Hi Just Faith,
i'm not under IUI or SO-IUI. i'm only under clomid X 4 cycles. Was given a jab call pregnyl which the nurses told me it's will let the egg grow bigger and will make me ovulate the following day! My gynae is Adrian Tan from TMC (don't think he is specialist in fertility), but his name card did states a lots of specialities, 1 of it is infertility.

to elaborate,
behind his card states:
Infertility workup & treatment

And 1 whole list of surgery & procedures

hi monster, yup i had my first round of ivf and ended in m/c.. im with kkh, dr loh, but im not going back to him anymore.. alot of negative things abt there and them.. prior the ivf, to ivf and end of the m/c episode.. im now choosing another hospital, and probably not the head of dept.. coz i noe i need alot of attention if i get conceive again, esp with the 2 m/c..

yup, its true.. that time when i was conceive, my tcm doc also very anxious for me and keep asking got MS anot..

Just Faith,
i think u strike, faint line also means +ve for HPT..
congrats yeah ~

Angel,
eh u are here
this thread is for IUI, IVF, SO-IUI

JC,

I see. I get a better picture now.

I was previously with TMC, under Dr Eunice Chua. She put me on clomid + pregnyl + IUI on the first & second month - though I was a PCOS case. After IUI, I was given folic acid for 2 weeks, until AF report. She did not do anything to help on my PCOS.

First IUI - failed. Second IUI - failed. On the 3rd cycle, she asked me to go for ovarian drilling (cant remember how much, but i think around 3k+ cash) which I have 2nd thots about it. Money aside. I kinda felt that I havent receive appropriate infertility treatment. And I noticed she is seeing more pregnant ladies instead of treating infertility patients like me. 

After learning so much from the gals here about SO-IUI treatment, I discussed with DH and I immediately switched to Dr Loh of KKH on the same month. Dr Loh disagreed about ovarian drillings as I have PCOS (and PCOS sufferers tend to have more eggs). He do not want to destroy my eggs and deprive my chance of getting more follicles. He suggested that I do HSG. In KKH, one of the criterias for SO-IUI is that, one must clear HSG (to check for blocked tubes). I was cleared of HSG. But tell you lor, HSG was very very very paintful for me. Most of the gals din complain of the pain here, except me bah. I was rolling on the bed for two days. That month I din strike on natural. Only had clomid from Dr Loh.

I started on SO-IUI with dr loh on the following mth. SO-IUI involves daily injection of puregon until day 12 or so. During 12 days, I have to return to KKH on every alternate days to check on the growth of follicles. Then the desired follicle size is reached, KKH will check for ovulation using ovulation kit. Pregnyl is injected to release the eggs (sometimes it is done at their 24/7 clinic), then artificial insemination of your DH spermies. Was given progesterone (to be inserted into rectrum 2 times daily).

BTW, as soon as Dr Loh learnt of my PCOS, he already put me on daily folic acid and metformin (anti diabetic drug). I have since, been taking folic acid and metformin daily.

As far as I know, the clinic that I went to at TMC do not have SO-IUI procedure. Other than KKH, other private hospital also do SO-IUI. The reason why I din go to other private hospital is I worry I may need to do IVF eventually. If I start at KKH, the costs will be more managable.

Talk to your gynae and see what is his recommendation and procedure to get you preggy. Do you know too much clomid will thin your linings? have you consider switching gynaes?

Baby dust to all,

I miss you so much! How are you and baby doing?

Dun congratulate me too early! I m still waiting for confirmation on monday. :D

Monster,

Your post really touched my heart!!! Really!!!!

Yeap, I will do anything to have a healthy baby and a child I can call my own.

Hi just Faith,
read abt ur details from chng of gynae from TMC to KKH!
Actually i don't really like KKH cos of the long waiting time. Also, my hubby do not want me to go thru IUI (which involves daily injections) cos he do not want to see me suffer daily. He say if i don't get it this time, maybe we shd let nature take it course. He don't mind gog to TCM w me if i would want to "tiao" my health.

