Not sure if relevant now, but for those jaundice baby follow up in polyclinic, as long as baby less than 14 days old, walk-in with baby booklet to get priority queue. Same for when directed to draw blood, just bring ur queue number to diagnostics for priority. Told this by several counter staff.....

As for baby acne, was told by Dr that it is due to mummy pregnancy hormones, to prevent infection just clean with cool boiled water and cotton balls 2-3 times a day and change mittens often.

Bubbles is now 23 days old, and quite colicky :( I think I have figured out the issue - overactive let down. Haiz. First 2 weeks not enough milk, now too much too fast, alamak. At least I know the lactation cookies I baked work - http://www.bellybelly.com.au/breastfeeding/lactation-cookies/

But now I miss eating it lol

Seems like everyone is going through pretty similar routines! And congrats to @Minniera! Yes, csec is major surgery, I am still in quite a bit of pain even though it has been 3+weeks, and wear a binder majority of the time. Doesn't help that I have to keep on carrying baby to polyclinic for jaundice and my own BP checkups...each time I return I get more painful bleeds...Haiz.

Anyone exclusively pumping and feeding EBM thru bottle? LO doesnt latch and have been giving EBM. Any idea if EBM can be kept if LO doesnt finish on first heat up? Can reheat? If can keep in fridge again; can keep how long?

Snowfern: r u sure the lactation cookies work? It seems from the website review that it really works wonder. Wats your personal experience?

Anyone exclusively pumping and feeding EBM thru bottle? LO doesnt latch and have been giving EBM. Any idea if EBM can be kept if LO doesnt finish on first heat up? Can reheat? If can keep in fridge again; can keep how long?
For me I will keep it in the fridge n warm it for later use. Can't bear to throw it away

Oh dear, I have been up since 3am and baby juz refused to sleep. Fed her and she can't finish her milk. So I juz put her on the cot and her eyes are wide open. Then I switch off the light and I intend to go back to sleep then she started crying. So I have been carrying her since then and is still carrying her now.. Seriously I really dunno what she wants. She juz want me to switch on the light and accompany her watch the light!

Gosh. This is something I fear most when CL is gone next week. And the thought of such scene has been giving me chills.

Baby will sleep like a log later on. So do catch up on some sleep.

My CL has told me before that I should try to keep the baby awake ard late afternoon/ evening time So that baby will be tired at night and sleep for longer duration.

There is some truth in it. Yesterday my parents and in law came n baby was so hyperactive from 10am-5pm. After 6pm feed, baby concussed until 10pm. And straightway concuss again after 10pm, 1am, 4am feeds.

I have also read somewhere that we should try to keep volume low and lights dim when attending to baby at night. Try not to engage baby and look into baby's eyes as that will trigger "it's play time!" Signal to the baby

Recently, I observed that my baby can sleep well when placed beside me. Sometimes I latch baby by lying side by side. Though dangerous (suffocation risk), this will be an alternative option if I m too tired to hold baby for latching.

Monday blues now has a whole new meaning (I'm alone with bb in the day again).

About keeping leftovers: do you keep the whole milk bottle with the leftover into the fridge or pour the leftover into storage cup first?

Anyone into baby wearing? I'm starting soon so that I can get stuff done at home when alone.

Just to share: my CL does not off the room lights so the bb doesn't know it's night or day. She said she can't see at nite and I guess it helps when she wakes at nite and don't need to stumble to find the switch.

She takes Abt an hr or two to coax him to sleep on some nights. It started with the 3 weeks growth spurt.

So when she left the first few things I did was to off the lights at nite. No talking to baby... And latch if he is crying cos dun want his cries to wake the elder brother.

My bb goes back to sleep immediately after feeds in the nights... Sometimes in the day time it's also hard to keep him awake. He is still waking at 3hrs interval although he should be able to manage 6hr stretch at 6w old. I'm waiting for that day he can sleep 6hrs...

Monday blues now has a whole new meaning (I'm alone with bb in the day again).

About keeping leftovers: do you keep the whole milk bottle with the leftover into the fridge or pour the leftover into storage cup first?

Anyone into baby wearing? I'm starting soon so that I can get stuff done at home when alone.

I place the whole bottle + bottle cap into the fridge. When needed, just warm it back in the same bottle. I find that transferring would waste some milk that's stuck to the sides of the bottle.

I restarted swaddling last night when bb refused to sleep. Slept well. This morning after a feed I also swaddle her back again and she is sleeping comfortably. Those of you whose bbs fussing during sleep, wondering did you try swaddling?

