Yah red date has " bu xie" quality Haha good if no need to cook just feel like lying in bed the whole day now, anyway what's the milk brand you've purchased?

Hahaha yes I was thinking can bring it workplace and put in water bottle and drink it if the method works.

Yesterday drank a cup of UHT cowherd pure milk and that aftertaste of milk makes me gag. I bought Anmum, they have plain and chocolate flavour. Gonna try tonight! I want to get as much calcium as I can.. Scare become 'boh geh' :|

I am drinking low fat fresh milk only...
Those fresh milk need to keep refrigerated right? If so, do u drink it cold or will warm it before drinking?

My concern is taking cold drinks during pregnancy.. so not sure if it's ok to take cold milk or have to warm it before drinking. Cos of this concern, i bought the anmum chocolate milk and dun really like the taste. I still prefer HL fresh milk but i take them cold last time b4 pregnant.

Those fresh milk need to keep refrigerated right? If so, do u drink it cold or will warm it before drinking?

My concern is taking cold drinks during pregnancy.. so not sure if it's ok to take cold milk or have to warm it before drinking. Cos of this concern, i bought the anmum chocolate milk and dun really like the taste. I still prefer HL fresh milk but i take them cold last time b4 pregnant.
Hi I put the glass of milk in hot water to warm it before drinking.

I drink fresh milk as well. I will pour out and leave it around for a while then drink.

I have been drinking enfamama A+ chocolate milk, it is not too bad - you all can try it out. But when I am lazy to make formula milk, I will drink HL low fat milk, would try to pour and leave it out for a short while before drinking.

I'm currently 8 weeks pregnant, went for my 2nd visit to the gynae and was introduced to iGene test which cost $1800. Wanted to find out if any mummies or mummy-to-be here have been introduce to the same test? I've heard of harmony and panorama test but not iGene though...

IGene test is done in Singapore lab vs Harmony test that's sent to USA. Am guessing you might get a faster turn around time with iGene but just a guess. Other than that am not very sure if iGene has more thorough tests since of its higher price. My gynae recommended me Harmony test though.

I'm at gynae. Will check with him more about iGene since I'm keen to know too.

Is it really harmful to drink cold drink? I find that cold drink help me to relieve from the nausea feeling..hmmm

M
:p Hello to all mummies/to be!

First time mummy to be here.. went for 1st scan last week (4weeks plus n saw a sac).. n oh my.. im down with headaches, giddy, nausea, abit of vomiting sometimes, joint pains, tired all the time n even felt short of breath! Is it common to experience all these together? Anyone else experiencing the same?

Me too...though I am a 2nd time mummy but it seems that everything is coming too early this time round....

@sweetdreamz I didn't ask too deep but doc shares that iGene is one of the newest players and all these tests are similar but just from different companies.

@liying I believe in moderation. I'm sipping my Woobee pearl milk tea now. I just leave for an hour for the ice to melt a bit before drinking. I think we mummy needs to be happy too.

Hi all, went to visit the doc yesterday. I have irregular menus and even though my last LMP was at 15 Oct....I did tell my doc that my menus should be around 30-40 days longest is 45 days. The ultrascan shows 5 weeks and 6 days with the sac.... even tho base on LMP I am suppose to be 7 weeks... I did calculate my ovulation base on 40 days and I should be conceiving during 3-4 weeks... does anybody know that if ultrascan shows 5 weeks and 6 days, we are suppose to minus away 2 weeks? He only gave me folic acid and B12 to try to reduce my nausousness and said its still too early to tell, ask me to come back next week instead. Just thinking if base on LMP 7 weeks, should the scan be showing 7 weeks or 9 weeks already?

Hi wlilian, maybe I can share about my dates for your reference.

Based on LMP, I should be exactly 10weeks. But the measurement today shows I'm 9weeks on the dot. This is because my cycle is not typical 28days but 33-35days.

Since you are 7weeks from LMP, being 5w-ish now seems to make sense since you can be at longest 45day-cycle. When doc tells you you're 5 weeks along, that's the exact bb age and that's used to calculate your Edd.

