Continuing on breastfreeding for first time mummy... I also learn the hard way in the first three weeks after that because of my job I am able to exclusive provide expressed BM to my bb till she is at 1 yr mark...

Just a few things to remember for first time mummy
1) Your full milk supply wont kick in until maybe 3-4 weeks after delivery (yes its is that depressing)
2) your infant will have a growth spurt every 3 weeks or so, you will find that your bb will root for your milk almost every hr and you start to doubt whether if bb drinking enough from you
3) during the first few days post delivery, the colostrum is very beneficial to bb, so how ever little you start pumping during these days, MUST give your BB. If you latch, you cant see or gauge how much your bb has drank so we always go by timing, like 15mins per breast
4) Drink PLENTY of water, soup, red dates longan water every hour... and latch/pump every 2 hours during the first month.
5) If you are engaging massage lady, they usually will help you to massage the breasts to regulate the milk flow
6) buy fernugeek supplement if you want to increase the supply but this supplement made me very gassy :p
7) before every pumping/latching, you can use the following methods (or all steps), these will help to regulate your milk flow (prevent blockages)
7.1 use warm hand towel to massage your breasts
7.2 circular massage your breasts
8) First time mummy, your nipples will surely crack and bleed if you latch/pump too often... cuz nipples not sanitized (sp)...after latching/pump use these methods to ease your crack nipples
8.1 apply your own breastmilk onto the nipples and let it dry
8.2 apply nipple cream onto the crack nipples and leave it till next latch/pump

Breastmilk is not a GRANTED thing, mummy has to work for it... more demand (latching/pumping) more supply ...

TO STOP PUMPING!
Forgot to add : if you have started pumping and wanted to stop at 6 months mark or any other markers, please do so in a GRADUAL phase... cuz by 6 mths, your milk supply would be very established... its normal to pump up to 200ml from each breast if you are pumping every 3 hour...

Always remember - supply = demand... lower demand = lower supply

if you stopped pumping altogether suddenly, you will have all Mastitis, Fever .....

i think for latching is easier to wean off cuz your bb would have taken soft solids then, so your supply definitively will drop... for those exclusively pump, your pump is your latch... if you are pumping every 3 hourly and 20 mins each time, you have to drag to 4 hourly 15 mins for a few days then drag to 5 hourly 15 mins etc etc... watch how your breasts react to the slow down... in the beginning please do not drag from a 3 hourly pump to a 6 hourly pump... you will surely get nasty engorgement...

wanted to go HK in early Oct.
gynae say still ok to travel but need a letter from him
DH say must save money cause one more mouth to feed:(

i want to eat the food in HK

Okay just saw! HK! I just went in April before I got Preggy... But not made in HK cos I travelled with my gf.

DH also say the same thing... Where got money to babymoon with lil one on the way, must save $

I'm the those few that gave up easily, after 1-2 weeks of pumping, there isn't much supply. Is just like few drops each breast, both combined merely 10ml. And during those 1-2 week, bb already drinking formula milk. So I had this idea that I don't have milk supply prob due to small breast... :( my first 2 pregnancy also like that..

breast size nothing to do with amount of breast milk... i very small chested de... but my milk supply is good...try again this round... of cos there nothing wrong with FM but since BM is suppose to be the best and is a money saver... I hang on that belief!

actually i find latching more stressful... I also breakdown and cry at 3rd week, cuz my ger is asking for milk every hour and her jaundice still quite prominent... I was quite worried... If you baby cried at every hr, she cant rest well and you also cant rest well...both will end up cranky and emotions fly literally!

that's why I give up latching and do 100% pumping and I can see how much milk I have given her and she can nap better too with fuller stomach! at 4 weeks, she was drinking 70-100ml and can nap for 1 to 1.5hr

Haah actually though i dun latch often.. i kind of miss the bonding during latching.. i rem during weekends when I can sleep in.. I will just latch bb in the morning :D

The 4 times I have been there are mostly chilly time

Early Dec 2011 - Taipei went as low as 13 at night, we were there to climb mountain, so at the mountain hut was 6 degree but failed to summit. went with group of friends. Wet and cold at Taipei
April 2012 - went with my girl & MIL & a MIL friend. Dh and I went mountain climbing again. Yeah summitted this round while my MIL and girl at the mountain foot (its a national park at 1800m altitude, so my ger was all wrapped up hahaha) then after that we 环岛。。。in hired car with driver... its winter to spring weather... its a good time to travel to taiwan for 环岛
June 2012 - went to friends again to scale another mountain but weather sucked big time, plans cancelled, end up at climbing easy mountain at central mountainous range - wet weather, can be quite hot
Jan 2014 - went to family with PIL, went south Taiwan, end winter... cool and dry weather at the southern part of taiwan... comfortable around 20-23 degree... if taipei expect 15-18 ... can even snorkeling at the islets ... love it!

