(2014/05) May 2014

Stinzy, yah your probably right... My Hb and mum said bb too small...
Kekeke! Think I better wait... Especially my baby still haven't reach 3kg... But almost.

Yes... Shouldn't move too much. Was advised by gynae to rest more for another week. Ooops... I think I have been moving quite a bit coz feel quite energetic. But Heng the wound looks to be healing fine.

This is like the worst month for confinement huh! The humidity can drive one crazy. I been sleeping with a/c every night. Scared sweat n can't shower. Just keep wiping my self down. Not showering until next week as dun wanna risk wound wet n never heal nicely.
Yes its a killer mth!!!!
U better rest..dun end up like me walk too much end up nw infection

Sigh! Baby is hospitalised for 2 days due to high level of jaundice! !!

I know exactly how you felt, cookiefleur! My #1 went through that also.. at 6 days old she went back to MAH and was warded for 2 days at NICU for intensive phototheraphy. I said intensive cos she was basked under 4 light tubes immediately upon admission, while her neighbours were only under 2 lights.

It will be heart-wrenching but trust that your baby will get better after seeking treatment! My #1 was also scheduled for blood test every 6 hourly back then, even more heartpain come to think of it.

I know exactly how you felt, cookiefleur! My #1 went through that also.. at 6 days old she went back to MAH and was warded for 2 days at NICU for intensive phototheraphy. I said intensive cos she was basked under 4 light tubes immediately upon admission, while her neighbours were only under 2 lights.

It will be heart-wrenching but trust that your baby will get better after seeking treatment! My #1 was also scheduled for blood test every 6 hourly back then, even more heartpain come to think of it.

Oh dear, yes very heartaching. Good thing now test for jaundice is just the hand held device, no need to prick blood.

yah.. that was some 4-5 years ago in 2009 when they still had to prick the baby's sole to draw blood.

I was also silly enough to hang around in the hospital during that 2 days just to wait for time pass so that I could nurse my girl at 3-hourly interval as well as pump and pump after latching to leave my milk in the nursery for the nurses to feed at night when I would only allow myself to go back to wash up and rest for 3-4 hours. Very tiring but it was totally worth it. Stubborn me wouldn't allow my girl to take FM.

yah.. that was some 4-5 years ago in 2009 when they still had to prick the baby's sole to draw blood.

I was also silly enough to hang around in the hospital during that 2 days just to wait for time pass so that I could nurse my girl at 3-hourly interval as well as pump and pump after latching to leave my milk in the nursery for the nurses to feed at night when I would only allow myself to go back to wash up and rest for 3-4 hours. Very tiring but it was totally worth it. Stubborn me wouldn't allow my girl to take FM.
Salute to all BF mummies!

I know man, me too. We insisted on renting a phototherapy bed just so that I can BF my #1. With #2, I relax a little and let them do FM too. Coz' I didn't wanna tire myself out by shuttling to and fro hospital or spend a night's stay there which is so ex.

I don't know if I would still do the same this round, being mad enough to hang around the hospital. They told me I could be roomed in together with bb only if I take the 1-bedded maternity ward, which I readily agreed but only to be disappointed when they told me they did not have rooms available for me :mad:

I asked the massage lady I intend to engage, she told me can start as soon as 4th to 5th day post-delivery for natural birth?

Previously I only started on 2nd or 3rd week post-delivery..

Thank you everyone for your encouragement!

Disneybabe, really same... my baby also have to have 4 directional phototherapy but not NICU. Yes I hope tomorrow morning when I go pass them ebm, her bilirubin level will be down already!

I don't know if I would still do the same this round, being mad enough to hang around the hospital. They told me I could be roomed in together with bb only if I take the 1-bedded maternity ward, which I readily agreed but only to be disappointed when they told me they did not have rooms available for me :mad:
Yeah for #1 I actually stayed in hospital when she was warded for jaundice also. But this time I decided not to so that I can get rest. But will still deliver ebm to hospital tomorrow morning.

This time round I am more worried cos the doc say the bilirubin level is very near to the dangerous level already. .. if it doesn't go down will need to stay NICU and go for blood transfusion.

Yeah for #1 I actually stayed in hospital when she was warded for jaundice also. But this time I decided not to so that I can get rest. But will still deliver ebm to hospital tomorrow morning.

This time round I am more worried cos the doc say the bilirubin level is very near to the dangerous level already. .. if it doesn't go down will need to stay NICU and go for blood transfusion.

I hope your baby is alright, mine was same case and it turned out to be breastmilk jaundice plus she has diff blood type from me hence the super high bilirubin level.

Crossing my fingers for you ok?

Yes so at least in hospital, you know your baby will be well taken care of. So don't worry k? Baby needs jaundice level to go down so can drink more and gain weight. So when you think of it this way then you won't feel too bad.

Thank you clumsybabe and little lamb. Yes I feel so bad just now... esp when I was having massage. It made me feel guilty. Cos baby is in hospital and here I am having a massage. ='(

I asked the massage lady I intend to engage, she told me can start as soon as 4th to 5th day post-delivery for natural birth?

