(2014/11) Nov 2014 Mummies

Lol! My hub still very calm about baby's arrival.. While I'm abit nervous.. Thinking a lot of things not done.. I'm dead worried I dun have milk for bb.. Cos my bust only up half cup since 1st trimester till now.. :(

men are like that. i'm also nervous everyday thinking a lot of things not done. but he is like nothing out of place! ho…

i initially also feel i won't have milk for bb. but after keep reading abt the benefits of bf, pls try yr best to give bm.
actually what i find out is the initial suckle of bb very impt as it will stimulate the milk flow.
even no milk initially, u shld continue to let bb suck on yr nipples. bm depends on supply & demand.
colostrum(the first milk) will come around 3-4days.

Im making my CN sleep on 4 inch thick mattress in my helper's room, while my helper has her own single bed. Will CN be offended? I think ok right...I wld rather invest more in helper than CN cos helper os long term n she is the main person who will look after my baby when I go back to work...baby will be with me in master bdrm

If my maid comes.. fingers crossed I will ask maid to sleep on mattress cos confinement lady is older. I feel it's more respectful. Then also confinement lady is the main person taking care of night feeds etc mah.

men are like that. i'm also nervous everyday thinking a lot of things not done. but he is like nothing out of place! ho…

i initially also feel i won't have milk for bb. but after keep reading abt the benefits of bf, pls try yr best to give bm.
actually what i find out is the initial suckle of bb very impt as it will stimulate the milk flow.
even no milk initially, u shld continue to let bb suck on yr nipples. bm depends on supply & demand.
colostrum(the first milk) will come around 3-4days.

Ya lor.... My mum also advice I bf... Praying hard I got milk and can supply enough for bb.. Heh..

Hi dear mummies,
May I know where can I get cheaper or budget wen dong ginger in Singapore ?
I'm currently doing my confinement.

Thank a lot to all reply in advance.
Thanks again~

Questions. on breastfeeding:-
1. will you pump after latching bb?
2. any schedule that we can refer?

sorry 1st time fail on breastfeeding ... now 2nd time and already bought Spectra S1 .. so must do it better than previous time.
Otherwise Hubby will nag me... coz i nag him regularly... haha

Hi mummies, sorry to interupt. Are any of you bf-ing or intend to?

Your best friend on the breastfeeding journey!

Medela Purelan 100 Nipple Cream is specially formulated to protect your nipples from dryness and sensitivity by replenishing the natural oils depleted through frequent sucking in breastfeeding. These problems, which are frequent occurrences during breastfeeding, can severely hamper your breastfeeding routine and comfort. Medela Purelan Nipple Cream contains 100% pure lanolin (wool wax) without any artificial additives or preservatives. This means it doesn't have to be removed before breastfeeding and is safe for your baby! The Medela Purelan Nipple Cream is so safe, you can even use it on your baby's skin and apply to other dry skin areas.

medela-purelan-100-nipple-cream-500-jpg.398555

Why we love this product:

1. Ideal soothing for sensitive or dry nipples
  2. Convenient and multi-tasking product! Can be applied on other areas too!
  3. Helps make your breastfeeding journey a smoother and less painful one!
  4. Instant relief on the go!
letting go a 100g (L size) tube that was used only 3 times, for only $10 at half price OSP $19.90, collection at tiong bahru/raffles place/toa payoh (sun only). expiry is in Mar 2016. Pls PM if interested. thanks :)

Hi dear mummies,
May I know where can I get cheaper or budget wen dong ginger in Singapore ?
I'm currently doing my confinement.

