(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

kikigal - so u taking bp medication too? So sian right? Try to drink celery juice also, heard it helps to control bp. Also dont take too much saltish food.

Eskimobaby - doc said if i were to deliver early, i will be given steriod injection to mature the bbs' lungs. Think if can tahan till 3/1/13, they should be ok by then....anyway will double confirm with doc.

Sade: she said cos the placenta newly formed so when scan previously got blood clots in the uterus. Now blood clots cleared out n scan today showed my placenta close to my pelvis. And her package is cheaper compare to Kkh lol. $800 for package. Include monthly consult, ultrasound scan n vitamins. Till delivery.

Joanne,
Yes if there's risk of premature will have the injection to mature the lungs. Of cos there r other factors that doc have to consider before deciding whether its better off for baby to be in ur womb or out of it

Babysmurf, you must be relieved to finally know the reason for your spotting. Now you are better informed and know what to avoid. Take care!

Dian Tang, what about you? Did the doctor finally diagnose the reason for your spotting?

PSP, me too, I'm starting to think about confinement ladies. I think I will most probably go through agency. There are a few out there but perhaps will need to talk to a couple to choose one that we are comfortable with. My friend actually gave me a tel no of a confinement lady who is apparently good but my friend has not concrete info/reference for this lady. So it seems when hiring one privately, it all depends on word of mouth and heresay. Furthermore, I find it rather subjective whether a confinement lady is good or not as everyone has different standards/requirements. Quite a headache!

Sade: have not decide. But dh suggest to see both. Ks abit. Cos dr heng at east shore. She more daring in term of give medication. she planned to give me a stronger hormone pills n higher dosage if proluton. But location Too far for me. I staying in the west. Wait my baobei cannot wait to come out. Heehee

Lil Ponyo : oh my reason is still unknown . But I suspect that I may be walking too much bef the occurrence of bleeding . Going for the doc review this thur. Hope my baby and I will go thru this .

Dian Tang, you and your baby are fine. All the scans have shown that baby is doing well. So please don't worry unnecessarily. Just continue to take care and don't walk too much!

Bb shower drink more water and try to cool ur temp down.

Babysmurf oh I see. Ya it's too far from ur place. Maybe just choose one. Don't think it's necessary to see 2 gynae.

Eskimonbaby oh I see. No wonder u wen to Dr Wendy.

I'm at my 15th week now. Amazing journey so far. ZERO morning sickness, ZERO craving, ZERO everything lol
If not for my medical reports, I'd not realise I was with child LOL. I'm pretty energetic when I move about too and my job requires me to be on my feet 90% of the time.

Well from mid Jan 2013, I'm switching to TPS @ KKH cos I need the evening slots. I've been given a choice to see either Dr Natalie Chua or Dr Lee Jiah Min.

Anyone attached to them or used them before? Any feedback on them?

My EDD is 04/06/2013. Anyone with same & with KKH?

Take care

Lil Ponyo: Thanks
Very soon is your turn. Time really flies!

Sade: Thanks

EskimoBaby: Enjoy your holiday!

BbShower: Maybe you can try taking some honey to cool down your fever

Ladies: Need your advice on this.

My master bedroom wall was damaged due to the leakage (rain) and the management has decided to conduct the repair by grinding of the wall and add cement so that the problem will be solved. But currently im in my 12 weeks and superstitiously we are not supposed to drill or hammer the bedroom.

What should i do?

PSP that's a tough one. I also don't know how.
Ya definitely no unnecessary drilling or painting in master bedroom n for ur case if don't know it then your room will be seeping with water.
Or can u delay the repair till aft birth?

Sade: That is how i feel too. i was thinking to do it after birth cos i cant afford to take any risk. Tried so hard then conceive.

Not that bad until the room will be seeped with water but walls are damaged and in a very bad state.

Psp totally understand. Cos I ever heard from a mummy not to paste posters in the bedroom cos she did n her daughter has a birthmark on her face.
Not a good time that ur wall is in this state. Discuss with ur hb n see what to do with it.

Usagi, mayb you go see dr and get them to prescribe you preg safe med. or you go to those guardian/unity pharmacy....think they will be able to advise you.... Or alternatively, take oney lemon and lots of water. Take care.

PSP, oh dear, this is really a headache. Hopefully the wall can tahan till you deliver. Mayb you ask the older generation...if you move out of the house temporary, then dun bother and thik abt the. Repair work and after you move back, dun think and talk abt it? Possible? Cos i have gf she did renovation while she was preg. But she wasnt there when reno took place. Her boy was ok.
I guess you decide for yourself. If can wait, that will be better....

