I own a doona too. Is your baby > 5kg & Are u still using the infant insert?

Yes. My bb is still below 5kg n using the infant insert. When hub n me go out, we will use the doona. Bb enjoys sitting inside too. At least it keep both of us hand free for a while. :)

Hi, just to share there is a coming baby fair in October if any of you need to get bottles, strollers, etc ...

• image.jpg
    164.8 KB · Views: 165
Yes. My bb is still below 5kg n using the infant insert. When hub n me go out, we will use the doona. Bb enjoys sitting inside too. At least it keep both of us hand free for a while. :)

Insert is meant for 5kg and below and my baby is above 5kg now

In a dilemma cos I find myself having to stuff my baby into the stroller each time. Shoulder part is pretty tight Liao.

At the same time, but I am not comfortable to remove the insert as baby's neck is not strong enough and might swing here and there when I am turning

Been following this thread for quite awhile and now I finally get myself to join your discussions.
I also gave birth in July. FTM. will find time to write my birth story - if you all are still interested :p

Im now bothered with my own health issue.
It's been 6 weeks postpartum, but now I feel cold all the time and sometimes backache and joint aches (if im not covered enough)
I did folllow rules during my confinement but maybe i didnt follow enough and get wind during then. i started feeling like this way three weeks ago
Any mummy experienced the same thing before? And suggestions..?

Two weeks ago I had something that looked like a pimple near or on my lips, doc say it was a cold sore. It recovered and this week there is a slight small pimple like thing on another area on the lip so I went back to doc again and he still say its a cold sore that came back. I never had it before and it really look like a pimple to me, not so pain etc.
on the safe side my baby is staying at my mom place.
I felt moody but think might be due to the immune system being low or the body haven't recovered from the delivery.
Just hope that my body can recover enough and this will be a passe.

Hi Mummies, my EDD is in Oct and was great that I am following this thread as I learnt a lot of things from you all. Salute to you all!! ;)

Been following this thread for quite awhile and now I finally get myself to join your discussions.
I also gave birth in July. FTM. will find time to write my birth story - if you all are still interested :p

It's been 6 weeks postpartum, but now I feel cold all the time and sometimes backache and joint aches (if im not covered enough)
I did folllow rules during my confinement but maybe i didnt follow enough and get wind during then. i started feeling like this way three weeks ago
U still have chances to recover. Can try postnatal massage. The masseur can help to massage our the internal wind. Don't blow the fan directly at u. Shower with hot warm no cold drink. Our body made great changes for the past 9mths to house the baby. Now still recovering. Drink chicken esscense to bu your body too. Ginger water also can to remove the wind in your body

@gan1972 did your mense come finally? You mentioned it could be here.

I've been having spotting past days. Not sure if it's AF spot or still lochia.

Redvel: are you still pumping out your bm? If so should not be so fast mah.. My first and second one menses came back ard 5th month of my bf career..

I'm not too sure if it's juz old wife tale abt wind getting into our body. Maybe it's good to consult tcm if u really think it's wind in your body..

For mummies who dream fed your baby, do they drink the full feed or normally they will not take in all? I'm still trying ways and means to make my LO sleep throughout the night..
She has been taking lesser than her full feed now and my mil told me it's due to her blocked nose.
And I read online that one of the ways to make babies sleep thru the night is to make sure she take in more during the day.. Is that true?

Phew, I think the week 6 growth spurt is finally over...the past week has been rather trying! But my bb picked up a new bad habit, she has started to throw tantrums during her last feed before bedding down at night - she will start crying halfway while nursing, I know there is still milk as it leaks through the corner of her mouth and I am still not "flat" yet. With nipple in her mouth she will whine and whine and kick while flailing her arms about. I will switch sides, then, she suck a bit, then rinse repeat the tantrum. After about half or an hour of this crying while eating will she then fall asleep (I'm guessing from exhaustion more than anything else).

This started about a week ago, at the beginning of the growth spurt, and only during the night feed. Regardless of position, be it on nursing chair, or lying down.

Any of you experience similar? Why do you think she does this? Gas?

Redvel: are you still pumping out your bm? If so should not be so fast mah.. My first and second one menses came back ard 5th month of my bf career..
I am but my supply is depleting. I'm only pumping 3x a day. No latching feed but for comfort only.
I wonder if such case might be AF.

