(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

Thanks Sade. My dad bought royal gala apples for me, tml I take. Now too full of Starbucks coffee. Today got 1 for 1 offer. My sis went to queue for me and ordered decaf Christmas flavor for me.

Thanks Hope for the advice.
Also thanks white lover for the cordlife expenses breakdown. My colleague ask me go donate. I haven read it up yet.

Usagi an apple a day keep doc away. N I read that eating apples during pregnancy can prevent asthma for bb. So ladies start munching apples.
I had been eating apples but not everyday.

PSP, i think if you aren't so comfortable with the drilling and stuff, i agree that you can think about going shopping or walk walk outside or go to your parents' place to rest.

Usagi, hope you are feeling better! Get well soon!

Znastasha, safer to check with your gynae about the medication. Anti-histamines like zyrtec is not safe for preggie women. I switched to Puritol on dr's advice.

Ladies, i went for my 6 wk scan yesterday but was assessed to be 5 wk 5 days only, so couldn't see fetus..juz the gestational sac. Is that common? Was hoping to see baby but didn't..so quite disappointed.. will go for scan again next wk.. nurse says may be with dr loh, but sounds like he won't be back so soon right? So i may end up seeing a Dr Yong.. anyone heard of him?

PSP - I have had 2 episodes of water pipe bursting during this pregnancy and had workers hacking, drilling to fix the prob. But I left the house before they started and only came back after they stopped work.

Depends on your comfort level. Or maybe u may want to do the repair after week 20 after your detailed scan?

With a newborn in the house, it may be more troublesome to do the renovation then too(dust, noise).

Godislove, dont worry. Usually heartbeat is seen earliest at week 6... Some ladies only managed to see at week 8 scan. Also bb could be at week 5 day 5 due to late implantation. So this one not much an issue to worry. Are you scanning at TFC? Actually can request to scan at hi O&G clinic. ,uch cheaper.

HI Godislove, for my case I could only detect the heartbeat at week 8 and I'm abt 1 week behind the calculated date too. I think it's like what ReikiBaby mentioned due to late implantation. So don't worry.
Oh did the doctor gave you v-insert for support. I had that till week 12, it's good.
As for gynae, my gynae (different fr IVF doctor)charge quite cheap. usu slightly more than $100 for scan+consultation + vit+cal+DHA (fish oil)

Thanks ladies for your advice.

I have discussed with my hubby and decided to postpone the repairs. I think baby is more impt than anything else. Perhaps after birth, i might stay at my in law's house for few days for them to do the repair.

At least i can have a peace of mind now. The past few nights, i have been thinking about this.

Whiteclover: What is the purpose of the keeping the cord life?

Anyone knows abt kegel exercise? I went bk to e clinic and found out that I had prolapsed cervix due to weak pelvic muscles as a result of pregnancy... Doc pushed bk my cervix n I m on home/ bed rest till end of e week.....

PSP, the stemcells in the cord blood can be used to cure certain illnesses for the child or family. (Still a qu The debate is whether to donate to a public bank or to bank it privately. For public bank donation, when in need, u can still ask for it back provided it has not been given to other recipients.

whiteclover, for public bank, heard that if need to retreive back the same blood cord needs lot of money. I dont know how true it is. it's hearsay.
Btw how's your appt today? Still waiting for your turn?

Sade - I bought the pillow/bolster/blanket set when I bought the bb cot. But for 1st 1-2 months think they don't need pillow, can just sleep on folded cloth diaper. So I still need to get the waterproof sheet...

Joanne, I din buy cot, I bought playpen instead so no need the pillow/bolster/blanket set. btw will u be drinking coconut water?
N have u bought all bb stuffs? N also will u be storing the blood cord?
Maybe luv can advise on the waterproof sheet.

Sade -
my baby's too big. Chances of casearean is pretty high. I gotta cut down on my carbos and sugar. Also saw my tcm dr and she even said that big babies may have water in brain - has anyone heard abt this?

Was quite demoralised when I heard her say that.

Sade - I bought most items already except for car seat, stroller and carrier. I have a 2nd hand infant car seat and stroller from friends so will only buy another one after bbs are out. I also don't know how my maid is going to sit if I have 2 car seats

I have taken coconut water once few weeks ago and plan to take another 1 or 2 times since I only left max 3 weeks to go...

For cord blood, the public bank told me they don't accept donation from twins cos may not have enough. She even told me just focus to take good care of myself. Haha! Anyway I also don't plan to store the cord blood..

Whiteclover, you also high in glucose level right? Usualli baby will be bigger cos of it...well yah true it is our diet oso.
Now im worried mine will be too big...cos hard to ctrl diet.

Whats your baby weight now? Too big cos of length or weight?

