(2013) TTC for #2 & More Mummies !

yah, though I welcome 6 months maternity (esp if last 2 months can be flexible), dun think it's good for career progression in the long run.

Furthermore, I think i will go bonkers with 2 at home.

Maternity time I want to go back to work. Working time I want to have long break.

actually you are right. 6 months ML is too long. it doesnt give the company and the mother a sense of security. HOw to assure that the mother will come back to work after 6 months?

I think other measures should be in place. Rather ask us why we dun want to give birth. is there a place in sg to assist us in giving birth? like build a fertility institution with free consulation fully sponser by govt. give free medical to child below 12.

Also, i feel that they should not privatise preschool. they should make it available to everyone at the same cost, just like pri school. If pre school is privatised, parents will want to enrol them in branded school (so as to provide the best to their kids as much as possible) where govt has no control on their school fee.

I tot there is a website where we can post our recommendations and govt will read on it?

i think some of the mummies r right to suggest that the improvement on birth rate shld not solely depends on Maternity Leave. If govt grants 6 mths ML, i welcome that but i don't think i will take that long at one go coz it does impact my job security.

when i had my #1 in aug, i hadn't cleared my annual leave. So, from aug, i took straight 4 mths and had to clear my annual leave + child care leave. It's like 5 mths away fr office. I came back ofc in Jan. The impact is, I was being deprived of salary increment and bonuses.. ntg was given, reason being I wasn't around, so performance is affected. But the thing is i was not ever given bonus for the past 4 yrs in the org even I wasn't on ML, it is always given to the favorite people sad to say. So pple on ML is always at a disadvantage.

i would prefer the additional 2 mths to be flexible for daddy to use instead.. spread out the maternity leave so that employers will not prefer male over female workers due to maternity.

anyway even if this regulation goes thru, it will not be within the next 12mths.. dont tink we are going to enjoy this.. we will end up, ai wan for losing out..

true true, am kinda hesitate if having 6mos ML as quite few of my fren on their 4mos ML taking 3mos instead 'n keep the other month for another thing.. so rather than having 6mos ML, i would prefer to have more benefits on other parts like windy said..

stickybubble: *high five* when ML i wan to go back to work but when working want to have long break hahahaa.. i cant bear it if i became SAHM, i need to earn my own money so not keep asking it from hb only.. some more i like to shop 'n traveling =D

2ww: u can make a blog if u like to write.. like recently there was a blogger got invite by minister to talk one on one becoz of his blogs 'bout gahment policy..

but down the road, i admit that human never be satisfied by anything lol =D

twinklestarworld

is this a norm in your industry? it is certainly not right for the company to say that becos u r on maternity leave hence ur performance is affected. unless you are on no-pay leave, your bonus will be pro-rated, otherwise bonus terms should apply equally for every staffs.. also unless your appointment letter states the terms & conditions before you sign lah..

u still in same coy?

xiao_wani: I support ya!! should give some to Daddies also, then can hlp out during confinement and all... then make the market more equal such tt they wont just penalise women nia..

twinkle: wah, ur coy lagi best loh, use tt reason and dun give bonus and din even give increment??

sticklybubble & cinmay: haha!! totally agree with yall!! tt's why when am on maternity leave, I brot bb back to office to walk around.. haha, coz too bored at home and miss my workstation.. nw back in the workstation, I start to miss maternity leave!! haha, gimme another bb soon!! haha!!

twinkle: i tot so like that when i had my #1 but i got both increment 'n bonuses instead.. but u were on ML for 5mos only ler, why they dun even pro-rate it for u? hmmmmmm not fair!

Hi five to all agree with me

Haha!

They should attack benefits for our little children instead of just giving us more ML.

The CDAC is just not enough and medical is on the high rise and injections!!!

Children see doctors need to pay at least $50 for just consultations and everytime bills are easily over 100 - 200++ for each child just to see doctors.

