I had elective csect in TMC and stayed in 1 bedded. My bill is approx. $14k (inclusive baby)

For my #1, I had e-csect, bill was abt $16k and I stayed in 2 bedded then.

Actually, I quite scared to go massage becos of the wound, so most probably I don't intend to go for any post natal massage but not sure if it will affect anything

Oh, emergency c sec is more expensive then.

I heard that post natal massage help to expel wind, reduce water retention and flatten the tummy? Correct me if I m wrong.

Just tat I not yet decide when to start the massage.

You're right about the post natal massage. It works on me. Also, if you have engorgement problem, the masseur should be able to help too.

Did you masseur use any bengkung wrap on your tummy? The heavy bleeding only on that day of massage, the next day back to normal? I notice for c sec mum, the flow not heavy right?
cos c sect, doc would clear some of the lining clots. My massage normally late morning, I would have heavy flow. By night time would return to normal flow.

Pb ng, I also e c sec, total bill 11k for two bedded at mount A. Gynae fee $5280.

$11k is before mediasave? Does that mean your hospital fees was about $6k at Mt.A for 2-bedded csect? I thought the website says csect cost for 2-bedded is about $3k+? Tats almost double....

I'm gonna be delivering at mt.A but I opted single bedded.. Meaning a possibly even larger bill for me, omg.. I already had a shock once when I was admitted less than a day at Mt.A for preterm labor observation.. And it cost us $800 after mediasave :/

$11k is before mediasave? Does that mean your hospital fees was about $6k at Mt.A for 2-bedded csect? I thought the website says csect cost for 2-bedded is about $3k+? Tats almost double....

I'm gonna be delivering at mt.A but I opted single bedded.. Meaning a possibly even larger bill for me, omg.. I already had a shock once when I was admitted less than a day at Mt.A for preterm labor observation.. And it cost us $800 after mediasave :/
Hi 11k is before Medisave. C sec price for 2 bedded package on website exclude baby hospital bill and anesthesiologist fee for epidural.

Hi mummies who pump n store breast milk, do you just store in the freezer of your fridge or you buy a separate freezer for storage? Asking coz my freezer has so much things during this month coz of confinement, n the door is opened frequently ...am concerned my frozen breast
Milk won't last . I am storing for excess so that my gal can still have bm when I return to work.

Are you opting for csec delivery too?

Just to share, MTA single bedded for natural birth without epidural cost $6-7k for me, inclusive of Gynae and PD fees...

Hi mummies who pump n store breast milk, do you just store in the freezer of your fridge or you buy a separate freezer for storage? Asking coz my freezer has so much things during this month coz of confinement, n the door is opened frequently ...am concerned my frozen breast
Milk won't last . I am storing for excess so that my gal can still have bm when I return to work.

With my no1, I pump and store excess in freezer compartment. Did not buy a separate freezer. After confinement lady leave I took over the entire freezer and it was insufficient, so I gave away my fbm to my church friend.

This round with no2 I gave excess bm to no1 so haven started freezing. I am thinking twice Abt freezing bcos freezing kills antibodies in bm, so I rather both kids take ebm with antibodies since elder is at childcare too. Space is also a constraint.

If u r concerned abt the frequent opening of freezer door, mayb u can reduce the number of months for expiry. Instead of 3months for fbm, think of it as 2 months... If u have a lot of excess, and intend to stop BF early, can invest in a deep freezer, can store up to 6months.

Wow.. That's good hearing that. Think I only managed to pump out 70 ml each day now. But got to reserve for latching during daytime. Earlier on, I have difficulty in latching my bb, can express out 180ml in the morning and night. Not sure if my LO has been overfed. :/
Must we wake up in the middle of the night to express out as well as I only latch my LO every 1-3 hrs depends on her need?
What is MOTN?

If u latch your baby at nite, there is no need to wake up especially to pump.

MOTN stands for middle of the night.

My boobs cannot sustain 5hrs, output drop, now I am back to 4hrly.

Are you opting for csec delivery too?

Just to share, MTA single bedded for natural birth without epidural cost $6-7k for me, inclusive of Gynae and PD fees...

