(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

Small bunny, SueAnn,
Although I have history of eczema but it was during pregnancy that the flare up was bad. I read that this is triggered by hormonal changes. Was prescribed hydroderm from KKH. Suitable for preggies and it takes a few applications to see effect. Shld u go to a gp, do inform dr on duty of ur condition.

Chevy, when theres engorgement, can use cold cabbage or cold compress. But canot use for long. Only can compress a short while. Also constsnt using of cold cabbage will reduce the supply. Cos engorgement means supply is block at the milk duct so cold compress helps to reduce the pain. But also reduce supply hence cant put for long.

My gf told me that her milk will be thick and less watery n alot whenever she eats salmon sashimi.

Reikibaby, oic. So by using hot/warm compress can help to unblock milk duct? I so clueless abt BF lor. Most of my info is from you ladies!

Chevy it's abt 15min for me cos I only using single side even thou my pump is double. much faster cos I only pump one side. n also I massage up down left right before pumping and also adjusting the speed n suction while pumping. warm compress should help.
how much did u pump per session?

Chevy if using the theory of hot expand cold contract, then hot compress will help to let milk flow out whereas if swell or engorge then a cold compress will help with the pain.
I hv no exp in bf. All frm reading books. So if i said anythings tats not practical, experience mummy please point out.

Thanks Min and Chevy. Will visit dermatologist again tom instead of initial appt of next wed cos scared of how bad condition might turn over cny weekend.

I called clinic n they told me likely need to start oral med...it's more the mushrooming blisters that scare me not the itch. Literally at least 100 blisters develop overnight.

Small bunny,

I understand what you mean and know how it feels.. Hope yours improve real soon.. My lotion helps the blisters dry up and flake off.. But new blisters still pop up, can't control.. If your doc gives you oral med tmr, can you share with me the name of the medicine? TIA! I'm expecting to have a very tough time with my skin if i do get pregnant, but i still wanna get pregnant!
Starting my ivf jabs end next wk..

Whiteclover, I don't know how much BM i have actually cos I'm doing pure latching. I tried pumping initially but decided it was too stressful and demoralising. And anyway my brand new Avent pump is faulty!!!! Arghhh... So I gave up pumping and am sticking to latching for now.

Min the nurse told me doc will prescribe prednisolone. Will confirm when I get the med tom. Btw I Google n it's risky in 1st trimester cos risk of cleft lips......

Dian tang,

Small bunny,

Ohh.. What is risky in 1st trimester? The blister eczema or the prednisolone?

Min taking prednisolone in 1st tri is risky. 2nd tri safer but not exactly safe I think. To be cautious I might request dermatologist to call gynae to clear w him first...

Wow 90ml a side is good. Luv - pump under warranty?

Going to try the drinking hot drinks whilst pumping method later. Hopefully can yield more. Baby's drinking more now, and I gotta catch up.

Small bunny,

Oh if risky i won't dare to take.. Hope your dermatologist can confirm with you on that.. You try asking him abt the dermasone lotion too k.. At least got something to apply..

Sade,
Each session now can yield abt 150 to 190ml but with lotsa kneading during pumping if u know wat I meant. Hence I'm curious if I am supposed to do that or just let the pump do it's job. If latter, then I dun feel "emptied" and i dun thk i can can that much milk too. Any advises ladies?

Wah u good leh.....15mins and can get 90ml liao! Well done girl!

Reikibaby, that's what I thot initially that warm compress shld help but after reading the pamphlet, i got doubt liao hahahaaaa.....

Whiteclover, yes but they dun have the model in stock liao. Can u believe it?! So put off by their poor follow up service. We wanna exchange for other goods of same value also got restrictions. Had to escalate to their mgt b4 they say can exchange with wider range of pdts.

Chevy, good to massage as u pump. I also massage as I latch on.

luv Ya bb is the best pump. I only start pumping when bb can't finish both breasts in one session. n also I din pump diligently only once a day cos I m afraid that if bb decided to take both breasts again I might hv not enough for her. cos sometimes her appetite is great! now still fully latching her. so not that diligent to pump milk cos all are stored in the freezer.

Chevy Ya it's good to massage the breast before n during pumping.

sade, not too bad actually. Maybe cos I'm comparing a one-bedder service with a "free upgrade to 2-bedder" service, hahah... Not sure if that's the reason for the difference. Just one or two nurses more sullen faced. The rest still quite alright. This time round the nurses actually took more time to help with BF. Not like my experience six years back. And the 10am fish n green papaya soup is delicious!! Din have that 6 yrs ago! And I'm happy I stayed in the one-bedder. Had much needed privacy. I was also quite pleasantly surprised at the dietician and the hospital rep that came by on the morning of my discharge to ask abt how the food and service was etc.

Hope mine c sec with epi so that hb can go in n see....

Luv, that's good for u. What level did u stay in? Only wen I stay in one bedder than the nurse came over to teach me abt bf. isn't your food cold? Oh they din come n ask me on day of discharge. But was given a feedback form which I nv filled in as I was in a hurry to discharge.