@gan1972 did your mense come finally? You mentioned it could be here.

I've been having spotting past days. Not sure if it's AF spot or still lochia.
I was spotting n I think is mense as my pumping is irregular....

It didn't go to full flow, was just wearing panty liner

Phew, I think the week 6 growth spurt is finally over...the past week has been rather trying! But my bb picked up a new bad habit, she has started to throw tantrums during her last feed before bedding down at night - she will start crying halfway while nursing, I know there is still milk as it leaks through the corner of her mouth and I am still not "flat" yet. With nipple in her mouth she will whine and whine and kick while flailing her arms about. I will switch sides, then, she suck a bit, then rinse repeat the tantrum. After about half or an hour of this crying while eating will she then fall asleep (I'm guessing from exhaustion more than anything else).

This started about a week ago, at the beginning of the growth spurt, and only during the night feed. Regardless of position, be it on nursing chair, or lying down.

@snowfern cld be gas, mine behaves this way crying, pulling her legs up ...but she is a gassy child n the discomfort always happens at night...

When I sometimes do the exercise with her in the middle of the night pulling her knees towards her chest, she wld let out farts...loud ones!

I do dream feed but not all the time she will sleep throughout the night. Just like she just woke up to drink at 3ish when I've dreamfed her at 1115pm. Luckiest day was 7hrs sleep.

Now typically she drinks 100ml in the day. Dream feed I'll give 80ml as she usually cannot finish full feed then.

Wanna ask : say like baby drinks and left 20ml (pushes out the teat with her tongue), do you all let her rest/burp and continue the leftover? I usually warm up abit the leftover and feed again. She will ee-eh/cry like not happy for few seconds but then will still take in and drink (sometimes. Of cos I'll get the cue if she really refuses then I won't give her). I'm not sure if I'm "forcing" her on that but then she still drinks leh.

Like to hear what others are going through.

Juz now I tried out my first dream feed. Her last feed was at 9pm n she let out a small cry at 12 mn that woke me up. I pat her n swaddle her well n she fell back to sleep. I then pump n wait till 1am n try to dream feed her. She finish 80% of her usual feed and fell asleep.
At 3am, she cried again but managed to fall asleep after carrying her for a while. However at 4am she cried again n I gave her the 20% of the remaining milk.
Conclusion: I failed tonight for her to STTN! :(

I do dream feed but not all the time she will sleep throughout the night. Just like she just woke up to drink at 3ish when I've dreamfed her at 1115pm. Luckiest day was 7hrs sleep.

Now typically she drinks 100ml in the day. Dream feed I'll give 80ml as she usually cannot finish full feed then.

Wanna ask : say like baby drinks and left 20ml (pushes out the teat with her tongue), do you all let her rest/burp and continue the leftover? I usually warm up abit the leftover and feed again. She will ee-eh like not happy for few seconds but then will still take in and drink (sometimes. Of cos I'll get the cue if she really refuses then I won't give her). I'm not sure if I'm "forcing" her on that but then she still drinks leh.

Like to hear what others are going through.
If I feed her again n she ee-eh a bit but still drink, I will take it as she is ok to drink n not forcing her ba. But when she started wailing away, and I still push the test into her mouth, then I know I'm forcing her.., haha..

Could be colicky since she always cry around the same time of the night. You can try to massage her or do some exercise like wat gan had said n see if it improve..

If baby still drinks I will continue to feed but if she constantly turns her head away or uses her hand or tongue to push away the milk bottle I would stop as I have couple of times have her vomiting due to making her drink when she constantly refuses

I gather from dreamfeed article that best time to do that is 10-11pm. But it should be at least 3-4hrs from last feed. I also don't know on the impact if the timing deviates too much. Sharing what I've read only :p

I will still continue to dreamfeed despite most unsuccessful nights. She is not a big drinker in the day anyway so this dreamfeed is also to plump up the feed volume.

Any mummies using pacifier ? I may need to start as I notice my gal is starting to suck her fist for self soothing these few days.....

Is there such thing as which brand of pacifier is good or all the same??

Thanks @gan1972 and @verluv , I always do the tummy exercise during each diaper change since week 2 after she was diagnosed and started on ridwind...which is why I find it weird she only exhibit this behaviour last week? :(

Anyone using cloth diaper? Thinking of switching already but her poop is still watery....

