(2014/01) January 2014

for both my delivery, i deliver during office hours so had to interrupt gynae during her visits and wait for her to come to delivery ward... lucky her clinic is based in the hospital so just wait like few mins but during delivery time, that few mins is like few hours cos of the urge to push... haha... i kept telling the nurse that i want her down now NOW NOW!!!!! and basically screaming my head off then...

Hey u all heard before?
Some superstitious things.
Like if you are what animal, then u born during which part of the day means your life will be good or need to work hard.

Like if you are cow, you born in the day, that means u need to work hard coz cow worked in the field during the day but sleep at night.

Hmmm......I wonder for snake, its better to born in day or night....;)

Shirlynn / Daphne, both of you went through without epidural?

I was so determined to go through without epi then the lady next to me at the oberservation ward was screaming so badly,scarily, loudly, fiercely that I started to waver. Then when I was 5cm dilated, the nurse came and asked if I want the jab otherwise, the option will be closed very soon that I decided to go with it. :S
Weak minded right?

Hopefully I can perserve and go through this last birth wihout one.

Darbebe..me also had epi la. 1st one bcos only 1 cm dilate when go hospital. 2nd one I was 6 cm dilate, nurse say last chance..I scare..so go with it too.. but I had bad side effects from epi after that. And yes.. I am playing with the idea of having no epi for this time round.. since #3..should be fast right??

Crystalbelle, ya.. like cow no good to be born in morning.."lao lu ming" snake dun need to work right?? So not sure about timing.

But if you into fengshui. you can try "wofs" website. Can calculate the "weight" of the baby by the birth date and timing

crystalbelle, well, it also depends on the year, month, date and time.... which comes up with the pa zi (8 characters).....

darbebe, yeah, i deliver with out epidural for #2. cos i not in time for it when the nurses came to check..... anyway, i already had the intention to go without if i can and so when the nurses told me too late, i was kinda happy that i don't have to choose anymore... haha... it was indeed an experience.... but i don't know if i have the same courage to go through it again for #3.... depends on how fast i dilate i guess....

just had appointment with my gynae and got back results for oscar scan and blood test! so thankful the results were good and the probability was very low.

just started 14 wks, and this wk i started to have MS. doc gave me some meds for nausea and vomitting, hopefully those help.

Daphne.. me is opposite.. gynea will be there waiting and waiting asking me to push push push.. nurses and hubby holding my legs, head..and asking me to push push push...I always complaining..how to push la..kekeke

Now thinking ..sighz.. have to push push push again..

Daphne.. I think it depends not on how fast we dilate..how long we can "tong" before we go hospital. I feel when we are walking around.. we dun feel that much pain compare to lying on bed waiting for dilation. Normally my waterbag dun burst..my gynea break it. And the pain comes in bad after he break it. Before that I can still bear..

haha shirlynn, your hubby at least holding you ... my hubby standing beside gynae looking at the whole birth process telling me what he saw (the crowning, the hair etc) and repeating the instructions from gynae when i'm not listening... hahahaha.... i wonder if i'm having 2 gynaes delivering my babies then....

Daphne, your hubby hero lei..

I tell my hb dun be hero and stand there..later he faint..make everyone busy.. My hb say he had a glimpse during #1 and had some phobia.. so for #2..he is very good..stand at my head area.. nurse / doc ask him to help press my head down to help me to push..but he press my head so hard that I feel so pain after delivery.. scold him upside down...

Hehehehe.... I'm grinning like a mad woman now.... I just found bb's heartbeat using the doppler!!!! Heartrate abt 170+ magical sounds.... Ya I know I sound like a paranoid crazy woman... Hehe... Nonetheless I'm a happy woman (now).... Wheeeeee

shirlynn, my water bag also didn't burst both times and both times broke by gynae and then i got all hooked up liao.... maybe i should request not to break water bag this time round..... or delay going hospital.... but i think for #3, delivery should be faster.... mine was 5 hrs for #2, so for #3, i hope it's 3 hrs or lesser.... one of my friend within an hour in hospital pop.... how nice......

cheer_bb, hope the medicine can help you.. for pregnancy, the symptoms and effects differs for everyone. My gyneas try all ways to help me.. all does not help... even have side effects.. so for this one.. I reject all medication.

