5months baby boy not drinking milk nor taking cereals.. help needed

valc,
if u latch on, will she drink?
if she does, then she is juz rejecting bottle feeding. nothg wrong with her physically.

Try latch her and c got difference anot.

If u concern abt her intake, u can feed her with a cup or use syringe

sungrapes, yeah... the worst is over !! *phew* but her wt gain prob still persists... still not putting on much wt leh...

valc, i am using the level 2 teat for her now. its meant for babies 3 mths and older. yr baby is not yet 3 mths rite ??

actually tho my gal is not vomitting already, feeding her can still be challenging... wat we do is to give her pacifier when she starts to fuss. when she cools down, quickly take out the pacifer and pop the teat in. another trick is to carry her and walk abt in the house, distract her with lights and hanging clothes. i have a permanent pole of nappies as my tool to distract her !!!

i am gonna ask u the same qn the KK specialist Prof Phua asked me, is the med yr baby taking currently effective ?? if not, why let the baby suffer ?? i told u abt the chinese med my gal took and solved her prob?? maybe u can try lor... i was so desperate then that i tried all ways and means, scientific and non-scientific....

hang on there valc, tell us yr frustrations and stress... we are here to help, just like how sungrape has been a great help to me

hi edde,
Dun wori abt wt gain..if ur ger is drinking sure will gain wt 1, juz matter of time.

i discovered new method to make my boy drink. mayb u wanna try. i chill his teats b4 feed him. he like cold thgs cos i froze his teethers and he suck like very shiok. so i tried to freeze his teats. and it works!! he feel the teats cold cold then he will suck=drink his milk. hehe!!

i oso realised he likes to drink cold milk. not beer cold lah, juz cooler then normal rm temp.

Glad to report tat he's taking 7oz for his am feeds.

Is dr brown's teat same as bfree's teat? I used bfree for my boy since he was born, it was only good for him when he's under 2mos as it's soft. When he turned 3mos, I've changed the bottle to avent.

Sungrapes, u are so creative!! My boy starts to show reluctancy of drinking milk while playing, his pattern changed again!! I tried your new method too for last night feed. But the moment I mounted the teat to the bottle, the teat becomes warm due to the warm milk... Sigh! Think will try the TV method and see how... Milk colder than normal room temp? That's consider quite cold for bb leh, so young already got tendency to have cold drink huh.

Wow... Your boy is great!! His little stomach can stores 7oz now, envy leh. How I wish my boy can does that too. If 7oz per feed, only need to go thru 4 times of feeding per day, my mum and I will get lesser chance of getting headache.

Edde, great to hear to your gal's reflux problem is over. So is her intake picking up now?

sonic,
I oni noe bfree can use dr.brown teats.
me oso using avent cos i oni got 2 dr brown bottles. but i find he can drink faster and less burping with dr brown.

my boy still spitting out a few times a day, esp after his rice cereal in the afternoon. My nanny say reduce his milk amt b4 the cereal, but i still gv 6oz cos not ideal to reduce milk b4 6mths.

Actually, me bad mummy. i put the whole bot in chiller. cold milk or hot milk , as long as itz milk and he drinks it , i dun really care too much. if he take 1hr to drink, the milk will turn cold anyway and not fresh 2.

Smtimes,i even put in freezer compt for a few mins. teat will be ice cold but milk still ok inside. so terrible of me rite? but my thinking is cold milk better then no milk.

Thank god for TV. if not how to distract him? Aiyah! i think at our stage, dun hav to b 2 concern abt tv addiction.itz like delaying the inevitable. so y not juz make use of it now?

I saw this hi chair can strap onto our dining chair type. save alot of space. can use till 3-4yrs. can oso use for feeding milk cos the seat can recline. itz portable 2, next time can bring to my mum's plc instead of dismantling,fixing those bulky normal hi chair.

any1 here got exersaucer? worth it anot?

sungrapes
edde's specialists appt is over already was supp to be tues. i dunthink it's jus wind that she got. we give her colic drops it's still the same still cries. i think it cld be silent reflux cos difficulty in swallowing, gulping, choking, crying at feeds. i latched her on 1st 3 weeks but poor weight gain so decided to bottlefeed from 4th week. 5th week on, the crying problem started.
i jus have to wait for my paed to come back from leave to call the gastro specialist again to make an earlier appt.

edde
my fren also uses the pacifier trick to feed her girl. she has to wait till she sucks till she sleeps then feed.

my IL is helping me feed her nowadays cos i really can't take it. and most times she drinks when she's sleeping, otherwise she will be crying. it's really so frustrating.

hi sungrapes
she's still the same. i fed her abit in her rocker, she took 50mls and started fussing. but that was an achievement already. usually she'll be wailing away. i dunno how my IL gets her to sleep to feed her but i must learn how.

