morning ladies

redtea
thankie ya...but I tink roxy eva told me abt vanishing twins b4...anyway, it'll be bonus for me if it grows

But on 5½ weeks, cant see much forming ah ...juz the sac.

Catmon
So which wk then can confirm if got twins?

Kind of upset and happy. Juz learnt 2 of my frens (whom i've long nrv met) gave birth this wk (both 2nd bundle of joy) and my SIL oso gave birth yesterday...Upset coz why so many pple ard me can conceive so easily whereas i can't? Happy for their new additions, yet envious and angry wif myself....it's something not within my control. Feel so helpless. This morning, my boy upset me again as he was throwing a tantrum and refused to get into car to school. In the end, i walked off without a word and let hubby drove him to school instead. So upsetting!

ceraine
rest well and take it easy during 2ww. waiting for your BFP news on month end

monster
glad to hear that you feeling great now! i only hv hcg booster after IUI, to strengthen my womb if fertilisation is occur. your jab before IUI was a hcg trigger to make sure O takes place. dun worry everything will be fine. stay cheerful

catmon
woohoo!! 2 sacs!! grow grow grow!!! i am very happy for you! keep us posted again

redtea
i know what you mean. my son was on nebuliser a week during my 2ww. kinda heartpain to see him sicked darn jialat. their health is more impt than everything!

Heh heh today tested again on HPT. The line turn dark dark liao. Confirmed pregnant lah.

Alien,

Yeah I told my son cos I know he wants a playmate. I can tell from his actions. He always wanted someone to play with him. But I still tell him "I love you" everyday too. Just want to let him know that mummy still love him no matter what.

Catmon,

Woah if twins then congrats. I don't mind having twins also. Heh heh

crafy_yard,

Dun be upset. Your turn will come soon. I also didn't think I will get pregnant this round, cos I went to take blood test on DPO3 just to check if I am ovulating. Doc that time didn't mentioned anything and I had terrible cramps on the day I suppose to have period + super PMS.

End up viola, I am pregnant. I was supposed to start on clomid this month who baby arrived unexpectedly. I guess it will come when its your turn. Dun give up.

Baby dust to all of you who wants a baby!

Ceraine
All the best! Hope to catch your baby dust in 2 weeks time.

this round i also doing IUI. don't know when yet though. But i no confidence leh coming down with cough.
stress at work. DH very busy with work. i don't see him till 10 plus at night..

crafty
doc wan scan again nex wk to see if it's growing with the 1st one. Tats why he din wanna commit anyting.
Hey dun be upset ya ...ur chance is coming soon. You got Jui, Jing Hui, alien & me to shower u with bb dust leh...

alien
I hope so too!
Wow...u mothers have got the motherly instinct hor...so sweet!

sstarlight
congrats gal!!!!

liz
take a break lor...go for hols or ask hub to take leave with u & then u guys can relax lor...

catmon
you hv scanning weekly? are you on package yet? if not very siong leh..

sstarlight
congrats!!! now you can an xing

catmon
my MS started last night. i feel awful. yes, i am feeling very sick now, at work
alamak i am so early... really hv long way to go

alien
no la...but coz doc wan see if 2nd sac is growing. Yday I started to have these feelings as tho I wanna vomit leh ...aiyo...terrible. But no vomit la.

alien
okie, I hope aft next wk's scan...I dun have to go so often liao. My 1 scan yday is $128 leh!

Yah the feeling oredi sucks! Imagine if I realli vomit out!

sstarlight
congrats on your results. so the moral of the story is: a line is a line, no matter faint or dark

Catmon
i know i have all the BB dust from you gals rt here. As i've said, i will persevere.

Alien
actually quite strange. if u dun tink/talk abt ms, you may keep it abay. But the moment u tink
abt it, it will come immediately.

crafty
ur hols is coming soon leh ...looking forward to it anot? yah we'll keep showering u with all the bb dust ..and if i get twins, the 2 of them will shower u wit it

crafty yard
you are absolutely right!! cannot think/talk abt ms. it will get worst! hahaa.. i try not to think and eat/drink as per normal. i wanna fight with ms haha.. kai zan lor!

alien
eat/drink per normal is ok ma rite?...i feel the vomit-like oni when I'm on empty stomachs leh ..so doc asked me take small meals.

catmon
so far ok but last nite i just felt so sicked that i cant swallow my dinner. this AM suddenly plain water become so yucky. hey i replied your PM, did you receive it?

alien
Oooo....nw I noe...ok thankie ya

not having lunch today ..juz some snacks will do ...coz juz had something lite juz nw...u gals enjoy ur lunch hor!

Catmon
definitely looking forward to the break. then i can dun think abt 2ww. In fact, i've bk gynae the next day i'm back to quickly start the jab. can't wait liao...

wow, if urs twins, it'll be double the dosage! yup, goody!

