(2014/01) January 2014

My tummy is so itchy nowadays ,what about you mummies? I bought Clarins stretch mark oil and cream, gotta apply tonight. So worried will have stretch marks.

Hi, am new here. Can someone add me in facebook? [email protected]

When shall I start apply stretch mark oil? I heard it isn't cheap.
I'm a first time mummy. Need advise from you girls. Thanks in advance.

Danlin,
I had been using J&J lotion to ease the itches.

Eunice,
If no budget, can try baby lotion to see if it works

Wah thanks gals for the advice! Very good insights from all of you. My preference is single bedded too as I hope my hb and bb can stay with me and also think I would expect quite a number of visitors. Think better if is single bedded. But my hb is more economical as the price diff between single and 2 bedded is almost 1000 in mt a and there's a cap in the medisave claim out. Haizzz .

Re: weight gain,

So long bb is growing it doesn't matter if u gain weight or not lo. If u r slim to start with den u can afford to gain more. If not den have to restrict about for health reasons.

Re: hb bunk in,

I thk if u go to tmc bill size page they have all the est bill there including bunk in for hubby. But I thk should be less den 100 a day.

Re: stretch mark cream,

I am unsung elancyl stretch mark prevention. I already have stretch mark, red kind. And ytd it itch and I scratch it without realizing its actually stretch mark until I felt kinda pain. Zzzz..

Rmb don't scratch it.. Will make it worst.

I don't like Clarins cuz I feel like no use and oily. So I switch to elancyl. I feel it seems to be better. After applying also dont feel itchy Liao.. Hope it can control the stretch mark and make it fade.. Haha..

Anyway, Watson having promo now. 2 pack for $47.30. It's buy 1 get 1 free. So those interested can go Watson take a look. I went guardian they don't have promo and is selling at $47.30 for 1 box!!! So I went Watson see see. Heng nb buy at guardian, den Watson have promo so I bought 2 boxes.. Hee.. =D

Re: which hospital to deliver,

U girls decided? I haven decide tho when I took up e package at my Gyane place, they ask me to choose bed Liao. I choose 4 bedded first but can change later.

I heard tmc nurse not so good like very fierce and not patience. Mt A nurse seems to be nicer in terms of services and attitude. The lactaction consultant they say mt A also better, tmc no patience.. Not sure how true is it tho..

Any 2nd / 3rd time mummy have any advise on this?

I think at the end of the day, which hospital's nurses are better really depends...

If the patient is very demanding and unreasonable, you do work or serve that patient, u also buay kam guan, chances are, ur tolerance level and ur service level towards that patient also will differ.

If the patient is nice and understanding, but the nurse just got a big scolding from the boss, or last night quarrel with husband/bf, mood also will somehow affect work.

At the end of the day, is just what the patients experience during their stay in each respective hospital, and how they relate their experience to others...

For me my gynae clinic is at Gleneagles, so gotta chose there for convenient purpose, cos anything happen he is just downstair nia...

For my 2 delivery I chose 2 bedded de so this time ll be same oso, as I dun wan my #1 n #2 to stay over, they r too noisy le plus my #1 need to go sch... I need my beauty sleep too, so dun wan them to disturb me.... the visiting hours they din control too, any time oso can have visitor. Previously my next bed de is on home leave everyday, her meals all give my hubby to eat lor...

Oreo: hmm.. I see.. But I read somewhere got once a mummy need to push Liao den Gyane haven come e nurse tell her cannot push and hit her thigh and tell her to stop pushing.. Lol..

Shuyuan: home leave? Wah.. Is the confinement food nice? I see hospital food smells nice but eat is another story.. Haha..

Ya lo. All depends on the nurse.... That time that article about the bb already coming out.... And the nurse push the head back in? I don't think any nurse with common sense would do it right? And which hspt? U know what I mean? Anyway, it's just imo....

My hb said tmc's soup is nice..... That time went for op... I don't drink soup, so my hb drink for me...he said nice.... I think the nicest hspt food is their white bread and jam... ....lol

Oreo: LOL.. Bread and jam.. Haha.. Like tat jialat.. Ya I was hospitalized once and the food I don't like..

But that story is true right? About the nurse pushing the bb back? It looks like kk to me. Cuz I rmb kk gown is pink de..

Anyway, mummies, I see that engaging a CL is about $2.5k - $3k. Not cny period. And from those confinement agency it is cheaper. Like pem is about $2050 plus admin fee $250 plus work levy about $6 a day. Add up about $2.5k.. So y everyone wanna go direct instead of thru agency?

Anyone??

morning!! I am having a bad flu now, but still coming to work, haizz.

abt TMC soup and food - their soups and food are nice, i missed their soups and food though.

So far I have very good experience with the nurses at TMC with all my stays there, so i guess it is really heng sway thing.

<font color="aa00aa">strawberries, most mummies who go for private direct CL is cos of recommendations..someone muz haf used them b4 n had gd reviews lo..at least u noe there's a benchmark..for agencies' CL, it's more of heng sway liao..buy if not satisfied can always send e CL back n chg another..</font>

<font color="aa00aa">N yes TMC confinement food is yummy! E soups r gd.. ;) Tho I've heard tt TMC nurses r getting worse n mt A in comparison r v gd, I guess it's like wat Oreo said it still depends cos we r all humans! Got mood de ma..n oso how we interact w them too..</font>

Good Morning ladies!! I completed my OSCAR last friday and luckily baby was guai... at first it turns at a diff position.. then sonographer ask me to turn left and right and even shake my tummy.. then finally it turns back! and i even saw baby sticking out tongue! so cute and excited!! Dr will call me today for the results... hope everything is alright.... *fingers crossed*

Rach, ya! i think my pr with the nurses still ok cause some of them are surprised I still remember their names or certain things, so I guesss that make my stay quite pleasant *thick skinned*

re: direct hiring of CL
agree that most of us who engage directly instead of through agency is from recommendations, either from friends/forum/mother's or MIL's friend etc. at least there's some sort of assurance on the quality compared to agency where is really depend on luck.

strawberries, are you intending to hire direct or through agency? if through direct may want to start looking already as our EDDs may hit cny, some CLs are nt willing to do. a couple that i called were like that.

mummies who have hired direct CL before, do we need to apply for social visit pass etc for the CL? or does she settle it herself?

