(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

Koirc, did doc say u wld feel sick after taking the med? I took meds previously n dun recall that I shld feel sick. Cld it be mastitis setting in since u went cold turkey? The symptoms u described sound like mastitis. It's more advisable to stop pumping gradually by reducing pump duration n lengthening interval till u stop completely. Monitor for fever. Take care!

Mofmm: u can find the diaper cream at kiddy palace or if your go polyclinic the pharmacy suggest have sell. My girl use burt diaper cream recommended by my cousin. Now I got hard time finding it.

Koirc: u can find mesh bouncer at those market shop. Selling baby stuffs.

Luvnhope: long long no see you here.

Koirc, my mum also said get those mesh rocker. But i noticed that fp rocker has a hard backing. Mesh one dun so not sure if it is good though mesh is mre airy. Ship from amazon then wont it be very ex? Can share the brand and hw much u paid for it?

Babysmurf, yeah, pop in occasionally now

Bb, ha ha so cute! How heavy is your boy now compared to birth? Oh, today, the lactation consultation called me to see how I'm doing. I'm so surprised and impressed with their service!

Mofmm, baby got rash around Day 4-6. I noticed it when we came home from hospital. His poor little butt has red rashes on both sides. After using the barrier cream, his bottom was fine the next day till now. The cream goes on thick and act as a barrier between skin and stool and can be easily wiped off with wet wipes during nappy change.

Koirc, sorry the shop is called First Few Years, I thought it sounded wrong when I typed it just now! They also have website but I think they have more options when you talk to the salesperson at the shop. We bought the Sealy Posturepedic mattress. Here is the link
http://firstfewyears.com.sg/product/4359

Saralyn: breast milk consist of Initial foremilk and later hindmilk . Foremilk is watery and is to serve to satisfy bb thirst. Hindmilk that come after foremilk if u pump longer is for satisfy bb hunger and ensure wt gain. That is y U may need to pump longer .

Mofmm, I'm using medela Pisa too.. There's afew time the motor doesn't sound right to me!! Scare me to the max during that time! I'm using 2 pumps at a time.. So normally I will pump for 15 mins but now I will drag to 20-25 mins coz of second letdown..

I am latching my boys in the day.. Same timing as your girls.. So I only pump during midnight and the milk I collected will be given to them for 2 feeds after 8pm.. Normally from midnight onwards, they will be taking formula..

You have a maid too right? Can I check did you let your maid helps in taking care of your girl? And will she wake up in the middle of the night to help you wash your pump and bottles? Or even help to feed the boys? Am getting one too and we have to write down her duties to the agency.. So am thinking what should I ask her to do interm of the babies..

Dian tang: ya.. I know.. But if I were to pump too long my nips were be so sore.. And they are huge after the pump!! My boys will have some difficulties to latch if they are too huge.. Their mouth is too small. Haha..

Lil ponyo, sound like you are doing very well.. Jiayou!

I read that you all are taking about bouncer! I got the 2 types you all are taking.. The mesh kind and the fp one.. Mine is from mothercare instead.. My boys don't like the mesh kind at all! For the mothercare one, at least they willing to sit there longer and sometime even fall asleep in it.. I guess is the vibration that helps..

MofMm, I am using medela pump in style advance too. I use one hand to hold 2 bottles but position a bit slouch forward. Not comfy but I can surf and type in the forum now as I pump.

Koirc, you can also try baby kingdom/baby hyper art for mesh bouncer. I saw some for sale a couple of months back when I was shopping for bb stuff.

Lil, I don't know how heavy he is now - don't hv a weighing scale at home - reluctant to keep track of my weight! Haha.., but 2wks ago at 8wks bb was 5.63kg. Yes, I like the lactation consultants at gleneagles - v encouraging n empowering. Enjoy your time bonding time with bb when bf - it's so special

Mofmm, I find the pd at KkH quite ok. Did detailed check on bb vital stats. And also explained to us the different immunization required and the nurse helped us to indicate the pricing etc. Can use Baby bonus or medisave to pay for the jabs.
important to protect our baby/babies from all the terrible diseases.