Not every parents earn enough and some rather be SAHM than place their children in Childcare centres as we parents are afraid of the outbreak of HFMD and other illness like chicken pox.

i can't say anything. was upset because I had a tough time working on the 2 yrs project during that time, it was harder going thru during my preg. they termed bonus as performance bonus. It was quite biased coz big boss like their old pple. I worked equally the same but insider told me who gets bonus. I was pissed off. when i came back shortly, they announced co will be cutting. I was one of them. Happy to move on ... those who left with package were happy, those who weren't on the list hope they r one of those. those who stayed felt it's time to move on, so majority left. So i guess it's a blessing that I am not there anymore.

so this time round, i will just take 2 mths and the rest as flexi. But i am at risk coz I am on new job. but then again, any job is at risk regardless of seniority ...

bewildered, i always feel so "bu pin heng" so imbalance.. but I endured 4+ yrs plus there. (don't know how i endured) haha. endure so hard for marriage leave, then endured for the 4 mths maternity. i come back dunno endure for what reason.. wanted to leave but waiting for opprt.

cinmay, oh good for u. u r in a good co. somemore some pple got promoted. got one coll who joined later than me, got promoted. for sure i know co keeping him. I know i am likely on the list. but hor, that co also left eventually.

So really, i don't think giving 6 mths ML is a good thing ..

^5 <font color="0077aa">Cinmay &amp; bewildered</font>!
I remembered when I went back to work last time, I had to call the IT guy a few times to reset a few of my passwords. After doing it for the 3 one, he asked, you just came back from ML issit?

I also like the suggestion to pass 2 months flexi to daddy. Win-Win for all.

Aiyo.. holiday mood, let's not all be so serious and solemn.

Where are you all gng tomorrow??

Cinmay: no la, i cant write well. with all the singlish, dun think any govt pple will ever look at my blog.

Windy: They will be announcing something tomorrow right? for the national day speech? or is it tonight?

Twinkle: You dun think too much abt your ex co la. anyway, you have left for a better co. so you dun need to worry abt your bonus/promotion/ML.

twinkle: talking about benefits, my previous coy was good 'n working there for 3.5years but coz of my starting pay too low hence couldn't jump so far 'n somemore must working on weekend so i left the coy but was very hard to leave oso.. then currently am on new job too but cant adapt well so keep thinking to go back to previous coy hahahahaa ~_~

2ww > I also hope that they will announce on NDP tmr.

No mood to work. So Sian. Y SG public holiday so little.

Wish we can have more public holidays lor.

Tmr any plans?

2ww, ya ya, u r rite, shld let go. the more i say, the more i "bu shuang"! oh forgotten to say, althgh bonus/promotion/increment affected, but the benefits and flexi hrs are good. Benefits not bad, hrs, i can work from home on regular basis, like 1x/wk, come in 9+/10+ , go back late. come in early go back early. Was not able to do it during project, but mostly , this is the style. maybe that's why i stayed so long.

cinmay, how long hv u been wkg in new job? find a new job if don't like it. who knows one day u will go back to yr ex-co...

Windy: the NDP rally will be tonight. For english, its on Channel 5 at 6.45pm. For chinese at 8.45 Channel 8. if not, wait for Sat paper, sure got a summary one.

There are only 10 days of Public holiday in sg, same as in US. But in HK, there are 17days. and i think there are even more in China. Maybe should apply for a job in Hk. coz their pay compared to here is more.

Twinkle: Have been wanting sooo much to change job. but then now think of TTC, cant change. wait till i give birth, took all my ML, then i go and look for job. But then i will be fat fat then, no self confident how to look for job. Then i will try to lose weight and then it is time to TTC for #3. Oh no, its a vicious cycle!

2ww, when i stepped into this co, i was still lookg out for job, but now i think no need to find liao. ya, after ML then look for 1. No choice, i also mah. i hvn't minus the wt gained during #1 now i still hv to add the figure.. i think after #2, i will get a personal trainer to slim down. hahaha

twinkle: am kinda lazy looking out a new job again.. then somemore ttc #2 so guess need to endure 'n see how much bonuses i'll get xixixixi.. might be go back to my ex-co as they're having new project 'n the manager wants to recruit me back.. but again i need to see what kind of benefits they can offer me first hahahaha =D

2ww: u bet it on this cycle la.. if strike then cant change job, if never strike then quickly change job.. if u're working in the co for more than 6mos, will still get the ML mah..

