(2014/05) May 2014

Haha initial i say bf 6 mths if i succeed..nw i tell hubby bf 3mths.go wrk stop.

Jus lik i say i wan try no epi..cant imagine damn pain..til halfway i tell hubby once rch tel them wan epi.
Wen hav#1 nt so pain i stil gt use sm time considr n ask gynae.tis time simply "Give me"

Difnt confinement lady tis time.?
I nw bth side damn sore le.manage to latch but he seems to vry fast hungry mayb i nt engh colostrum for him stil.nurse say bcos he big baby

My both side sore and pain too.
I latch for 15min for 1 each side. But baby also not enough... got to top up with formulae.
Now already engorged so painful...
I tries to use pump but also no use.. cant pump out..
Really wanna give up...

I latch for 15min for 1 each side. But baby also not enough... got to top up with formulae.
Really wanna give up...
Hw cm engorged but wil cant pump de?sry i ask cos no experience.cos i tot engorge means alot milk can pump

That y I think weird too...
I feel my breast so full.. thoughy my supply must be alot.. but sadly it seem to stuck cant release...
Dont know what to do now also

Warm compress?

Yes try warm compress.. Use hot towels to cover your breasts and then slowly massage while cupping with both hands on each sides. Should be able to feel some sort of 'loosening' then you try hand express abit. It takes a while to get things going.

Announcing the birth of my first child. He was born at 35w,5d.

EDD May 31
Actual Due Date May 1

Weight 2.9kg

Water broke today early morning at 3am, rushed to hospital, after 5hours, I was 4cm dilated and after 8 hours there was no progress, dr was not able to induce as babies heartbeat was going down. Took epidural at 5cm coz dr felt that I might take really long and dint want me to loose all energy.Finally baby was born at 5:2.Baby was monitored for 1 hour and he is doing great.

Finding it tough to make him latch, apart from that everything is great

EDD May 31
Actual Due Date May 1

Weight 2.9kg

Water broke today early morning at 3am, rushed to hospital, after 5hours, I was 4cm dilated and after 8 hours there was no progress, dr was not able to induce as babies heartbeat was going down. Took epidural at 5cm coz dr felt that I might take really long and dint want me to loose all energy.Finally baby was born at 5:2.Baby was monitored for 1 hour and he is doing great.

Congrats! Another mummy delivered :) so he was early for abt a month? Rest well, mummy.

Warm compress?

Ruimom.. The lactation nurse told me dun use any warm thing... Only cool stuff like cabbage leaves etc.

I believe you have enough milk supply just need to massage to release it. At the yesterday I could not pump much to relieve my engorgement too but today after good massage and also drink more warm stuff before trying to pump... Today I manage to yield 3 avent cups.
ImageUploadedByForum1398968253.426629.jpg

Imagine yesterday the pump as good as empty.
If engorge, sure have milk.

how is everyone keeping to the confinement rules? Thiz time im realli rebellious, on fan bigbig n blow direct, on aircon while pumping, been 2 weeks n hav alrdy washed hair 3 times, not using herbs somemore! I even went out for movie! feeling guilty yet quite shiok la haha..if not really depress man! Weather so hot!

first confinement i just wanted to break all the rules coz everything just felt so wrong. inlaws did my confinement, food lacked variety, ate the same thing over and over again. Breakfast every morning was the same. but this confinement, ironically, i followed more rules. probably coz' i hired a cl which allowed me more rest, i had good confinement food catered to my taste. And it's coming to a month already! So fast eh?

Cool.. I also sleeping with aircon .. watched tv with the fan blowing :)
Sigh. . My only concern is bfing. . Do u ladies wake up every 3 hours to bf? Do ur supplement with formula? My CL jus told me to jus give formula at night.. We tried jus now. . Bb can't seem to such well with the bottle... now I'm thinking shd I jus latch him but again my nipples are sore.. think there's a cracked :( feeling quite demoralised

CL sleeping with the bb. . N I'm worried cos I'm not sure if she will really wake up to feed him. . Haiz.. so many concerns this time Rd.

I do top up with FM when after BM, baby still wants more milk and not enough. We also started him off with some FM when he was jaundiced and had to be hospitalized and my expressed BM wasn't enough for him to go round the clock. I am not so hard and fast with total BM because I think as a mom, if I wanna BF successfully, I need to be relaxed. 2nd time round, I guess I have learnt my lessons from the first one. My theory now is, even though it's not total BM, any BM is still good enough. But of course, BM will still be priority for my baby, just that if he still fusses, I won't keep tiring myself out from keep latching. What I do for night feeds with my CL is quite good (though it's tiring, that's why we both nap during day when baby naps).

I will first latch baby, then express whatever I have leftover, and then I'll wake CL to bottle feed him while I rest. In this way, we both take turns to zzzz and hopefully with the expressed BM, baby can last a bit longer to give us a bit more rest. Just that now after week 3, he's starting to get more gassy and he tends to wake up in between for comfort cuddling which can be tiring for us at night time. Maybe you can try this and see if it works. BTW, how old is your baby now? First 2 weeks, they tend to be really sleepy and can sleep through without waking up for feeds, you need to try to wake them up, even more so if they're jaundiced.