My baby is getting worse...seems like every feed he will cry when milk is put into his mouth. My MIL uses the same method to make him drink his milk - put in pacifier for him to suck, than quickly change it to milk...for me, i will rock him abit, give him his bolster than when he quieten down, give him milk... he feeds best when 1/2 asleep.

Whats happening? Why is it so difficult to feed? Am I feeding him too much? He feeds about 130-150ml 4hourly. Each day about 800-900ml taken after several battles with him...

What should I do now? getting very worried and anxious at each feed...

clarissa,
ur bb is 4mths now?
milk intake for bbs 4-6mths is abt 24-32oz per day. Ur bb total intake is alrite. the problem is difficulty during feeding rite?

Most bbs r like tat, at some pt they dun like milk.

Hav u seen a PD and make sure bb is ok health wise? rule out any medical conditions tat cld make ur bb reject milk. Last time my boy had bacteria infection in his urine and tat cld make bb feel unwell and therefore dun drink.

if there's nothg wrong with her, then it cld be a personality thg. u juz hav to deal with her pattern and this phase will end soon. as long as u hav the manpower and family support during feeding time..itz juz a matter of finding out wat rocks her boat.

My personal experience last time:
my boy zz in sarong so making him zz is relatively easy..then when he asleep i feed him in sarong, sway left/right abit.

I let him hav some cool water b4 his feed , juz to jumpstart his sucking motion. then quickly replc the water with milk bot.

i make sure the milk is not warm. smtimes i put in fridge make it cooler,cos last time he had sore throat and cooler fluids help sooth his throat.

I oso use ridwind b4 feeds, juz to make sure he not 2 bloated frm gas.

Lastly make sure u not feeding him too soon. he cld juz not feel hungry enuf tatz y he protest. try to cut back on the amt to 4oz feed every 4hrly, 6x per day. u will still hit 24oz.

i read above tat u gv him 5oz every 3hrly. the timing is abit 2 close.

my boy wen he takes 6oz will be hungry 4.5 - 5hrs later.

Hope this will help u. u hav to trial and error abit..but one thg is for sure, the situation will improve. ..so hang in there!

Hey all,

Thanks sungrapes for inviting me to this thread

I have read all your posts and find myself facing the same problems as some of you. My bb Isaac will be 11-week-old by end of this week and weighs 6kg. I have always been very concerned about how much he drinks and the frequency, to the extent of being quite stringent on the number of hours between feeds. My mum helps me twice a week to look after Isaac and she told me that it is good when babies sleep for long hours; when sleeping, they are not expending energy, in fact more sleeps make them grow faster. So now when Isaac sleeps past feeding time, I won't wake him up; when babies are hungry, they will not be able to sleep. Sometimes when it is feeding time, he showed no interest in drinking; when I pushed the teat into his mouth, he either smiled at me or cried. If Isaac cries while feeding, it's either due to colic or he wants to sleep. If he smiles, then I'll play with him for about 15min and try feeding him again. Any mummy has the same experience as me?

Today my sis-in-law came to visit me and Isaac. She noticed that Isaac fussed after drinking half of the milk(I feed him 120ml), she told me 1 trick to make sure that bb finish the milk is to loosen the diaper so that they don't feel tight at the tummy and can drink better. I don't know if this works; am trying on Isaac, see if he can finish 150ml. I have been trying to increase his intake but he sometimes can finish sometimes cannot
How to get them to drink more?

Hello Giselle,
Glad u found tis thread.
Hope u picked some pointers tat cld work for u.

hav u ascertained the colic part? then anti-colic drops will help.

Im not so sure u shd let Issac miz his daytime feeds..as of now, u say he's alrdy not taking enuf? Watz his feeding schedule like?