Yeah I do agree that like now I am approaching 34, it will be a long time before we retire. Well, nowadays who dares to think of retirement? .... So really have to budget and think of the expenses.... Now dun even dare to think of expensive skin care or wat. Just normal brand products that can buy from pharmacy can Liao

For diaper rash, my bb has it recently. Probably due to warm weather. I bought desitin diaper rash cream (purple color box) for her little butt and apply a thin layer. A tube at home and a tube in her diaper bag.

Precious baby, babysmurf & bb, thanks. I will go check out...

Reikibaby, it's Simmons Kids Beautyrest. But the model I want is unavailable on Amazon. The other one is going for US$110. I think add shipping cost will be around $200? But I found this: http://www.squidoo.com/top-ten-baby-crib-mattresses. Unfortunately Simmons is not in the list but Sealy is.

Luv, I was already having fever before that. Doctor did say that I may have flu-liked symptoms. I am feeling better now. But boobs still big and heavy. Just called the clinic today and nurse told me milk in the breasts will just disappeared. I find it so amazing. I still wonder where it goes to...

Lil, I checked out the link and the Jewel Crown mattress looks so lux! Did your bb sleep well on it? Maybe I will consider it. :D

Koirc, yes! Baby sleeps like a...baby on the mattress! Ha ha! Well it's only been 4 nights but so far the minute we put him down he sleeps until he wants to be fed. Because it is quite expensive, we also bought a waterproof mattress protector to protect it so that it can last longer. We aim to use until baby is toddler or for Bo 2

Mofmm, Saralyn, Usagi, I'm using the medela Pisa too. Saralyn, you are hilarious, I'm trying to figure out how you support with your thighs!

Bb, thanks! So fast your baby is 10 weeks already! I know wht you mean about weighing oneself. I don't have a scale too so when I was at PD clinic yesterday I weighed myself and I only lost 5kg since delivery. I still have 10kg to pre-pregnancy weight. Sigh...

Saralyn: ya ya sore nipples can be very uncomfortable when latching . Apply some nipple cream or breast milk , it may helps to reduce .

Hi Babysmurf, for Burt's diaper cream, I know can buy from Babies R Us US website (they have international shipping for most items). If not, you can call the City Square Babies R Us shop to check if they stock.

Hi Saralyn, that's so interesting - how you support the bottles with your thighs! I think all of us mummies must look quite a sight when we pump - all kinds of pattern and position. For me, I am using one side of pump only and the other I use the Avent big bottle with the cap off to cup the other breast by leaning forward and securing the bottle between breast and thigh but I need to cross leg to do that. How you do with both thighs when the Medela bottles are so short? Use pillow?

Yup my maid came in 2 days after I delivered. My maid is really good - she helps to take care of the twins with the confinement lady through all the night feedings. Day time I will help CL with the twins so she can do basic household like laundry mopping, cleaning. I will let her nap for 2 hours in the afternoon and she goes to bed by 9pm and wakes up at about 7pm. I know it's not ordinary as my previous helpers with my mum wake up at 6am and work till 8-9pm without naps but my maid feeds 1 of my babies 3 times in the night climbing down from her bunk bed so it's a different treatment. She also helps to change the babies' diapers, pick them up when crying. I told her that her first duty is the babies then housework. If cannot finish housework, it's okay. When my CL leaves, I am getting in a part timer to help with the housework so the maid can focus on the twins with my in laws/my mum when I go back to work. Hope this helps - ultimately you need to decide what the maid is for. For babies or housework. For twins, it is impossible for the maid to cope with 2 babies plus housework. I can't risk my maid breaking down or asking for a transfer if I push too hard. It's good also to be upfront to the maid that you have twins and ask if she is comfortable taking care of 2 babies. Better to get one who has children before too. Those single ones...I heard from my CL, they usually don't know how to and are not interested to learn, having never been a mother. Of course not all are like that, but well, it's stereotyping I guess.

Hi Usagi, do you massage before you pump or midway? Gosh how to use one hand to hold 2 bottles! Hehe, all kind of positions we have for pumping as I said earlier.