And also, sometimes, baby doesn't take too well to bottle also could be he's too used to the nipple and the teat of the bottle may not be what he wants. And also, BM always taste better than FM. So there's also another reason why he rejects. Use Lanolin or BM to heal your nipples and get a nipple shield if you must to protect against abrasion between your nipples and the bra.

Really wanna give up...
You need to do warm compress and massage like the ladies said. And also, need to hand express out in situation when the pump cannot express it out. Coz' it's just too hard. If you're still in hospital, get nurses or Lactation Consultant to help you. If the hardness doesn't subside, your engorgement will continue.

EDD May 31
Actual Due Date May 1

Weight 2.9kg

Congrats! That's a good weight for a premie baby. Mine was premie at 36 weeks too and came out about 2.7kg. So busy trying to pump his weight up now.

Ruimom.. The lactation nurse told me dun use any warm thing... Only cool stuff like cabbage leaves etc.

I believe you have enough milk supply just need to massage to release it. At the yesterday I could not pump much to relieve my engorgement too but today after good massage and also drink more warm stuff before trying to pump... Today I manage to yield 3 avent cups. View attachment 275223

Wow..that was great..
Was a bit depressed as unable to pump out..
Will try out tmr..
Hopefully can pump out..
Thanks for the advice autumnleaf...

EDD May 31
Actual Due Date May 1

Weight 2.9kg

Congrats Virgo! Glad everything is safe for you and baby!

Mummies, you are doing great with bf no matter how much or how little... Most impt is that we have tried our best and that we keep relax then only more milk will come!

Yes must do massage to ease engorgement. If really cannot ease then use cold cabbage but not too long if not supply might drop drastically.

Good luck mummies and let's all Jia you but at the same time must rest well!

EDD May 31
Actual Due Date May 1

Weight 2.9kg

Congrats!!!!

I do top up with FM when after BM, baby still wants more milk and not enough. We also started him off with some FM when he was jaundiced and had to be hospitalized and my expressed BM wasn't enough for him to go round the clock. I am not so hard and fast with total BM because I think as a mom, if I wanna BF successfully, I need to be relaxed. 2nd time round, I guess I have learnt my lessons from the first one. My theory now is, even though it's not total BM, any BM is still good enough. But of course, BM will still be priority for my baby, just that if he still fusses, I won't keep tiring myself out from keep latching. What I do for night feeds with my CL is quite good (though it's tiring, that's why we both nap during day when baby naps).

I will first latch baby, then express whatever I have leftover, and then I'll wake CL to bottle feed him while I rest. In this way, we both take turns to zzzz and hopefully with the expressed BM, baby can last a bit longer to give us a bit more rest. Just that now after week 3, he's starting to get more gassy and he tends to wake up in between for comfort cuddling which can be tiring for us at night time. Maybe you can try this and see if it works. BTW, how old is your baby now? First 2 weeks, they tend to be really sleepy and can sleep through without waking up for feeds, you need to try to wake them up, even more so if they're jaundiced.

And also, sometimes, baby doesn't take too well to bottle also could be he's too used to the nipple and the teat of the bottle may not be what he wants. And also, BM always taste better than FM. So there's also another reason why he rejects. Use Lanolin or BM to heal your nipples and get a nipple shield if you must to protect against abrasion between your nipples and the bra.

Thanks little lamb.. are u sleeping together with the bb and cl? I'm not. But I'm thinking I should to monitor.. tried to bottle feed bb with FM jus now but still unsuccessful :(

Congrats virgo!!!

I got insomia again. Cant zz. Come in here see u all so active in the middle of the nite. Think u all shld be in confinement now n kept awak with the nite feeds ba.

The mom so permit.call them gt problems on applying.they say mus apply liao then the CL can cm.crazy.

Did u all hav to apply work permit for ur CL?

Congrats virgo!!!!! To all mummies, jia you!!!! For my confinement, I also on the fan.. luckily my CL closed one eye.. just say that cannot blow direct.. I just turn the fan in a way that the wind hit the wall and will blow at me... :p and I was down with virual fever for past few days.. and my boy keeps waking up every 1 n half hours for milk... totally shacked...

Now both my nipple is sore.jus now was scary...sudly blood splurt out.on my body,baby face n lips.n my nipple skin tink he swallow it.he was latching ok.sudly he move n sudly bite my rite nipple!
End up stop n giv formula.
Here thy teach us to use cup feed.smth new to me
Bt at hm u all shld b jus normal bottle feed rite?

Now both my nipple is sore.jus now was scary...sudly blood splurt out.on my body,baby face n lips.n my nipple skin tink he swallow it.he was latching ok.sudly he move n sudly bite my rite nipple!
End up stop n giv formula.
Here thy teach us to use cup feed.smth new to me
Bt at hm u all shld b jus normal bottle feed rite?
Ouch! Pls rest ur nipples well rainbowzstarz! Can imagine must be so painful.