His wt seems ok tho. my boy was abt 6.2kg wen he's 3mths.

every bb is diff..but every mummy is the same! Haha! keep trying to feed our bbs MORE!

watz the longest time Issac has zz between feeds? u cld use that as a gauge on freq of feeds..I guess u r feeding him 6x aday at 150mls each feed?

hi sungrapes,

thanks for the pointers. Guess I was very kan cheong and almost immediately took him to the PD for a check.

PD diagnosed that he is merely a difficult feeder and is very healthy otherwise. Says that kids his age are more aware of the surroundings and some are more interested in playing, looking around. meaning KPO la... ask us to be patient in feeding him and continue to feed every 3-4 hrly...anything just to make sure he feeds...and that we should not let him miss feeds jus cos he is not crying for milk. Also mentioned that so long he feeds, he will decide on how much to drink. so if he feeds and cant finish, thats ok. let him be..

Come to think of it, I really think my boy is abit KPO. eg if we on the TV, he will keep looking at TV, dun wan to suck bottle. sometimes even when he see my hubby looking at him when he feed, he stop sucking, than coo and ahh at my hubby..than yesterday nite, when i try to feed him, he see my maid gg about the house with the broom, he also keep eyeing her, see what shes doing and not keen on sucking the bottle...sigh! dunno why some kids are like that...than my aunty says he is just "hong sim"

so bo bian, just gotta be patient and continue to feed

hi giselle
6kg at 11weeks is good. my bb is only 4.8kg at 8weeks. she wun be able to gain 1.2kg in 3 weeks for sure.

i visited the paediatric gastroenterologist already - NUH. and my bb's being treated for reflux altho no vommiting (silent reflux). we din do a probe but the gastro diagnosed her based on suymptoms. she's on zantac and motilium. any of your bbies on it? when will the meds start to take effect? she's still fussing at feeds altho not screaming her head off. i heard motilium makes a bb eat more. is that true?

edde
how is your bb now? how much is he taking each feed and how often?

Hi Valc,
my boy oso tok the same med wen he had reflux.
Zantac is to ctrl/reduce acid in stomach. Motilium is to help food move thru the stomach and digestive system faster, thereby reducing amt of spit ups.

My boy tok it for abt 2wks b4 improving. U hav to b patient with these drugs cos it is not effective overnite.

Motilium doesnt make bb eat mre.

the drugs do not cause drowsiness.

These r very mild drugs safe for even premmies. But the dosage is impt so muz follow instructions carefully.

Im glad tat ur bb is diagnosed cos now u noe wat the problem is and can tackle it effectively, rather than 2nd guessing all the time and worrying so much.

Itz very impt now to monitor ur bb milk intake and reaction to the drugs, cos u need to noe if the drugs r helping at all. The Spec may need to chg med or dosage according to how he doing on the drugs.

Take care and let us noe how yr ger's doing.

clarissa,
Ur PD is correct to say tat abt bbs this age. they r indeed very KPO.

Some of our bbs need to b distracted to drink milk, some will drink better in quiet places.
U juz hav to figure them out, tho itz never easy cos their pattern will chg on a daily basis. Juz read sonic's post!

Last time my boy oso like urs, tried to'talk' with the teat in his mouth, dun wan2 suck bot.

Which mummy is not kan cheong wen it cms to their darlings.

So dun worry anymre ok.
Issac is fine!

sungrapes
so after taking the meds for 2 weeks your boy drank more comfortably - as in din fuss while feeding?

i dun think the gastroenterologist can confirm that my girl has reflux without the ph probe. he's diagnosing based on symptoms. cos when i asked him so she has reflux - he said we'll jus treat it as reflux. seeing him again in 2 weeks.

Yes clarissa, my boy is also the same, very KPO too. Quite hard to get him concentrate on one thing for more than a minute. So we have to change his toys during the feeding process. If we are using TV method, then we have to switch channels as and when... I notice he likes cartoons show most, perhaps it's becos cartoons are more colourful than others, and it's bbs' nature that they likes cartoons?

And he's now able to identify who is the one always play with him (my hubby), and who are the ones feed him (my mum and I). Thus he will be very exciting, kicking hard with his legs on the bouncer and coos & laughs non-stop whenever he sees my hubby. So, there is no way we could feed him when my hubby is nearby. Therefore, my hubby got to hide somewhere during feeding time. Ha!

