(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

I discharged yesterday already. Now he still zz, going give him 30ml fm first. No choice. He just wants to zz. I am worried about my breasts. Left one is hard. How ah? Keep massaging?

Usagi, congrats on delivery of your bb!

Try not to get too stressed about latching, stress will affect the milk flow. Like what the other mummies said, pump and feed bb first. If the breast is hard, lactation consultant told me to use warm compress and massage before pumping.

Hi ladies, just saw some blood today . Wonder is it time to deliver liao? On the way to hospital now. But traffic jam is so bad and I m still stuck on the road. Lucky no contraction pain.

Usagi: ur milk supply will only come 3-5days time. If baby sleepy, still have to wake him up every 3hrs max for new born.

Kittykatty: congrate. Will be hold you baby in a while time.

kittykatty> jiayou!!!!!!

KittyKatty, have a smooth delivery!

Usagi, what is the latching position you use on bb? My left boob nipple is also shorter so I use football hold which is much easier. I think hospitals don't give fm because WHO encourages bm for 1st six months and even milk companies don't promote infant fm because of the same reason. You can't find it on their websites. Can only see in supermarket and not eye level shelves! I also argued with nurse when bb was born over feeding fm. Don't stress!

I went to see lactation consultant on Monday to ease the swell. Feels better but milk supply has gone back to where I started. Only 30-40 ml in total.
I hope I can continue to give bb however much bm I can give till our next doctor appt end of the month. Then maybe I will request to stop and give fm exclusively.

Reikibaby, your boy really big! How big is he at birth? Don't think my boy reached 5kg at 4 weeks. This mummy doesn't have much bm to feed him. Poor thing! And I don't give him too much fm in case overfeeding.

Usagi, good to hear that you are going home today. As the other mummies say, don't stress too much about breastfeeding. It is a known fact that it's difficult (for something that is suppose to be so natural! LOL!). So do just what you feel is right. You are the mummy

Kitty Katty, have a smooth and safe delivery!! All the best!

Oh one by one delivering baby now!!

MOfmm, I just went to Mothercare to check out the nursing bras. Thanks, I have better idea now. The lady there told me to buy 1 month before delivery because boobs will get bigger! Hope you can still wear yours!

After Usagi, Tutu and Kittykatty's graduation this week, the next batch will be:
dian tang
mofmm
babysmurf
girl girl
precious baby
lil ponyo
psp

Dian Tang, can't believe you will be next! OMG! So exciting!!

Lil: maybe girlgirl faster hers engaged Liao. Me n mofmm maybe same day. We both under dr tan. Hers is c sect. Me still trying for natural. Haha.

Koirc, my bb 3.88kg at birth. Your bb shld be drinking abt 100ml? Dun tink bb will overfeed themselves if they are full.

Sade, eskimobaby, Hope, when can we start eating seafood after csect? Im craving for crabs!!!

now i wondering if baobei will come at W37.5 or not... can feel my tummy like stretching and weighing down...and walking very slow...lolxxx

Dian> woots! u r next! rest well ok?

reikibaby> i think cannot eat crabs leh...crabs are cooling food... similar for sotong, prawns... i tink must wait till after confinement....then we can eat all the sashimi!!!!!

Thanks babysmurf, Koirc n Lil ponyo. Koirc, I think I won't latch le. Just pump n mix with fm. Today went poly clinic, bb jaudice went by abit. Heart pain. Tml need go back for review again.

Lil ponyo and girl : u making me nervous and excited .. Ha ha!
Doing the handover for work now . Stopping work 01 may

Small bunny: ok la. They covered basic knowledge and trainer shared with us her experiences in Nuh cos she also delivered her children here.

Babysmurf, ya maybe GIrl Girl will jump queue! LOL! How nice that you maybe same day with Mofmm and same doctor some more!

Girl Girl, your girl can't wait to see you! Wah...sashimi...I miss it soooo much! I treated myself to a bubble tea recently. Haven't had one since started IVF! It was sooo nice! Ha ha!

My doctor's appt is this Friday. Can't wait to see my baby's progress
I'm getting so big now!

Reiki, my mil said after 3-4 months lei! No choice gotta control. By the way, anyone knows what should we avoid eating when we bf? Can eat durian right? The durian season coming!!! I still rem last year I was feasting on durian during the 2WW Keke.