30 mins more to knock off.

Anyone here works in shenton way ?

U all stay / work around where?

If can we can organise a meet-up session if near lol.

2ww > I actually dun like to watch the NDP parade lol although I am a pure singaporean. Not interested except the fireworks

Twinkle > finding a new job might not be easy for mummies as employers usually will consider not to hire mothers with very young children as they will take frequent MCs or child care leaves or urgent leaves if not worrying that we might be having another child and that alone will take away 4 months ML.

Although there are some companies willing to take us in. But still depends on person's luck as well and the profession that we are in.

Cinmay > me too have same thoughts lazy to go for another interview and have to start again with socializing and get used to the new working environment.

i m at raffles place..

i signed up for weight loss exercise program.. starting today.. n last nite my leg cramp.. wahaha.. tink my body is lazy liao

cinmay, finding a job and gg for interview can be quite sian.. but ask for high salary if they want u back !! go back only if they offer what u want, else u will find yrself searching for job again.

windy, normally when i search for job, they don't really ask if i have kids or not. do you face that? actually the fact that hv to adapt to the new environment can be quite sianz.. now i know why pple stay on to a job after a certain age.

tml plan to go to one of our fren house to have a good chit chat.. am not really interested tho, only for my hb that feels excited *rolls eyes*

friday am taking leave to bring our son having fun coz it's his bday =D

windy: am working at ubi area 'n staying at ang mo kio.. far away from most of u working at cbd area =P

Twinkle > I never go and search for new jobs coz I lazy also plus my education level soso nia.

I don't face that but when u go for interview they will ask u fill up form then there normally will state how many children u have age what ....

Plus working environment and the venue $ all this bonus payout might not be as good as b4 also and that depends on which company also. and benefits leaves etc also got to count. Even u get higher pay but long working hours and u cannot apply leave as and when u like u see and some other issues etc also.

Unless I am someone with profession then I sure hop on new jobs.

I need a job knock on the dock without having me OT coz I have to rush home and care for my little one especially my hubby cannot come home early.
Even I have a maid I can't possibly ask her to do all the things with my child coz I get jealous when she is closer to her.

Coz my maid spends most of the time with her so naturally she is closer with her

Joyful > U r near to my work place since u r at raffles place. Me somewhere in the middle between Tanjong Pagar and Raffles Place MRT.

Twinkle: I oso have left over tummy fats from #1. hee hee... so now what i do is have less food for lunch. But dinner with HB, so still eat like no body's business.

Cinmay: actually i dun like the idea that i just join the co. and i have to take ML after that (like in less than 1 year). This way, we wont be able to prove ourselves and yet need to take long leave. To me, its a bit pai sey.

2ww - hugs hugs ... dont worry so much babe ! soon soon !!!

twinkle - wahseh yr ex co really STTM! (sux 2 d max) lol! i would have left after 1-2yrs! hehehehe anyway good riddance la right? hehehe

i hope to strike soon ... ive been visiting my sil n bro ... carry n touch bb.. also sit on their bed ... wahahahahahahah! so superstitious... zzz... also using pad given by preggers ... lol ... i didnt realize all of this til im sitting down here n typing it out.. LOL!

anyway, im still having bleeding post hsg ... zzz ... hopefully by next week it clears lor ! if not really have to go ask my gynae to scan n see if any problem ... been also trying to track with opks ... but nothing positive ... i get lines but not as dark as control line ... also trying to BD at least every 3 days after my hsg... praying a lil miracle will happen ...

meanwhile,

<font color="ff0000">HAPPY NATIONAL DAY EVERYONE!!!</font>

enjoy yr day !!!!!

Windy, understand. Knocking off on time and able to take ad hoc leave for children is also impt apart fr lookg at compensation. Boss understanding also impt.

