(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

ladies, just wonder if anyone approach master Chang Jue (loyang) for naming their babies?
My father's house fengshui was seen by him but didn't know he has service to give baby name...
Contacted Long Tian Xiang, but he seems "fierce" when he talked to me the other day...
Headache, can't decide on the english name too...

I got a question and really need some support as I am going out of my mind thingking about it.

Are any of you who are trying for a child through IVF or any other methods in the age range of 40s.

I am going to be 41 and am hoping to try but I am being shot down by the younger ones and getting worried that I am making a mistake.
Please help.

Ladies, I am starting to have cramp-like feelings too. And it always happens when I stand up or walking. I had to bend slightly to make myself feel better.

Hello, Sasha28! What do you mean by you got shot down by younger ones? Did discuss your concerns with your doctor?

I just got discharged from hospital NOT for delivery but b'cos of vertigo.. (sudden attack felt room spinning, giddy and vomit very badly, vomitted out the bile juice)...I was joking that bb wanted orientation in the hospital...All my relatives thought I delivered heehee...

Hello Koirc

I just mentioned it to my close friends as in getting some opinions but always end up getting negative response from 4(my friends) of them who are in mid 30s.
Brief details - I have done IVF previously in 2010 and gotten a beautiful but naughty girl

She was suppose to be a twin but the other did not make it for long after conception. Just thought of having one more.

I have not approached a doctor yet.

HI Sasha,

My doctor mentioned age is not a problem but of course the % success will decrease with age and really depend on luck (I think). Do you still have embryo frozen? Can just try FET 1st, rather than the complete process.

Hi znatasha

Unfortunately I do not have any.

So I have to go through the whole procedure again.
But thanks for the info.

znatasha, oh dear vertigo is horrible and at this point of pregnancy it's worse! So glad that you are fine now. We also headache with names. Seems so hard!

Sasha28, I think as long as you feel that you are up to it mentally and physically, husband is supportive and doctor gives the greenlight, I don't see why not! Opinions of other people (including friends) are irrelevant. Hope that helps!

Ladies, I just got back from my monthly doctor's appt. Baby is growing well at 800+gm at 26w+2days. The only thing is my low lying placenta that we still need to keep an eye on. May need to end up with c-sec if the placenta doesn't move. Another happy news for me is that I only put on 1kg since last month. So now all in all, I have only put on 10kg. Still a lot of I'm glad that it is sort of under control. Hee hee.

Hope, was discussing w dh. We might consider csect nxt week if bb scan weight tml is more than 4kg. Dh very scared i go thru natural w such a big bb. So you wi induce on edd?

Koirc, just monitor...as long no spot...and not regular, we can still hang on..

Znatasha,be careful...you not working liao right? Rest well.

Reiki, now bb 3.5. I scared next scan will be 3.7-3.8. I may consider C then lei. I scared induce not successful then end up C. Actually in a delimma.... My hubby says leave it to me... As long as I'm comfortable.
So which day are you going to choose? Maybe we will see each other haha.

Ladies, any advice if I should induce or C if bb not due these few days?

Hope, i can understand your feeling. Same here... I dun wan end up emerg csect. Actuali i never tot of induce cos what if bb stress up and end up csect...
Oh yah if nxt week then we may meet up. But staying different ward. Still duno which day. Will talk to dr loh tml and see hw. You decided the day? Or your edd on 14th?

Znatasha, please take care!

Reikibaby, ya I try to keep calm and not scare myself!

Sasha28, I agree with Lil Ponyo that others' opinion don't matter. You had success with IVF before and what matters is if your hubby is supportive. Nevermind about your friends. Some of my friends are not so open to IVF. I didn't share with them because they treat you like alien. But the truth is, we just need a little assistance. The end product is still the same!

Hope, 3 more weeks right?

I am seeing doctor tomorrow... Two more weeks to go! So exciting... I wonder who among us will deliver first! :p

I'm also thinking to wait till edd or induce next week (my anniversary) but also scared end up emergency C-sect if bb under stress. BB now about 3kg @ 37weeks

Any side effect with induction?

Am so worried about the delivery, some advice me not to have epi cos of the side effect (backache) but I am not sure if I can take the pain...

Reiki, seeing Dr Loh next wed. So either induce or C will do it on 14th. Update me on your visit tml ok? Yest he like very busy. I ask him if bb will be too heavy for natural but he say can try. Hmm can try doesn't sound very convincing.maybe u can ask him tml? Hee.

Zantasha, yah please take care yah!

Koric, no Lei I'm exactly 39 weeks today. Next week EDD Liao... So must decide. What is your bb weight now?

Ladies, thank you for your concern.

I'm much better already after the medicine. Yap don't know why my old problem re-surfaced after pregnancy. This is probably the #5th attack. Hopefully, will not appear anymore...

Hope, when i ask him if bb morethan 4 still can natural, he said im tall so can try. Haha yah not convincing but i guess he oso cant guarantee. Wil,update u tml.... Wondering if he will say ' ok u can admit now' after the appt tml. Cos happen to few of my friends...lol
Or u can try natural way to induce? Hee since walking dun wrk then go bd...heee

Looks like 4 of us are realli playing waiting game....

Reiki, coz im not the tall type. My Gf say maybe hard for me since bb 3.5 already. That's why I'm considering C. I think Dr Loh is the type who wait till 40 weeks one... If bb heavy he will just say C lor I think.
Haha I no mood to BD lei and cannot imagine BD with such a big tummy.
Yeah waiting game!!!