JTAN, not sure on the string method.. but I remember someone post these few days..saying doing on top of the stomach..

shirlynn, why press head down? i tot we are supposed to half sit up and the nurses were supporting my back.....
my hubby is more excited at looking at the whole birth process leh..... he beside me actually quite useless cos when i was in pain, i didn't want anyone to touch me cos if do wrongly i snap... haha... so he rather leave that to the nurses who knows what to do and he enjoy the birthing process.... he wanted to video but gynae say cannot... so he wait there with the camera for the moment when bb just out and snap snap snap away..... and then he wanted to cut the cord and #1, gynae forgot and he was so disappointed... so #2, he stand beside gynae to remind her to let him cut the cord...

Daphne, mine was fast bcos I had epi.. they apply drug full force to help me dilate fast.

#1 about 6 hours despite 1cm diate when hospitalised. Initially I say dun want epi.. Gynea tell nurse to keep asking me if I want epi..keke. #2 I was at hospital around 4 am.. before 7 am I delivered liao.. Crossing fingers for #3. But should be fast as #2 was delivered last year.

shirlynn, wah then i think your #3, maybe you won't be in time for epi since u had 3 hrs delivery so #3, likely much shorter lor....

thanks shirlynn, i hope it works too! vomit gastric juice very painful

JTAN, the method i read before is to tie your wedding ring to a string, and hold it approx 3 inches off your tummy. if it swings side to side, it's a boy. if it moves up and down (head to toe) it's a girl.

Daphne..your hb so cute.. my hb dun want to cut the cord..kekeke...

Dun know lei.. they say its helps lei..so hb use all his strength to keep my head down to help me push.

#1 I was totally exhausted and only want to sleep.. #2 I was having side effects from epi..no mood too... I do not have those happiness feelings right after delivery as per what people described. I only want to sleep..kekeke.. only excited one is my hubby..

Daphne, not enough time rather than pain till cry father cry mother..kekeke..

I tell my colleagues that I scare if no epi.. gynea sew back pain lei..they say I siao.. gynea will inject some medicine to numb before sewing back...

Shrlynn, the pain got worse after gynae break the waterbag. DH can do nothing except to watch me in pain unti epi was administered while giving encouragement by the side.

My #2 took 5 hours from the time I admitted to the baby birth. Definitely wish #3 will be faster with no chance to decide whether take epi or not.

Daphne, was the labour pain without epi really bad compared to the birth with epi? Though I wish to go without this time, I also worried the pain wil be too much for me to bear. Afraid what if I faint during birth cos of the pain? lol

Congrats Cheer baby for the good oscar results.

shirlynn, same same...... i also feel so tired after all the pushing and i was wondering why some pp can start crying etc but when i saw my bb, first tot is errr.... why look grey and whitish and why so small and wrinkled .... why not like those videos / pics which show chubby rosy baby.... then they clean up the bb and the bb start to look pinkish and crying and next thing i know is bb is on my boobs liao....

Darbebe, same here.. #1, hubby say he give me his hand to hold.. I ask him go away before I break his hands..kekeke.. #2, he was doing the admin works and when he was back..I had my epi liao..

Daphne.. #1 I totally knock out I think..

#2, my gynea throw the baby on my legs after he got her out..I was 'errr" keke.. After that nurse then carry her to clean her up... Can you imagine.. I was lying down there and see my gynea use a needle and thread sewing me up.. At that moment I cannot imagine if I am without epi..will I scream my head off bo

Nurse after that ask me if I am to try breastfeed..I say I am very tired..I just want to sleep ..kekeke

GBOB..glad that the doppler is working fine for you. I think it will be something for you to do daily whenever you are free

I always will lie on bed and feel my baby movements when I am free.. its something I love during pregnant. Never feel alone as someone is always with you..keke

I only remember after i give birth and saw my girl, i start to vomit vigorously.
Was told i probably vomit out the "epidural".
Then i fall into deep sleep.
The next moment i woke up, i am already in the ward.