@gan1972 I'm also considering giving her the paci as she is also starting to self-soothe on her fist, but I also read it could be exploration so holding back first. Would prefer not to let her rely on it...

I have at ready an Avent, I like it for its looks and cover, have read on FB that it is one of the most popular cos it seems to be durable and of course, cover XD

Ya they will provide sanitary pad n disposable panties for you(those super big size but elastic very good de). Most importantly bring a set of going home clothes.
Also, your personal belonging like contact lens, facial cleanser. Some mummies also bring make up juz in case you have visitor or you wan to look Mei Mei to take pic..:)

Thank you verluv & Sarah. We do not need to bring own pyjamas right? Cos I read their hospital bag guide and they actually indicate pyjamas.

Thanks @gan1972 and @verluv , I always do the tummy exercise during each diaper change since week 2 after she was diagnosed and started on ridwind...which is why I find it weird she only exhibit this behaviour last week? :(

Anyone using cloth diaper? Thinking of switching already but her poop is still watery....
@snowfern, the doc prescribed rid wind for your baby? Thinking of bringing my gal to see pd coz she seems to be always in discomfort at night due to the tummy wind, her milk intake also very low at night, about 40ml at most . This week has been bad, I have already stop eating chocolate and vege that causes gas but somehow she is still gassy.

Thank you verluv & Sarah. We do not need to bring own pyjamas right? Cos I read their hospital bag guide and they actually indicate pyjamas.
No you won't be wearing your own pyjamas as hospital will be providing u with a breastfeeding friendly gown.

U still have chances to recover. Can try postnatal massage. The masseur can help to massage our the internal wind. Don't blow the fan directly at u. Shower with hot warm no cold drink. Our body made great changes for the past 9mths to house the baby. Now still recovering. Drink chicken esscense to bu your body too. Ginger water also can to remove the wind in your body
Hello @piglet02, many thanks for your advises. I've been strictly following those practices recently, and hopefully it is not too late. During my confinement, I ate food cooked with ginger but i didnt really eat the ginger inside the dishes. Perhaps I should have ate them all. Did you eat those ginger back then? And how much should be a proper intake daily? I started to eat ginger a few days ago, now I have eye infections, though my body still feel very cold

I'm not too sure if it's juz old wife tale abt wind getting into our body. Maybe it's good to consult tcm if u really think it's wind in your body..
Hi @verluv Thanks for your advice. I went to EYS TCM last night and got one-week medicine to drink. Hope it will be helpful.
Actually Im not sure where is the best place I should go for consulting. Just went to a nearest one at jurong east. Do you have any recommendations?

I am but my supply is depleting. I'm only pumping 3x a day. No latching feed but for comfort only.
I wonder if such case might be AF.
Hi @redvel i encountered similar thing. at around fourth week, I started to have spottings, on and off. And at fifth week the bleeding amount was like menses and i had a bit cramp feeling. It lasted around 5-6 days, so I believed it was menses. Although my gynae said it was still lochia..
Searched online and seems it is highly possible to get period while breasfeeding http://forums.thebump.com/discussio...artum-exclusively-breastfeeding-and-my-period

Any mummies using pacifier ? I may need to start as I notice my gal is starting to suck her fist for self soothing these few days.....

My boy was off pacifier until his fourth week when my in-laws brought a pigeon 0+ pacifier to him. Initially we decided not to give him it until one day when he kept crying for no reason,my hubby inserted the pacifier into his mouth and he suddenly stopped crying. I learned from some posts that babies do have such 'suction desire' at certain time stage. And this desire needs to be met. If not, he/she can grow into an impatient and angry baby with bad temper. I think back to my childhood, I was raised without pacifier and its true that i dont have a good temper now. While my hubby is more calm and patient than me and he was given pacifier back then. Not sure if this theory is scientific, but anyway I gave in and provide my boy pacifier when he wants.
Currently I find avent 3-6 mth is good for my boy (he is 7 week now)

Hi Mummies, how much and how often do your LO drink? I read from article that the per feed range is 100-150ml for a two month old. Currently im giving my 7 week boy 100-110 per feed every 2.5 hrs (if he is awake)/ 3 hrs (if he's asleep). tried to increase the amount once to 130ml but it seems a bit too much for him.

