18 month old... but she prefer bottle feed, coz i beat her when she teething, that is when she refuse to latch...(meaning when she is 4 month old) she had been sleeping with my mil but she is still very close to her..... basically to her, it is either mummy or nanny.... so don need to worry.

poshies, my MIL stays a few street away from me. I have a direct bus to her place...about 15mins' bus ride. It's true that i can go visit my son every night. But i am still worried and jealous...Maybe cos i'm a first time mum and i don't really like my MIL or agree with the way she does things. Because if the main caregiver were to be my own mum, i would gladly let my son stay with her! Very bad lar i know...Just now brought my son back from my MIL's, he stayed a night with her. Now whenever i try to carry or feed him, he wails like mad. He only goes quiet when my husband took over. I really feel so hurt....

it friday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3861673.gif

hi butterwaffles,
it normal because she is not your mother.... i'm the same... that why my 1st born was closer to my mother instead of my in law despite they come to visit us once a week when my boy was below 1 year old... we don own a car.... so it is more easier for them to come up instead we go down..... but my mother always tell me u should be happy that someone willingly to take of the baby... coz nowsday not all grandparent willingly to take care of baby.... so just relax.....

do note baby is very sentitive... they can feel.... it might be u are tired or worry when u carry him...... that why he cry...... baby can feel our emotion better then us.....

butterwaffles,
dun be upset. for my case, when my gal is abt ur son age, she prefer my mother n dun want anyone but her. i am hurt as well n get jealous. until now, she still prefer my mum, even though i bring my gal home every night.
lucky i will bring my gal home, if not she will stick to my mum like glue. haha...

RE: colic bb

my massage lady teach me to massage my gal lower thigh. stoke up n down. i dunno whether does it help, but my gal dun have serious colic problem.

my sis recommend a colic med for bb which can buy from any pharmacy. the brand i need to check it out.

if u dun trust those off the shelve med, u may bring ur bb to see pd regarding colic. they will give u med to relieve the wind

i do know many pple give grip water (fei zai shuai) for bb. they say will help in stomach wind. i am not sure as i dun let my gal drink.

hope these information help.

poshies, i do feel grateful and happy that she is very willing to take care of bb because we cannot afford infantcare services and my mum is working. But everytime she hogs the bb, don't even let me carry when i ask, i feel like slapping her *god forgive me* Maybe bb can feel my fear when i carry him? Last night, he willingly let me feed him..but i think it's because he was too sleepy, hah! I also realised now, he prefers to be held in an upright position which i don't know how to!!! I've decided to go ahead and tell my MIL that i wish to take care of bb at nights and if i'm really tired, i will definitely let bb stay overnight with her. I hope she will be reasonable as i've told her this before and she said, "No lar no need, you just put him here, Fri then you come and pick him up, if you free after work you come and see him lor if not nevermind lar". !!!!!!

BBC, i won't feel so bad if my son prefers my mum. I just hope he won't prefer my MIL over me *oops* Yes, that's what my massage lady taught me too...i did try but he screamed like mad. I still do it thou...when he is more relaxed. I think the colic med you meant is Ridwind or another one that starts with D. I've already brought him to see PD when he was 5 weeks plus old. Was prescribed Ridwind lor, which i've already started to give him before i saw PD. PD instructed me to do some stuff before we feed him and rotate. Colic drops, gripewater mixed with warm water, tummy massage with ru yi oil. So now everyday before we feed him, we will rotate the methods...Yes, my son is the first grandchild for both sides. But i'm the mum you know. Everytime think for grandparents then what about me?? I know i shouldn't be whining..just letting off steam here...heh.

hi butterwaffles,
talk to your hubby see what he prefer???? u might surprise he might want to see his son everyday..... my hubby is the type... don really keen in helping to take care of the kids but want to see them... therefore my kids was at home..... but after a while.... my boy hyper... so sometime he will ask my mother to take care of him.... luckily as my job need to travel... my boy is okie to stay with my mother..... hahaha... my hubbygood life one... when i travel he don need to bbsit the children one... 1 will go to my mother place another one go to my in law place....

bbc,
my kids all drink grip water.... don know whether it help but they all don have colic issues.... coz i make sure i burp them after milk till about 1 year old then i don pat them... to burp

New to this thread.
I am FTWM, my boy is turning 1 this month.
Looking for a weekend playgroup / 1-2 hr classes for him preferably in Jurong West

Any recomendation?

