(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

Hope> ok..i drinking a lot of water...i boiled my own water in office and drinking.... salt wise, ok leh.. :S sigh dunnoe why also.

ok i will lift my legs on top of pillow or bolster... but i scared my bed like very crowded =X

Girl girl, jia you and drink more to see if it works? I dont have swollen feet yet but i do have restless legs at times at night which is quite irritating haha. Endure you are 1/2 way there!

Girl Girl, do you go to toilet often? If you drink lotsa water and pee them out often, it helps. I had water retention for a few days and my friend asked me to drink water regularly and pee regularly. Then my feet were better.

I also do prenatal massage.

Girlgirl I had swollen legs sin mid trimester, I always sleep with my legs up but still swollen. N I also drink a lot of water. So guess it's just pregnancy symptom. N also I don't like salty food as I prefer sweet stuffs.
Aft I had delivered on Fri, my legs was not swollen anymore n back to almost normal size.

Reikibaby they had collected n delivered it to me. I hadn't take yet cos still taking antibiotic n painkillers.

Whiteclover do u feel any pain or discomfort aft c section? Cos I still feel the pain whenever I get up from the bed.

Luv congrats! Happy moo moo.
Like to check for breast pump aft sterilizing it dl we need to air dry it before using? Cos aft sterilizing, there is water vapour in it. So must wait for it to dry or can pump and store milk in it?

Koirc> ya toilet breaks around every 2 hours.... somemore i no drink coffee or diruetic drinks...

sian leh...now my feet like &*^&...

Hope, I did pack breast pads. It did came in handy when I had engorgement. No harm packing, IMHO

Sade, try getting up by the side? Maybe less painful?

Girlgirl just bear with it. Buy a new pair of shoes to wear for comfort. Jia you. Hehe I understand how u feel but it will disappear aft u given birth. Enjoy ur pregnancy now.

Till date I still miss her movements in my tummy. Felt v empty now. Esp during the third trimester, I miss carrying those weight.

Kiki gal do u take any painkillers aft c section? Cos I m allergic to lot of painkillers. I had tried getting up from my side but the pain is still there. How many days do u feel better?

Sade, no need to dry. Otherwise exposed to germs in the air again. Can just assemble n use directly.

Even for natural delivery I found myself aching when I went off the painkillers. Think the epi wasn't done very well.

Hope, I brought the breast pads but din use in the end.

Luv but then there is vapor in it right? Cos I see the manual, it's mention to air dry it. So I m quite confused with it.

Sade, I din air dry. Just try to fling as much water out as possible and then use.

Btw, Sade, Luv, Whiteclover, I have this quite big a lump at the side of my breast. Is there any cause for concern? I do feel pain even when I dun touch it.

Sade,
Can u take panadol? Panadol will help ease the pain. I'm allergic to ponstan so I depended mostly on panadol or paracetamol.

Chevy, sounds like a blocked duct. Can get massage lady or lactation consultant to help unblock it. Better do it b4 infection sets in. Take care!

Sade, hmm... Guess up to individual pref then. I was told no need. N it makes sense that the vapour is clean after such high temp.

Eskimo baby allergic to panadol too.
Chevy ok noted. Think different ppl dif practice.
Some said to air dry.
Did u massage before pumping?

Sade - not so fast heal. I still feel achy and a bit of pain till today. But it is manageable pain. Take the painkillers prescribed if the pain gets to u. Don't take chicken,egg or seafood during recovery stage. R u wearing the binder?

Chevy, got to massage yr breasts.. Once u feel a lump, got to massage till it disappears.

Sade, Whiteclover, yes I do massage..... the lump is near armpit. I massage quite long leh.....still there
Will try again the next pump. hopefully will be gone soon!

Ooh scallops and abalone ok. Just gotta avoid the "du" type of seafood eg prawn, squid, crab.

For egg, if cooking omelette, only use egg white and not egg yolk. At least that's what my CL says. That's why I hv been eating only pork and fish for the entire week.

Btw, I stopped lactagreek and started on sacred tea. Results r promising.

Sade,
Does dr loh know abt ur allergy? If he knows he'll prescribe those painkillers that u r not allergic to.

Whiteclover,
Looks like the sacred tea is quite effective.

Chevy,
Sometimes must massage till u tear so that's why it's better to get massage lady or LC to do it for u. Maybe when u go visit ur bb can make appt to go see the LC nurse at kkh as well.

Whiteclover I wore the binder for 2days but don't find it useful.
Did u bath during confinement? Me really can't stand it n bath n wash hair using shower. The herbs din do any good for me. So sweaty every now n then.

Eskimobaby Ya he knows abt my allergy.

Sade: that the whole idea of Confinment. Sweat sweat. Sweat out all the feng n like full detox. even the food we eat is cook with lot of ginger, wine n vinegar. All these will make ur womb warm n u will sweat alot + no cold air heehee

Ladies thanks for the advice on the breast pad.
By the way, I'm getting sore throat. Any advice on remedies? Wondering if it's my body getting heaty....