Yes my CL also says don't look into their eyes esp during feeding. Let them drink, not "play".

If bb need light at night. Use a yellow or dim light. For me light is off, feed n burp B. Then put Bb back to his bed. Daytime feed already can talk n play awhile.

did u all wait for baby cry then feed him milk at night or wake baby up to feed when it's time ? Coz I notice my baby day time feeding interval is 2 hours. When come to night after 12am onwards, my body clock auto wake up every 2hour but my baby still sleeping, I waited for 30mins more but he still sleeping. I afraid he will be hungry so I grab him up n feed then he back to sleep again.

No I won't wake bb up to feed her. However she is very punctual in drinking milk n will wake up automatically

My CL feeds my bb by schedule. I switch it to by demand after she left. I personally prefer the latter because it means it can also train the bb to sleep longer in the night (you mummy can rest too). My gal can sleep 4-5hrs in the night without feed. Maybe partly I feed FM after 9pm. 6am onwards ebm.

In the day when she is active, 2 hrs between feeds. If takes naps, 3 hrs. Averagely.

As for swaddling baby, yes I still swaddle her at night. I think wat happen this morning was I accidentally look into her eyes while feeding. However it's quite difficult not to look at her while feeding.
And also at night I will switch on the light to feed her Coz without the light, I think I will fall back asleep halfway while feeding her, haha...

As for swaddling baby, yes I still swaddle her at night. I think wat happen this morning was I accidentally look into her eyes while feeding. However it's quite difficult not to look at her while feeding.
And also at night I will switch on the light to feed her Coz without the light, I think I will fall back asleep halfway while feeding her, haha...

My CL says once both lock eyes, you must look away. Or 斜眼看her. Hah I do that all the time. Like the Cesar Milan says "no eye contact"!

Her room got a night lamp so that's for feeding. But when it comes to change diaper, still have to on the ceiling light. It's always too bright for her when turned on since she is lying flat. Sometimes I use a hankie to cover her eyes.

Not sure if relevant now, but for those jaundice baby follow up in polyclinic, as long as baby less than 14 days old, walk-in with baby booklet to get priority queue. Same for when directed to draw blood, just bring ur queue number to diagnostics for priority. Told this by several counter staff.....

As for baby acne, was told by Dr that it is due to mummy pregnancy hormones, to prevent infection just clean with cool boiled water and cotton balls 2-3 times a day and change mittens often.

Bubbles is now 23 days old, and quite colicky :( I think I have figured out the issue - overactive let down. Haiz. First 2 weeks not enough milk, now too much too fast, alamak. At least I know the lactation cookies I baked work - http://www.bellybelly.com.au/breastfeeding/lactation-cookies/

But now I miss eating it lol

Seems like everyone is going through pretty similar routines! And congrats to @Minniera! Yes, csec is major surgery, I am still in quite a bit of pain even though it has been 3+weeks, and wear a binder majority of the time. Doesn't help that I have to keep on carrying baby to polyclinic for jaundice and my own BP checkups...each time I return I get more painful bleeds...Haiz.

Thank you, Snowfern. C-sec is really no joke especially emergeny one when u dun expect n mentally prepared for it. Caring n taking care of the LO becomes a even bigger challenge. Getting up from the bed takes me abt 10 - 15 mins just to climb up for the first few days.

Just to share, i did not have a CL. Have to take care of LO since discharge with hubby's help for the first week. Somemore, both of us are first time parents n do not know anything. Realised that maybe starting an routine early when they are first back home make a difference. LO now basically will just sleep after every feed. I also dun carry her even sometimes she will cry for attention. Usually she quieten down if she knows no one is going to carry her. I only carry her if i know she is hungry.

Mummies with CL left/leaving, u can try to reset the routinue again after all LO has been used the the CL's routinue for at least a month already.

Regarding leftovers, my CL told me to soak the remaining bottle in a cup of hot water. She told me that it can only last 1 hour. After that must throw. She says it will be super troublesome if your baby has diarrhea.

As breast milk is so precious (at least to me), I usually press baby tummy a little / see timing to gauge her hunger level. I will just pour a little lesser than her actual appetite. If need be, I either supplement via direct latching or I use another bottle to provide additional milk.

did u all wait for baby cry then feed him milk at night or wake baby up to feed when it's time ? Coz I notice my baby day time feeding interval is 2 hours. When come to night after 12am onwards, my body clock auto wake up every 2hour but my baby still sleeping, I waited for 30mins more but he still sleeping. I afraid he will be hungry so I grab him up n feed then he back to sleep again.