Hi GirlGirl, thanks - seems like KKH PD should be quite good. So u not going polyclinic for those free jabs? Agree with you about expenditure - can save on ourselves but not our babies! So you still using disposables?

Hi ladies, just to share on the Medela Pisa or any twin pumps as I am also using Pisa. I bought the simple wishes support bra from mums and babes so that you can wear it like a bra and they have holes for the 2 shields and bottles. In this case you can be totally hands free. I love it coz offers me flexibility especially when I am alone in the day time with baby and pumping, my hands are free to soothe her if needed.

Mofmm, I massage midway, otherwise if I massage before, my milk will leak.

Hope, I saw before at kiddy palace but cost 50+ right. So I never get it since I got nursing bra. Ha. I reckon I can work with one hand in office.

Ladies, Medela PISA doesn't come with the handsfree that you can wear and attach to bra? I used Medela Freestyle which has that. But sometimes I don't wear it and use my thighs to support too. I can totally understand Saralyn! Hahaha...

Mofmm, thanks for the info! Your maid is indeed good. I did tell her she will be helping up me to looking after my twins boys and doing the night feeding too. In addition cleaning the house.. She said no problem.. So now I thinking what kind of daily schedule should I put for her..

Lil ponyo, haha! Like what mofmm, all sort of patterns can come out when you do pumping. Haha! I sit at my bed frame which is like a stool height and pump.. Sitting there and me leaning forward abit I can hold the bottles with my thighs! Haha!

Koirc, hi 5! We are the using thigh to support our pump one! Haha

Finally my girl's jaundice drop to below 100. Nomore poking for her. She put on some weight n mummy lose some weight. So happy.

Mofmm, your maid is really good indeed and she is also lucky to have a reasonable and understanding employer like you. After reading what you and your support team (maid + CL) go through in a day, I can only take my hats off to you, Saralyn and all mummies with twins. It's so hard and after CL leaves, it's even harder! This prompted me to ask my CL just now if she has taken care of twins. She said with twins very Jiat Lat. must need maid to help (as you described) and usually they will be hired for 3 months. She said basically there is no chance to sleep. 'Pei Fu Pei Fu!'

Saralyn, I tried to imitate your pumping position just now but very hard to bend forward with binder leh! Ha ha! Koirc, how do you positin yourself? I'm so curious!

Mummies, do you find that sometimes baby can only fall asleep if he has a tit (from bottle) or nipple in mouth? Lately my boy is displaying this pattern, I wonder if it is just him or generally babies are like that.

Babysmurf, check with you as I'm clueless about this. What is the inference between 5 in 1 and 6 in 1 jabs? When do thy need to be taken? Are these additional to the jabs listed in the Health Booklet tut we need to do at PD clinic? Right now, my boy's next jab is at his 1 month. Thanks!

Babysmurf, yay! Congrats on your baby clearing jaundice! My boy still have a little bit. Trying to sun him in the mining when it's not so bright! And big congrats to you on your weight loss. Jiat you

Last night was my first night looking after my boys.. My husband and I nearly died. Haha! My boys doesn't like to change diaper. Whenever we change, they will cry n scream.. Thus, last night my husband and I didn't want to wake them up and avoided changing their diaper unless they poo.. End result of this selfishness is diaper rash on both my boys butt. Sigh. Feel so sad and such a failure being a mum to them..

Lil ponyo, try again when you are not in binder.
It was hard for me when I was in binder..

One of my boy is like yours! We have resorted to pacifier on him.. Last time I was his walking pacifier.. So we decided enough and gave him one.. He has been using it to fall asleep. I know is a bad habit but is better than he crying non stop and not going to sleep.

Mummies who bf their babies, how do you all know your baby has enough of milk already? My boys are constantly latching on. They will not unlatch themselves. Is always me who always remove myself from them after 30-40 mins.. And after which, sometime they will be wide awake, crying or even want to suckle more.. It really makes me wonder did I have enough milk for them.

