@BubsandBloms, you will soon entering your second trimester leh.... only 3 more days to go.
You will see your baby moving around during oscar scan, but gender depends on your baby position. I saw baby open leg, but still not sure what is the gender. Depends ba....

Thanks for the encouragement!
By the way, just out of curiosity. What is the difference between normal scan and oscar scan? Or are they the same thing actually?

Dr tham told me few things
Baby nose bridge is good height so low risk
And the skin lining at the back of baby is also not thin
Therefore very low risk
If I want to be safe I can do oscar
So I rejected as I have confidence with my baby haha

That's nice to hear.
I'm really glad to have Dr Tham as my gynae! He has this 'Loving fatherly figure' aura.

@Minn07

I supposed you can drink birds nest anytime you want, but whether the baby can absorb as early from first tri onwards..... it's subjective and up to what you believe bah. Just like some experts oso dun believe that birds nest aids in youthful skin for adults. Similarly, the instructor didnt really believe birds nest helps in fair skin for babies.... But I guess everyone is entitled to their opinion.

I like bird's nest too! But too much trouble and expensive to brew regularly. Those in the bottle is convenient, but sugar level usually quite high so just take note abit.

Yea i also feel baby may not be able to absorb so early. But, no complains getting to have birds nest more often!!! haha!

Was told u can eat once per wk from week 13 onwards n slowly increase to 2. Bird nest contain something aids the brain function the guy told me la. I eat bird nest twice a week now despite I m only at week 13 coz I can't take chicken essence. It makes me feel sick

Hello I'm new to this thread. I am due in early May 2015.

May i know if anyone here is going to start a facebook group for all the May 2015 mums?
If so, i would love to join.

Thanks for the encouragement!
By the way, just out of curiosity. What is the difference between normal scan and oscar scan? Or are they the same thing actually?

@BubsandBloms, normal scan is the scan that was done by your gynae regularly during your visit. While oscar scan normally will be done by specialised sonographer to scan in more detail on your baby so it will took longer time compare to that was done by your gynae. Sonographer would then measure the thickness of the fluid at the back of your baby's neck, nasal bone, heartbeat, etc. Then based on this measurement and your blood test, they will calculate the risk probability for down syndrome.

Thanks for the info
Oscar scan need to be full bladder?

happycsk, since you know the exact date you conceive, that will be more accurate. ultrasound EDD's are just estimates based on baby's size and it common to have a +/- of a few days.

Doraemon_mummy, I just saw gynae today too! also didn't manage to get a confirm answer. saw something in between the legs but gynae said it could also be the umbilical cord, hard to tell. like you, got to wait till next appointment. for clothes, I highly recommend Mothers en Vogue! :) currently my favourite place to get maternity wear, bought many from there already. can wear through pregnancy, nursing and even after returning to work. all the designs are very nice and of very good workmanship. there is a shop at centrepoint. otherwise can order and try/collect from their office at Bukit Merah. http://www.mothersenvogue.com/
I just checked out their dresses looks quite nice. Some of my clothes are getting tight and in the evening baby bump is so obvious. Need to get some new clothes soon!

Hi mommies, may I know if its safe to use those sheet masks during pregnancy such as Beauty Diary masks etc?

Hi, those normal facial masks shld be ok. But for those with higher chemical compositions in them e.g benzo peroxide for treatment of acne gotta be careful with usage. Some comes with warning labels for pregnant ladies, so do read first or ask your gynae before using.

The normal moisturising / collagen sheet masks are ok lah..... Pregnant oso must look beautiful ok!!

hello ladies, I have PMed those who have written to me to add them to FB. I'm currently at work and can only use mobile FB app which isn't able to find you using email addresses provided. so kindly add me first. thank you. :)

Hi experienced mummies, do we really need breast pump? Some of my friends recommend me to express milk manually by hand rather than using breast pump. They said is more comfortable by doing manually. Tats why, I do not have plan to buy breast pump first now. Moreover, some also said did not produce much milk, so in the end give baby formula milk.

Mylilsheep

When my lo was 2 weeks old, it became very painful to latch him. Thankfully i had my breastpump. After that, it was breastpumping all the way. Breastpump is very useful when i have to pump at work, reduces the pumping time by half.

I would say it's good to have, but you can also breastfeed successfully without one for the first few months.

Lilsheep, i feel dat hand express is very tedious. One hand express, the other hand hold bottle, the other breast leaking milk… w experience maybe u wont take so much time, but gotta wake up every 3-4hrly in e middle of e nite to express… takes alot of effort.