My LO sometimes cries loudly halfway while bottle feeding. And this normally because of gas because when I burp him, there will ususally be a very big 'burp' come out. Maybe u can try burp your baby halfway while feeding, especially when she cries loudly

Hi Mummies, how much and how often do your LO drink? I read from article that the per feed range is 100-150ml for a two month old. Currently im giving my 7 week boy 100-110 per feed every 2.5 hrs (if he is awake)/ 3 hrs (if he's asleep). tried to increase the amount once to 130ml but it seems a bit too much for him.

Mine is also 7 weeks now but a lot drinking less compared to the confinement days.

Are you total breast feeding? Can I ask how heavy is your boy now? Wanna see if my baby is eating enough.

Hello @piglet02, many thanks for your advises. I've been strictly following those practices recently, and hopefully it is not too late. During my confinement, I ate food cooked with ginger but i didnt really eat the ginger inside the dishes. Perhaps I should have ate them all. Did you eat those ginger back then? And how much should be a proper intake daily? I started to eat ginger a few days ago, now I have eye infections, though my body still feel very cold

1 year Before pregnancy, I started to drink like 2-3litres of hot water each day. And during pregnancy, I drank 3-4litres of hot water. And now, I drink about 5 litres of fluid per day.

I quit cold fizzy drinks and only drink occasionally.

Right now, I am naturally very warm and this warmth characteristics has also passed down to my kid. My baby hates long sleeves at night. Love it when Stripped naked during bath time! Hahahaha

Definitely my LO drank more during confinement compared to now. I don't know if CL has magic hands or maybe my bb has passed growth spurt.

Today she is 10wks and she can't go over ~110ml per feed (3-4hrs interval). But compared to 1-2wks ago she has increased her intake. Previously won't go beyond 90ml. She is 5.1kg now. I think her weight and growth is fine so I guess if your LO is growing well and happy, don't have to worry too much about the numbers we read online.

Definitely my LO drank more during confinement compared to now. I don't know if CL has magic hands or maybe my bb has passed growth spurt.

Today she is 10wks and she can't go over ~110ml per feed (3-4hrs interval). But compared to 1-2wks ago she has increased her intake. Previously won't go beyond 90ml. She is 5.1kg now. I think her weight and growth is fine so I guess if your LO is growing well and happy, don't have to worry too much about the numbers we read online.
@redvel yours drink more than mine...mine doesn't go over 100. But looking at her thunder thighs...I figured she is growing well

Mine is also 7 weeks now but a lot drinking less compared to the confinement days.

Are you total breast feeding? Can I ask how heavy is your boy now? Wanna see if my baby is eating enough.
He is now 5.5kg, first month check was 4.7kg. 75% percentile.
mine is half bf half formula, usually i can only pump around 400ml per day.
I guess because during our baby's first month, they pool very often, so there was nothing reserved in their little stomach and also the nutrition was not fully absorbed. So they tend to drink more frequent. Now they pool about once everyday, so this might be the reason that they drink less than confinement times.

Reactions: KWL
@snowfern, the doc prescribed rid wind for your baby? Thinking of bringing my gal to see pd coz she seems to be always in discomfort at night due to the tummy wind, her milk intake also very low at night, about 40ml at most . This week has been bad, I have already stop eating chocolate and vege that causes gas but somehow she is still gassy.
Ya, we bought and gave her 0.5ml from wk 2, but only once or twice a day. Then the pd at kkh prescribed ridwind at wk3 0.2ml 4-6 times a day. Now the Dr at polyclinic say I can give 1ml up to 4 times a day (at wk6).

It seems better than dentinox, which we also tried and bb seems to like better, but she kept clearing her throat and on 3rd day dentinox she threw up a lot of sticky sputum. Then I read the ingredients carefully, it has sucrose, so I stopped and went back to ridwind.

Key thing is to burp and sit bb upright for half hr after each feed. Now I burp her at least twice, but she still occasionally spits up milk and gassy :( poor girl whines whenever she tries to poop or fart Haiz.

My LO sometimes cries loudly halfway while bottle feeding. And this normally because of gas because when I burp him, there will ususally be a very big 'burp' come out. Maybe u can try burp your baby halfway while feeding, especially when she cries loudly

Thanks @Ahze , I do burp her before switching boobs, but her whining at night is different....even after I burp her she is still like...fed up rather than in pain? I was thinking maybe come night time my supply lower, today I will try something different. I bought chin chow (my super power booster) and see if maybe she just wants to drink MORE FASTER NOW lol

My boy kept sucking his fist too, especially his thumb. I can't monitor him every minute so whenever i go back and check on him, will find his mittens wet wet. I scared if he continue to suck, when i remove his mittens he will suck his thumb, then his nails will be short short and fat fat.

