Xiaohuiis, your dream made me smile

Is your AF late? Pregnancy tests usually do not show positives only a week after yr AF due date, so don't give up yet, can test again on a few days!

Kitkat: u need to register an account from comgatewAy or vpost or what ever shipping company. They will give u a unique shipping add just for ur shipment, which is in US. So when u ship ur stuffs from eBay or amazon or other US website it is all ship to the unique US add of urs. Then when the shipment reach the US add, the provider will email u or what then they will ship back and send it to your place.

I just bought the clearblue digital smiley and some other stuffs. The shipping is quite fast. When the goods reach US and if u have a few items like me, u can wait for all ur package to arrive before shipping them. My stuffs Reach me like 8-10 days.. I avg out the cb smiley is only $40 for 20 sticks... So it's really quite worth it... Sg online still the cheapest I find is also $90+

Ttcing: okok..

Maomi: now they have pen form. Very conceivent and easy. But I haven got that yet. Waiting for my menses to come before I go to my Gyane clinic to buy the pen... Hopefully it come faster... Nv wanted AF to come so badly lo... Haiz.. T.T

jo78 : if based on those iphone app I am late.. but it based on past few cycle duration I am yet to be late .. so i am confused.. duno who to trust haiz..

how i hope my dream is true...

Anastasia : U mention that u bought cb smiley for around $40 for 20sticks.. I saw amazon selling at $36 for 20 sticks.. is that SGD price or us currency?

Mind giving me the link for your cb smiley on amazon?

thank you ^^

Thanks strawberries for the info.. I will go register den buy from amazon.

Reiko, could it be implantation bleeding? Mayb u monitor for one more day.

Gals, Happie new year!! We will get our bfp in Jan 2013!!

Happy New Year everyone!

Kitkat, how can it be ib? It started exactly on the day my af supposedc2 cime. I tot ib shud b earlier...

Ttcing, u had ib rite? Much earlier than ur af date rite?

Reiko hopes: nope.... I did not experience any ib. Just white discharge. IB should be abt 6-12 days after ovulation or a week before af.

Hi all, Happy New Year.
New to this thread, started TTC only in Oct 2012 but hubby went for sperm analysis recently and everything was fine except for low morphology. Have started him on loads of supplements and just taking it easy for the next 3 months while the sperms regenerate. Abit disappointed as previously I was having vaginismus problem and finally after I overcome that I thought that TTC would be easy but it was not to be. Anyway keeping my spirits up and hope to learn from all you gals in this thread. Wishing everyone great health and be happy always!

I will like to buy reliable OPK. Any recommendations on where I can get a good deal?

My gynae recommended Guardian OPK as those are inexpensive compared to Clearblue ones.

For Clearblue, I think there are 2 popular types? One is a digital one, that has a "smiley" face indicator and that retails for about $60+/70+ at Guardian.

I also saw another type which uses Clearblue Fertility Monitor Sticks (20 sticks for $80+ at Guardian) but I have yet to see the Fetility Monitor in the different Guardian branches I visited. Any idea how much is the CB Fertility Monitor?

For "long term" use (seeing that my hub has a sperm morphology issue which currently we are still not sure how long it will take for improvement), will the CB Fertility Monitor (plus sticks) be cheaper than using the Guardian OPK?

Any advice will be greatly appreciated, Thanks!

To kitkat: you may wish to consider these supplements to improve sperm motility:
◦2 g/day L-Carnitine + Vitamin E (increases sperm motility 59%)
◦3 g/day L-Carnitine (increases sperm motility by 40%)
◦2000 mg/day Vitamin C (increases sperm motility 39% in 2 months)
◦4 mg/day lycopene (increases sperm motility by 25% in 3 months)
◦200 mg selenium + 400 IU Vitamin E

The info is taken from this link:
https://sites.google.com/site/miscarriageresearch/how-to-boost-fertility/how-to-increase-male-fertility

FYI, I found this page while googling for supplements that my hub shd take to improve sperm morphology. Hope that the link will be useful for those whose hub's sperm analysis didn't come back perfectly normal.

Apologies gals for the many separate posts, too many things on my mind...

Just wondering what sort of tests did you gals do with your gynae to check on female fertility before or during TTC?

For myself, I only did pelvic ultrasound (transvaginal) and my gynae commented that everything (i.e. womb size, lining thickness and ovaries plus eggs in the ovaries) looks normal and that we should try naturally for at least 6 months first. Well, but this was before my husband did his sperm analysis and we found out about morphology problem. And since now we have to wait at least 3 months to see if supplements will improve his sperms, I am just wondering if I need to do any more thorough tests/ further investigations at my side?

I actually did not do any test at all.. Was thinking whether to try for a few months first then consult or should I just go ahead for some test?

If go ahead for test , where should I go ? And what sort of test should I request for ?