My advice is if u r not sure abt breastfeeding then dun get e pump yet. Your bb may latch all e way oso. Borrow a second hand pump from frens to try first? Then if got supply n ok w e pump then buy ur own. For me, i borrowed a single pump fr my sil first, after using it then bought a dual pump cos saves me more time. I only latch my gal for a mth n gave up to pump all e way cos she was biting me.

Even then i had to supplement w formula. So every mom's situation is different. You still got time, ask around and read up then make ur decision bah :) hope this helps!

@cynn04 actually I also worried to use those facial mask and i've been stop using them since i get pregnant. But I still use hydration lotion and moisturiser jst to keep my face freshness. Good tips from u. Will chceck those facial mask instruction :)

spark08, yes they are easily available in Singapore. just go online and buy.

mylilsheep, when there is demand, there will be supply. a good latch by baby will ensure your supply meets your baby's needs. during initial few weeks, it is recommended to just feed and latch on demand. can be up to 10 -12 times a day. it is tiring, but that's part of the package! :) if baby doesn't latch well, then you have to rely on a good breast pump to empty your breasts and make sure you keep on producing more milk. imagine using hands to manually express out the milk on a daily basis every 3 hours? that's 8x over 24 hours. your hands will ache! and anyway, electric pumps nowadays are very affordable. even if you end up not using it, you can always sell it off with minimal loss.

re: formula
try not to give in to formula. it's a vicious cycle once you start. i say this because i have been through this cycle with my #1. thought she wasn't drinking enough and supplemented with FM. ended up she slept longer and of course latching for even shorter periods. with decreased demand, my supply also decreased. to the point i just gave up pumping/latching after like 3 months. with #2, i latched her on demand, day and night. no FM given at all. even when she started to sleep for longer stretches, i would set alarm to wake up in the middle of the night to pump out the milk to make sure my supply exceeded her needs so that i could store the excess in the freezer. i kept at it consistently and was able to express 1L of milk a day!

M previously using 50_BBN username but forgot the password & lazy so using back my old username for #1 lol

Hi starrymommy,

For TB 11/11 sales, we juz buy as per how we normally do or I heard vy troublesome?

mylilsheep, all in all 6 months. stopped after i went back to work. tried to pump at work but environment was not conducive as there was no nursing room. plus I do sales and have to accommodate clients' requests to meet at hours when I needed to pump, so my pumping career did not last more than a couple of weeks. :(

there was like 3.5 months of 100% latching while I was on maternity leave.. day and night, and everywhere I went, she came along with me. a little bit of inconvenience when I had to run errands but we survived. lol! that was also the period I lost the most weight! very satisfying, 'cos I ate a lot but still lost all those pregnancy fats.

oh, just to add on, I had no milk for 5 whole days after birth. not a single drop.. think it was due to preterm labour and milk ducts were not active yet at 30 weeks. however, I am glad I did not give up, for even when I didn't see any milk being produced, I still massaged my breasts and pumped around the clock! every 3 hours, just attached myself to the pump and go through the cycle for about 15-20 mins. set alarm and woke up to do that as well. there were a lot of tears during those few days. finally saw liquid gold coming in on day 6! it was like 5ml at first, then 10ml and 20ml.. and just one fine day, I was producing so much the NICU nurses told me to stop bringing. :)

Reactions: Xp
starrymommy,
I started off using agent to buy & ship but later tried buying myself & juz ship back thru forwarder.

some sellers have already started their 11.11 sales. can start already! hee hee!! btw, I heard that it is cheaper to buy direct. but not sure how much cheaper. my hubby and I often consolidate our "goods" and one shot send by sea shipment under 65daigou. so far we are happy with the service and charges. 'cos they do everything for us! but I think if getting bulky stuffs, it is more economical to go direct..

Mummies, i just found out that my office is under going renovation next week. How ah? Should I be pantang about it??

momocrv, are you a pantang person? my office was undergoing reno for a few weeks while I was pregnant with #1. all sorts of drilling, hammering and banging all over the place. no issue with my pregnancy at all.

It's Friday! Queued up 20 min for 4fingers, ended up being unimpressed with the chicken. Dunno issit pregnancy homones wrecking havoc with my taste buds.

starry, hope you dun mind but I got a slightly different view of the whole breastfeeding thing to share. Nothing worked for me in getting my supply - latching / pumping regularly, drinking watever tea or papaya soup, going for breast massages... Worse thing is I had mastitis i.e breast infection 3 times during the 6 months I was breastfeeding. For me, breastfeeding was a nightmare.