For my gynae, he is a very nice man and he was a snr consultant in KKH 5 yrs ago. He only set up his private clinic with 2 other KK consultants in yr 2005, hence i trust his knowledge. Anyway, I still want to thank u for your advice.

Ya, i read abt clomid thining ur lining and knew that max is 6 cycles. Hence, after this cycle (4th already), i would want to let nature take it course lei!

For KKH, only waiting time to see Dr Loh was terrible. But since I yearning so much for a baby, I just accept it with no complaints! hahaha.

Anyway my waiting time at TMC is not any better. lol

Just Faith,
me doing okay managing MS and stuff. Baby doing well
keke I am sure u have strike already, let me know okay on Monday when u go for ur test
Hugs Hugs Hugs.

Angel,
Just Faith did SO-IUI

Just Faith,
i've been to KKH w my SIL when she do day surgery. We went in the 8am and waited till late am then she went in for her surgery. by the time she completed everything, it's already late evening.

My wait at TMC is less than 1/2, but maybe mine is private clinic in TMC. Hence the waiting time not so long. It's by appt.

Hi giving bb dust to all,
how many wk r u in now? Gd to know that u are preggy! congrats!

JC,

No wonder you have bad experience at KKH. My sis also removed her fibroids at KKH. I was the one who accompanied her. She went in the morning and came out slightly after lunch. We find the waiting time at KKH was okay.

The pte clinic that i used to go at TMC was TLC. #03 i think. I noticed my gynae has more clients who are preggy and nt really treating fertility though her namecard says fertility treatment. My galfrd also failed 3 times under her.

Monster, Baby Dust, Serina (hope she is reading this), BB Dreamz & others who are following this thread:-

I tested again on HPT. Can see really clear positive lines.

:D

JC - thanks!

I am going back to KKIVF Dept (which also handles SO-IUI) on Monday. Not sure if I will be seeing Dr Loh. Apparently, Monday is my reporting day if AF do not report. But I know Monday will need to do blood test. :D

Morning JC,
i am currently in my 12th week
Tks so much for your well wishes, loads of bbdust to you

Just Faith,
yeah!!!!!! i am pretty sure ur AF won't report on Monday cause ur HPT is clear +ve lines...all ur efforts paid off le
so happy for u

Hi Just faith: Congrats!
Do take care of your body well from now.

Btw, do you mind doing me a favour? Can u help me ask if someone wants to do SOIUI in end Nov/early Dec at KKIVF, is it possible? Cos i know they can't do IVF cos closed for cleaning, but was wondering if still can do SOIUI. Thanks ;)

BB Dreamz, BB Dust to all:

Thanks for your well wishes.

BB Dreamz - okay will check with KKIVF tomolo. Btw, just wondering how come u dun wan to start earlier for SO-IUI?

Justfaith
Silent reader of this thread. Congrats on your BFP. You dont accept PM. Want to ask you abt TLC as used to see the same gynae as you. Can pm me?

Hello Just Faith,

CONGRATULATIONS! I wanna jump up and hug u.Ur 'one day' has finally come.I'm really happy for u.surprising,hor? we don't even know how each other look.haha.but i feel ur relief.enjoy all the attention that's going to be showered on u.rem to get more rest.

Hi Gillian,

I'm seeing 3 gynaes at NUH.Where do u live?I live all the way in the west,but i'll go anywhere if i find a good gynae.to be honest,i feel so safe with my team of gynaes coz i know they are so experienced and they are all 'rehabilitating' me after my m/c.i'm seeing A/Prof Mary Rauff as my main gynae.she has referred me to Prof PC Wong when i asked abt fertility treatment.i had 2 failed IUIs under PC wong.he's a very conservative gynae.i didn't take any drugs.i suspect he knows my history fr Mary rauff.I have proven that i O regularly,so there's no need for drugs.but thinking of it,it does lessen my chances since i only have 1 egg to fertilise.i also see Dr.Fong Yoke Fai and i had ressection of my uterine septum coz Mary rauff doesn't operate on that.if u want to do IVF and use medisave,u can only do it in restructured hospitals.