2day my boy had his 3rd jab and 6mth chkup.

His wt is 8.15kg and his length is 69.7cm.

PD say he's doing very well and told me to gv mre solids and less milk, abt 500mls aday.
She told me not to worry abt the amt of milk he takes, but muz make sure he takes mre solids and increase calorie intake.

itz very weird tat now milk intake muz DECREASE, cos for past few mths keep worrying abt not drinking enuf milk..

I feel very relieve now tat the chkup is over and he's doing well so far and most impt, i dun hav to keep count of his milk intake anymre! Now can juz concentrate 100% on gvg solids.

so to celebrate i bought him a walker can convert to rocker type. think exersaucer is too exp.

I hope every mummies's bb is doing well.

Edde,
did ur ger put on any wt? drinking still ok?

Sonic,
my boy likes to watch E! Entertainment channel.
He KPO till Hollywood there!

Valc,
He tok it for 2wks and on/off he will cry and fuss till his 4mth chkup. He had his feed in the clinic aft the PD saw him and frm then on he ok liao!!

I still gv him his med after tat cos i paranoid. after abt 1wk later then i slowly decrease the freq and stop eventually.

Between now and the next follow up visit, juz monitor ur ger closely so u can report to the Spec accurately.

hi guys, sorry have not been checking this thread..

thx for asking sungrapes
my gal is still not consistent in her drinking, now she drinks lesser in the day and more at nite, each day total slightly over 500ml.. still not drinking enuf for her age and wt. and she is not putting on wt well.. only 4.6kg at 3 mths... sigh... but other than that she is ok... healthy and alert, playful and cheeky!

valc, wat is the symptoms of silent reflux? my gal used to take those 2 med too but not much help. so the KK specialist told us to stop it.

mummies, i just realise something that might be the cause of my baby's drinking prob. since birth, she drank very well, in fact much more than norm that we were so scared that we might overfeed her. when she was wk 3, she was given antibiotics (trimethoprim) for her dilated kidney (to prevent UTI caused by it, she has duplex kidneys and one part of her right kidney is dilated since birth). ever since she was on this antibiotics, her appetite dropped drastically and soon, started to vomit milk. then the PDs diagnoised her as reflux and was given zantac and motilium. she was drinking this med for several wks but her appetite did not get better. we stopped all her western med aft advised by the KK gastro specialist and we gave her chinese med instead. in a wks' time, her appetite picked up and she drank more.

last mon, she had a scan for her kidney and was put on the same antibiotics again. and yet again, it affected her just-recovered appetite and intake dropped drastically. we panicked, called the spec and decided to stop the antibiotics. now she is back on the chinese med and appetite is picking up slowly.

so this recent episode actually gave me this idea that western med might be too strong for her. if not for the antibiotics given when she was only 3 wks old, she wld have put on wt faster just like any other babies. well, not that i blame the PD coz wat he did is just a preventive measure, but just feel so sad that i only discovered this now... i told my hubby i will not put her on any western med anymore!

anyway, this is my baby

840490.jpg

Edde, anthea is sweet and chubby! Don't worry too much. U discovered the problem late which is still better than never, at least now u got something to watch out.

Sungrapes, u have already started putting your boy in walker? I had this thought before, but after reading some articles abt drawbacks on walker, I have since leave the walker aside, thinking not to let my boy to use it until he's able to stand properly.

On drinking milk, my boy is still taking 5 x 150ml a day.. Poor intake right? On solid wise, so far only 5tsp cereal a day. Tried to increase the solid and introduce new foods but failed, cos he will fuss whenever we put things into his mouth. I'm starting to imagine the worst situation that I'm going to face already... My boy will be another picky and fussy eater!

Edde,
Sorry to hear tat abt Anthea. She looks chubby and HAPPY to me!

This kidney situation..will it get better as she grows up?

When u consult the PDs, did they noe abt the dilated kidney and tat she was on antibiotics?
will they then hav suspected the reduce appetite as side effects of the antibiotics vs reflux?

UTI
This can be confirmed by doing a urine test.
I wld think tat antibiotics will be given ONLY if there's bacteria found. I mean, young infants cannot anyhw take antibiotics, mre so as a preventive measure??