In the day, u can wake the bb on schedule. At night feed on demand. If bb sleeps longer, no demand means u Shld sleep somemore!

I read that in the day time when bb tank up on calories, night sleep can last longer, so I'm hoping he will go to 5-6hrs soon... Decided to tank up on day time feeds, like 2.5hr instead of 3 or 3.5hr... See how it goes in a week...

Thanks to all mummies advice, tonight I will give it a try to feed on demand :)
No wonder all my friends told me to eat more during confinement and not to worry about weight. I gained 2 kg during confinement and loss it in 3 days after Cl left ..

Now bb abt 5wks. I wait until cry then I feed milk at night. Daytime he quite on time. Every 3hrs. After 11-12am one. I give 10ml more, can sleep for abt 4hrs. Training in process to sleep thru the night.

Piglet: sometimes I give her more during the nite feed but she still wakes up punctually to drink milk but will fall asleep before she can finish the 2nd feed.. Really make my pull my hair!

Other than water and cloth/gauze, how to clean bb tongue? Mine has a lot of the white residue from fm. It's getting a lot and I can't get rid esp half inside. She will gag when I clean. Any advice?

Piglet: sometimes I give her more during the nite feed but she still wakes up punctually to drink milk but will fall asleep before she can finish the 2nd feed.. Really make my pull my hair!
u try everyday. Become like a routine. "Program bb's stomach". Turn turn the bottle or burp the feed again.

Mummies how do you coax baby to sleep ? Been trying to make my gal sleep since 7pm plus....she is yawning but still eyes big and moving her arms and legs...she doesn't like to be swaddled.

If only there is a remote control...press sleep

u try everyday. Become like a routine. "Program bb's stomach". Turn turn the bottle or burp the feed again.
When she fall asleep she will have her mouth half open and not suckle anymore. No matter how you tickle her, burp her, she will remain the same. And as u know, once she couldn't finish that feed, I won't have a good sleep Coz she will wake up in between and cry for milk.

Try to change diaper or "fake-change diaper".

My elder son has severe jaundice so I feed ebm and must ensure he finish. When he was younger, feed half bottle he sleep Liao, gotta change diaper. Once remove the tape he auto wake up...

Then I came out with a "fake-change diaper" when his diaper is clean and doesn't need to be changed. It means to remove the tape, then tape it back.

Mummies how do you coax baby to sleep ? Been trying to make my gal sleep since 7pm plus....she is yawning but still eyes big and moving her arms and legs...she doesn't like to be swaddled.

If only there is a remote control...press sleep

Hello mummy, if your gal does not want to sleep and did not cry. I dun understand why u do not want to just let her have her way? Remember how frustrated we are when we are small and our parent keep chasing us to go sleep. I think your girl maybe feeling same way.

imho, let her yawn, eye big big, hand and leg move a lot, eventually when she is tired, she will doze off de. Dun stress over it ok.

Jia you

Hello mummy, if your gal does not want to sleep and did not cry. I dun understand why u do not want to just let her have her way? Remember how frustrated we are when we are small and our parent keep chasing us to go sleep. I think your girl maybe feeling same way.

imho, let her yawn, eye big big, hand and leg move a lot, eventually when she is tired, she will doze off de. Dun stress over it ok.

Jia you

Yup I remembered but she is up for hours...n will cat nap when carried but once on bed or cot, up again, and started crying after short while to be carried again...so this cycle can continue for hours....

I am experiencing that cycle liao Even though my little one is < 1mth old. Treacherous journey ahead. *bang wall*

Yea my bb also the same, I carry him and sing to him while walking around the house .. This cycle can last for two hours and finally he fall sleep.. My arm and foot very pain.

I read in a book that when bb is overly tired (overstimulated) it is harder to fall asleep. It is best to put them to bed when you see a sign of them sleepy, like a yawn.

For me, I try to do chores while leaving bb on the rocker to prevent vomitting or reflux. When he is sleepy and can't sleep, he will start to cry. I will then coax him to sleep.

On a good cycle, I will change his diapers, half-swaddle him and place him on his tummy in his cot. He will make a few grunts and cries b4 falling asleep.