Hope: lemon honey water. Or juehua tea is okie. Take more vit c n up your water intake. Gulp with saltwater in the morning help to kill the germ in our throat. These few days take light food. No fried n oily food n biscuit.

I wore the binder also for 2 days then stopped cos I got a blister. But I find that wearing the binder helps to relieve the pain.

Yes, I bathe, wash hair and sleep in aircon room. Cannot stand to be sweaty. Anyway, I tell myself (&mil) that a happy mommy would producemoremilk for baby. So my mil didn't nag me.

Hope, 2 things which I found useful - to bring lanolin cream and breast shells. In case baby don't latch too well and hurt yr nipples, need both these items to protect yr nipple.

Whiteclover: for ladies doing c section have to wait at least 2wks to start ur postnatal massage. U can call up ur massage lady they will advise u also.

Sade, I stopped painkillers aft I discharged from hospital as the pain was manageable. The only uncomfortable part for me is the backache ard the epi area cos of frequent bf. Aft taking the bu yao jin, it's now better. U gals are so lucky to be able to shower. My mum only let me wipe once on the first week and shower once on the 2-4 week. Now I get to shower everyday but not allowed to wash my hair that often.

Chevy, the LC in KKH need to make appt. You can call and book a time slot. Bring your pump along.

Sade - u asked abt lochia. Yesterday, I mentioned that it was minimal. But today, I am having a lot + cramping, like having period and this is my day 13.

Ladies - is this normal?

Whiteclover ok noted thks. Me starting massage 3weeks aft delivery. Think she's nt free so she scheduled me then.
I find it too sweaty to wear the binder.
Oh I had visited Dr Marianne for review n I asked her abt lochia. She told me depends on individual n mention that sometimes will stop for awhile n then lochia will return few day or weeks later. Maybe that's ur case?

Babysmurf I have not started to eat tonic yet. Will only start third week. Cant imagine how sweaty I will be then.

Kiki gal Ya me too. Bf is really hard work. Me also feel the backache now. Position is really imp for bf. But I still can't find the comfortable position yet. Looking forward to drink that huiji tonic. But will only start during week 3. Really peifu u to be able to stand it without bathing.

Babysmurf, can drink those jue hua tea from herbal shop? If can later I go and buy. I shall drown myself with water today! Hopefully will go away! Thx for your tips

Whiteclover, I haven't bought breast shell yet... Shall buy at the bb fair in feb. Has your milk supply kick in? I just ordered a pack of sacred tea as standby.

Hope, yes, I have been diligently pumping every 3 hrs. But am still supplementing with formula for night feeds. Direct latching occasionally. Wonder if have pampers promotion at the fair.

Whiteclover, that's good! Jia you!

I hope there is diaper sale coz intend to get some there. I can keep a lookout for you... Should be going on fri night. You are using pampers or a mixture of brands?

Hope, can drink the chrysanthemun tea. Been drinking occasionally when i feel heaty. Now can aldo start taking chinese barley.

Whiteclover, you mention breastshell to protect nipple... issit those shield kind where bb stil can latch while the nipple shield is still place on our nipple?

Whiteclover, like what Sade said, mine also come and go. Some confinement food like black vinegar pig trotter has the effect of cleansing thus may experience more lochia discharge.

Sade, try lying down to bf. It helps to relieve the strain in the back. Also lie down and rest whenever bb is sleeping. It helps

whiteclover / sade,
the binder does help to manage the pain esp when u need to turn or get up from bed... when u are a side sleeper like me, the binder will hold the wound in place... i think i wore it for abt 2 weeks even tho yes, it's quite hot to wear it

Hmmm....I din get any binder wo. Removed bandage on monday n wound seems ok.....

Ladies, does the area ard your wound seemd to be a bit numb? Cos mine does.....

Thanks hope. Now only using Pampers. Also help me see if got stroller toys. I need to get diapers and also pigeon white color wipes. Use very fast.

Kiki al, Sade, thks for the reassurance. Today got so much discharge like first day menses. Shocked me. Ysterday, I took pig trotters and also dangui and also did foot reflex.

Reikibaby, not the nipped shield. Got the medela shell. It it a circle with holes at the top that u cap on yr nipper and areola toprevent yr clothes from rubbing against it. Usually, apply the lanolin cream on nipple before u use the shell. They sell it at the tmc pharmacy too.

Chevy, mine not numb leh.

Whiteclover, oops! I hope it's not infection setting in leh.....from too much of chicken? Must monitor for pain n discharge liao

Maybe the foot reflex n pig trotters, made ur body purged out lochia. According to my mum, that's one of the effects from taking pig trotters vinegar.

Oh you mentioned u are pumping every 3hrs but supplement nite feeds with formula? Do u keep the milk that u have pumped in the night?

Babysmurf thanks. Will buy and drink today, hope will recover soon!

Whiteclover no worries. But remind me what to look out for Jen it's nearer? Hee.