Last time, Dr Vasanthi was reluctant to prescribe antibiotics for my boy, until the urine test came out positive.

So wat did the Spec say abt tis?

Yah! i think u shd go with ur gut instinct and stop watever med u think is not gd for Anthea.

Chinese med has a history tat dates back 5000 yrs. It muz be effective in ways tat western med cannot even compare.

My nanny has this calcium pearl powder frm japan tat she gv to my boy. Do u wan to try it? Itz like an all purpose thg to strengthen his system. My mum started my niece on it and she say itz gd cos ny niece always get cold/runny nose last time and now dun get anymre.

Sonic,
Ur boy now 6mths liao, gv him mre solids and dun worry abt milk intake. Tatz wat my PD told me yesterday. Each day 500mls enuf loh!

Now my boy oni takes 3tsp rice. PD say muz gv mre, up to 5tsp..so u r on track wor! Good leh! i think u r doing fine.

Actually 150mls is ok leh, cos my neighbor's boy 5mths plus take 5oz per feed, smtimes cannot finish even.

The walker is now in rocker mode..he sit inside wen he move the thg will sway. i din let him try to walk yet. I oso told nanny not to use it for mre dan 1/2 hr each day. He enjoys it and will keep bouncing in it.

sungrapes, yr boy looks a bit like jap/korean hor.... i think its becoz of the single eyelids heehee..

according to the latest scan she did last mon, no surgery is needed yet. if serious blockage then will need to do a surgery to remove the obstruction.. sometimes, this dilated kidney will heal on their own as they grow up.. so hopefully anthea is lucky lor..

yeah.. everytime we visit a PD, they will tell us very positive things. but as soon as they heard abt the kidney, their faces will change and be very cautious..

my usual PD and the KK surgeon presecribed the antibiotic as preventive measure.. but personally i dun think its a gd idea to put such a young baby on med for a long time leh... coz i heard western med is very strong...

thx for the pearl powder, so nice of u, but its ok lah... coz my baby is still taking the chinese med "bao3 ying1 dan1" so better not mix

edde,
yah! my sis say boys single eyelid better cos look like korean actor Rain..

me gg Vivo supposed to meet some other mummies there, but dun noe if they will turn up anot. if u free, wanna join me? abt 3pm. i pm u my hp in case u wanna go..

Any other mummies here oso welcome to meet up.

sungrapes
your boy looks v healthy. i wish my daughter wld grow up soon and grow out of this not wanting to drink phase. it's driving me craaaaaazeeeeee.

edde
how did they detect the dilated kidney in the 1st plc? so without the antibiotics your girl drinks well? good that you found out wat's wrong. then you can eliminate it.

sonic
150mls per feed is v v v good. last time my son at 7mths stuck at 130mls can't even finish.

v depressed. i jus tried feeding her jus now and she jus kept wailing without drinking any at all. this was after she drank 40mls in the last feed. i thought she wld be hungry. i really dunno wat's wrong. is it sucking swallowing coordination? reflux? wat else? abnormal connections?

edde silent reflux is same as reflux without vomitting. jus that the acid contents dun go high up enough to be thrown out of mouth. usually go undiagnosed and the oesophehus gets burnt.

so far she's bn on medication for abt 4 days and no improvement.

Valc,
Dun get crazy!! It takes time 1. Med take 4 days oni, slowly but surely will improve if itz reflux. Last time my son oso like tat, but now he ok liao lor! At the most u juz 'tong' till she 4mths then can gv her solids. She may b thoose bbs like solid food.

I told u my son gotta take med for 2wks then got improve. so u juz bear with it awhile mre. 2wks will be ur timeline, if not the PD oso wun ask u go back 2wks later rite?