When I was at 5wk ish scan, we could only spot a sac and nothing else is seen. A week later can see bb and heartbeat.

I'm sure next week you'll say hi to your bb too.

Actually which is more accurate in estimating the edd - based on first day of last menses or the date shown on the scan?

Definitely the date shown on scan (usually by the crown to rump length). That's why our Edd is usually adjusted as we move along into the weeks as doc measures the updated CRL. I did question my gynae how come the Edd can change week after week and he explains that it may vary depending on the scan angle of the bb, etc. Of course the Edd will get more accurate when bb gets bigger as the measurement gets clearer.

LMP is never a standard measurement since not all of us have same cycle-days. It's just a reference for a start.

Yes and I understand there's a CRL range for each gestation age. For early pregnancy, regardless Asian or angmor. He says gynaes' machines will compute your Edd based on your current CRL and your past CRLs.
ImageUploadedByForum1449642325.483966.jpg

I think ovulation date is more accurate. My menses have always been normal and regular but since I was breastfeeding, it was long and if going by my LMP, I should be 10 weeks pregnant by now. However, I am only 8+ weeks based on my ovulation date and as measured by my gynae too. So, I would say that the measurement from gynae is pretty accurate.

Hi wlilian, maybe I can share about my dates for your reference.

Based on LMP, I should be exactly 10weeks. But the measurement today shows I'm 9weeks on the dot. This is because my cycle is not typical 28days but 33-35days.

Since you are 7weeks from LMP, being 5w-ish now seems to make sense since you can be at longest 45day-cycle. When doc tells you you're 5 weeks along, that's the exact bb age and that's used to calculate your Edd.

When I was at 5wk ish scan, we could only spot a sac and nothing else is seen. A week later can see bb and heartbeat.

I'm sure next week you'll say hi to your bb too.

Hmmm... but my conception period should be base on 5 weeks and 6 days or should I minus away 2 weeks? which is very puzzling...cos doc say most likely I only conceive like 3-4 weeks ago.... which is near to the estimated ovulation date.... and shouldn't he ask me to come maybe like 2 weeks later to visit him? but my gynae told me to visit him next week after 1 week has past....

I think ovulation date is more accurate. My menses have always been normal and regular but since I was breastfeeding, it was long and if going by my LMP, I should be 10 weeks pregnant by now. However, I am only 8+ weeks based on my ovulation date and as measured by my gynae too. So, I would say that the measurement from gynae is pretty accurate.

Misty your gynae measurement is via ultrasound scan? or virginal scan?

Hmmm... but my conception period should be base on 5 weeks and 6 days or should I minus away 2 weeks? which is very puzzling...cos doc say most likely I only conceive like 3-4 weeks ago.... which is near to the estimated ovulation date.... and shouldn't he ask me to come maybe like 2 weeks later to visit him? but my gynae told me to visit him next week after 1 week has past....

Hi I hope I'm getting your question correctly. When doc says 5w6d, that's theoretically the gestational age (gestational age can be measured by LMP or other methods like ultrasound). And yes your conception date is about that minus 14days since average luteal phase is 14. And this coincides with what your doc says that you might have conceived 3-4weeks ago.

I reckon why your doc wants you to go back next wk is because gestational age of 6wks plus is usually the time you can spot heartbeat. From my other earlier bfps too, doc will use gestational age as reference; and not the age from conceived date.

Anyway this is my understanding and hope I'm making sense here.

So glad I came across this forum! First of all, congrats to all of you :)

I'm currently at 8 wks and EDD is mid-July. Had a bit of scare at 6 wks due to some bouts of fresh bleeding and was hospitalized for 3 days. But after strict bed rest, an upped dosage of Duphaston, and weekly progesterone jabs, condition has stabilized. It's so amazing to hear the baby's strong heartbeat. Ya you can guess it's my #1 :)

Been experiencing insomnia like some of you as well. I'd sleep at 10, wake up at 2, and not be able to fall asleep till ~5.

Biggest problem for me so far is the constipation. Before I got pregnant I was already having some IBS so this makes the constipation so much worse! Anyone else experienced this?

Look forward to reading more of your experiences and going on this journey together!