Thank a lot to all reply in advance.
Thanks again~

Redhill market vegetables stall sells it.. it's really very good. I just bought it for cooking it's ex but very good

Questions. on breastfeeding:-
1. will you pump after latching bb?
2. any schedule that we can refer?

sorry 1st time fail on breastfeeding ... now 2nd time and already bought Spectra S1 .. so must do it better than previous time.
Otherwise Hubby will nag me... coz i nag him regularly... haha

Theory says that
1) if u want to increase supply, pump after you latch. they advocate full latching and avoid bottle feed. But still up to mummy's preference.
If u r returning to work in 4th month, start pumping out and let caregiver give day feed by bottle n u still latch at night. So that bb can get used to it after u r back to work.
2) feeding is usually every 2-3hrs but there are times when bb has growth spurts. So become 1hr for days or weeks then will go back to 2-3hrs

One thing to note is that you need to prepare your body before you latch or pump. Take hot beverage and massage the side u r feeding. Avoid massaging the side if u r not feeding from it coz may cause engorgement. If u need to feed from the other side, do a fast massage before you feed again.

All these are theories haha... let us know if u r coping well :D

Dear lovely mummies to be!
I'm sure you are excited to see your new-born and have lots of questions about pregnancy! Join along with medical experts, Dr David Woo and Dr Natalie Chua who will enlighten you on Prenatal Nutrition, the labour process and labour pain management.
Psst! What's more, there will be scrumptious high tea buffet and stand a chance to win fantastic lucky draw prizes. Hurry and sign up today!
www.miticketplus.com
Closing date: 11 October 2014

• poster.jpg
    poster.jpg
    40.7 KB · Views: 280
Hello All, I have been itching all over the body since last 2 weeks and today my liver tests came back high. I am very concerned about having ICP. Has anyone of you heard about this or got more details. Seems it's very uncommon.

Hello all, i had small lumps on the vulva realised in my week 25 onwards and my dr say is varicose veins. anyone had varicose vein on the vulva? I heard that its uncommon.. anyone experience this or had this before? Im quite worried as it will cause pain if I get up from chair and start walking or when i change my position.

ELKEN - LD Venus - Discover the secret of hapiness after childbirth

1 Box - 20 Botols - S$ 80
12 Box - S$ 840

- Benefit to women after childbirth
- Help to improve women's health
- Improve blood circulation and restore 'qi'

Interest PM or SMS 85878989

Delivery to any MRT Station

• ld-venus-700x700[1].jpg
    ld-venus-700x700[1].jpg
    71.9 KB · Views: 237
  • venus 2[1].jpg
    venus 2[1].jpg
    43.1 KB · Views: 242
Booked my c sect today 23rd Oct 7am :)
Jas1982,

Does your gynae charges extra foe choosing date and time?

I got my date and time too.. went to book the theatre for Csect already.. gynae charges an extra $2500 on top of the original fees. So heartpain now..

For those who are delivering early did the doctor ask you all to go for steroid injection for bb lungs?

No leh.. Why need steroid injection? I'm going to deliver at 38weeks.. But doc say bb matured.. Weight enough.. Dun need any thing extra to assist baby at birth leh..

Ladies today I did the GBS test...gynae took me by surprise and asked for a swab...will know the result in 1 week when I see him again.... sounds quite serious if baby gets infected. I didn't even know it exist. Now I wonder if we have can pass to hubby n what r the side effects... http://www.babycenter.com/0_group-b-streptococcus-screening_1647.bc?showAll=true

I haven't do my test... But I know it's a must to take the test.. Especially doing natural birth.. I read online.. It says usually if found to have the bacteria in the vagina.. Doc will give antibiotic..

For those who are delivering early did the doctor ask you all to go for steroid injection for bb lungs?
I had the jabs - 2 jabs taken 12 hours apart when the docs were preparing in case they had to perform an emergency operation on me ( which they did). The pain of the injection is no joke.

magl... i paid extra $1k for gyne and $288 extra for OT. cause 7am mah her no surcharge time is 8am. u paid extra $2500 for both or just gyne... yah heart pain man.

magl, i might likely be doing steriod jab nearer actual delivery. cause baby will be born on 37 weeks 6 days. she is on small side. gyne asked if i wanted. she says she feels no need but if i want to play safe no harm doing the jab.