Hope, wah 3-4mths...did she say y? My mil also say no. But my ever modern mummy say y not.. haha
Haha yah durian!!! I also feasting it during 2ww last year. Think can eat but dun overload in case bb heaty? Hubby also asking if i can start hving durian cos when preg, due to big bb i forbid him to eat too....

Girlgirl, my confinement over liao. Thats y asking if can feast anot.

Dian Tang thks!

Wow it's so exciting seeing so many graduate n many graduating soon. Making me all excited abt seeing my boys but I still have 14 wks to go!

Ya enjoying our days as a couple before arrival of the baby .

Small bunny: oh u also jia you as u carrying twins? Not easy ya.

rekibaby I ate prawns abt 2 months aft c sec. n just ate crabs few days back. haha. enjoying seafood now sin been eating pork n chicken during confinement. haha.

usagi bb not latching then pump out every 3hrs day time to relieve the engorgement. must so it before it get worse. did u buy any breast pump?

haha my baby girl very active de lah... dunnoe she will take after me or hubby. My mum say last time i inside guai guai, come out very notti :p.... so hopefully the reverse is true lor...

hee hee...this weekend washing 3rd batch of clothes (though the weather is super hot!!!!)... and then Ma buying and transporting the bathing herbs and red dates/ginger/longan for the drink soon...

me getting bigger also. So sitting down also a bit unglam...=X

usagi massage for abt one min before pumping. up down left right, then change the speed of the pump from high to low so as to stimulate the milk flow. and then find a suitable speed to pump out ur milk. use warm compress before pumping. n also during pumping, massage toward ur nipples so as to make the milk flow.

Usagi, massage also ur nipple n aerola. Check if nipple has got some whitish stuff. Use a wet cotton to remove if yes. Will block milk flow too. How long do u pump n waz the timing for each set?

Reikibaby, ya, my boy is drinking 100-120ml now.

Usagi, maybe it's blocked ducts. Use hot compress before you pump. Cold cabbage is to soothe the engorgement pain. Are you doing postnatal massage? Maybe can ask your massage lady to massage breasts for you.

This Saturday, we're celebrating bb's full month although it was supposed to be last week. A simple affair yet so stressful. Hubby thinks I everyday at home very free! But he has not idea how stressed out I am having to deal with bb and my breasts issues! :S

Btw, my friend asked me to pre-register bb for pre-nursery now! Even though it's still about 3 years away. Really need to be so kiasu?

Koirc, so fast full month already! May I ask, how many people are you inviting to your full month? Besides relatives, are you also inviting friends and close colleagues? Sorry for so many questions but I just want to get a sense of normal practice as I'm still undecided about this full month thing after my friend scare me about how everyone will want to carry the baby, etc. Oh, and in the end, which caterer did you go with? Please share if it is good
All the best!!

Wow, registering for pre-nursery now is pretty early! Not sure what is the norm though

Sade, Chevy and Koirc,
Went to sgh for help. They said is my milk starting to kick in. At this stage, I use pump also not effective. Most effective is by hand every 3 hrs and condition will improve tml. Nurse says use cold cabbage for one hr then hand express. After that use ice pack. Not block duct issue thankfully.

Hi Koirc, wow your son is drinking so much now. My girl still at 70ml max. Went to see her doctor and according to weight, 70ml is minimal. But she prefers 60ml but will get hungry very fast about 2hr.

I'm very woried now, cos my girl failed the hearing tests now have to see a specialist. Really pray hard nothing wrong with her...

Lil Ponyo, this is more for my hubby's family. My MIL's family is very big! I invited some close friends but not colleagues. Total number of guests around 60-70 leh! :S I told MIL no one is to carry bb except me, hubby, CL, my mum and her. Don't want so many people to touch bb. I initially ordered from eCreative cos they have the full month catering which includes red eggs and mini cupcakes. But after I read the review, I canceled the order. Ordered from Continental Delight in the end. Tried it at my friend's wedding a few years ago and thought it's not bad. Hope standard remains! *fingers crossed*

As for pre-nursery - ya, I was so shock when my friend asked me to do that. He told me his son was on wait list when he went to register on Day 2 of birth!!! And my friend who is one of the principals at Pat's Schoolhouse also told me to register soon. I guess it's only the famous and popular preschool that needs such earlier registration? They are all so expensive!

Usagi, jia you! Hope you get better soon! As for jaundice, just make sure baby drinks to hydrate. Did doctor ask you to bring bb out to the sun? We sun bb for 3 days and when we went for the 1 week check up, doctor said ok already.