How long were all your labour?
Mine was 8hr+

I still remember secretly bathing in the hospital even though not suppose to bath for the first week.
But i felt so "dirty", so i bath before my mum came.

I know suppose to bath in those herbal thingy, but in hospital go where find.
So just use warm water to shower.

If only there are such service in the hospital, then we can all shower with ease.

Crystalbelle, I vomitted a few times ..they tell me its one of the side effect of epi.

I forgotten #1 liao. For #2, I dun think I have the chance to shower in hospital. I was bed bound for more than half a day. After that I only use water to wash whenever I go toilet, before I know it..I can go home liao. I shower everyday at home. First with herbal, next with warm water. I scare the herbal thing will affect the baby. Kiasu mummy..

jamie, i experienced off and on cramps, but not the very strong kind. esp when i cough or sneeze. just asked the gynae today and she says it's perfectly normal, nth to worry abt. so dun worry!
i jus started wk 14.

shirlynn, if you are not on epi, when it come to sewing the tear, they will jab the local anethestic to numb the area... so no pain one...
ya i also look forward to be able to really feel and see the movements on tummy .... now only when i lie down sideway or on tummy then can feel the slight movement... like small kicks to tell me to roll over cos i'm flattening the space... hee....

jialat, i just had xing zhou mi fen and teh for tea break! how not to gain weight fast.... and i had subway for lunch...... so unhealthy diet...

Thank q darbebe and shirlynn. Nah..I wont keep using the Doppler la since dnt know if it will harm the baby or not. Maybe once a week just to keep myself sane ba...

Cheerbb, congrats on the good Oscar results dear!

Daphne, last time I even to the extend on lying flat on my stomach.. my boy will kick non stop as if complaining..lol..

Both my kids dun like me to lie sideway, my stomach will be slanted one side and maybe they feel they falling down.. Thats why for my 2 pregnancy..even at late stage..I am still sleeping flat on my back.

Dun worry.. we have license to gain weight now. I always take 6 full meals and still feeling hungry.

mummies, speaking of sleep, have anyone experience leg cramps? my calves have cramped up twice in the last 2-3 weeks, always at night when i'm sleeping and shocking me out of my sleep cos painful and unexpected. first time was right calf, last night left calf
is this normal?

GBOB: you bought the dobbler? Haha.. must be fun!
JTAN: The string method is to tie a thread around the ring that you always wear and hold it above your tummy. If it moves circular, it’s a gal. If horizontal, a boy.

I had high fever after I pushed out my daughter. They said its side effect from epi and I was drifting in and out of dizziness. Couldn’t really rem what was happening. All I rem was I got a shock when my gynae pulled out the placenta, hold it in my face and asked if I want to bring home. I said for what?! He said some ppl eat them. Apparently, my fren’s colleague did that!

Crstalbelle: I also immediately showered when I am conscious before my parents’ arrival. I feel so bloodied and dirty.

My fren delivered without epi and she said she can feel the doc stitching her up. Eww..
Another fren delivered w/o epi and tore herself as she couldn’t stop pushing and wait for gynae’s arrival

Baby monitor is god-sent gift. you can hear the baby's cries when she/he is in one room and you in another. Once, we went for holi and went to the pool as the frequency of the baby monitor can reach. My #1 slept on her own when she was 2months and we all slept so well. She slept thru the night when she was about 3 months old. They say #2 will be opposite. I cross all limbs, hoping not!

cheer_bb, maybe you try to sleep with your legs lifted?

Gm, you are really scaring me.. now I have to think twice if I am going w/o epi

cheerbb, me no leg cramps but sometimes at night felt the legs like numb numb de...