Alien
if it's so bad, u can ask LC for medication that will ease the nauseous. it did help during my time. I couldn't even plain drink water then, only pink dolphin. (dun ask me why)

crafty yard
LC did prescribed some anti nauseous pill for me last preg. but he said actually no effect de lah, it just let you feel better that you are taking something, hahaa.. i hv all sort of weapons to lighten ms, i will fight!
i replaced plain water with ribena last time.

catmon
i will be having xinful food for lunch later. will enjoy!

Catmon
ya, maybe only pink dolphin and not any other...He was rather niao wan..vitagen oso cannot..

i've not tried msn, but dun tink so leh. our firewall bery thick, can't go a number of sites. like, i can't post pic here.

Alien
huh? LC said tat? oh, maybe he just prescribed to comfort us a little. Juz put a plastic bag in your handbag, in case u turn merlion while travelling...

juz went TMC to see my little nephew over lunch...aiyo! so rozy cheeks and sleepy look...wanna hug hug him for a loong time...

Catmon
ya man. i tot anything sweet can liao...but but...i turn merlion soon after...

well, juz look awake and fresh when boss goes ur way!

catmon
i nrv took a single one. no urge leh. diff pple react differently. u may develop ur craving for some others soon...eat in moderation and don't indulge in a particular food too much, esp sweet stuff like ice-creams. Eat more fish.

crafty
Yah I love fish...dad has been cooking me fish every week, from steam to sweet & sour & tonite will be sambal fish ...wow ~!

crafty
yah my fave too!!!! Used to cook for hub tat ..but nw i refrain fr cooking...under doc's advice...hahahahahaa poor Hub...

crafty,
*hugs* dun get so upset, while i'm ttcing very hard, everywhere u go, can see alot of pregnant mummies n babies one...

catmon,
wow, twins would be very good! hope both sacs grow well... fyi, dr fong's package only start from 20 weeks. so still got alot to spend before can take up the package.

ceraine,
good luck! *baby dusts to u*

monster,
**** baby dusts to u too****

sstarlight,
congrats! u can set your mind at ease n enjoy the pregnancy now.

hui
finally u're out.
20 wks then start package?????
Gd luck to me then.
But have u gals heard of vanishing twin? Roxy mentioned b4 la...but chances of it surviving?

Hi hui,
Thanks for ur baby dust.dust me with more,okie!

Alien,
now,my mind is so tired.i'm not thinking.i juz follow doc's advice.don't know if it's right or wrong,i juz go at the appointed time,do wat he tells me to do etc.

i still have clomid prescribed fr previous gynae.no harm having it,i guess.going to take fr day 9-13.day 2-6 doesn't work for me.

Thanks girls for all your support.

Later I will go buy one clearblue. Pee on it then take the photo of the dark dark line down as a memory. I also did that for my first kid. Heh heh..

Catmon,
Why cannot cook? Today I am on MC (bad flu yesterday). I sleep and sleep the whole morning heh heh..

I heard of vanishing twin before. I saw it on the National Geo TV sometime 2 yrs ago. It is said to be pretty common. Actually having twins is more xin ku and higer risk compare to a singleton. But the joy of having twins also double. So don't think too much lah. Now rest as much as you can.

I keep taking naps. Somehow I have this thinking the more I sleep, the more baby will grow.

sstarlight
doc told Hub that he dun wanna me walk too much. Just to rest. So Hub is taking on all the housework & cooking from me.

Yah I'm kinda enjoying my pregnancy now...everyone is so thoughtful in the office nw.

Heh heh.. maybe doc wants you to rest more so both baby can grow healthily. Good lah, now you are the queen already.

I still do the housework. But my hubby takes care of my son now. Esp when my son poo, I told my hubby I smell liao will puke. Now he taking care of all the diaper changing. Kekeke

My son ah, now is 16 months old already. But still a baby in my eyes. Heh heh.. I still keep calling him "baby" leh. Think I got to change soon cos another baby on the way.

sstarlight
awww...so sweet!!! still a baby in ur eyes. I realli gotta salute u ladies...it's tougher looking aft #1 & also preggy with the 2nd.

If you got twins, my turn to salute you. I always admire twins' mummy. Its so fun to have twins. My friend who have twins tells me sometimes she and her hubby will get mixed up, esp at night feeding, who have they fed and who have not.

Sounds chaotic but fun and happy to look after 2 at the same time.

sstarlight
haha...maybe i shld put a marker to remind me of who is who ah. But if the twins come fr different sacs, they're unidentical twins. So easy to tell them apart.

hi catmon
congrats on 2 sacs! hope you get twins.. yes, there is the vanishing twin syndrome which is what happened to me, but my vanishing twin was very obvious at 6 weeks, 1 sac has strong bb heartbeat, the other sac empty ie blighted ovum. Before that I had lotsa bleeding, duno whether this bleeding caused the other sac to be gone..but im glad to have 1 healthy one at least
In fact, alot of women have this vanishing twin syndrome but most dun detect it cause they not so KS as us and do ultrasound scan so early...:p By the time they scan, maybe 7-8 weeks, the other sac without any baby is already gone and they never knew they had twin sacs.. can google this term over internet..Hope your next scan will bring good news and you will see 2 heartbeats!

congrats sstarlight!!

alien, ignore the mummy and dun let it affect your mood and pregnancy...

hi ceraine
hope yang yang will bring you good news.. children very sensitive towards such tings de...