Now on hindsight, I realised part of the reason why is because there is so much pressure on me to breastfeed, from articles, from frens who were successful (dont give up, they say), even from my hubby (he said if his colleague can do it why cant I) dat I got very depressed. It should not come to a point that if mothers don't breastfeed, they are not trying hard enough. In my old group's facebook page, one of the mommies kept posting up pictures of her excellent milk supply, and even said she had to throw away or use for footbaths cos her breastmilk expired, while the rest of us were lamenting that we had no supply. I was so irritated with her, hormone-induced rage I guess lol.

I definitely agree that breastmilk is the best for newborns. In fact even on partial breastmilk and formula, I feel that my gal's immunity is pretty good. But I also believe that it is due to genetics. Now after all this rambling on, would I do it all over again? Of course I would! But this time, I won't be so stressed by what others say. If got good supply fine, if not then formula lor. No point stressing over this, actually sours the whole process of taking care of your precious newborn.

Wow sorry all for the essay, just wanted to get this out cos very close to my heart. And today on leave hahahahha.....

cynn04, I had 4fingers yesterday too and didn't like it either. tooooo salty! did you have the soy and garlic one? 'cos that's the one I ordered. think I will stick to Popeye's and Texas chicken..

I know what you mean about the pressure. I struggled and had the "die die must do it" attitude for #2 because she was a preemie and was a mere 1.2kg.. very heartached watching her lying in the little incubator, struggling to breath, plus all those tubes going in and out from her little body. the NICU nurses said preemies will thrive better on mommies' milk instead of the preemie formula. if she were a full-term, healthy baby, I am quite sure I wouldn't have given myself such pressure. I had mastitis 3 times too and the pain, of gosh, the pain was 10x worse than giving birth. at least I could get an epidural for labour pains. mastitis pain made me tremble and shake for days. had no words to describe. doubt I would endure such intense pain even for my own hubby.. hopefully for #3, the journey will be smoother and pain-free.

however, with all that said, just make sure you do what you feel is best for you and your baby. there is no right or wrong. doesn't matter whether you breastfeed your child till he/she is 7yo or you give FM right from the start; the decision you made won't make you a better or lousier mother, for you are the best mother your child can ever have. :) in the end, your sanity and self-worth is so much more important than a bottle of breastmilk!

Reactions: Xp
It's Friday! Queued up 20 min for 4fingers, ended up being unimpressed with the chicken. Dunno issit pregnancy homones wrecking havoc with my taste buds.

starry, hope you dun mind but I got a slightly different view of the whole breastfeeding thing to share. Nothing worked for me in getting my supply - latching / pumping regularly, drinking watever tea or papaya soup, going for breast massages... Worse thing is I had mastitis i.e breast infection 3 times during the 6 months I was breastfeeding. For me, breastfeeding was a nightmare.

Now on hindsight, I realised part of the reason why is because there is so much pressure on me to breastfeed, from articles, from frens who were successful (dont give up, they say), even from my hubby (he said if his colleague can do it why cant I) dat I got very depressed. It should not come to a point that if mothers don't breastfeed, they are not trying hard enough. In my old group's facebook page, one of the mommies kept posting up pictures of her excellent milk supply, and even said she had to throw away or use for footbaths cos her breastmilk expired, while the rest of us were lamenting that we had no supply. I was so irritated with her, hormone-induced rage I guess lol.

I definitely agree that breastmilk is the best for newborns. In fact even on partial breastmilk and formula, I feel that my gal's immunity is pretty good. But I also believe that it is due to genetics. Now after all this rambling on, would I do it all over again? Of course I would! But this time, I won't be so stressed by what others say. If got good supply fine, if not then formula lor. No point stressing over this, actually sours the whole process of taking care of your precious newborn.

Wow sorry all for the essay, just wanted to get this out cos very close to my heart. And today on leave hahahahha.....
same here. athough is my first but i also worry that my milk supply may not be enough cos my mum 's milk supply for us is pretty low. i feel stress now despite the bb is still in the making

thanks @starrymommy and @cynn04 for sharing your experience.

I still dunno what would happen with me later after baby born. Hopefully I have enough supply though, thus can save money, no need to buy formula milk. So can buy other thing. lols.

Btw just see my gynae today. My weight did not really increase, coz oso this morning I just get clear all my bowel after few days constipation. Doc just say I need to eat more. Dunno how much more food I need to eat, but feel uncomfortable if eat too many oso. I do not really bother about my weight now actually, coz my sis oso did not take much weight during her pregnancy -- only about 8 kg weight increased. Her baby is healthy and weight 2.6 kg. Baby small type lar, since our genetics all small small type one. lols.