Also, I found that sometimes he has a hard time falling asleep deep in the afternoon. So I gave him the pacifier and within 1 minute he fell asleep deeply. I'm like..where has all my carrying gone to...

But I'm trying to limit his time on the pacifier, scared he rely too much on it like what @snowfern mentioned. Also using the Avent one, seems like he like it. Suck until quite loud.

My boy is drinking about 120ml every 3 hourly. When we went for his vaccination for 2nd dose of Hep B, he weighed about 5kg, 2 weeks later, I weigh him, he already gained 1kg. I'm like...is that a growth spurt?

Anyway, his eye infection is still not yet recovered. Doctor at KKH says it's stye, and currently, still waiting for the "pimple" to pop itself. Everyday trying to put warm compress on his eyes, but a bit hard, keep moving. :(

Reactions: KWL
My boy kept sucking his fist too, especially his thumb. I can't monitor him every minute so whenever i go back and check on him, will find his mittens wet wet. I scared if he continue to suck, when i remove his mittens he will suck his thumb, then his nails will be short short and fat fat.

Also, I found that sometimes he has a hard time falling asleep deep in the afternoon. So I gave him the pacifier and within 1 minute he fell asleep deeply. I'm like..where has all my carrying gone to...

But I'm trying to limit his time on the pacifier, scared he rely too much on it like what @snowfern mentioned. Also using the Avent one, seems like he like it. Suck until quite loud.
Oh suck on his thumb will make their nail fat fat short short?
My baby occasionally will suck his thumb till very shiok and loud, I still monitoring and yet to give him pacifier as I read up its ok for them to suck their fist at this stage because baby just realize this pair of hand is belong to part of their body and sucking can help to soothe them.

I let my LO suck her hand/thumb all she wants now. Like very shiok for her and calms her down.

Pacifier I'm not gonna introduce. But as I've said before, never say never. May come a day pacifier is a big savior.

@redvel, same if given a choice I also prefer not to introduce pacifier, as once used to it, becomes hard to wean off.
Now still too early to say, or might end up using.

@gan1972 chocolate/caffeine also can cause gassiness I forgot!! Alamak been taking quite a bit via lactation cookies and dark choc kinder bueno :X I cannot take dairy, the other day took 3 cubes of cheese and she poonami 7 times, really is bomb the base type. Stop liow she back to 3-4 times a day...

@redvel, same if given a choice I also prefer not to introduce pacifier, as once used to it, becomes hard to wean off.
Now still too early to say, or might end up using.
Same here, I read some mummies say at least can wean off paci by removing it, but how to remove thumb?!? I am against paci but mil keeps trying to psycho me ...have to keep an open mind if she really latches on to her thumb.

Any of you going to try baby signing?

My boy is drinking about 120ml every 3 hourly. When we went for his vaccination for 2nd dose of Hep B, he weighed about 5kg, 2 weeks later, I weigh him, he already gained 1kg. I'm like...is that a growth spurt?

Anyway, his eye infection is still not yet recovered. Doctor at KKH says it's stye, and currently, still waiting for the "pimple" to pop itself. Everyday trying to put warm compress on his eyes, but a bit hard, keep moving. :(

Wow your boy has a huge appetite!

Mummies like to check what is the frequency of your baby nap? How often n how long? Mine is starting to sleep very little, the nap lasts 45 mins to an hour, and about 3 naps only the whole day!

Since you mummies say it's normal for babies to suck their thumbs at this stage, I shall keep my pacifier. HAHA!~ it's true, the sound of him sucking his thumb is really loud, quite shiok to hear. But with all his saliva on the thumb, and when he touches his head and face, will it cause any rashes to his skin? I mean it's his saliva after all.. :rolleyes:

@gan1972 My boy if he naps in the afternoon, usually also about 45 to an hour. On good days, maybe 1.5 hours. Sometimes after feeding, he will be super awake and don't want to sleep. That's when I have to entertain him. But recently, he seems to enjoy his musical toys hanging on the cot. So I can put him there and he will self-entertain while I do some housework.