Gm, ya! My DH bought the Doppler for me!!! Not knowing that I already borrowed from my friend... Zzzz

Shirlynn: Don't be scared. You don't have to decide now. See the situation on day of delivery and decide. This is how i feel as well. But for my #2, my hubby said go for epi straight away. Will deliver asap and not suffer for so long n end up having epi anyway. My colleague's bb was huge, that's why she tore.

GBOB: i wish i have a fren to borrow from. I have no frens with kids at the moment. Only 1 is married. All single or dating for 13yrs.

Can someone come and feel my tummy to tell if fleshy or not.. haha!

GBOB, when I was expecting #1, was out of job..so never buy anything to keep costs low. When expect #2, think will close shop after this, do not want to spend too much.. now #3.. aiya.. everything also bochap liao.

Gm, thats what most people tell me, as well as the nurses in hospital. Why suffer like olden days? Last time people pain like hell bcos of old technology..now got epi..why we choose to go through all the pain?

Gm, not tummy..is the side of the waist la..

cheerbb, yes i tend to have cramps during my #1 and #2..... and it really can jolt me out of my sleep and i will have to hit hubby hard to wake him and flex my feet.... you must be stretching your legs in your sleep.... what i do now is i stretch but flex my feet.....

Daphne, my hb will jump up and massage my leg when I am having cramp for #1, #2..he sleep like a pig.. normally I will use one leg to hold back the cramp leg.. if two legs cramp.. I can only jump off the bed and stand firmly on the floor

shirlynn, i can't even move when i'm having cramps during sleep..... it's the calf and a tight knot.... after the cramp gone, i can literally feel a hard lump at the calf and have to keep massaging to soften it.... very painful ah..... i also even kenna cramps while walking and i have to flex my feet against something..... tears can also form in my eyes.... so painful....

Re: Gyane turn bb head,

I thk apart from why need to wait cuz most of e time e cord is ard bb neck so need to make loose e cord from bb neck den u all can start pushing.

Re: food to avoid,

I ask my Gyane
Me: I know we all cannot take raw food den half boiled egg can?
Gyane: who say cannot take raw food?!!
Me: @_@!!!!
Gyane: u ask Ang mo lo kun(western doc) all can one. It's Chinese sinseh cannot eat during 1st tri but anyway u already pass 1st tri also can eat.
Me: oh.. Okok..
Gyane: u ask me, all can eat, cold drinks, coffee, raw food, pineapple everything all can eat but *here comes e magic word* "Everything in moderation!" Haha..

So "Moderation" is the key to everything.. LOL..

Anyway, my Oscar scan looks fine. Now have to wait for BT and combine with it to get the final result. Yeah!!! =D

Finally end 1 milestone and starting another!!

strawberries: that's good news. I love salmon sashimi! But think my hubby scared coz everywhere say raw food = bacteria so cannot. Let me go and ask those ang mos...

Gm, not brave but tink the environment not gd for bb.

cheer, so happy to heat ur results for OSCAR are gd. Strawberries, congrats too. Im gg tmr for OSCAR, planned to pep talk bb tonite n hope all is gd.....

Daphne, ur hb really great leh.

GBOB, wat an experience finding the hb urself. U will have sweet dreams tonite tinking abt it rite.

My gynae also say everyting also can but in moderation. Massage, facial, dye hair, mani, pedi, u name it. But other than the food, all after first trimester.

That's great news strawberries!

Actually a lot of the angmo websites and pregnancy apps i have been reading all also say cannot take raw food, soft cheese like brie etc. haiz. My sashimi and oystersssess

strawberries, who is your gynae ah? talk exactly like my gynae too... haha.... she also tell me everything can eat but in moderation too..... hee....
oh as for cheese, i think ya certain cheese cannot cos of the way they ferment (rot) and for raw food, the risk is food poisoning which can be fatal for bb.... so i guess let's all be guai and avoid uncooked food ya.....