Icic. We opted natural w/o epi and budgeted around the cost you mentioned.. we didn't know how much to expect in the event of emer. csect.. Now we have a rough estimation.. We're still considering if I should just go for csect, partly cos the est. weight of baby has been wavering at abt 95percentile, 37wk+ was 3.8kg.. I guess if I still get a chance to go for my next gynae visit, we'll see what the doc suggest...

Morning from KKH :) Bubbles arrived via emer c-sect after 22hrs of failed induction, laughing gas and epidural. Cervix refused to dilate further than 3 cm, and for the 8hrs after waters burst, her BP kept dropping with each contraction, whilst mine kept rising :-/

Since I am GD mum, she was whisked away to be monitored for blood sugars, I only had enough time to plant 2 kisses on her before she was brought to me 7 hrs later.

Anyhow, her blood sugars are normal (yay!), I've got another battlescar (booo), and she's latching well despite a frustrating start. Probably due to initial formula feeds to ensure her blood sugars stablize. Producing sufficient colostrum to lull her into deep enough sleep to room-in!

How many more mamas waiting??? Jiayou Jiayou!

Icic. We opted natural w/o epi and budgeted around the cost you mentioned.. we didn't know how much to expect in the event of emer. csect.. Now we have a rough estimation.. We're still considering if I should just go for csect, partly cos the est. weight of baby has been wavering at abt 95percentile, 37wk+ was 3.8kg.. I guess if I still get a chance to go for my next gynae visit, we'll see what the doc suggest...

Wah 3.8kg is a big bubbly baby! Is this your first child? Gynae will recommend to induce Liao...

My bb was 3.4kg at w37 n umbilical cord Ard neck so was informed that if bb is in distress we will have to go for e-csec. Induced at 38w, est weight still 3.4kg, Heng ah. I was thinking if above 3.5kg duno if I can deliver naturally anot. This is my no2. End up he is 3.00kg zhun zhun nia... Worry for nothing.

My friend delivered 10yrs ago, 3.5kg, natural birth with vacumn, she push for almost 2hrs and BB can't come out. Gynae came and immediately ask for vacumm, midwife wasted her efforts making her push for so long.

Having said that, bb's weight is just an estimate, +/- 300g (mine discount 400g lor)... So still got chance of natural. Dun wait too long, cos u will get tired and no energy to push...

Praying that u will have a smooth delivery soon!

Is there any reasons why we should or should not use the pacifier? I didn't give pacifier to no1, now thinking if I should give to no2? If not, what are the compelling reasons?

Weight variance will be 400g +/-. Initially I also worry if baby will be too big reaching the end. But the last visit with gynae he said my bb should be at 3kg. And he was right the next day I popped.
It's getting near for you!

Is there any reasons why we should or should not use the pacifier? I didn't give pacifier to no1, now thinking if I should give to no2? If not, what are the compelling reasons?

Perhaps this is purely own school of thoughts. I grew up in pacifier. Only threw away my last pacifier at the age of 6. I have perfect teeth into adulthood and never needed braces (some parents concern is no nice set of teeth with pacifier).

I don't intend to give my bb pacifier because I don't want her to rely too much on external object to soothe herself. But to be honest, never say never. Wait till CL leaves then the show begins.

Perhaps this is purely own school of thoughts. I grew up in pacifier. Only threw away my last pacifier at the age of 6. I have perfect teeth into adulthood and never needed braces (some parents concern is no nice set of teeth with pacifier).

I don't intend to give my bb pacifier because I don't want her to rely too much on external object to soothe herself. But to be honest, never say never. Wait till CL leaves then the show begins.

I didn't give no1 pacifier also, same as u dun want him to rely on external object, worse if it drops out at nite and he cries I need to find the paci for him.

Now he sucks his thumb thinking he wun lose it in his sleep and will outgrow it. Now 2yrs Liao still sucking haha.

Wah 3.8kg is a big bubbly baby! Is this your first child? Gynae will recommend to induce Liao...

Yar, my first baby... gynae did mention the weight is only an estimate. When he used his hands to sorta feel and press against the tummy, he said though big but should not be that big... Maybe that's why he only suggest to induce after my visit next sat.. By then I should be wk39..