Missycandy, haha, sucks hor, but how time flies... Btw, Heard carrying other's bb can bring in luck.

Jiayou mummies!! Happy national day too!

Btw, I am in newton area, not near u all.

i guess 4 or 6 months ML only workable in good times. companies need people in boom time, they don't mind hiring. in bad times, it will work against mothers and companies. i agree that privatisation of child care centres actually make it worst, also the endless tuition centres mushrooming out. like that, us parents need to make more money to pay for branded education which no one knows whether it really have a positive impact from our kids, our kids end up more stress (if they are not hte super clever ones - and face it, how many kids are super clever), we dun spend time with kids cos we are working too hard, kids grow up without proper morals coz no attention from parents and society is just about making money and grades, people end up wondering why have kids in the face place. vicious cycle!!!!!
i dunno how to stop it, maybe all of us have a change in our parenting style and focus. sigh, but so hard ,coz we all want our kids to have a good cushy life. but what expense.... sigh!!!!
sorry for rambling, pregnant mothers are like that.

Oops, sorry <font color="0077aa">blueswimmercrab</font>! I refreshed many times but your post didn't appear. Only after posting then I saw your post.

ok, that makes 4 of us here!

early morning got super bad news..

One of the colleagues hubby passed away.. tink involved in car accident..

Very young only.. hubby tink is 29yrs old only.. their son just turn 1.5yr old, n tink she is preg again..

Haiz.. just shifted new hse n she is only 27yr old…

afternoon ladies!!
tons of work and emails for me to clear.. finally i half done...

did you all have a great time spend with ur loved ones yesterday?

jOyFuL : huh? gosh! poor thing leh... she confirm in very loss state now... i got the sour feeling in my heart wen i read ur post..
happen yesterday ma?

stickybubble, twinklestarworld, 2ww, im working too today!! not much leave to take liao le... cannot anyhow take already... still got to save for my HK trip tis sept...

Oh berries, u r wkg too. today is sooo quiet. I am in no mood to work.

joyful, sad to hear that.. how is the young mummy going to cope with the coming 2nd child ?..

Passed away yesterday.. accident might b e day before.. haven had e chance to read e news article yet..

Pray for her strength to carry on in life..

twinklestarworld : me too!! no mood to work.. and my af reported earlier than expected... my cycle really haywire liao.. sian to the max!

ya lor joyful, how is she gg to cope.. really hope everything goes well for her..

Aftn Everyone, am working too.. -_-

joyful: Really hope tt she can pull through this.. pregnancy's alr not easy, somemore she still have to deal with the loss of her hb, a young toddler and another bb on the way.. plus the house and all.. Is the Coy doing anything to help her out? Like donations or anythg? poor thing..

Berries: how come ur cycle haywire? too stressed? think my symptoms v funny leh.. during 2ww, wont feel tired/fatigue but when af rpts, am feeling so tired now.. yawn..

I'm here! But not working heh. Waiting to see my gynae.. Think my AF reported
only CD 22 today... Hmmm after hsg had blood on n off but now the flow getting more plus I can feel it coming out so I guess it's AF? Hmmm see him then see how ba... Plus it's fresh blood so also not sure... Luckily hb also on leave today!!! Hee

Ladies, next weekend also long weekend yeah!!!

Oh dear joyful, so sad abt yr coll ...
it will b difficult but hope her parents n in laws are super supportive...

bewildered : dunno leh... ever since i started to ttcing again.. my cycle seems to be haywire.. either af come too late or come too early... tink inside siao liao.. haha!!

joyful : poor thing.. and the news have the news also?

twinklestarworld : black chicken soup can "pu" body ma? i love to drink tat de... okok.. after my af ended i go make and drink... thanks! *hugs*

blessedone : same as me.. my af reported very early too..
dunno wats wrong inside.. hope everything is fine for u!

Anne : haha.. dun bored!! we are here!! come tok tok!! friday mood rite? LOL

berries: i agree my af was haywire too, now better. one of my colleague thinks its stress that why havent strike after many tries. she was suggesting to put my boy on a different bed. guess im going to do that.