Bbshower, I have the same experience too. Lump near left armpit n lump at the top for right breast. It's painful, even when not moving. What I did was to massage n massage...... Nearly 2 hrs to rid the left. The right was quite jia lat. really pain..... Had to put hot towel n massage n massage. Luckily managed to rid them
So do massage ya..... Soon u will b lump free!

Hope, i'm 1.6m...which i dun think i'm tall. So when dr loh said that..i wasnt very convince that i can push. Haha..think my hubby feels so too. Cos hubby was saying looks like bb wants a csect. He ever told me if baby too big and go through natural, will 'crush' the pelvic bones. Which of cos will heal after that but still painful. So i guess he just gives us an alternative but will still let us choose.
I always like to see that OMG look on his face everytime he scan my bb...haha...

I ask hubby dare to bd...he give me that 'can meh' look. Hahaha i think i also dun dare.

hope & Reikibaby for me I would still choose normal delivery first. if really can't then emergency c sec. reasons being c sec takes much longer recovery n also if planning for 2nd child, c sec needs longer recovery time too.
but really depends on yourself cos the money difference should be around $2k.

Hope n reiki, actually it's the bb's head that determine the success of natural birth. Actually if u can push the head out, the rest will just 'slide' out. I dun think dr loh can guarantee you that definitely can go natural cos he can't foresee wat r the complications.

Hope, wow! I got mixed up... You're a week before me. Have you discuss with doctor what's the best option?

My bb was 3kg at 37 weeks last week leh. Dunno if he put on any weight this week. Anyway my doctor says good chance for natural birth for me so let's see...

Btw, do you ladies have dreams recently nearing to delivery?

Sade you mean elective csec n emerg csect diff by $2k?

Eskimo so we can ask dr loh measure bb head and decide?

Koirc, i think you can go natural. Dun worry.

Chevy I ytd went kkh the LC saw my lumps under the armpit n she say its excess breast with milk duct, had been told not to massage just apply cabbage on it, becoz if massage will make it worst as the milk will back flow to the armpit area again. It will be gone after my breast becms more tender n after applying cabbage. Currently it's slightly smaller a bit le.

I am new here.. I am 36 this yr and been trying for baby #1 for more than 18mths. Just wondering if you gals have done IVF first time and succeeded? I am set for my IVF treatment on 16Mar under ivf long protocol with KKH. Any special advice? hmm.. thanks..

Hi BB, I was lucky and succeeded with my first IVF and also ended up with late onset OHSS. Unfortunately, OHSS for me was pure hell. The pain from bloating (I looked like 5 months pregnant within days) was incredibly painful and then there was other symptoms such as breathless, diarrhea and nausea. The good news is all these will go away eventually as your hormones stabilize. All the best in your IVF! My advice is to stay relax, positive and happy throughout your IVF journey!

Babysmurf better get more small bottle maybe ard min 5,?becoz u might need to pump n keep ur milk, n when go see doc for injection you might need to bring a few out too.

Dian: yup get them to delivery the playpen, stroller n a little tikes BBQ pit (free gift). Also bought the avent sterilizer. Now on hand I got like 5baby bibs as free gift lol. I don't like get baby bib patang.

Precious Baby when is ur EDD? Does it cm with contraction? If yes pls go hospital le. But if discharge alot n you very worried I guess better to go hospital ba, also make sure ur bag is packed too. Take care!

Precious baby, better go 24hr. Unless its realli a bit n that one time.

Usagi, i was told some babies may be allergic to certain diapers brand so not advisable to get so many. Seems like many of the ladies already stock up diapers. I yet to get any. Hubby say get when baby born.

I just gave birth 2 weeks ago.. Baby head not engaged.. And I chose to csect.. But water bag burst one day before the appointment date.. And head still not engaged.. Dilated only half centimeters... Doc still ask me wait..

I don't like to popo mama so I ask doc just cut me open.. To actually find the baby's umbilical cord around her neck...

Didn't pay for induction but still considered emergency csect cos not arranged de...

Now the baby is out.. And I cannot run away from post natal blues when she refuses my milk but suck on the formula.. Hospital gave enfralac... And I'm sticking to it... In just 2 wks... The tin of formula is finishing.. Sigh...

Her diet is weird.. Newborn is usually 2oz... Mine can request for feed every 2 hrs... 1-2 oz each.. No time to sterilize the bottles.. *pulling hair* I haven't slept a good 8hr since I returned from the hospital.. It's interval of 2-4 hrs depends on when the kid screams for food

Ladies: what brand of diaper cream to buy? How advance do we prepare the D bag. My dh more gan chiong than me. Heehee saw me start buying lot of baby stuffs. He ask me faster pack my d bag but I only 28wks.

Esther: try to give ur baby ebm. Anyone doing confinement for u. Ask your CL to help in the day time. Don't stress yourself up. Come here to chat. U prepare how many bottle for ur baby.

Reikibaby, too late. I bought alot huggies diapers at bb fair at expo. Just play by ear.

Babysmurf, if u have time, pack lor. I only pack when hubby nags at me Ard week 32. Think my packing still outstanding things like charger, camera n comb. I bought Gaia for bb. Not sure good or not.

Precious baby,
U should go to the 24 hours clinic n tell them to contact dr loh. U were told to bed rest by dr loh rite so there's concern that u might go into preterm labour.