Oh,Just Faith,

I forgot,can u pls sprinkle bb dust on me? i think u better drown me in it.hehe

Hi to all 1st, long time didn't post here as I am busy since the last failed IUI 1 year ago. Take a break to tiao my body system. Finally saw my gynae again last weekend due to menses delayed, scanned as I scared got fibrol growing that cause FAT TUMMY. Thank god all is well. Just lazy eggs. Now taking medication to induce my menses.

After talking to my gynea, I would be going for the HCG test after menses comes. Then wait for another cycle before going for the SO-IUI. Choice of SO-IUI is that I have failed on clomid x 5 and clmoid + metformin.

I read JustFaith complaining about pain.. err... I am too scared. My Gynae advice me to take pain killer before that and after the X-ray take anti-bodotics. She mentioned to me not to try for the cycle after HCG. See how it will goes later.

Just would like to check with u gals who are in the SO-IUI, do you inject urself or hubby help?
Do I need to keep the inject stuffs in the fridge, coz' I am staying with my in-law's on weekday, not sure that is a good idea or not. Else I would need to delay it until school holidays starts, when we are staying on our own.
Also after SO-IUI needs to be on MC?

I do agreed that choosing a gynea is important. My previous gynea who delivered my son 7 years ago is good.But I doubt he got time to discuss fertility issue with me. Also he thinks that since I am conceive last time I am able to do so the 2nd time and just prescribe to me Clomid. My current gynea, she took the effort to discuss and explain to me. Hope I will be in good hands.

Hi JC, so who are you seeing now?

Oh ya, nearly forgot to congrats JustFaith...Have a smooth pregnancy.

Sorry ladies for the long long post.

ohojazz,
my DH helped me with the injection. my hands were shaking badly to do it ..

I keep the whole pen inside the fridge so that I don't need to take out the puregon med. I am staying with IL also, i just wrap it in plastic bag so that no one will go touch and open it.

I didn't take MC after my SO-IUI went straight to work.

Hope this helps

Hi GivingBBDust,

Thanks for your info.
Would like to check then how much dosage are you given for the cycle. Also kapo abit how many cycle of SO-IUI before you strike.

Also after SO-IUI procedure, any more medication needs to be taken?

My hubby is having low sperm count, any advice or multi-vit for him for these 2 months?

Ohohjazz,
i was given 75iu de for the 1st 4 days, 5th day went back to scan eggies not correct size yet so my dosage was increased to 100iu so that all the eggs grow well. Eggs ready on the 8th day and 9th day i went back to take HCG shot to trigger Ovulation. 11th day i went back to do IUI.

I did one round of IUI and striked.

Hmm after the IUI procedure, i was given utrogestan to be inserted via the vagina. Everyday 4 tabs (2 morning, 2 night) to increase the womb lining and make it sticky for the fertilised egg to stick to the womb.

hmm what my doc gave my DH was given tribestan (this is a prescribed medicine, cannot get from outside pharmacy) to help increase his sperms' morphology, motility and normal sperm counts, cause my Dh suffered from all these. It does helped improved but motility remains the same.

Hope this helps

Hi GivingBBDust,

Congrats! and it really liften up my hope on your sucess.

Mind to share with me who is ur gynea?

Utrogestan is the standard thing to be given after IUI? The last round after my IUI gynae didn't give me anything at all just tell me keep the finger cross.

How long did you hubby on the medication? Is this the one: https://www.mypharmacy.com.sg/ShopFront/ProductPage.aspx?CatID=210&ProdSKU=993490216

Maybe I would check with my gynae the next time round as to what can be given to my hubby.

ohohjazz,
my gynae is Dr. Sheila Loh from Raffles Hosp.

hmm depends wor, some docs dont give utrogestan, they give duphaston. works the same but utrogestan is more effective cause u got to insert vaginally rather than duphaston which is taken orally. Hmm i think diff hosp different protocols bah

Yupz the picture u showed me is tribestan

my DH was on medication for abt 2-3 mths cause we wanted to try naturally 1st since he is taking med, but since no strike so we decide to go for SO-IUI

ohohjazz,
my gynae is Adrian Tan from ACJ clinic (at TMC).