PSP, for us, it was not the bedroom but our living room and kitchen. Our aircon was leaking water and damaged our ceiling to the point that water was seeping through and causing holes in our ceiling. Although it wasn't our bedroom, I was still hesitant to get it fixed which includes cutting holes into the ceiling to fix the aircon and patching it up again. In the end, my husband who is westernized and not superstitious said there is no way we can live like this for 9 months so we went ahead with repair. I suppose it is personal choice and I try not to think about it so much.

PSP, do what you are comfortable with... Discuss with your hubby and go with your gut feel!

Sade, you mention that we need to feel 10 movements a day excluding burping. But how do we know bb is burping?

Thanks ladies for your advice.

According to the management, the repair will take about 3 to 4 hours. I tried to explain to my hubby that if possible we just wait after birth cos i dont want to take and dont dare to take the risk.

After trying for 3 years, then finally conceive, i dont mind to wait for another 7 months to get the wall repair.

He explained that strictly speaking we are not responsible for the initiating the repair so shldnt be a problem.

Hope for hiccups, u will feel a rhythmic beat continuously. Initially I also can't differentiate but slowly u will know it. Sometimes bb hiccups continuously up to 60 times per session. Maybe when bb is bigger than u can feel the difference between punches, kicks, hiccups etc.

PSP Ya looking forward. Still a lot of things not yet done. Hopefully bb can come out on edd.
Ya can understand bb is so precious now. Everything else can wait.

Paisay Paisay. Do u all wax or shave ur pubic hairs. Heehee. Or u all wait till delivery then let the nurse shave for u.

Babysmurf I trim only cos don't like the regrowth aft shaving. Nv wax before so not trying out during this stage. Don't wan to irritate my skin.

I went to see a GP for my rash and itch, cannot tahan. Guess what! the nurse gave me the wrong medicine, gave me cough syrup and ask me to drink 3 x a day! I realized that that's not what doctor prescribed. Then she apologized for her mistake. Can't imagine if it's elders and the medicine was not meant to be taken.

Anyway, doctor prescribed anti-histamine piriton (Chlorpheniramine)and calamine lotion, since prescribed by GP, should be ok to take? should I ask my gynae?

Znatasha calamine lotion is safe during pregnancy. It's a life saver for me during first trimester when I Kenna itchy skin.
The other one I m nt too sure. Maybe check online?
Why the nurse so blur!

Hi sade, yap i just checked online. It's safe though not much detail studies. On other hand those one- day dose type, like zyrtec, is not.

I think the nurse has taken too many of that medicine for patients before me, probably just thought it's another same medicine again, luckily I noticed the mistake.

Here's the pricing from cord life for reference:

21 years annual installment plan

Enrollment plus Sepax processing : *(usual: $1, 950plus gst)  

Annual storage fee from baby's 1st birth year onwards : $250+gst

10yrs prepayment plan plus installment

Enrollment, Sepax processing plus storage fee : *(usual: $4,200plus gst)

Annual storage fee from 11th year old onwards: $250+gst

21yrs prepayment plan

Enrollment, Sepax processing plus storage fee: *(usual: $6200plus gst)

Things to note: the above plans are all valid till child's 21yrs old.

Mode of payment:

1) Cheque
2) Credit card
3) OCBC or DBS credit card installment up to 24mths
4) CDA (baby bonus)

Joanne, thanks for the advise on celery. Will give it a try

PSP, to repair or not it's a personal choice. If it doesn't pose a safety issue on the building, I'm sure the management will be able to wait.

Went for my photoshoot yst. I looked so old
think hubby and furkids enjoyed the session more than me.

Whiteclover u storing cord blood?

Kiki gal, hehe thou of going for photoshoot too but felt my face too round n hair colour is half brown due to regrowth. Looks so awful now. That's y abandon the idea now.

Thanks, Reiki baby. My mum ask me dun see doc, ask me avoid taking too much medication. Maybe I will settle for honey as u suggested. Thanks.

Whiteclover oh I see. She also call me n told me she got my contacts from Dr loh clinic.

Usagi eat apple daily n drink more water. Rest well. Definitely no fried or unhealthy food now.

Usagi, usually they will indicate on the bottle. The manuka honey I had is unpasturised..Normal honey may not be.. Or maybe you can ask the sales person.