Saralyn: I also didn't change bb diaper until he poo. Ha ha .. U not the only one . But now I try to change one bef he sleep

Lil Ponyo: my boy also biting on the nipple while he fell asleep. Then eventually he release it and sleep -_-

Lil Ponyo: the diff bet 5 in 1 and 6 in 1 is the 6 in 1 has hep b.
For me I follow the schedule in polyclinic . So at the 1st month, my boy get hep b jab. 3rd month will be 5 in 1 and so on. Until 5 or 6 th will be 6 in 1. Now hep b and 5 in 1 are free in polyclinic . So I go for it .

Thank you dian for helping me to explain.

Lil: 1-2mth is take hep b 2nd dose. My girl I delay until 6wks then take hep b2 + rotavirus (option). 3mth: 5in1 + peumococcal (option). FYI: now polyclinic hep b & 5in1 foc for Singaporean.

Luvnhope & koirc: my massage lady said our milk is made of our blood +water.

Lil, just sit on floor cross-legged and use cushion to support. Then as you bend forward a little, you can support the bottles with your thighs. Haha...

Babysmurf, happy for you! And yes, the milk is from our blood and water in the body. I am still amaze by how our bodies work!

Mummies, how do you reject strangers from touching our babies? Yesterday, I brought bb to Spring Maternity to buy bra then a preggie touched him. When we reached home, he kept crying. My parents said preggie or pp with white matters can't touch bb.

Then today, I went Chinatown OG Kenna touched by 3 sales assistant auntie. They all attracted by my bb black glossy wavy hair. Then when he reached home again, he cried non stop again. My parents say bb is GUI Qi, dun like strangers to touch. Is this true??? I told my hubby and he asked me not to bring bb out again. I felt upset if I hurt bb for let strangers touch his face n hair. These strangers never ask permission and is like bees attracted to honey. I felt rotten now.

Hi usagi and babysmurf, I too agree with that. When i was a baby I'll cry non stop and refused to sleep when touch by my pregnant aunt.
How do you prevent pregnant sister-in-law to touch bb as she don't believe in these and my MIL will side with her

Went to CCP's NTUC yesterday - price went up to 53+ for Enfa. Now repackaged to Enfamil not Enfalac! Scary how the price can kl can just jump 4 dollars for same product in one week. So we went to another NTUC and the pricing tab on the shelf wrote 49.30. Told hubby to grab 5 tins - when he went to pay the cashier scanned the product and said price had gone up to 53+! In the end the manager came out and said since it was their stall's mistake, they would honor the 49.30 price.

But I'm still shocked by the price increase. My girls are already drinking FM only at night feeds and they finish one tin in two weeks. I just shudder when I think of the amount they would need if totally on FM. Bringing up twins is double cost man!

Hi Saralyn, I feel you mama I almost died the first night too taking care of twins b4 the CL arrived! Hugz! How big r your boys now? Diaper rash sucks, but as GirlGirl pointed out, the weather may have a part to play too.
For maid schedule, a lot depends on your level of cleanliness. I only ask she iron clothes once a week, wash adult clothes twice a week, mop once a day (night) and use magic clean clean sheets once in the morning after she cleans all the surfaces. Eg tables , esp in the babies room.
Cooking is left to the CL and after CL goes will be kept to a minimum via that takes too much time - preparation, cooking, cleaning, washing up. Baby laundry is to be done every morn too so can catch the sun. That's about all I ask of her housework wise. Priority is the twins - whatever she is doing halfway she has to drop if the twins need her.

Thanks Lil Ponyo for the encouragement!

Just to vent: I had to put my foot down v firmly (yet again sigh) when my hubby wanted to go to a neighboring country to buy their FM. Literally blew at him for trying to save on the only thing the girls consume which is less than the cost of one of us eating at a buffet. I am honestly not sure how my marriage is going to last at the frequency and increasing savagery of our spats. It doesn't help that he blames it on hormones. I think it's fundamental differences which we always had but I could close an eye to cos it didn't affect me or my lifestyle. But when it comes to the twins, I can't accept his beliefs and values being imposed on them. Sigh. Motherhood really changes so many things, and not all in a good way

MofMM, chill. People say having kids will bring the relationship closer. I beg to differ. It's not always the case cos you have one more variable in your marriage life to argue about. Try to make your hubby see your point. I think most men are very practical beings. They see the cost of things more than us.