Else considering Shichida Method

hi...i live near jpt at st 64.

so busy..sorry no log in...sick, baby sick...thats enuff to keep me busy.

kindermusik good? very expensive leh. now so many kids sick, i also scard to bring my gal to classes until shes 2.

Hi Butterwaffles,

I partial BF and FM for my son till he was 8 mth old. So he was still rooting till abt 6 mth old.
But I think rooting is common for young BB, it is a natural reflex.

My boy like Avent teats as well, too hard and "does not fit" his mouth, will leak at side of mouth. I used it for 2 mths. Then I switched to Pigeon Peristaltic Nipples.

http://www.pigeonbaby.info/index.php?option=com_virtuemart&amp;Itemid=45

Poshies, if size of nipple is too small, there is tool : Baby Farlin bottle nipple hole puncher
1 pack comes with 3 sizes.
http://www.shopbug.com/catalog/product_info.php/products_id/2486
I got mine at Kidsmall IMM, but maybe Kiddy Palace might have too.

butterwaffles,

u have done alot of things n ur bb still have colic. try to prevent him from long crying. cos crying will cause wind in stomach also.

i fully understand u. 1st time mum is like that. i think u better get ur hubby to talk to ur MIL. is better this way than u go against her request. let mother n son settle themselves. but provided ur hubby want to bring ur son back home everyday lor.

welcome little sunny side up.

i bring my gal to zoophonics. Jurong has 1 branch. u may wanna try out. I personally prefer beauty world branch.

poshies,

ur hubby really gd life. use eye power only.
my hubby is very ker lian... everything also need to do... he very hands on. lucky me. heeee

poshies, my husband 'anything'. My husband is like yours, want to see and play with bb but don't want to take care. So if i want to bring bb back home everyday, i must be prepared to take care of him at night on my own. Even during confinement, he KO at nights. I do all the night feeds...and most of the day feeds come to think of it. If my husband is in a good mood, has enough sleep, he will help. If not, tan gu gu ok....He doesn't feel safe being with bb on his own also. Even if i go bathe, he will ask me to hurry up. Which is weird because i find that bb prefers him!

BBC, PD said colic has no known cause and that most bavies will have colic to some degree but most will be fine after they turn 3 months. Things will worsen around week 8 and should slowly improve after that. So i'm really hoping...I think plus he has reflux problems so he really can't sleep well. Every time after feeding, must hold him up 20 mins at least. So sometimes, i am very very tired...I did tell my husband, asked him to inform his mum. He told he actually already told his mum but i guess his mum is trying her luck with me because everytime she brings up sensitive issues, its always when i'm alone with her, not when husband is around.

Little Sunny Side Up, my boy will have milk leaking out also when drinking but not all the time. Sometimes when he is so hungry, he drinks up everything, no leak at all! Sometimes he doesn't feel like drinking, will 'play' with the milk in his mouth so it just leaked everywhere!

Hi Butterwaffles,

correction to my above post, he DUN like Avent.
The leaking of milk only happened with Avent, not Pigeon.
I use Rid Wind for Colic as well. Think quite effective.