Wah travel with PIL.. haha i wonder if i will be ok.. :X..

u know what my colleague say ... start pumping when in hospital ...get the motion started ... and teh factory will start working ...

btw nothing to do with breast size lah...

But after pumping for 2 weeks still that quantity isn't too pathetic?

mine grew bigger but i am still wearing my usual bras.
haha too lazy to buy
must upgrade leh dun be lazy ...

hk in oct ... normally after taiwan typhoon become hk leh ..
beside...i dun think we can eat goose there leh lolz
Okay just saw! HK! I just went in April before I got Preggy... But not made in HK cos I travelled with my gf.

DH also say the same thing... Where got money to babymoon with lil one on the way, must save $
i went in March with MIL/ mom lolz ..eat until song but not made in hk too... but my mom say everytime i go hk i will hit jackpot lolz cos the 1st one also after come back from hk have one lolz

u know what my colleague say ... start pumping when in hospital ...get the motion started ... and teh factory will start working ...

btw nothing to do with breast size lah...

that what I did ... start pumping when in hospital... every time I pump, I will pass the 5-8 ml of colostrum to nurse... they will also treat it like treasure hahahaha but still my supply nvr kick in early enough for the growth spurt...

i went in March with MIL/ mom lolz ..eat until song but not made in hk too... but my mom say everytime i go hk i will hit jackpot lolz cos the 1st one also after come back from hk have one lolz

The HK aftermath! Hubby misses you too much ah? :p

Speaking of breast size, I'm very upset my boobies didn't get the memo that they r supposed to grow to gigantic melon sizes when preggy. I'm still fitting into my usual bras! *sulk*

erm it only increase your cup size not the breast size la

is it.

but after give birth will shrnk back to normal size ma?

that what I did ... start pumping when in hospital... every time I pump, I will pass the 5-8 ml of colostrum to nurse... they will also treat it like treasure hahahaha but still my supply nvr kick in early enough for the growth spurt...
but where they store the milk har

i mad love their fresh prwan wanton mee.

it just taste diff

must drink alot of liquid...too
never mind this round try again...scully the factory recognise the need to produce and mass production leh ;)
Ya I will try... Hand pump is good enough? I don't want to spend that much on electric pump and ended up no supply...

another vote down ... if i am not preggy i also go lolz ... it is because preggy i hestiate cos i dun wan to regret later
even though pple kept say it is ok no impact but better play safe than sorry ...but that is me lah it is not as though japan will sink ...can go other time ;)

Agree! Haah actually for me i will go after i am done with child bearing.. not before.. cos i kiasi.. just to play safe like what you say!

TO STOP PUMPING!
Forgot to add : if you have started pumping and wanted to stop at 6 months mark or any other markers, please do so in a GRADUAL phase... cuz by 6 mths, your milk supply would be very established... its normal to pump up to 200ml from each breast if you are pumping every 3 hour...

Always remember - supply = demand... lower demand = lower supply

if you stopped pumping altogether suddenly, you will have all Mastitis, Fever .....

i think for latching is easier to wean off cuz your bb would have taken soft solids then, so your supply definitively will drop... for those exclusively pump, your pump is your latch... if you are pumping every 3 hourly and 20 mins each time, you have to drag to 4 hourly 15 mins for a few days then drag to 5 hourly 15 mins etc etc... watch how your breasts react to the slow down... in the beginning please do not drag from a 3 hourly pump to a 6 hourly pump... you will surely get nasty engorgement...

Lol unless you have low supply like me.. i can stop immediately w/o dropping pumps :X

Oh i went for babymoon in HK in Dec when preggy with #1.. went to Disneyland (no rides though).. The Peak etc.. food is nice.. but the crowd on the streets is so scary..
Compared to HK.. i prefer TW actually.. like people more friendly..

Speaking of breast size, I'm very upset my boobies didn't get the memo that they r supposed to grow to gigantic melon sizes when preggy. I'm still fitting into my usual bras! *sulk*

This got me lol-ed! I am also fitting into my usual bras.. so you are not alone! I dont want gigantic size sia.. maybe just one size bigger hahah..