Weight variance will be 400g +/-. Initially I also worry if baby will be too big reaching the end. But the last visit with gynae he said my bb should be at 3kg. And he was right the next day I popped.
It's getting near for you!

yea, soon... Haha. I wonder how it will happen.. I scared I panick when it happens while I'm alone at home..

Morning from KKH :) Bubbles arrived via emer c-sect after 22hrs of failed induction, laughing gas and epidural. Cervix refused to dilate further than 3 cm, and for the 8hrs after waters burst, her BP kept dropping with each contraction, whilst mine kept rising :-/

Since I am GD mum, she was whisked away to be monitored for blood sugars, I only had enough time to plant 2 kisses on her before she was brought to me 7 hrs later.

Anyhow, her blood sugars are normal (yay!), I've got another battlescar (booo), and she's latching well despite a frustrating start. Probably due to initial formula feeds to ensure her blood sugars stablize. Producing sufficient colostrum to lull her into deep enough sleep to room-in!

Congrats! Me still waiting! Post 40 weeks mama here!

I went to hospital recently cos I saw fresh blood. But was discharged shortly as contractions are still considered irregular. Now experiencing very light spotting, but contractions are getting stronger with time.

Wonder how long this waiting game will take ...

I didn't give no1 pacifier also, same as u dun want him to rely on external object, worse if it drops out at nite and he cries I need to find the paci for him.

Now he sucks his thumb thinking he wun lose it in his sleep and will outgrow it. Now 2yrs Liao still sucking haha.
My nos.1 I give in to pacifier. Until now 3yrs old still rely on it. I thinking to restrict to nap time only.

No.2 I don't want to give pacifier. But now 2wks old will look for his fist or hand to suck. After feeding, mouth still look for hand to suck. I already give 80ml FM every 3hrs. Is it too much. I scared over feed.

My nos.1 I give in to pacifier. Until now 3yrs old still rely on it. I thinking to restrict to nap time only.

No.2 I don't want to give pacifier. But now 2wks old will look for his fist or hand to suck. After feeding, mouth still look for hand to suck. I already give 80ml FM every 3hrs. Is it too much. I scared over feed.
Does your baby sleep well after the 80ml? Mine refuses to sleep so long she is not full. Esp after a feed she poos. Then have to supplement another at least 50ml or so then she will sleep.

80ml fm can last 3hrs. He like alarm clock. Very on. Morning time 10+, I would shower him first drag his time. After shower then feed him. Slee well

I didn't give number 1 pacifier and ended up she sucks her sleeves to self sooth....now still sucking...wonder when can kick off this habit , can't cut away all the sleeves of her long sleeves clothes right?

Congrats snowfern! Enjoy motherhood !

Hello All Mums,

Not too sure I am posting in the right chat group but I figured most of you already delivered or should be delivering by now?
I am due Jan 2017 and looking high and low for a good confinement nanny.
Can any of you share with me your contacts if you have any good experienced confinement nanny that you would recommend?
Thank you so much.

Noob mom

Hello All Mums,

Not too sure I am posting in the right chat group but I figured most of you already delivered or should be delivering by now?
Can any of you share with me your contacts if you have any good experienced confinement nanny that you would recommend?
Thank you so much.

Noob mom

Hi Noob Mom, my confinement lady is booked for end Dec - end Jan... Sorry can't recommend.

If you still can't find, I can help u ask my previous confinement lady from Batam Indonesia. When is ur due date?

Hi Noob Mom, my confinement lady is booked for end Dec - end Jan... Sorry can't recommend.

If you still can't find, I can help u ask my previous confinement lady from Batam Indonesia. When is ur due date?

My EDD End Jan'17. I understand from some of my mommy friends that come CL insist of mixing Milk powder + BM for first week of birth so that baby sleeps better and some CL insist to use milk bottle feeding which might cause nipple confusion...I am not too sure how a good CL looks like but I sure do want to do full breast feed is possible.

CL will have their own style however when you engage one, you're in a way her boss and you can insist on your preferred style of feeding (among other things). Just brief her on day1 how you like things to be in general.