Babysmurf I felt that too during pregnancy for few weeks.

Sade do you feel anything during the C? The reason I asked was because my Gf just delivered in TMC with epi but she still feel pain so end up with GA. I was quite shocked to hear that actually.

hope maybe depends on each individual bah, I don't feel pain but felt nervous as the aesthetician will explain step by step what's happening.
don't worry too much.

Haven been in here for awhile & my ladies, some of you are already mummies!!
Congrats lovelies!! And hopefully everything is doing good at ur side, mummies & babies!

Had my 35+ weeks chk-up yest.. So far baby is estimated at 2.7kg. Hehe and I gained 1kg since e last chk-up 3 weeks ago. Also did my pre-admission booking. Took e premier package. Initially hubby said no need stay so atas ward, in e end he himself chose A1 so he can stay overnight with us. Lol!
Counting down to holding baby in my arms..

Hehe for now, who's next in queue? Jia yo!

Hope- mine's csec with epidual. Dr loh prefers that. Didn't feel any pain. Only felt pressure when they push the baby out.

I kept asking the anesthetist to make sure they gave me enuf for me not to feel anything. Felt that for csec - it was more of the fear that u r being cut up but going thru the process, u will feel that it was actually better than expected.

For GA, one side effect is that yr baby will be sleepy.

Whiteclover guess during confinement we r not suppose to squat down bah. I only started to sponge bath my bb. have not started to bath her in tub. my hb did it. most probably aft confinement.

Hope,
It's really the mindset, afraid of the unknown, rather than the actual process itself that makes us scared. When I was told I had to go for e-csection for my #1, the first thought that came to me was wat if I can still feel the pain while they r cutting me up but after going thru it with epidural, I'm glad I was able to hear the first cry of my baby n see her, at least I went thru the process of birth. I think for ur fren's case is quite rare for not responding well to epi. Dun listen to any more stories liao just focus on seeing ur precious one

Anyone has swollen feet in the early stage of 3rd trimester? Is it normal that the feet have swollen and the next day it will subsides? Thanks!

Sade, Whiteclover and Eskimobaby, thanks for sharing the experiences! Yah my initial thots were with epi too so that I can see baby and hubby can be with me. Shall see how it goes.... Now minimal movements for me and hopefully will get through the next 2 weeks to full term!

Whiteclover, my CL has been bathing bb.i gott a simple tub with stand for use after confinement cos I prefer to stand while bathing bb.

Mofmm n girl girl: may I check the Kkh antenal class 1st lesson useful? My DH said skip that lesson n go baby fair hahaha.

Good morning ladies!

Think I have come down with a flu and sore throat.

Sade, you're like a super mom! I really admire your energy!

Eumin, I had swollen feet too. Drank lotsa water and propped my legs up in the evening and when I sleep. Then the swell was gone the next day. Amazing! But there were some days where it's not that swollen but I could feel it when my shoes seem tight. And now one of my feet has got two hardened blister on it.

Luv, does the stand fit all bathtubs?

hope rest well now. las few weeks alrdy.
so exciting for Feb mummies as able to hold their little ones v soon! jia you ladies!

Koirc- same here! Abt the hardened blister. My swollen feet got worse after delivery. Now is better. I bought a "callus eliminator" on smh. Going to try later.

thks Koirc for your encouragement. super shag but worth it.
funny thing is I also have swollen feet too. but once aft delivery my feet return to original size n I felt that it's v bony. not used to it. haha

No prob, Whiteclover!

Koirc, take care yeah? No, think better to get as a set unless u can try out the stand with ur own tub first.

Sade, forgot to reply ur qn. I was at level 3. Same as u? The nurse did help with bf even when I was in the 2 bedded the first night. Transferred to single in the afternoon.

Luv, mine is level 5. How's ur son feeding schedule like now? We r just few days apart right? My bb girl wants milk every now n then. Omg, make me shag. She gains weight n poo n urine a lot. Been experiencing cluster feeding for these few days.

sade, my boy usually drinks every 2 to 3h in the day. There've been a few nights when he keeps crying tho from 2 to 6 or 7am. Tiring!! I hope it's just cluster feeding.
How abt ur gal? When was she born? My boy was out on 27 Jan.
How do u know ur bb's weight? You have a special scale at home? The last weight I know was during the first PD review.

diantang, never saw a stand at IKEA b4 leh.

Koirc, thanks for the tips. What is the hardened blister thingy? Is it painful? I find it difficult to walk with the swollen feet. I heard that this thingy will be on and off for the last trimester. Some even said that if feet are swollen, then its mean that the labour date is due soon. I am hoping that it's not true as I just started my 3rd trim..

luv my gal is born on 25jan. she wants milk every hr n then drink for five min. n fall asleep. guess she din sleep well hence v cranky. she demands milk abt 13-14 times per day. night time too. I went pd again to check on her umbilical cord as its was bleeding. hence I knew her weight.
quite stressful abt tfb cos I m the sole provider for her. guess I need sometime to get use to it.