Ya I will try... Hand pump is good enough? I don't want to spend that much on electric pump and ended up no supply...
err i never use hand pump before ...i duno leh is there anyone else u can borrow the pump machine...u just buy the parts for hygiene purpose

free and easy.

europe only going to two places.
rome and milan ( thinking of going florence as well)

but dont think can walk for long with my big belly haha

very good, so you can take ur own sweet time to walk around, remember to get a pair of good walking shoes and enjoy the food there :)

good thing that you are not gg to any of the swiss alps, else it will be dangerous.

BTW, i bought prada long wallet at The Mall (florence), which was much cheaper than if you were to get it from boutique.

Agree! Haah actually for me i will go after i am done with child bearing.. not before.. cos i kiasi.. just to play safe like what you say!

Lol unless you have low supply like me.. i can stop immediately w/o dropping pumps :X

Oh i went for babymoon in HK in Dec when preggy with #1.. went to Disneyland (no rides though).. The Peak etc.. food is nice.. but the crowd on the streets is so scary..
Compared to HK.. i prefer TW actually.. like people more friendly..

This got me lol-ed! I am also fitting into my usual bras.. so you are not alone! I dont want gigantic size sia.. maybe just one size bigger hahah..

ya some hk people can be quite rude

I started with hand pump in hospital... only when on 3rd week my baby growth spurt then I go buy dual pump... ask around and see if anyone can lend you theirs?

very good, so you can take ur own sweet time to walk around, remember to get a pair of good walking shoes and enjoy the food there :)

good thing that you are not gg to any of the swiss alps, else it will be dangerous.

BTW, i bought prada long wallet at The Mall (florence), which was much cheaper than if you were to get it from boutique.

yea outlets.
wahahaa.

but must save money leh:oops:

Wah travel with PIL.. haha i wonder if i will be ok.. :X..
alamak I staying with them in Spore...no difference when travelling together... the girl sleeps with us, me and DH still the main carer, bathe her, feed her... they come in useful when we need to for massage... I am the one decide on itinerary and the food to eat so that I know what to feed the little one... they just tag along ... of course I will yearn for just the three of us travelling...that's why next week going BKK with only me and DH and my ger...

i actually planned winter hokkaido with siblings ...i even enquired on which apartment which skii resort ...then 2 lines appeared on the kit ...so cancelled everything haiz
October I thought good month to see autumn leaves in Japan?
i know !!! so you also think go japan good idea right ???
Fukushima ...heck care :D

I would say yes... but the moment I found out I preggie, my mum say, "Cannot Go Japan Ah..."

One other Asian city me n my hubby adore is Tokyo. We used to go there every March to see Sakura n just people watch. Until earthquake n all these radiation talk, then don't dare to go. Haiz. Maybe when I'm done with this whole child bearing business, we will venture there again.

Hee hee, me too! I love Japan! 7 times to Tokyo and not sick of it yet!
hahaha on the other hand, I visited taiwan 4x, I nvr been to a DTF there :p

I've been to 高记 though!!DTF's competitor!! :) Prefer 高记 to DTF...

I kinda wish mine would stop growing... I went from 34B to 34C, and my 34C bra is starting to fill tight!! Don't tell me I need to get 36D bra liao.... :(

I'm v irritated because for my loose dresses, I am starting to feel the top part around my boobs are getting tighter, but nothing to show around the stomach....

Ya, ok, guess will stick to hand pump first.. Got milk then upgrade...

take it slowly... breast milk cant rush... haha... in hospital let bb latch every 3 hrs, rest, then 1.5 hr later you hand pump 15 mins each breast, then rest, 1.5hr later latch and so on and so forth! this cycle will have to repeat during day time during confinement... night time just latch every 3 hrs... dun need to pump la...

meanwhile hydrate hydrate hydrate

after one month, hopefully milk supply kicked in, and if you have successfully latched, dropped your pumping and let BB latch longer... but if your bb cannot latch, then continue previous month cycle until you give up latching and focus on pumping..

alamak I stayed with them in Spore...no difference when travelling together... the girl sleeps with us, me and DH still the main carer, bathe her, feed her... they come in useful when we need to for massage... I am the one decide on itinerary and the food to eat so that I know what to feed the little one... they just tag along ... of course I will yearn for just the three of us travelling...that's why next week going BKK with only me and DH.

Haha i see.. i didnt want to stay with PIL though they asked.. and more than once.. I asked my DH to tell them no.. and then they asked again.. i went back and questioned DH issit he never tell them.. and he said he did.. i just feel difficult to stay together..

Your BBK trip just you & DH or with your gal? That time we travel with our boy.. ask for in room message after my boy fall asleep.. :p