<3

I'm currently at 8 wks and EDD is mid-July. Had a bit of scare at 6 wks due to some bouts of fresh bleeding and was hospitalized for 3 days. But after strict bed rest, an upped dosage of Duphaston, and weekly progesterone jabs, condition has stabilized. It's so amazing to hear the baby's strong heartbeat. Ya you can guess it's my #1 :)

Been experiencing insomnia like some of you as well. I'd sleep at 10, wake up at 2, and not be able to fall asleep till ~5.

Biggest problem for me so far is the constipation. Before I got pregnant I was already having some IBS so this makes the constipation so much worse! Anyone else experienced this?

Look forward to reading more of your experiences and going on this journey together!

<3

Sadly, I had constipation too! :((
I went to consult my gynae and he suggested that I eat banana, papaya and more vege! I was given duphalac which helps to soften the bowel! And it helped! Hope it works for you too :)

Our Edd changes slightly a few times throughout our whole pregnancy . So I think anything that's based on first few scans can't be based on the real actual weeks . I remembered my last 3 pregnancy is my edd ended up earlier stated on my 2nd trimester .

<3

I had major constipation problem , bloating and Gas too. Nothing works for me except my laxative organic tea which works wonder but the spasm can be worrying for 1st time mom. But it clears my intestines so throughly my stomach delfates immediately.

I have major constipation even before pregnancy. Bfp makes it worse. Gynae prescribed me pills which he says is not medicine but natural remedy made from fruit extract. Alas after taking it the first time I think I almost output my intestines too (pun intended). Too strong for me but it sure cleared everything.

As for the milk, Farmhouse tastes so much better than any Magnolia or Marigold ones.

Yeah I was thinking it could be I'm eating too much for one meal. I eat my usual portion before preggy, so maybe smaller portion will help than three full meals a day..

Does any of you drink red date water and milk powder for pregger now? If yes, how much to drink?
I drink red date and "tong sum" once a week. Just boil overnight in the slow cooker. Mum asked me to. It's very heat so drink once a week enough. Haven't started on milk powder yet! Will get some samples from gynae tomorrow and see if I can take it

Oh yes I have constipation too!! It's really make me feel uncomfortable. I tot constipation normally comes during mid of pregnancy and I din expect it to be at 8 weeks of pregnancy

Milk-drinking mommies - which brand of milk tastes least like milk? I'm not a milk-drinker, can never stand the smell. I couldn't stomach any milk at all in my first two pregnancies, in fact, one glance at any white drinks, be it soyamilk, yoghurt would make me gag, one sip would make me throw up. I only could stomach the La Vache Qui Rit favoured cube cheese from 7 mths onwards. Gonna try some milk this time since I can look at milk and not gag.

Anyone experience brown discharge/ spotting? It occurred to me these 2 days..not too sure if I shld go doc immediately or wait till my appointment friday. .

I did. Two occasions the week before I went for my first gynae visit. I heard the baby's heart beat and I forgot to tell gynae so I guess bb was okay. Second one was early last week so i took a day off to rest at home. Just brownish discharge. Not bright red. I didn't bother to call gynae to ask.

I had that in my first pregnancy.....being kiasu, shld inform doc to see if any support jab is required.

Just thought i share my experience about spotting. I did IVF and just 2 days after embryo transfer, I had brown spotting for 7 days. I was told by the nurses that that could be implantation bleeding. Things turn out fine as I got my bfp.

Then i spot again for 3 days a few days before my first scan (abt 6 weeks preg). Turn out i got twins and can see the heartbeats. So everything is fine too. They told me maybe uterus expanding or the placenta trying to attach.

At 7th week now, i spot again for ard 4 days. The nurses told me to monitor as long as no cramps, no pain, not red bleeding or not huge amt. I did blood test to monitor HCG. Maybe they think my hcg lvl is ok so just ask me to monitor only. I'm not sure.. Anyway different clinics different practices. Some clinics will give jab or additional medical support. I would have wished they could at least give me additional scan or wat to give me some assurance that everything is ok with my babies.