Michelle Chang>> Welcome to this thread!
were you the one asking about conceive well? Sorry, I'm a little confused cos too many days never check thread and there were so many posts! If so, yes, you should take it throughout your cycle, even during ovulation. The only time that you stop taking conceive well is when you are pregnant. So once you learn that you're pregnant, you can stop conceive well. Also, 16 days means 16 days from the start of your cycle, counting the first day of your menses as day 1.

Xiaohui>> It wasn't me who said I bought the CB digital OPKs at $40. It was Strawberries who said it.

I buy from amazon the 20 count pack at USD 32.

Viiv>> Welcome onboard!

I'm using the clear blue OPKS cos they are easy to use. When you see a smiley face, that means you will ovulate very soon. As for other types of OPKS, you have to decipher the test and control lines, so that can be quite tricky at times. In order for the OPK to be positive, the test line must be as dark or darker than the control line.

Before I conceived my #1, I went to my gynae for a checkup too. Back then, she said that my womb was a bit small and my eggs were a bit small too. She said it may mean that it will be harder to conceive. But thankfully it wasn't in my case. I conceived both my #1 and #2 after two cycles. In my recent Pap smear, she mentioned that I have slight PCOS. Apparently, I have had this condition even before I conceived #1!

hi ladies, i've been tcc-ing and using those ovulation strips sold in this forum. so far, no positive results yet for the past 2 mths. was wondering if anybody had positive reviews for those strips or shall i just invest in the cb monitor... happy new year and baby dust to all!

Olivia>> Do you mean to say that you did not detect positive OPK?

Hmmm, how long is your cycle and at which days did you test? How many days did you test and at what times of the day did you test?

From what I know, between OPKs and CB monitor, the monitor will tell you more fertile days cos the monitor detects another type of hormone. However, the CB monitor is a lot more expensive.

New cb monitor costs $200+, you can look at the Want to sell section or ebay if you dont mind 2nd hand ones ... u just need to buy the sticks ...

gynaes usually suggest u try for 1 yr naturally ... before going for any tests... that depends on yr age and cycle as well ...

if you try naturally, most of my frns who have striked believe in CM(cervical mucus), there is a difference in the mucus when its the fertile period ... it has to be egg white in color and also sticky, stretchy and more than the usual discharge in amount ... but then again, not everyone has this .. at least i dont !!!

its easier if your cycle is regular, meaning every month u have yr menses ...

tests that can be done with yr gynae would be blood tests to see if your hormones are in the right range ... and that you are ovulating right ... also, scans to see if you might have pcos or any lining issues or other issues that can be seen via the scan ... another would be HSG, this checks the patency of the tubes to ensure there is no blockage ...

then for yr hb, basically is just sperm analysis ...

if you want to save costs for opks, get the cheap strips and the digital smiley ... depending on yr cycle, you start testing from either day 10 or later ... til day 20 or so, depending on yr cycle ... when u see a darker line on the cheap strip, use the smiley to reconfirm ... but using strips would be best to test at least twice a day ... btwn 10am to 8pm ... OPKs test LH surge ... this LH is a hormone which is present all the time in our body ... but when we are going to ovulate, there is a surge in the amount of production therefore you will get the dark positive line or smiley ... again this is not full proof ... some ladies are able to strike even without getting a positive during the cycle ... some gynaes also say its not very accurate ...

and another method is to chart yr bbt ... yr temp at the same time every morning ... if there is a sudden rise in temp, they say u r goin to ovulate ... to do this, you must be very disciplined ... hehehe ...

and last but not least, you can always see TCM, they can help to tiao yr body to make it the uterus(womb) a better environment for fertilisation and implantation ... but be prepared to eat the herbs(chinese meds) and maybe also do some acupuncture which improves the circulation in the uterus which is good for fertility ...

ah yes, 1 method i forgot , follicular monitoring ... this is when u go to yr gynae every 3-4 days depending on yr gynae's instruction to monitor the growth of the follicles ... it can start from day 10 ... depending on yr cycle again ... when it grows to a good size which can be 18mm to 22mm ... then they will give u a trigger jab to help the follicle rupture and release the egg for fertilisation ... what ive learned from this method is that, even if yr follicle matures and ruptures, it may not contain the egg ... this cant be seen ... so its a trial n error ...

end of the day, a lot of costs is involved ... so u n hb must be prepared ... it can be a short journey or it can drag on for years ... either way, always remember the love btwn to 2 of you ... dont let ttcing affect the marriage ...

all the best !!!

Thanks Anastasia and blessedone.

Ya, no positive OPK. My cycle is about 35 days and I start testing from 5th day. I'll test till the menses come just in case the cycle is long that month. I tested in the evenings for the first month and mornings in the second month.