CHEERS!!

edde & sungrapes
for the dr brown bottle, when you reheat the milk do you remove the inside tube 1st? cos if you dun remove while warming up milk, the bottle will leak from screw cap right? qt troublesome cos it takes us 1 hr to feed my daughter and we have to keep warming up the milk. so we have to keep taking in and out the tube inside.

can I ask if the meds zantac or motilium cause drowsiness? my MIL seem to think so.

another thing, do u mummies bring ur bbies out during the difficult to feed period? and how?

sungrapes! i was at vivo at that time!!! was with hubby and anthea, went pumpkin patch and fox to buy some girlish clothes for anthea coz wat she wears now are all rompers. buti only saw yr message now !! or else we cld have gone by to say hi !!! where were all of u ??? we had lunch at asian kitchen and later dessert at bakerzin but din see any mummies + babies ard :p

sungrapes, thx for yr support... really nice to have kind pple like u guys ard

valc, without the antibiotic, she drinks a little better, from 300+ml to 500+ ml per day.. but per feed is ard 40ml only, worse than a newborn.. we weighed her at KK today, she is only 4.54 kg, put on a mere 200g in 1 mth. kaoz... if she goes on like this, she will fall out of the growth percentile chart and will be labelled as "failure to thrive" liao...
today went KK to collect her kidneys scan report, next fri gonna see the NUH gastro spec and see wat we can do...

valc, i dun heat up the milk, we usually stop feeding aft 20-30min, aft that if we wanna continue, we make a bottle of new one. my mum said no gd to keep reheating milk, will cause colic.

i dun think zantac and motilium cause drowsiness... re going out during difficult times, there was this period of time i confined baby and myself coz she din drink well.. dat period i almost went crazy and was devastated. i told hubby i wont bring baby out coz i din wanna affect her drinking routine. but hubby said its very unhealthy to do that. no gd for me and baby. we all need some space for a breather. rite now, anthea fusses during every feed time. we bring her out but not too long... every feed time is a struggle... usually we will find a restaurant or cafe, sit down and make milk for her, but have to endure pple stares when she cries and fusses... used to it liao... watr yr concerns when bringing yr baby out ?? worried that yr gal will not drink ?? btw, i think i miss yr earlier post, how old is yr baby eh??? ard 3 mths also rite coz i saw u in march thread much earlier.

edde,
Really?
Aiyah, in the end we din manage to meet cos 1 mummy cannot confirm in time,so i oso nv go cos very far frm where i stay and it was raining cats and dogs at my place till abt 4pm+. Quite disappointing lor! wat a pity, i'd love to meet u and Anthea. U stay in Punggol? the nearest mall is vivo?

where in Vivo is a gd meeting plc for mummies and bbs? any bb-friendly plc?

So now w/o the antibiotics she drinks better? maybe by next fri, u dun hav to bring her to NUH? Letz hope so.

<font color="0000ff">ValC</font>
U can <font color="ff0000">unscrew</font> the dr brown collar ring while warming the milk, juz loosen abit so the pressure wun build up.In tis way, u dun need to remove the tube at all.

Also, after shaking the bot to dissolve the milk, if there's any milk inside the tube, juz unscrew the collar ring to let the milk flow back to the bot. Cos if there's too much liquid in the tube, it defeats the purpose of the airvent sys.

My son drinks cold milk, so i dun need to warm anythg for him.

As for bringing bb out, during his reflux days, i dun.. except for short walks to the beach (i stay at east coast) or to the playgrd dwstairs.
I agree itz not gd to confine bb or myself at home.Itz gd for us 2 hav some fresh air and let bb see the world beyond the 4 walls at home. The only exception r the trips to the PD. Itz juz tat i hav no mood to go shopping if tatz wat u mean..If sm1 gv me a million dollars i oso no mood to shop wen my son dun drink milk.

Maybe u cld time her outing after her feeds and get home b4 the next feed..?

sungrapes, yeah i stay in punggol... vivo is not the nearest mall but was there to buy baby's clothes
i fully understand wat u mean by no mood to shop coz its the same for me now.. i only shop for baby. no mood to shop for myself with a fussy baby ard. nowadays i rather spend money on baby than on myself..

Hi edde,
am reading abt duplex and dilated kidneys..wow..i dun noe wat to say. I mean, the kind of stress u muz be gg thru..u r really great mummy!