Cup feeding is so that baby won't have nipple/bottle confusion. Cause now it's early days, some babies once u feed bottle they don't want the nipple anymore... then have to bye bye breastfeeding liao. I think u can ask them to give u the special cup before u discharge. Are u discharging today? I am still waiting for doc to come to check me and give me green light to go home.

Congrats virgo!!!!! To all mummies, jia you!!!! For my confinement, I also on the fan.. luckily my CL closed one eye.. just say that cannot blow direct.. I just turn the fan in a way that the wind hit the wall and will blow at me... :p and I was down with virual fever for past few days.. and my boy keeps waking up every 1 n half hours for milk... totally shacked...
Rest well elkhoo78! Hope ur fever is much better!

Ouch! Pls rest ur nipples well rainbowzstarz! Can imagine must be so painful.

Cup feeding is so that baby won't have nipple/bottle confusion. Cause now it's early days, some babies once u feed bottle they don't want the nipple anymore... then have to bye bye breastfeeding liao. I think u can ask them to give u the special cup before u discharge. Are u discharging today? I am still waiting for doc to come to check me and give me green light to go home.
Wahaha super pain n super shock
Oh ok i better ask for the cups.dunno cl can manage with cups anot.
Ya i be goin hm tdy.waitg for baby jaundice test results to b back to confirm he can go bck

I did because my confinement lady have back to back job so will be more than 2 months in sin.
Gt problem applying leh.they say her ic not in database.system show cannot.call them thy say mus apply first b4 CL can come .
Crazy i think the staff no experience.hw wil we knw wen baby pop.wen CL cm

I tink i wil jus let the fan turn

Gt problem applying leh.they say her ic not in database.system show cannot.call them thy say mus apply first b4 CL can come .
Crazy i think the staff no experience.hw wil we knw wen baby pop.wen CL cm
Oh mine is apply first. So was approved about 2 weeks ago. Takes sometimes less than 1 day to approve one. Then when delivery already then go into system to issue the work permit.

I believe you have enough milk supply just need to massage to release it. At the yesterday I could not pump much to relieve my engorgement too but today after good massage and also drink more warm stuff before trying to pump... Today I manage to yield 3 avent cups. View attachment 275223

Wow wow wow, that's a lot of colostrum you yielded! Must be a lot of hard work there. how long did you express for? So envious. I think I could only manage 30 ml max.

Ok, about warm and cold compress. Nurses told me warm compress is before you express and experiencing engorgement. And cold compress comes after you've expressed as it can affect supply. Warm showers are also good for blocked ducts, to release them. But I think blocked ducts only occurs when baby is not suckling well. There are other ways to removed blocked ducts like using football clutch to latch.

Thanks little lamb.. are u sleeping together with the bb and cl? I'm not. But I'm thinking I should to monitor.. tried to bottle feed bb with FM jus now but still unsuccessful :(

I sleep with baby and CL sleeps with my #1 in her room. So after I express, I'll wake CL up to feed baby. How's the situation with the bottle? If not successful then don't try it yet, just keep latching. I know you're sleep deprived so when baby sleeps, you try to sleep too yeah?

I cannot imagine falling sick and doing confinement at the same time. Rest well and eat well to build immunity.

Gt technique hw to massage?came hm try to latch fail again.bth nipple is sore.
Gav him formula..he drank 40ml sleep liao aft poo n urine.

Hw to manage wen change boys urine? Jus nw clean poo his urine fly evrywhr.

Sudly feel so raw aft 5 yrs...
My boy has been sleeping since 2.40pm...haha nw im wondering whether should wake him up to feed anot.he so big jus drink 40 then slp lik so less

If ur nipple sore stil can cont try BF?

The first few days nipples will feel v sore... After u r thru the initial stage it will come easy.. So don't worry. My both nip bleed during the first few days too. I can understand your pain.

If u can tahan actually can still feed per the nurses... After each feed apply breast milk all over your nip to soothe it...

Hw much was u ladies hospic bills?
Natural with epidural.
Mine was 3.8-3.9k!
Jus nw pay 3.2k.thy call say they calculate wrg. Short of 600+:oops:

The first few days nipples will feel v sore... After u r thru the initial stage it will come easy.. So don't worry. My both nip bleed during the first few days too. I can understand your pain.

If u can tahan actually can still feed per the nurses... After each feed apply breast milk all over your nip to soothe it...
If bleed still can breastfeed?

Hw much was u ladies hospic bills?
Natural with epidural.
Mine was 3.8-3.9k!
Jus nw pay 3.2k.thy call say they calculate wrg. Short of 600+:oops:

Huh how come so low? Does this includes the dr n PD fees? Mine was ard 8k in total!!!

If bleed still can breastfeed?

I asked the nurse, they said can, but I'm so scare n in pain i skip the bleeding nip n just nurse from the other side. The bleeding one i pump using low setting. After that use breast milk to apply on nip... Within the day stopped bleeding Liao. When both nips r very sore, i only latch once a day to keep the supply up n pump at other times for ard 2days till the nip feels better.