<font color="aa00aa">cheer Bb, so far direct CL as far as I noe n heard wun need work permit or any kinda pass..cos they'll leave within 30days..unless u intend to do 40 days confinement then I'm not sure liao..hee</font>

Good morning!!

Strawberries,
Mt. A for me as nurses are much more helpful. I always was in 2 bedder.. Cos am quite scared to be alone at night without anyone. Hubby usually go back jaga kids..

Wondering if I dare to sleep alone in 1 bedder this round..

Strawberries, I have checked with PEM. Those with more definite dates can consider to use the agency.

They have two package for you to choose. Pre-CNY or CNY package. Pre-CNY package . the CL last day of work will be 19th Jan.. no matter when she start work. If not 28 days, the CL fees will be pro-rated.

CNY package.. extra 1k.. is like buying insurance. If you deliver during CNY period. They will be there all the times for you. But if you deliver early in december.. there will not be any refund even if you do not meet the CNY period.

For me its a stuck between. Thats why I got no choice but to go with pte CL

cheer_bb.. most pte CL will tell you they dun need to apply permit as long as they leave Singapore within 30 days.

Thats why they need to leave Singapore for a while to stamp their passport before they go for the next assigment.

jas.. I also one person who is scared to be alone at night.

But last round I chose one bedder and definitely I feel so much better compare to 2 bedder for #1. No one to disturb you and you dun have to wait for usage of toilet. More space for family and relatives when they come to visit you.

thanks rach and shirlynn for your advice. i will be doing 28 day confinement so i guess no need to apply permit.

heard v good reviews on Mt A so i am delivering there. the other place my gynae delivers is gleneagles. should be getting single bedder so hubby can keep me company, and bb can be in too.

Happygal.. I think baby can stay with you if you are in one bedded. A lot of time the nurse left my baby in my room until the baby cry and disturb me .. I ask nurse to bring her back..kekeke..

Bcos I am breast feeding.. Every 4 hr nurses will push baby to my room .. And left her with me for min.. 1/2 an hr.. naughty gal always prefer to sleep.. So nurse will just leave her with me.. and ask me to press bell if I decide to send her back to nursery.

cheer_bb, everything about Mt A is ok for me.. except for the parking right now. If you are staying nearby and hb dun need to go back home often, you can consider to take cab instead of driving.

I still in the East so hosp will be Parkway East. We want hosp near home as don't want to be caught in traffic, etc. Parkway East is very homely and nurses are nice and friendly. We went to MT E and don't like the feeling.

No idea on CL as I going to get confinement food catering since I have helper at home. My colleague says hers very good. If anyone needs the contact, let me know.

I will be staying in 1 bedded as hubby wants to stay over and meal will be inclusive. Last time, he had the confinement food as well and loves it.

I digress, anyone been to Penang before? Going with 2yr old bb, hubby and his mum. Any recommendation where to stay? Wondering which is better, Hard Rock or Golden Sands? Hopefully all to stay in a room with privacy/balcony. =P
Thanks gals.

Cheerbb: I'm still not sure. But I heard by now all those good one all taken up Liao.

Shirlynn: oh.. I thk mine sure not on cny cuz edd is 7 or 10 jan.

Gm: can I have the CL contact please? Thanks.

Strawberries.. if your EDD is 7 or 10 Jan.. CL will count from the date you discharge from hospital which is +2 /3 days. Then 28 days will meet the CNY period

GBOB: i have tried natal essentials and will be returning customer.

Strawberries: Will check with my colleague and PM you.

Gleneagles food and soup is nice too..... So far I always finish everything, but at home the confinement food I can't finish lor, dunno why, lol....

Hi all, I m expecting my #2 and I am in week 15. Edd is 9th Jan 14. I found d postings r useful and is a great platform to know more mummies and share information to support one another. Strawberries, I hv pm u my email to join the FB. Can check whether you have received it?

<font color="aa00aa">ramengirl, difficult to say..a lot of mummies pop at 38w, which for u wld hit cny oreid..but then again, some actuali too comfy inside n refuse to come out even aft edd..so it reali all depends on Bb..but there's surely a chance of hitting cny for u..</font>

The edd on my scan is 30 dec..but my edd based on lmp is 4 jan (but this is estimated as I forgot my lmp date and I didn't record my menses)... So I don't know if my baby is dec or jan

Hi all, I bought the Clarins stretch mark control and tonic body treatment oil ,got my aunt to buy from DFS when she came back from holiday,cost me $141.50. And for CL,those mummies who considering to engage must do so soon as Jan is Cny and most of our dates will overlap cny. I called a few of my friends's recommendations and the charges are as high as 5K now. Some quoted 3.5/3.6K but can't confirm if they can do,still considering. I contacted PEM as well and charges are $2050 for normal non- cny period and $3050 for overlapping into cny. They only have got 50 nannies in total who are willing to work though cny. So headache now! Duno if to pay more for recommendation or agency?