I had finish my 6km run/walk mainly walk now waiting for my boy to come for his 1km dash run, meaning I got 1 more km to go

Actually my hubby don reAlly want to handle bb coz he know his patience but at least he mop floor n wash toilet but surprising there is once he stay at home to take care of his gal when she is about 1 year old bath her too. Now for my boy older some time if he no school n I can't take off he will take leave to take care of him

Hi Morning mummies... how's ur weekend??

butterwaffles,

next time ur MIL bring up the issue again. u just tell her is ur hubby decision.. push everything to ur hubby... heee.. i am very bad hor

poshies,

think all the husband can take care. is whether they wan or not. I feel mummies will know what bb wants n react faster than the daddies. so end up we do most of the things...
we r efficient mummies.... hoho

poshies

your hb like mine, like to play with boy but dun like to look after. so weekend, i do the bathing, feeding, and putting my boy to sleep. if i not free, he will bring my boy to mil place....winner lor

but recently he's improving lah. can take care of ah boy by himself liao etc etc

BBC
envy envy leh, a lot of hbs not hands on one hor!!

mty leg now then start pain.... haiz...

right talking about walk or run... anyone keen in shape run or great eastern women run.... see whether got kaki anot...

hi pixelpixel,
i think it is pretty common but nowsaday i also come across pretty lot of hand on father lah.... i think my hubby is more willingly to take of my no 2 than no 1 when younger... as i think he roughly know what is expecting.... but as my no 1 grow bigger ... he is more willing to take care of him... my boy also willing to stay with daddy at home while i do some stuff...

morning....

something to share

i happened to saw a father who brought her bb gal(abt 6 mths) out all alone. we met at the nursing rm. i forgot which shopping center is it. i wanted to change my gal diaper and was waiting for him to finish. he just finished feeding his bb and after that he changed her diaper. he put his bb into the sling, n used hot water from the nursing rm to wash milk bottle.
he carried a big bb bag on his back n a bb sling infront of him.
my hubby was with me den. i ask him whether he can be like that father. he said NO WAY!!! haha....

i really salute him. even until now, i still do not dare to bring my gal out alone.

<font color="0000ff"><font face="segoe ui"> Morning Mummies....

back again in action...haa...this week 3rd week in new workplace...slightly more daring...haaa.....

so far, okay, still learning and doing some minor works...hee

hows everyone??? so many 'new' members???</font></font>

bbc
ah really? i always bring my boy out alone and i enjoy it. then my hb will not bark orders at me (which i hate). "hold him!"; "dont let him go there!" etc etc
i very pek chek....do it yourself lah!!!

so i got chance to go out alone with my boy im very happy...and i dont bring out stroller, either he walks or i sling him. hes >2yo but i still sling him if he's too tired

good morning. My hubby likes to claim he is very hands on. He will be like "I got change diaper-- few times leh" "I got feed BB - few times" ... "I got bath BB - once" ... etc.
U guys know what I mean.. My HB has nvr stay home alone with BB or brought him out alone yet.
Dont tink the idea ever crossed his mind.
My MIL stays wif us. So he knows he can always ask his mum to settle.

But BB definitely associates Daddy = Play time.
He is very happy to see Daddy and get very excited in anticipation - for "catching" and for "tickle time" or for "Superman-time"

same same ashwen
but heng nowadays my hb is more hands-on compared to last time (i.e.first 12-18mths). last time was simply terrible, i do everything + housework...
nowadays he will look after but will claimed that he looks after ah boy the whole morning (not true) or whole afternoon (not true)

Haha.. ya loh even if he "looks after" BB for whole morning / afternn = sit together to watch TV or BB play with toys, he surfs net beside him. tat type of looks after.

ashwen
my point exactly!!!!
his "look after" is being in the same room with ah boy, but he plays the PSP while ah boy plays in the room. most of the time my boy sticks with me (80%) and we do things together (housework, play, snack etc) but to my hb, he is officially "looking after" while i cook or do housework lor

rubbishhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Mummies, can totally understand how you all feel! Haha...my husband also same pattern lah. Thou he kept swearing he will be hands-on and will help out, so that i can continue with my part-time degree. But now??! Wth, i wana go pee also difficult lor. That's why i will never ever have #2. What's the point of having #2 when everything just falls back on me? I salute to all mummies who can handle so much on their own!