Doc oso told me I have prince. A bit sad though, but oso ok lahh. Now I can take over all my nephew baby clothes from my sis, no need to buy again. Although at first I was thinking if girl, I would oso still make her with boy's clothes... hahaha.....

thanks @starrymommy and @cynn04 for sharing your experience.

I still dunno what would happen with me later after baby born. Hopefully I have enough supply though, thus can save money, no need to buy formula milk. So can buy other thing. lols.

Btw just see my gynae today. My weight did not really increase, coz oso this morning I just get clear all my bowel after few days constipation. Doc just say I need to eat more. Dunno how much more food I need to eat, but feel uncomfortable if eat too many oso. I do not really bother about my weight now actually, coz my sis oso did not take much weight during her pregnancy -- only about 8 kg weight increased. Her baby is healthy and weight 2.6 kg. Baby small type lar, since our genetics all small small type one. lols.

Doc oso told me I have prince. A bit sad though, but oso ok lahh. Now I can take over all my nephew baby clothes from my sis, no need to buy again. Although at first I was thinking if girl, I would oso still make her with boy's clothes... hahaha.....
congrats! ah.. sorry, how many weeks pregnant then can see gender? i will b visiting my gynae next wk at wk 14

@newbiemum80, I am about week 15 now. From what I read, you should can see baby gender from week 14, but all still depends on your baby position. After doc tell me baby gender, then want to show me again, baby so shy and move his position. So I did not really see baby's birdie there..... lols

mylilsheep, maybe you can try drinking 2 glasses of maternal milk for a start? and eat more beef! :) my gf only put on 4kg throughout pregnancy. baby also very healthy, so don't be too stressed out on that aspect. likely you are just a petite mummy!

momocrv, are you a pantang person? my office was undergoing reno for a few weeks while I was pregnant with #1. all sorts of drilling, hammering and banging all over the place. no issue with my pregnancy at all.
Not exactly pantang hahaha I shouldn't be too paranoid about it then.

yaa..... my sis oso told me later if gain too much weight, oso difficult to have normal delivery. Coz baby would be too big.

I have not try maternal milk. But I drink normal fresh milk or soybean milk alternatively. Mebbe next time I try the full cream milk instead of skimmed milk. haha.....

cynn04, I had 4fingers yesterday too and didn't like it either. tooooo salty! did you have the soy and garlic one? 'cos that's the one I ordered. think I will stick to Popeye's and Texas chicken..

I know what you mean about the pressure. I struggled and had the "die die must do it" attitude for #2 because she was a preemie and was a mere 1.2kg.. very heartached watching her lying in the little incubator, struggling to breath, plus all those tubes going in and out from her little body. the NICU nurses said preemies will thrive better on mommies' milk instead of the preemie formula. if she were a full-term, healthy baby, I am quite sure I wouldn't have given myself such pressure. I had mastitis 3 times too and the pain, of gosh, the pain was 10x worse than giving birth. at least I could get an epidural for labour pains. mastitis pain made me tremble and shake for days. had no words to describe. doubt I would endure such intense pain even for my own hubby.. hopefully for #3, the journey will be smoother and pain-free.

however, with all that said, just make sure you do what you feel is best for you and your baby. there is no right or wrong. doesn't matter whether you breastfeed your child till he/she is 7yo or you give FM right from the start; the decision you made won't make you a better or lousier mother, for you are the best mother your child can ever have. :) in the end, your sanity and self-worth is so much more important than a bottle of breastmilk!

Mommies r all so wei da!! I agree that the pain of mastitis is worse worse worse than delivery! I can still remember clearly the pain of trying to squeeze out my lumps... *cries* Also pray and hope for a smoother journey this time round, for everyone here as well!

Oh well having said that, I still have to go through my oscar test next week first. First round of prayers for that.

yaa..... my sis oso told me later if gain too much weight, oso difficult to have normal delivery. Coz baby would be too big.

I have not try maternal milk. But I drink normal fresh milk or soybean milk alternatively. Mebbe next time I try the full cream milk instead of skimmed milk. haha.....

There is one brand which has chocolate flavour. Cant remember the brand. I tried the sample and found it quite nice. Maybe easier to gain weight from maternal milk bah.

@cynn04, I am afraid if I drink maternal milk then become overweight liao. The funny thing is, gynae told me I am so thin, but hubby told me I am so fat. lols.... I believe my hubby knows my fat more rather than my gynae. :D