No leh.. Why need steroid injection? I'm going to deliver at 38weeks.. But doc say bb matured.. Weight enough.. Dun need any thing extra to assist baby at birth leh..
Gynae says coz bb is coming out early so the lungs might be be ready and strong enough so the injection is like some sort of insurance to ensure there won't be any complications to bb lungs when he is out.

I had the jabs - 2 jabs taken 12 hours apart when the docs were preparing in case they had to perform an emergency operation on me ( which they did). The pain of the injection is no joke.
Huh.... sounds painful..
Ya.. I also taking 2 jabs 12 hours apart.

magl, i might likely be doing steriod jab nearer actual delivery. cause baby will be born on 37 weeks 6 days. she is on small side. gyne asked if i wanted. she says she feels no need but if i want to play safe no harm doing the jab.
Paying $2.5k extra just for the gynae.
His nurse says he timing is 8 am, But if choosing time then hav to add on $2.5k. My choosen timing is 9 am which is during office hr and just an hr after his usual surgery time. Really bloodsuckers hor... $1k is reasonable. $2.5k is just too much. But Bo bian.. already choose date and time le. So no matter what also need to pay this to the gynae. Haiz.

My delivery will be 38 weeks which is not consider preterm le. 37 weeks and below then Conside preterm and usually preterm theb need to take the jab. But my gynae still ask me to take leh. He say no side effects but I am still worried coz it's steroid medicine after all. Now my bb weighing 2.8kg @ 36weeks

Ladies today I did the GBS test...gynae took me by surprise and asked for a swab...will know the result in 1 week when I see him again.... sounds quite serious if baby gets infected. I didn't even know it exist. Now I wonder if we have can pass to hubby n what r the side effects... http://www.babycenter.com/0_group-b-streptococcus-screening_1647.bc?showAll=true
I took the swab as well. Me going for Csect. . But gynae if hav infection also will affect the bb.

i did swab test cause i chose if baby coming out before csect to try natural... erm my gyne says if i choose 8am or 1pm no need pay extra... hmm... if during his office hour why need to pay extra... hmmm maybe cause he see patients during that time?

Want to let out something that is on my mind.. Previously I did mention my elder sister is pregnant too... Recently, after she did her detail scan at 20weeks.. Doc found out that her bb's kidney and stomach is all filled with water...

Her water bag fluid is too much.. And baby's nasal bone abit short... She went through lots of tests and scan...

Doc advice to terminate the pregnancy before 24weeks... Ystd everything had been confirmed. Her bb suffer from facial deformalities and her doc cannot confirm if her bb will be born normal.. Her bb 3D scan shows that her bb's nose is sunken in...

Everything tends to show its genetic problem.. My mum had been feeling so stressed up and upset.. She couldn't let go.. While I'm feeling upset... Yet I feel so helpless cos I can't do a thing.. And I'm so near to delivery date.. Im physically and mentally tired and stress..

My sis will be going thru surgery next week to terminate the pregnancy. Her bb will go thru DNA test and autopsy.. To see wat really went wrong.. Sigh.. I'm so worried about my bb now.. Thinking my bb gal won't be as fine.. :( I'm feeling so paranoid now..

@christin3k so sorry to hear about your sister's baby :( did she go for the oscar scans prior to this? It's most likely a genetic issue from the sounds of it but every baby is different and since all the scans u have had so far is ok, don't worry yourself. You will b fine. Try to stay positive for your baby n your sister, I know it's difficult but u are very near already. Hang in there!

Paying $2.5k extra just for the gynae.
His nurse says he timing is 8 am, But if choosing time then hav to add on $2.5k. My choosen timing is 9 am which is during office hr and just an hr after his usual surgery time. Really bloodsuckers hor... $1k is reasonable. $2.5k is just too much. But Bo bian.. already choose date and time le. So no matter what also need to pay this to the gynae. Haiz.