For my case, BM/ebm is first to be fed to my bb. I will not let her go hungry so if my BM can't catch up, I will agree to Fm. Now I try to latch and pump every 3-4hrs. Still, can't meet her demand. I'm hoping it's just that my supply hasn't been established yet at 3rd wk.

My CL is very responsive and takes care well of bb and me and hubby (he is expanding horizontally). Pm me if you may want to consider her. She is from PEM.

My LO poo every 2-3hour ..is this normal ? he drink enfamil and sometimes will mix with bm Coz my bm not enough, only manage to pump 30ml each time.

Congrats snowfern! Me still waiting!

Thanks everyone! Another sleepless night here, so back to chitchat a bit huhu

Hang in there and sleep as much as you can @KWL & @Rachelybq @_@

@MistyCloud I had quite annoying piles 2nd trimester, and been cleaning the area with witch hazel + cotton balls after every movement and shower....seems to help with the swelling. Doc also gave me stool softener, lactulose, it definitely helped reduce strain and thus swelling. If skin broken, can get cream from doc also.

For those with CL, do you ask her to handwash your clothes or only wash baby clothes?

CL hand wash baby's clothes if qty is too small. Otherwise she uses the washing machine to wash my elder son and baby's clothes.

Washing machine for adult clothes as well...

My CL already handwash my baby clothes and I machine wash my clothes with husband's. When my in-laws knows CL didn't wash my clothes, they quite upset about it cos they pan-tang & said my clothes are considered 'dirty' and should be washed separately from husband's. Now I find it hard to ask my CL to wash my clothes for me.

Hello All Mums,

Thank you so much.

Noob mom

Hi, I just delivered my baby girl last week and doing my confinement now, so far my nanny is very good, she cooks and takes good care of me and baby, we are all happy with her. If you want, can PM me and I will give u her contact.

Mine uses washing machine for baby clothes ... Wash alternate days

My clothes helper will wash using machine too

My CL already handwash my baby clothes and I machine wash my clothes with husband's. When my in-laws knows CL didn't wash my clothes, they quite upset about it cos they pan-tang & said my clothes are considered 'dirty' and should be washed separately from husband's. Now I find it hard to ask my CL to wash my clothes for me.

Oh I haven heard of that before. What does your husband say? If he is fine with it then just wash both ur clothes together in washing machine?

Get him to speak to ur inlaws instead. So there wun be tension between u and inlaws...

Or if you have enough clothes to rotate, u can put wash ur clothes n hb's clothes in different loads?

My inlaws won't be happy too if my lingerie gets mixed with hubby's laundry. But why can't be man's boxers considered dirty? Why must it be women's? So I don't care I wash together. Ha it's my house I do what I want.

CL did ask if I want handwash or machine wash bb clothes. I told her machine wash because that's what I've been doing. I rather CL focuses her time on taking care of bb.

My inlaws won't be happy too if my lingerie gets mixed with hubby's laundry. But why can't be man's boxers considered dirty? Why must it be women's? So I don't care I wash together. Ha it's my house I do what I want.

CL did ask if I want handwash or machine wash bb clothes. I told her machine wash because that's what I've been doing. I rather CL focuses her time on taking care of bb.
Same wor, my in laws also not happy about mixing mine and my hubby's confinement or not...not sure what is the logic

Got one time I was living under same roof of my hubby's granny for a while. I hanged my undies on the tek-goh. Old house the laundry is hanged high up at the kitchen one. Then one gotta walk under the laundry before using the toilet. The granny cannot take it. Told me cannot hang like that. I was puzzled why I can walk under men's deh kor but why men can't walk under women's?

It's strange we women have to be deemed "dirty" that way. It's just not fair :p But of course I adhered since it's not my own place.

Traditionally, ladies's undergarment consider "dirty". Pantang for Mens to walk pass it under it. During confinement, we having lochia. " Lai heng" so consider dirty Lo. Elderly want us to separately wash our clothes from them. For me, my mum do for confinement. Baby clothes wash separately. Mine machine wash togather with other adult clothes.