Sometimes, the grunts and cries will escalate to screams and wails, trashing his face on the towel. Sometimes when I pick him up, there will be a big burp. So there is still a burp in him. Once burped, placed on tummy he will fall asleep fast.

On a bad cycle, the carry-put-down steps will repeat itself many times. Together with crying. I try human mattressing, carry and rock, carry and walk, carry and swing. If too tired, I will sit down and rock... Or offering the boob (calms him down when he is overstimulated)... It's really trial and error.

One day when some thing works, we will repeat it, but next day it doesn't work. Super frustrating I know. In the day I left him to cry abit (expend his energy), in the night have to shush him so more tiring.

I am just super thankful that usually from 11pm-7am he doesn't have eyes big and cries, just drink and sleep. Thank God! Cannot imagine carry and coax when I am also very tired/sleepy...

Jiayou Mamas!!!!

This is our 1st fullterm baby & a little stuck on baby jaundice. My hubby n mum has been gg to polyclinic for jaundice level checks but still not 'clear' yet. Baby is on exclusive breastmilk & my diet is taken care properly by my mum as well. Any tips how can help to bring baby jaundice level down?

Mummy no alcohol in your diet. Drink more water or LRD. Let bb latch. Usually the peak is when bb abt 1-2wks old then the level will come down. If bb is different blood group from mum, jaundice will take abit longer to come down. Jia you

Mine too. Sometimes I no choice kola bb on my body let he go deep sleep before put he down on his cot.

Imie, welcome to July group. Is your breast milk enough for baby ? As per my Cl .. Baby need more milk to clear jaundice and bring baby for morning sun and avoid direct sun into baby eyes. What I have did was to remove all my baby clothes except diapers and put him in a small bed and let him sleep in my living area where there is morning sun. I also never take any ginger and Chinese wolf berry during that period. At that time my bm not enough so I feed baby supplement.

My no1 had jaundice for 12w, did multiple blood tests and even a liver test to rule out liver disease. Did not find anything wrong so there is no shortcut for some babies.

Some advices I have heard along the way:
1) sun baby in morn sun, undress until left diapers and paste cotton wool patch at eyes. Turn baby over to sun his back as well.
2) FM to rule out BM jaundice. I tried for 2 days but effect was insignificant so I went back to full BM.
3) feed regularly (wake bb every 3hrly or feed on demand, which ever is earlier), ensure poo and pee...
4) Jaundice baby tend to be sleepy, so must ensure full feed.
5) no ginger and alcohol in diet

Dun worry as jaundice will clear eventually. As long as the level is not high and does not endanger to child, just have to wait it out. My no1 was admitted to NICU for phototherapy, reading was 396. And readmitted to NNJ...

Subsequently he was allowed to stay home although the reading was still high (>300)... Probably need to give his liver time to mature.

My baby has G6PD deficiency, which will cause jaundice to shoot up in his first few days. Thus, right from the start baby was hospitalized for 5 days to do the phototherapy. He was only fed BM once everyday when I visit him at the hospital (kept pumping to store all my BM).

Managed to control his jaundice level and finally PD discharged him, but still need to go Polyclinic to follow up. His level did not go down much after a week, and because it pains my heart to see him getting pricked every other day, I switched to full FM for 1 week again to purge faster. I believe my confinement diet is also one of the factor that cause his level not go down.

I sunbathe him in the morning before 9am and after 5pm. That's what I did to bring his jaundice level down. Give your baby some time to mature his liver, once matured he will be able to purge faster.

Don't worry too much Mummy and jiayou! :)

Oh no .. My bb has been drink and sleep for whole day, I afraid tonight he will be super active .. Good luck to me :(

I find the bouncy thing a life saver. She started on it two days ago. She has been napping on it since then. And now she is sleeping soundly. Thought I may share what works for me. Any mummies using one too?

• ImageUploadedByForum1470757040.579222.jpg
    ImageUploadedByForum1470757040.579222.jpg
    72.9 KB · Views: 219
I find the bouncy thing a life saver. She started on it two days ago. She has been napping on it since then. And now she is sleeping soundly. Thought I may share what works for me. Any mummies using one too?
I use fisher price rocker. Help relief awhile. If not my arm going to break.

I'm using somewat similar to u but decided to put her on cot for night time. In the day, I will put her on that. Easier to pat her n mine has wheels underneath it so that i can push her around.. I find it quite good too..

I like the idea of wheels. Now I can't decide to carry her to cot or i be a 厅长with her tonight since the bouncer is now in the living room.