I really hope the dilated kidney will heal soon.
Wat can be done ? i dun underst much of the medical terms of course but..how was this discovered in Anthea? is it frm fetal ultrasounds last time? will she need long term antibiotics?

edde
my daughter now 2mths. i think i posted in march thread asking if i shld try going without epidural. but i'm in the april thread. everyone in april thread all seem to have bbies who feed v well and are all fat fat. making me feel v demoralised. if per feed is 40mls and daily is 300-500mls means you feed her more than 10 times a day? how much do you put in each bottle? how do you get her to drink the 40mls? cos sometimes when i try to feed her she jus wun suck and keep struggling and crying then wailing. can't get any mls into her at all. i stay seletar which is near pungol. can we meet sometime and exchange notes on feeding?

i also no mood to go out with bb. but i have a 2yr old toddler i think is unhealthy to coop him up at home all day everyday. he's also giving me trouble these days. refused to drink a single drop of milk the last 2 feeds. i'm so afraid he will get sick or dehydrated. but at least he's 2 already. not that crucial already.

sungrapes, haha... i have passed the stage of worrying for her kidneys...haha... not that i am not worried now lah.. but at least now i know wats in for her... yeah, we found out during my antenatal scan, it was merely 2-3 wks before anthea is due. so u can imagine the shock that coupled with the anxiety then... during the scan, my gynae realised that her rite kidney is bigger than the other. and the rite tube leading from the kidney to the bladder (ureter) is also enlarged. but we realised she has duplex kidneys only during her first ultrasound done when she was one mth old..

as the surgeon deduced from her scans and ultrasounds, so far no surgery is needed. unless there is a blockage or urine reflux (which will lead to frequent UTI), then the worst case is a surgery to remove the affected bit.

she doesnt need to be on long term abtibiotics, but she has to go back for ultrasound every 3 mths and we have to watch out for UTI. we must also keep her genitals very clean to avoid infection.

valc, anthea also got reflux ard that age, but like wat sungrape said, as the baby grows older, she will get better... i feed anthea every 2 hr, including nite feeds. so she has 12 feeds a day. but sometimes we overslept and din feed her.. hee... well, regardless of how long the interval is, she drinks the same amt, so might as well feed her more frequently to make up for the little amt. we make 60ml or 90ml everytime. i think most of the time, we pour away at least 1/3 a bottle.

seletar is very near !!! sure sure !! maybe sungrapes can join us if we are meeting up !!! but so far, i hvnt brought her out by myself. not even downstairs!! haha.. no confidence.

oh valc, u have another toddler !! wow... no easy to handle 2 eh... 1 if enuf to kill me... i dedicate most of my time to her now... yeah.. its def easier to feed them when they are asleep. but anthea has this bad habit now. even when sleeping or half asleep, she will also reject milk when she reached 30/40ml.. very accurate.... sigh...

valc, i can feel how happy u r when yr gal finished her milk !!!! happier than strike toto rite !! haha... jia you !!!! jia you !!!!

actually besides her kidneys, her drinking, another thing we have to worry abt is her wt gain. she is born at 3.805kg but now at 3 mths she is only 4.54kg... put on only a mere 700g in 3 mths.. if this goes on, she will be labelled "failure to thrive". surgeon said it has nothing to do with the kidney. PD find no cause for this. so we are have to go to a gastro spec lor... sigh...

edde
her drinking is directly related to her wt gain, so that's one problem not 2. when you feed anthea, does she suck at the beginning or refuse to suck from the start? mine refuses to suck from the start. i jus dun understand why. today i was at church and i was watching 1 bb feed. her mother gave her a 200mls in a big avent bottle and she was jus sucking non-stop. i was so in awe. but to think that's jus normal for a baby. sad...

my PD said, some babies have small appetite, drink little but still put on wt

valc i understand how u feel... like i asked my hubby, drinking milk is something to be taken for granted for babies. i nvr imagine a baby can have prob with this, coz isnt a skill they are born with !!?? but sad to say, our babies dun even fulfil this job well...

there was once a couple with a newborn was waiting for their doc's appt and we were sitting beside them. we were feeding our babies at the same time then. the newborn was given more than wat we gave anthea, and not surprisingly, the newborn finished the milk before mine and mine din even finish hers !!!! sometimes, i feel a bit paisay when feeding her outside coz pple must be wondering why i gave my baby so little milk.

now, she sucks in the beginning and stop halfway, then refuse milk. there was this period of time when she refused rite from the start. she wld cry the moment the teat touched her lips, as if i was feeding her poison. dat was the time when her throat was red and had ulcer. PD said the redness and ulcer were caused by the refluxed acid. she was given this spray med called biotene spray and she recovered in a few days.. quite effective. maybe u can ask yr PD for this if yr baby has the same prob.

even now, she doesnt suck nonstop. she stops frequently and i have to stimulate her to get her to drink. sometimes if i force feed she will throw up her milk.