Previously I only started on 2nd or 3rd week post-delivery..
Ya tts wat i heard too.usually within the first wk is the first session.i usually do lik 6,7days later to be safe haha

Thank you clumsybabe and little lamb. Yes I feel so bad just now... esp when I was having massage. It made me feel guilty. Cos baby is in hospital and here I am having a massage. ='(

Hugs! All will be good. Just focus on your #1 and that your baby is in good hands. When my baby was sent in for phototherapy, I took the chance to bring my #1 out in between expressing sessions.

Cookiefluer,

What was baby's jaundice level when sent for treatment?

I have to bring baby back this Friday to re-check... Keeping fingers crossed has come down but I'm breast feeding and having different blood from bb too.

Hang in there.... Things will be better after the 2 days of therapy.

ImageUploadedByForum1399376253.000991.jpg

Today we use the herbs to bath baby. An Aunty said this helps for jaundice... Donno true or not though... Just try.

Cookiefluer,

What was baby's jaundice level when sent for treatment?

I have to bring baby back this Friday to re-check... Keeping fingers crossed has come down but I'm breast feeding and having different blood from bb too.

Hang in there.... Things will be better after the 2 days of therapy.
19.9! The level for blood transfusion is 20.... so she is super borderline case.

My CL said drinking fm helps to bring jaundice level dw faster...Duno how true.

For bath, she uses 小黄瓜 plus 金银花 for purging the 毒 in bb's body. N bring bb to sun every morning front back 20mins each... Hope ur bb jaundice level comes dw soon...take care

If baby did get BM jaundice then yes, drinking fm helps to bring it down and flush the bilirubin out. But most people still continue to feed BM.

Thanks lilacz. .. yeah doc say I have to alternate fm and bm while in hospital.

I rem someone is engaging a new helper...how did it go? Mine came today...im as lost as her cuz she's my first helper n she is here for the first time. ..did u all let the helper handle baby?

Lilacz, I also just hired helper, same as you, am first time employer and she also first time in Singapore.

She has 2 kids of her own so she can handle the soothing... but need to teach her our ways of changing, bathing baby etc.

Cookiefluer, thank God you brought baby in to check in time!
Scarily high! Wonder why Bm can cause jaundice.... I read that too.

Yah, agree. Baby really young and small... Better let her handle older house work and train in cooking first.

I am not to sure though coz I dun have helper. Do share your experiences...
Yes when she first came she concentrate on cleaning house and cooking only. But we sent her for infant care course and first aid course for babies conducted by TMC.

She haven't bathe baby yet. My CL will teach her now that she is here. But now baby in hospital. Sigh.

Lilacz, I also just hired helper, same as you, am first time employer and she also first time in Singapore.

She has 2 kids of her own so she can handle the soothing... but need to teach her our ways of changing, bathing baby etc.

im v lost...duno wat to let her do...ask her go to bed at 9+pm.. Think after CL leaves I will handle bb myself during night feed, in case she didn't wake bb up to drink milk.

weather is so so hot! CL ask me to wear long pants. ..im perspiring like mad all the time. almost every night I take a quick shower cuz reali too sticky...but the moment I come out from bathroom, im all wet again...

im v lost...duno wat to let her do...ask her go to bed at 9+pm.. Think after CL leaves I will handle bb myself during night feed, in case she didn't wake bb up to drink

Guess you start training her with household chores first. And then later with #1. Baby wise if you don't feel comfortable you can take care first. After all, you have maternity leave to focus on baby. Someone needs to help you care for #1. If parents or in-laws not working can ask them come over to help you train or supervise first.

im v lost...duno wat to let her do...ask her go to bed at 9+pm.. Think after CL leaves I will handle bb myself during night feed, in case she didn't wake bb up to drink milk.

weather is so so hot! CL ask me to wear long pants. ..im perspiring like mad all the time. almost every night I take a quick shower cuz reali too sticky...but the moment I come out from bathroom, im all wet again...
At night u stil bath?wit herb?
If wan bath mus before nite leh.otherwis 'jing feng'
Such weather hw to wear

no..I jus shower with hot water. .but I do a quick one. no choice..got to Bath at night b4 z...cuz after dinner sure all wet.
Guess you start training her with household chores first. And then later with #1. Baby wise if you don't feel comfortable you can take care first. After all, you have maternity leave to focus on baby. Someone needs to help you care for #1. If parents or in-laws not working can ask them come over to help you train or supervise first.

Thanks. ..im staying with in law..jus that they won't help with any training. . I got to train her myself.

no..I jus shower with hot water. .but I do a quick one. no choice..got to Bath at night b4 z...cuz after dinner sure all wet.

Thanks. ..im staying with in law..jus that they won't help with any training. . I got to train her myself.
So far i bath twice w herbs liao.bt nvr shampoo hair.CL say 12days.i jus use the klorane which is vry gd.nice smell too.
I super smelly frm the sweat. I jus on aircon n circulate fan to feel better.mayb tts y i can tahan dun bath.haha break 1 rule tahan anth