Initially, my gynae also feel that i can try conceiving since i've delivered to my girl 4 yrs ago. But I told him that I would like to conceive my #2 by next yr cos their gap will be v big liao! So he check my womb and see if my ovaries got eggs or not. He mentioned to me that my eggs not a lot so he also prescribe Clomid to me.
First 3 cycles of clomid failed, the 4th one is this mth. Was ask to see him on D10, but he say eggs too small, there are 3 eggs. Hence need to see him on D18 again. On D18, he say only 1 egg is ok, the rest of the eggs too small n will shrink. So was given a jab of pregnyl to release the egg the following day and was told to ML on D19 onwards. I did d ovulation test n notice that strip did show +ve. So hv been working hard on the 3-4 days...

Now i'm only hoping to see result soon....

Hi JC,

all the best to you.
I am going for the HGC scan to check out my tubes. Perviously with IUI I got 1 eggs at size 18mm... but still failed. So now doc asking me to go for SO-IUI, as I also complain of hair loss after taking clomid.

Last weekend during the scan to check if the womb or not as menses was irregular and is like CD70 already. Therefore need to induce menses this week. During the scan, the doc commented that my left ovary is behind my womb, making scaning abit challenging.

Hi ohohjazz,
Tks for the blessings!

does IUI procedure needs u to hv daily injection? I'm only taking clomid (X 4 cycles) as of now.... so scare to go thru the stage that i need to jab myself n see so many holes in me..

Hee...my menses is always 50-70 days once... So i'm not normally too. LOL!

long time nrv post liao but have been catching up wif you gals ...

JustFaith
just wanna congrat u as your efforts paid off!!

bb dust
can i check wif you on the tribestan your DH takes? How was his SA results before and after taking the medication? Is zit really working to improve sperm count and motility? Seems like it's a dietary supplement and not a controlled drug, so must need a prescription to buy??

Crafty Yard,
I can say that after eating tribestan, his SA results improved tremendously but unfortunately it seems that the med does not help to improve his motility it remains the same. But in terms of count, morphology and the rest it does help. Sort of double the no. of sperm counts.

Hmm in RH we need prescription to buy tribestan wor. when my DH finished his 1st bottle, i need to ask my gynae for prescription again before I can buy she don't let me just buy it from the counter directly.

bb dust
so strange leh. the link that ohohjazz provided appears that changi hospital has it available via its online pharmacy. Can i ask if it is the same as your DH's and that the price is similar too? I may want to give this a try. My DH jux finished his 3month's supply of zinc which is reportedly known for improving sperm count. Still nothing to date.

crafy yard,
yah its the same as what my DH is taking wor.. the price agar the same too 100 plus so ex.

I dont know leh maybe diff hosp have diff protocol bah but in RH its a prescription med.

Hi Crafty Yard,
you mean that after your hubby taking the zinc, there is still no improvement based on his 2nd SA result?

Hi JC,
Check with you with clomid does your cycle becomes regular or still irregular? I took it before for 5 cycle and only 1 cycle is with heavy flow and within the 30 days cycle. After that menses quantity decreases and cycle goes beyond 30-40.

bb dust

ya, 100+ for 60 tab is really ex. But if it really helps, then no harm trying lor...Come to this point, everything must give it a try or else we nrv know...Actually there's another FertileAid available from overseas sites that has garnered tremendous positive feedback in improving sperm condition. But i'm just too kiasi to give it a try as it may not be an approved medication in SIN. Since SIN hospitals are selling the tribestan, then it should be safe enuf.

ohohjazz

after i've failed my so-iui (due to low sperm count), my DH been taking vit E and Zinc to improve his condition. He has not taken any SA thereafter. But thru these 3 months, i roughly can gauge the quantity in terms of volume. Does not appear to have increased leh

Ohohjazz,
i've regular cycle of AF all within 30-32 days when taking clomid. My AF go haywire (2-3mths once) when i stop clomid. So i believe help me to ovulation mthly.