Haha! ValC,
Last time i oso like to observe other parents feed their bbs. I will purposely walk pass them very slowly and see how their bbs will suck the bot like so shiok and then wonder y i dun hav such luck.The word is 'in awe' lor!

Did the gastro spec say anythg abt ur bb hvg sorethroat? cos there r med to relieve the soreness, so bb can drink w/o hurting their throat.

Do u feed ur bb water?

last time b4 bb, i oso tot tat drinking milk is very basic to bbs.I mean,hungry=drink milk..watz so difficult abt it rite? i never heard of reflux!!! tatz y wen my bb had this drinking problem i was so bloody stress out!! Until my PD told me itz very common and i found this forum and so many related threads abt bb rejecting milk.Do u noe tat even BF bbs refuse milk cos of reflux?!

Like edde, my bb wen thru this period wen the teat touch the lips oni he will cry..like he can smell itz milk. But he will happily drink plain water.

Well, u really have to juz persevere with the feeding part. tatz really all we can do now.

EDDE, wat will the PD do for bbs who dun thrive?
SInce Valc stays nearby, u can try gg out with Anthea and meet up..get some fresh air/chg of scenery. gd for Anthea 2, to go walk walk..mayb her appetite will improve?She's 3mths liao,getting inquisitive abt the surroundings.

Do u drive?

sungrapes, i also dunno wat PD will do, coz i still live in self denial, i dun believe anthea fails to thrive haha!!!! ya man.. she is VERY inquisitive abt the surroundings !! so much as that i find it easier to feed her outside now coz she will be so distracted with the surroundings and drink easier... but prob is she doesnt sleep much when out, only in the car when its in motion

erm... i am a kayu driver.. very long nvr drive now rusty liao... haha...

i read abt tube feeding for bbies with reflux. prob that's wat they'd do. but that's a last resort.

valc, my hubby is quite eager to let anthea try tube feeding. but i told him thats not a long term solution lor..

has tube feeding bn discussed with dr? I ever asked my paed abt it but he was not for it. how do u manage to feed 12x round the clock is amazing and admirable. where do u get ur energy from? and how do u coordinate with anthea's sleep and nap? it's difficult enough for me to squeeze in 7 feeds. and my daughter will sleep through till 6plus 7am.

sungrapes
the gastro din check my bb's mouth. but i got my paed to check hers twice. he ruled out abnormal palette, tongue tie, thrush, throat not red also. at first he said some bbies jus have difficulties sucking and will grow out at abt 4mths. we din consider reflux at all cos there was no vomitting. then i asked him abt silent reflux on next visit. then he referred me to gastro.

i haven't tried feeding water. all i've fed her is ebm. mmebbe she has an aversion to my bmilk.
mebbe she may like FM.

valc, i wake anthea up even if she is sleeping. in the day, she is usually very zun.. will wake up on the dot for milk like alarm clock. then i will spend 15min to half hr feeding her, half hr playing with her, 15min to half hr rocking her to sleep and she will sleep for half to one hr. this cycle repeats itself every 2 hrs. at nite, i also feed her in her sleep. aft drinking, she will return to her sleep automatically. think she is used to it liao..

where to get energy ?? sometimes hubby will help to feed her in the morn 730am and 930am if he is not working. then i get to sleep longer. otherwise, i dun get to sleep more than 2 hr every stretch. then in the aft, i will nap on my sofa when she naps lor... but at most 1 hr only.... sometimes i also admire myself for my endurance.. i used to sleep more than 12 hrs when not working !!!!

edde,
dr Vas is quite against tube feeding..wat abt those FM with higher calories type?

anthea go out wun fuss rite,even tho she dun zz?
My boy wun drink milk outside cos he 2 distracted..muz feed in nursing rm.

Valc,
cld it be ur diet? maybe u ate smthg tat bb dun like/allergy/intolerant to and itz in ur BM?

I dun noe leh, some ppl will chg to FM but others will say keep persisting BF cos itz the best for bb. Maybe u cld try FM juz once and c how?

2mr hb go work ,6 days wun b in s'pore..so boring!