Some time back I bought Similac Total Comfort for bb to try at the recommendation of doctor. Hubby tasted it and thinks it didn't taste nice. Doctor did warn that not all bbs can take the taste. We weren't sure if bb doesn't like it cos he was crying so hard during the feed. After two feeds, I decided to switch back. The full tin that costs $60+ is still sitting in the cabinet. And we all know that it needs to be consumed within 3 weeks upon opening to preserve freshness. Now it's been more than a month. I told hubby wanna try away. He said so expensive why don't we mix for bb to drink!!! *faint*

Dian tang and Babysmurf, thanks for the explanation about the jabs. In this case, I still go ahead with pd appointment for 1 month and after that I will go poly clinic for 3rd and 5th month jabs.

Usagi, I know how you feel. i think we become increasingly fiercely protective of our babies over time. I haven't brought baby out but some visitors who come and see us can't stop touching baby. Some who love babies seriously touch non-stop while poor baby is sleeping. They keep stroking the head, poking the cheeks and playing with hands for literally the whole visit which can take half an hour. There was one friend who visit and brought their 3 year old daughter. The kid also keep wanting to touch, bang on the cot and scream and the parents don't even stop her!!! I tried to stop the kid in a kindly way but if the parents say nothing, the kid won't stop. In the end, my poor baby woke up crying. I made up an excuse that I need to breast feed and ask them to leave. After that I was so upset that I hurt my baby and I was a bad mum for not protecting him enough.

It's funny, when I was still pregnant, I was telling people I want to be the chilled kind of mum. Easy going and not too kiasu because children are hardy creatures and will do well if not over protected. But now as I hold my baby in my arms, everything is different. I fuss over everything, run to him at every whimper, and think the best person to take care of him is me. I really don't know how I'll cope when I go back to work or when I go on my regular 2 weeks work trip. I told my DH about my feelings and he also says its hormones.

Mofmm, breath! When you feel emotions and a quarrel brewing, step away, breath and leave it first. Come back later and talk sense into DH. This way at least it will be more of discussion than an all out savage spat. I'm sure your DH also wants what is best for your girls but in his own way. Children are something new in all our relationship and takes discussion and time to agree on mutual method of parenting. It's just like when we first dated our DH, there were also lots of disagreements on daily lifestyle which over time has lessen.

Nowadays, my baby doesn't seem to get enough or satisfy from breast feeding. We usually have to finish off the feeding session with a bottle much to my dismay. Think he realizes that he can get milk faster and easier via bottle. I comfort myself by thinking as long as baby is getting enough milk, it doesnt matter how he gets it. Also if he is sleeping enough and have regular diaper change, I'm happy

Mofmm, relax.. Don't be so frustrated.. There's one night I was very angry with my inlaw and started a fight with them.. Sigh..

Lil ponyo, from what I read, do not bottle feed.. Just feed more frequent.. If you supplement with bottle, your milk supply will not increase and he will never get full from your breast.. I know is hard. I also went through this and going through now also coz I got 2 mouths to feed.. They are crying for milk often.. And I feed them on demand.. After sometime I realised this only happened in the morning. Afternoon and night are good.. Which they can last for 2.5-3 hours..

Ladies, I have been bring my boys to pd for their jabs n review. Recent one was the 1 month check.. Can I still change to polyclinic for the next appointment and the jab? So far, they only had their bcg and hep b 1.

Saralyn, even if the bottle is breast milk that I pump out? Im more concern that his latching technique will go downhill again as he gets used to bottle.

So far, luckily, my milk has been increasing. Both my boobs yield around 130ml total every 4 hours. I try to drag to 4 hrs instead of 3hrs because my baby can't finish the milk and I'm already freezing 1-2 bags a day.

Lil ponyo, ok ok I thought you are supplementing it with formula milk.. In this case, your supply should be good. Maybe your boy is fussy..

Is so nice to drag to 4 hours.. Im still doing it every 2.5-3 hours now. I just came home after 6 hours and my breasts are huge!!! Latching the boys to remove the milk now. Haha..