Whiteclover din heard of that before. Better watch out your dietnow. U still have 7 weeks to go right? But then for c section then should be 5 weeks only.
I nv read before that big bb will have water in brains. So can't comment. Big head might have water in brains.
Don't blame yourself now.
What is your bb weight now? Been silently reading Jan 2013 mtb but nv see them mention abt water in brains.

Sade- it was my tcm dr who mentioned it. And she got me worried. She even said it will affect intelligence.

So I was super shocked earlier. Neither dr loh nor dr Marianne mentioned this to me before.

Whiteclover i also never hear before big baby has water in head. Most prob is big head baby? But i hv a fren who told me she was a big head baby... And she very smart lor. Dont worry abt this. I think you just need to watch carbo now. Dun take anymore bu, no-carbo diet, less sugar....im sure this can help to maintain the weight or little weight gain.

Joanne oh Ya twins n c section might not be able to store cord blood. Good that most of ur items are settled. What's abt herbs?
I plan to take coconut from week 36onwards. Once or twice per week.

Whiteclover oh I see. Some of Jan 2013 mtb bb are bigger size than yours n din see them mention abt water in brains. Maybe ur tcm doc wanna scare u? I am a big size bb nearly 4kg during birth. N my mum manage to give birth to me naturally.
So not necessary.
Btw is your next appt in 2 weeks time?

Hope - Alice called me today n my appt for tmr is still the same.

Sade, I'm actually was thinking of taking the shots since this might be my first and last pregnancy. Hubby sponsor so go ahead lor :D

Whiteclover, dun worry ur bb will be fine. U saw a different dr today right? Different dr have gauge of bb size. Perhaps can see what dr loh says when he's back?

Whiteclover, Dr Loh and Dr Marianne have seen ur ultrasound and if they didn't mention anything, shld be fine. Has your TCM doc seen the ultrasound?

sade, regarding waterproof sheets, I very chin chye one actually. Just got any available brand of the right size and used, hahah...

I also haven't gotten pillows or bolsters yet. Will wait till bb's older.

Reiki baby n whiteclover will be seeing dr Marianne. Dr loh is on mc n leave.

Kiki gal its also my first n last pregnancy bah. Even for normal photo taking now, my face looks so rounded, so not going for photoshoot. Hehe.

Still 3 weeks appt, hmmm don't know can use up the package or not. Hmmm I might want to request for 2 weeks appt.
As for the retrieval of cord blood on public bank, 2.5k seems ok. Cos what I heard is 5 digit figure. Let me check with the lady tmr as I m meeting her to sign donation consent form.

Sade, thanks! Then I think my appointment should stay the same too.

Whiteclover, don't worry too much. Perhaps try to control your diet and see what Dr Loh says at the next visit?

Reikibaby & Znatasha, thank you for your assurance! I feel less worried about it now.. Some of my friends also said the same thing.. so i guess i was worrying unnecessarily. Hehe..

Whiteclover, don't worry too much, ok? Coz if there were water in brain, shouldn't it have been detected in your regular scan? Just cut down on carbs and sugar as you said. Take care!

Hi sisters,

Can I check with with those who went through FET? Did u do the injection once your LH surge on the opk?

Cause now my opk shows that test line is darker than C line.

Whiteclover,
I've also not heard about it. The only thing I've heard is that big head can be a concern as it might be a symptom of accumulation of water. My baby's head is bigger than normal cos it went over the range but the sonographer didn't find anything unusual. My girl's head also big so I guess it's my genes cos the PD once measured my daughter's head followed by my head n said no wonder like mummy.

Luv: I saw somewhere in a book that new born dun need pillow or bolster . Is that true?

Whiteclover: dun worry since ur doc didn't say that . Continue to eat and rest well .

eskimobaby - your PD's cute.

thanks all. Will try not to worry. Sade - let me know after u speak to the public bank personnel. Am curious if there are additional costs that we need to be aware of.

My friends who are experienced mummies said no pillow or bolster n nothing in bb cot in the first few mths. Safety issues.

Tutu: oh I see .. Thanks

Babysmurf: I update doc on my condition. Doc said I shd keep to normal activities but cannot go shopping . I also did a normal ultrasound scan too to see the baby.

Whiteclover, For public bank, it's meant for donation. I don't think there is any hidden costs. Once donated, it's no longer belong to us.
Btw during my last visit to dr loh, I asked him abt donation of cord blood n he told me if c section then can't.
N also for donation of cord blood, it's quite strict. They will review our health and then if the cord blood is not enough to store for donation, then will use it for research purpose. Unlike private bank cord.

Tutu, good for u. I m also going but this evening to buy car seat. ;-) sure crowded. I dislike the parking as its overcrowded.