Was just wondering if anybody also encountered the same prob as me and got positive tests using the CB monitor..

Do you mean the two actually test for different things? ie not LH level for CB monitor?

Weird. I encounter some spotting the day before I thot my AF is coming earlier .. coz usually my cycle is quite long.. but end up AF never appear..

blessedone : u mention that during fertile period the mucus is egg white .. meaning is those transparent looking? or cooked egg white which white in color ?

Paiseh ah I very blur =P

Hi xiaohuiis, when is your expected af to come? if af dun come tmr, u can test for hpt?

Reiko, how r u? Still spotting? Got test for hpt?

I got positive opk on 1st Jan (1am) & tested smiley at 9am. BUT, both dh and i fell sick, got flu. But we still managed to bd last nite. Should we try bd again tonite or tmr nite?

Xiaohui>> The colour should be transparent, or a little murky / cloudy. The mucus should be very stretchy -- can stretch more than an inch when you hold it between your fingers.

Kitkat>> BD tonight and tmr night.

Jas, my af really weird this mth. Only day 1 got bleeding but only max half pad.. 2nd day even lesser.. day 3 only 2 drops. Dunno izzit my fertility got problem?
I tested hpt 1 day b4 af and got bfn...

Since u opk.. better bd both nites uf possible rite?

Reiko, u got test hpt today again?

Reiko & Anastasia, i m coming down with fever. Dun know can bd onot. den i m insisting not to c doctor and eat medince. I will just drink more vit C.
Den today got to start preparing for mth-end reports. veri stress den dun know what time den can go back...

Happy New Year Gals... Here's the updated table. Let me know whether u have any changes. Thanks Jas for updating during the break..

<table border=1><tr><td>updated on 2 Jan 2013</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nickname</TD><TD>last AF</TD><TD>O day</TD><TD>CD/DPO</TD><TD>Avg cycle length </TD></TR><TR><TD>Anastasia</TD><TD>19-Dec</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD15</TD><TD>30 to 40 </TD></TR><TR><TD>alice</TD><TD>5-Nov</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD59</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annie Chan</TD><TD>27-Dec</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD7</TD><TD>28 to 30 </TD></TR><TR><TD>bbz_rainbowz</TD><TD>11-Nov</TD><TD>28-Nov</TD><TD>CD5</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>energeticsnake</TD><TD>16-Oct</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD78</TD><TD>25 to 26 </TD></TR><TR><TD>faith</TD><TD>27-Dec</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD7</TD><TD>26 to 34 </TD></TR><TR><TD>GBOB</TD><TD>20-Dec</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD14</TD><TD>27 </TD></TR><TR><TD>jas</TD><TD>15-Dec</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD19</TD><TD>31 to 33 </TD></TR><TR><TD>jhw</TD><TD>21-Dec</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD13</TD><TD>34 </TD></TR><TR><TD>joce</TD><TD>30-Nov</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD34</TD><TD>33 to 34 </TD></TR><TR><TD>JV</TD><TD>5-Dec</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD29</TD><TD>35 </TD></TR><TR><TD>May-25</TD><TD>18-Dec</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD16</TD><TD>32 to 35 </TD></TR><TR><TD>maomi</TD><TD>1-Dec</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD33</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>min81</TD><TD>10-Dec</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD24</TD><TD>31 to 34 </TD></TR><TR><TD>pinjie</TD><TD>3-Dec</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD31</TD><TD>33 to 37 </TD></TR><TR><TD>reikohopes</TD><TD>30-Dec</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD4</TD><TD>28 to 30 </TD></TR><TR><TD>shery</TD><TD>5-Dec</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD29</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>shiying41</TD><TD>10-Nov</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD54</TD><TD>30 to 34 </TD></TR><TR><TD>winkle</TD><TD>10-Dec</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD23</TD><TD>24 to 28 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zhuzhu</TD><TD>13-Dec</TD><TD></TD><TD>CD21</TD><TD>32 to 35 </TD></TR><TR><TD>babykk</TD><TD>8-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>*graduated* ^__^</TD><TD>30 to 35 </TD></TR><TR><TD>berries</TD><TD>25-Oct</TD><TD></TD><TD>*graduated* ^__^</TD><TD>28 to 30 </TD></TR><TR><TD>happy-mrs</TD><TD>24-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD>*graduated* ^__^</TD><TD>33 </TD></TR><TR><TD>love16</TD><TD>18-Jul</TD><TD></TD><TD>*graduated* ^__^</TD><TD>31 to 33 </TD></TR><TR><TD>shan</TD><TD>10-Jun</TD><TD></TD><TD>*graduated* ^__^</TD><TD>33 to 35 </TD></TR><TR><TD>shirley</TD><TD>3-Aug</TD><TD></TD><TD>*graduated* ^__^</TD><TD>24 to 29 </TD></TR><TR><TD>TTCing</TD><TD>13-Nov</TD><TD>28-Nov</TD><TD>*graduated* ^__^</TD><TD>33 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Kitkat, positive opk means going to ovulate, if can BD on day of positive and following day ... Take care !