Spotting can be so worrying but I believe you should be alright. But do just call up and see what ur nurse/dr advice. :)

@tuna maybe u can consider taking calcium pill instead since U can't stand milk taste coz baby need calcium and we need to ensure we got enough calcium for baby and ourself. If we lack of calcium for ourself and our teeth might drop off.

Please do. Did doc give you any progesterone support in first place? Minimize walking later. Update after what your doc advices you.
Doc only give me some multivitamin. . I told him I was finishing up my blackmore pre conception tablets which consists of folic acid and some vitamin.. hence I did not start to consume the multivitamin he give ..

I had brown spotting for the first 2weeks of my 1st child and it was just normal small discharge on and off . Old blood they mentioned.
2nd pregnancy had cramping , 3rd had cysts also in early stage after around 9wks it subsided and gone.
Hopefully no more drama for this one.

Just call the clinic to check on the spotting..the nurse ask me to visit the doc today but since I m at work..I inform her I will visit the doc tml instead ..hope everything go wells..

@liying Sounds like spotting is really common among the mothers here and I'm sure you'll be fine. Sometimes all's needed are rest and progesterone support if doc deems appropriate. Hope you'll have a short day at work today and be home early to rest.

@tuna Agreeing with emk. I like milk but I don't know why my digestive system sometimes can sometimes cannot take lactose so I don't take regularly at all. Moreover for Asian diet, we don't really take enough dairy to begin with but calcium is so very essential during bfp. For the developing bb and for the mtb as well. If we don't take extra calcium for this period, the bb is going to suck in all the calcium it needs from the mother. Haha I'm not sure about dropping teeth but I guess that can be possible! And we women in first place needs more calcium than the male counterpart as we age. I have been popping 2 calcium pills a day since bfp and I'm loving at least my strong and long finger nails as well as thickening hair. That's at least what I can see aesthetically.

I had spotting yesterday while working, felt like something wet coming out, went to toilet to check. Light pinkish blood soaked my pantyliner n panty . Called the clinic n arranged to see my gynae in half an hr before she's off for lunch. Had to buy a pad to use In case as I'm outside. When I reached clinic n checked in e toilet it was red blood about 2 teaspoon. Stayed calm till I went inside the gynae 's room n broke down even after she showed me my bb is growing well bt lots of blood below the sac. Heard the heartbeat too.( 9 weeks plus)!was given a jab n utrogestan pills to eat n 2weeks mc. I'm confined to bed now n I hope everything's ok till I see my gynae in 2 weeks time !

@liying Sounds like spotting is really common among the mothers here and I'm sure you'll be fine. Sometimes all's needed are rest and progesterone support if doc deems appropriate. Hope you'll have a short day at work today and be home early to rest.

@tuna Agreeing with emk. I like milk but I don't know why my digestive system sometimes can sometimes cannot take lactose so I don't take regularly at all. Moreover for Asian diet, we don't really take enough dairy to begin with but calcium is so very essential during bfp. For the developing bb and for the mtb as well. If we don't take extra calcium for this period, the bb is going to suck in all the calcium it needs from the mother. Haha I'm not sure about dropping teeth but I guess that can be possible! And we women in first place needs more calcium than the male counterpart as we age. I have been popping 2 calcium pills a day since bfp and I'm loving at least my strong and long finger nails as well as thickening hair. That's at least what I can see aesthetically.
Thanks. I was really glad that I am in this forum..it was really supportive .. maybe I really need a short rest .. :)

Ladies.. for those eating calcium pill, how many mg is your pill and how many pills do u pop a day? My gynae didn't prescribe and I thought of buying myself. I don't drink milk or eat calcium since young and won't be seeing my gynae so soon...

@liying89 try not to carry heavy stuff and walk slowly. I had spotting for 3 weeks and 2 jabs to my thighs and 2 kinds of hormone pills, I am happy to say after my 2nd jab, my spotting stopped and I havnt spotted for 2 weeks. Super happy. And of course I still do not carry any heavy stuff and try to reduce walking where ever possible. Is good to inform your boss early so that at least s/he is more understanding of your situation. Now I can just go off without any official MC as long as my boss knows where I am because she knows I am unwell.