I think Im ovulating today or tomorrow, duno cause never take temp or test opk, me and hubby BD once only and that's all, cause I want gal, dun want to bd near O :p... duno will strike or not, now im officially in 2ww

Vanishing Twin Syndrome occurs when one of a set of twin fetuses apparently disappears from the womb during pregnancy, usually resulting in a normal singleton pregnancy.

What really happens?

One of the fetuses in a twin pregnancy spontaneously aborts, usually during the first trimester; the fetal tissue is absorbed by the other twin, the placenta, or the mother, thus giving the appearance that the twin "vanished."

How is it diagnosed?

Here's a typical scenario: A mother undergoes a routine ultrasound early in her pregnancy, for example at six or seven weeks gestation. Two fetuses are detected. The mother is told she is having twins.

When the mother returns to the doctor six weeks later, only one heartbeat can be heard with a Doppler scan. Another ultrasound is performed. Only one fetus is identified.

In other cases, a pregnant mother experiences symptoms that would seem to mimic miscarriage; however the single baby in her womb remains unaffected.

How often does it happen?

Scientists have confirmed that the number of twin conceptions greatly outnumbers the number of actual twin births. Some estimates offer that 1 in 8 people started life as a twin, while in reality only 1 in 70 actually are a twin. In "Having Twins," author Elizabeth Noble claims that 80% of twin pregnancies result in the loss of one or both babies. Other studies predict that Vanishing Twin Syndrome occurs in 21 - 30% of all multiple pregnancies in the United States. It is estimated that Vanishing Twin Syndrome will play a role in 50% of assisted ovulation pregnancies.

Why is it happening more frequently?

Although it would seem that incidences of Vanishing Twin Syndrome are increasing with alarming frequency, it is simply that the detection of the phenomenon has increased. Advancements in ultrasound technology allow modern doctors (and parents) the exciting opportunity to peek into the womb. As more doctors routinely use ultrasound in the first trimester, more multiple pregnancies are identified. And a certain percentage of those will be affected by Vanishing Twin Syndrome. In the past, many women experienced VTS without ever knowing it.

What causes it?

Just as there is no clear attributable cause for most miscarriages, there aren't always reasons or explanations for the loss of a fetus in a multiple pregnancy. In some cases, the fetus is inviable due to chromosomal or placental abnormalities. Some studies suggest that because these abnormalities are more common in older women, Vanishing Twin Syndrome occurs more often in mothers of advanced age. Vanishing Twin Syndrome occurs with equal frequency in monozygotic and dizygotic twins, although the complications of sharing a placenta between monochorionic monozygotic twins may contribute to the condition. The vanished twin can die owing to a poorly implanted placenta, a developmental anomaly that may cause major organs to fail or be missing completely, or there may be a chromosome abnormality incompatible with life. Frequently the twin is a blighted ovum, one that never developed beyond the very earliest stages of embryogenesis

What are the symptoms?

There might not be any symptoms. However, some mothers experience some mild cramping, bleeding or pelvic discomfort, similar to miscarriage. Decreasing hormone levels may also indicate that one fetus has been resorbed.

What is the treatment?

Generally, neither the mother nor the remaining fetus will require any kind of medical treatment. When VTS occurs in the first trimester, the mother usually goes on to experience a normal pregnancy and delivers a healthy singleton. However, in situations where a fetus dies in the second or third trimester, the mother may experience pre-term labor, infection or hemorrhaging. In those cases, doctors will prescribe treatment appropriate for those conditions.

roxy
thanks ya. I actually went thru the archives abt u telling me on the vanishing twin syndrome. And the read is very interesting.
Good luck for your 2ww ~

Hui
ya, i always watch with envy whenever i see preggy mums or little BBs...

btw, my this cycle kind of strange. my temp very low througout CD1, maxi recording only at 36.3. Yesterday CD17, supposely O, coz got clear discharge, but temp rose instead. CD16 temp dip from 36.3-36.0, but only faint line detected. I've been BD-ing for a row of 3 days fr CD15 liao! *faint* now i wonder if i had caught the egg at the rite time...one of those confusing moments!

Yeah crafty,

agreed with Alien, only stop when you confirmed thermal shift. I was lucky, I BD only on my OPK showed strong line but my thermal shift happened only 2 days later. And I strike on my first round of BBT taking. Lucky lucky me.

Spread baby dust to you too. Work hard ya *wink*

Alien + sstarlight
like dat huh? CD17 temp was 36.2, today CD18 oso same. considered thermal shift? 2day quite dry leh. ended??

sstarlight, so u BD on the day OPK show strong line OR 2 days later when u got ur thermal shift?
ya, working ber hard liao...woke up in the middle of nite to BD leh..siong!