EWCM, almost transparent

Jas, how come got fever? 2 heaty? Better tk more vit c n dun stress! And no, nv test.. dun wan get disappointed twice in a mth...

Maomi..thx 4 updating! U testing soon rite?

Olivia>> For OPKs, you should test between 10am to 8pm. This is because LH is produced in our body in the morning, but it takes a few hours to appear in our urine. Also, you may wanna test more than once a day. Cos for some women, the LH surge can be very short, if you test once a day, you may miss it.

For me, I test 2 to 3 times a day. Usually twice a day, once in the morning at around 6.45am and another in the afternoon at around 3pm. However, once I detect a smiley face, I will test 3 times a day, increasing one more test at 8pm.

Hi Anastasia, y do u still need to test after u detect smiley? CB state tat dun need to test after detecting smiley rite? Just need to bd for the next 48 hours?

Kitkat>> You dun wanna take medication cos TTC? Actually, you can just tell the doctor that you're TTC and they wil give medication that is safe. I remember when I was TTC my #1, I came down with food poisoning while on holiday. I was also very hesitant to take medication cos dunno whether i conceived or not, but i was in a really bad shape so I took medication anyway. Turns out I really did conceive and everything was ok!

You sound like you're in the finance line -- month end reports...can understand what you're going through cos' I'm also in this line. Super sianz...not only month end closing, this time is year-end closing! Stressed! And to make things worse, this work peak period coincides with my fertile period...and we all know what stress does to TTC
So I think this cycle I should be out liao, but nevertheless, I will try!

kitkat > now I am CD 34.. my past cycles is 42 and 40 leh so should be another 1 more week to go before AF comes? HPT is BFN last week.. hmm maybe if next week AF haven come will test again..

Now seems to have more spotting.. when wipe got pinkish light red...

Reiko... I very scared to test cos my menses is so irregular, but i did try on ovulation strip yest but neg, i know abit early to test cos' my ovulation is abit late this round i think.

Kitkat>> Yup, that's what the instructions say. But I like to test to see what happens after that, and to see how long my LH surge last..haha. For me, for the last cycle, I actually got i think 5 days of +ve OPK. What I found on the internet is that the LH in our bodies can continue to be high after a few days, but it's the very first +ve OPK that matters! So you're right to say that once you detect smiley face, no need to test anymore.

Xiaohui>> Hmmm, maybe the spotting that you had was implantation bleeding? Cos you mentioned that now you're CD34 and your cycles are around 40 days long. So it's possible that the spotting could be due to implantation. Suggest you will wait another week before testing HPT again. The earlier HPT that you took was too early -- cos if your cycles are around 40 days long, you should have ovulated aroud CD26. If you tested HPT around the time of ovulation, it will be too early to detect pregnancy.

Anastasia > Implantation bleeding doesn guarentee preg right?

Now I am worried whether does taking quakers oats daily will affect getting preg mah ..

Yup Anastasia, i m in Finance line. I got mth-end &amp; qtr end closing. Our yr end is in June.

Xiaohuiis, i dun tink taking quaker oats daily will affect getting preg.
Is your spotting heavy?

katkat > not really consider heavy i guess.. only a few drops on pantyliner.. but when i go pee n wipe will have light red on the toilet paper..

Xiaohui>> Technically, got implantation means pregnant. However, whether or not you get a +ve HPT depends on whether the implantation was good enough. Sometimes, the implantation is not good (e.g. due to uterus lining not thick enough), you may see a +ve HPT followed by a -ve HPT, or you may not see a +ve HPT but merely have a delay in your AF.

Maomi..yah, can understand.. good luck then!

Anastasia, u really like guru leh.. good to hv someone like u here..to give advice etc...

Anastasia : but last month i also encounter similar situation.. haven reach AF timing.. but got spotting for 1-2 days.. i also thot is implantation but end up got AF later..

so if implantation means sure preg? wun say never plant properly then never kana preg?

and I agree with Reiko.. u r soooo PRO ~~

ReikoHopes &amp; Xiaohui>> I'm no guru! I just read up quite alot. I think some other ladies (e.g. blessedone) are the real gurus! You see her response above on the type of preconception tests that can be done?

Xiaohui>> Got implant doesn't mean sure pregnant. Like you've suggested, never implant properly so therefore eventually miscaariage. For such cases, usually the ladies won't even know they are pregnant to begin with, they merely see a delay in their AF. Some people term this as chemical pregnancy.

You just started to TTC right? Don't stress too much about these things. Just enjoy the BDing process!