My delivery will be 38 weeks which is not consider preterm le. 37 weeks and below then Conside preterm and usually preterm theb need to take the jab. But my gynae still ask me to take leh. He say no side effects but I am still worried coz it's steroid medicine after all. Now my bb weighing 2.8kg @ 36weeks
normally if it's above 37 weeks wouldn't need the steriod jab. Which gynae are u seeing?

Don't worry GBS is not sexually transmitted and even if u carry the bacteria there are no symptoms. It also comes and goes so no worries about it. As long as you got the antibiotics before birth baby will b fine :)

normally if it's above 37 weeks wouldn't need the steriod jab. Which gynae are u seeing?
Seeing Peter chew from gleneagle. .
So should I go for it? If I don't and if something happens then it will be worse..

Jas1982 so you will be taking the steriod?
Sorry to ask again.. you were saying you are going for GA or epi?

Seeing Peter chew from gleneagle. .
So should I go for it? If I don't and if something happens then it will be worse..

Jas1982 so you will be taking the steriod?
Sorry to ask again.. you were saying you are going for GA or epi?

Public hospitals wouldn't jab unless it's below 34 weeks. By 37-38 weeks they don't practise jabbing. I m not sure the reason why your gynae wants to jab though. It's true that there are no side effects but it's gonna be painful n not sure if it will really help cos lungs will b mature by then. Ask him to give u a good reason since it's gonna cost extra

magl, i will be doing the jab to be safe. baby is on small side. 2 jabs total cost $70 plus i think ok for peace of mind. i will likely be going for epi/spinal depending on what doc recommands. i think ga baby comes out a bit groggy so i will avoid that. :)

@christin3k so sorry to hear about your sister's baby :( did she go for the oscar scans prior to this? It's most likely a genetic issue from the sounds of it but every baby is different and since all the scans u have had so far is ok, don't worry yourself. You will b fine. Try to stay positive for your baby n your sister, I know it's difficult but u are very near already. Hang in there!

It's weird that's why.. My sis did go for oscar scan and everything appears normal.. The nasal bone back then at 12weeks was just alittle short and her ratio came back was 1:2000... It wasn't that high ratio but her doc say it was ok...

And her bb was super active... Until her detail scan at 20weeks everything seems to collapse... She went thru lots of blood test, genetic testing, further scanning.. She was referred to kkh's specialist on DS.. And it shows that their report prove it genetic problem..

She will have to go thru stillbirth next Wednesday... It's quite harsh for her.. Alrdy 23weeks alrdy by then.. No one will ever know this could happen...

Especially see her 3D scan.. It's heartbreaking to see bb's nose sunk in.. And all the while her bb was breathing thru his mouth.. Tat is why his stomach is filled with water.. His kidney were badly swollen..

My sis is only 28.. Her husband only 27... Even her doc at mount Elizabeth say he didn't see this kind of case before.. It's very very rare...

Thank u mummies for the positive words... Thank god.. Today went to see gynae... My bb gal is doing fine.. 36weeks.. Almost 2.7kg.. My doc now suddenly say I dun have to deliver at 38weeks.. I can hold baby till full term.. Which he best advice now... He say now my bb gal doing very well.. I'm doing very well too...

And I get to see her face clearly today and it's the first time doc print out her 3D scan for me.. But it cost me $25 for just the 3D photo itself.. :)

ImageUploadedByForum1413043042.359123.jpg

Just to share some happiness.. :) doc say she is a chubby baby..

Public hospitals wouldn't jab unless it's below 34 weeks. By 37-38 weeks they don't practise jabbing. I m not sure the reason why your gynae wants to jab though. It's true that there are no side effects but it's gonna be painful n not sure if it will really help cos lungs will b mature by then. Ask him to give u a good reason since it's gonna cost extra
Thanks Alyssaria, will discuss with my hub again. : )