CraftyYard,
*hugs*, how many cycle of SO-IUI u have gone through? What's your next step you are taking as advice by your gynae. I guess low sperm count should not be a factor afterall i got fren who managed to get pregnant when their hubby SA result is only 2%. However, according to her, her hubby starts to exercise and take the TangChongZhao capsules. Now I am pushing my hubby to exercise also which he have been lacking for 7-8 years due to work.

crafty yard,
hmm i think it does help lah for my DH case, even my gynae said improved. i think can try the tribestan bah
Overseas one i am not sure but for me I dont dare to take the risk. If ur DH is wearing normal underwear, maybe its better that he wears boxer cause normal underwear sort of restricts de Sperms.
Jia you Jia you

I will be joining you gals again as all got to start over... my bb didn't grow after detect heartbea at wk 6. Hence, had did a dnc last week. Not sure why but this is my 2nd mc in this year.. the first mc is also done thru so-iui but can't detect anything at all when scan. That time is natural mc as waiting for menses to come itself... no need dnc.. tat time already know no good as when do bloodtest, the count is not double.
This time, the count double alot when do bt but still it didn't make it.. this is my 2nd iui... now resting at home try to bu my body stronger and will try for natural for first two months...if still no result will go for iui again but with forbe as not sure is it due to soiui that my bb always can't make it.. sigh... maybe, i should listen to fate and let natural take place than to force... jus like how i hv my son naturally...but age and time is not on my side so after wait for 5yrs, hv no choice but to do ART but disappointed both times. For me, when test bfp, happy but not able to rest at ease until after the first trimester... maybe due to the first mc experience, i am very stressful for this 2nd pregnancy and maybe that's the reason why i lost him/her due to stressful and not enough blood... sigh... will hv to stay more relax next time but really not easy especially we hav put in sooo much effort then have this bb and due to my past bad experience... anyway, i will not give up and continue to try on until i am 40yrs old...
that day, i told my hb before my dnc that i feel so contradiciting... i spend so much $$ and effort to put in the sperm and now got to spend $$ again to take it out thru dnc... sigh...am glad my dh is very supportive, keep console me and take care of me... he also say that we can continue to try. that's why i can get back well again so fast...
now, my son is my pillar of support... feel so happy to be with him when see him... especialy touch when he told my mum that he is very happy that he is going home to see mummy at night on last friday nite... i almost sob when my mum tell me this...feel so bad that i disappoint him twice in didn't give him a sibling to play with... sigh...

Hi Jusfaith,
congratulation to you!! how's ur bt result? so happy for you too as is not easy to strike under so-iui... so take care well now...

Hi givebbdust,
today suppose to be your 12wk scan right? though i already not in the april thread but still keep counting that if my bb still around, he/she will be also around 12wk in my tummy...anyway, happy for you that you can see ur bb clearer today... 12th wk i remember can see the head,leg and hand very clearly...as that day i dig out my son's scan photo so can remember the difference and growth for baby between wk 8 to wk 12 is really alot... enjoy the moment...

Hi monster and gillian,
Thank you for your concern. Have been a silent reader but because resting for the past few days so didn't write anything until today...

Ohohjazz,
some pple don't respond to clomid.... that y after taking it for 3 cycles, on the 4th cycles, my gynae check did i hv more eggs n ovulating or not!

ohohjazz

i took 2 rounds of so-iui, but technically only once. 1st round, DH had to be away on biz trip on the crucial days, so missed the most important procedure of injecting the spermies. 2nd round, was able to go tru the entire procedure, but failed. consultation with gynae revealed that it could be largely due to low sperm count. My DH exercises quite regularly and is non-smoker. But is a little over-weight. Cd be his diet lah. Prior to conceiving our 1st, we used to jog together. Maybe we were younger and healthier then, tat's Y we manage to conceive in the 1st mth. Now age older, factory older. sigh!

crafty Yard,
i've the same feeling w u...
#1 no stress no sweat. #2 so difficult... I also feel that my factory is old liao... so difficult to produce liao!

Joanne,
Hugs I am glad that u are taking everything in stride slowly... and its happy to hear that ur DH is supportive, that is very impt.....yupz today is my 12th week scan...a bit stress.. but i will let things take its course