(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

Babysmurf, how often are your jabs? I got slight fever yesterday evening after I went to get my jab in the morning. Not sure if it is related. But am ok now.

Koirc, i love ASOS stuff! But have only bought the cottony dresses so far that can wear when both preggy and after. The maternity clothes look nice too! Can't wait to buy them after I grow bigger!

PSP, did you check with your clinic? I understand that cramping is quite common as long as no spotting. So you may want to monitor if there is spotting. If there is, then it may be advisable to go in to get a support jab.

Ladies, do you know if it is ok to eat half-boiled eggs when preggy? I have been eating them for several mths already but I just read online that it is not advisable to eat coz of salmonella poisoning? What do you think?

Usagi, wow, some major shopping u did there!

Godislove, now that you've BFPed, avoid raw or semi-cooked food as far as possible. Eggs must be hard boiled.

Luv, really? I actually didn't check out studio loft at the fair. Does FACE have a website? When will you be doing your photography?

Dian tang, thanks! I am very sure I will enjoy my holiday! :D

Godislove, how many weeks are you now? I only bought 2 maternity wear when I was about 4 mths. Only started buying more now and I try to buy those that are on sale.

Usagi, you really went on a shopping spree! Must be a shiok feeling! What stroller did you buy? I am still looking...

Koirc, their website is http://www.face-sg.com/
I guess I just felt that I need to be comfortable with the photographers and the company bah...

Will be taking my photos in Jan.

Btw, if you want to do ur shoot with Studio Loft, better call and book early. Think they're booked pretty fast and respond faster to phone calls.

Luv, thanks! I will eat hard boiled eggs from now on.. more difficult to swallow but better be on the safe side.

Koirc, I'm 6 wks on i think? So don't think my tummy is growing any bigger, think it is my original fats before pregnancy haha. Yes, the sales are pretty good and shopping on ASOS is quite addictive. Have a great babymoon!

Usagi, wow, that's a lot of stuff! But good to have them all settled and at discounted prices too!

Godislove: the doc can't find the real reason why the bleeding occur . I was given 25 days HL and have to jab twice a week and medicine . More than Half of time I am doing bed rest or siting ard the house . It is really boring but I just occupied myself with books and tv. How abt u? Hope ur spotting will stop .

Koirc,
I bought aprica karoon plus. Is Japan brand. Can from infant to 3 yrs old.
Ya, luvnhope, coz so far I only bought nappies. So today one shot settle all.
Godislove, now I 5 months plus, can buy le. Come third trimester, I will be busy with audit, no time shop. My co yr end is dec. worth it with taka cards, earn rebates pts to change vouchers n can redeem $3 car park.

Koirc, I signed up with studio loft during the last fair. They are quite full now. When I signed up, they only left 1 slot in dec. We choose them cos they allow our furkids to take the shots together
the session is 1 hr and can have total change of 3 outfits.

Usagi, wow you realli shop till shiok shiok!! which baby rocker did you get? Im looking at the one frm Fisher Price and Tiny Love. Not sure if its cheaper at taka sale.

ReikiB, I got the BrightStarts newborn-to-toddler rocker from the Parenthood fair, heheh... Was considering the FP one but realised that the backing is quite hard and non-breathable. But up to individual preference. Some mummies prefer a harder backing. Haven't seen the Tiny Love ones tho.

Whiteclover, you not considering IFC? Actually having a babysitter also have pros and cons. I have friends having headache with babysitters.

Some babysitters don't like feeding bm cos if they want to go out, they will find it very troublesome. Also, older generation will feed baby with water or give them pacifier when the feeding time not up. But if baby is on bm, it is not as feeling as fm so usually baby on bm needs to feed on demand, about 2-3hr per feed. And it is not advisable to feed plain water to baby before 6months but most babysitters will. Some will even consider dragging the feeding time.

Whereas in IFC, they have SOP, and usually will feed when baby is hungry. Somehow they are more educated.

But of cos not all babysitters are bad. There are some real good ones. They treat baby like their own baby and able to accept advices. So still alot of heng suay bah.

Luv, actually theres so many rockers in the market. Also duno what to look into when choosing one. Haha...so being abit shallow, will look for the atas and chio one, hahha,,,,

Usagi, wah.....u really the can leh! 1 shot bought so much stuffs! hahahahaaa...... I am seriously lacking behind liao!

hi, may I know how is the glucose test done for you? Is it just finger prick test? I'm doing it mid of this mth but it's only simple prick test not those more accurate blood test.

Hmm my edd keep changing... now end of march. Scan last week, baby head and abdomen show 5 days younger than previous scan but thigh bone (femur)grow at expected rate fr previous scan. Doc said ok. my baby should be a tall baby...
I kind of worry cos I've not been eating a lot and usu my lunch is bread or kway (my fav) rather than porridge or noodle. My appetite seems to get lesser. I'm now in the 6th mth but my SIL commented my tummy small and I seems to loose weight...

znatasha, we still stick to initial EDD. Future changes only reflect diff rate of growth as compared to that expected from initial EDD. Your bb still has time to grow so dun worry too much. I also have many pple commenting that my tummy is small but I think that it's actually normal size lor compared to those graphics on bb's growth that u get on websites like BabyCenter. Just shrug off those comments and focus on eating well.

For glucose test, I had to fast from midnight till the next morning. Took a vial of blood in the morning before drinking a bottle of sweet drink. Two hours later take another vial of blood for testing. I heard some other ladies do finger prick testing too.

Oh, for confinement lady, my friend recommended hers (she hired this sept) to me, asking for $2200. I already gave her a deposit, but not sure if she'll back-out since my edd is pushed back and heard she has accepted assignment in May.
At the same time, I've hired a maid (came already, though inexperience but very hardworking). My aunt said if my MIL can cook confinement food for me then actually don't need the CL. I feel pai-seh to "fly-kite"...

HI Luv, thanks for your advise, I just kind of worried if baby is healthy even though the doctor assured me.

Just realised having a baby is so so expensive esp for us... but it's just begining...

znatasha, worrying's not good for the bb too. Just focus on what we can control, and that is on what we eat and how much we rest.

It's only the beginning of the journey... Long road ahead for us to worry abt a multitude of things... LOL.

yap, I seems to be always worrying not just baby, my work (wanted to get back into workforce soon). I had fragmented sleep since week 10 and usu can only sleep for 2 -3 hrs at night. When I can't sleep, I'll start to worry for nothing again... I'm so scare I'll get into depression...

znatasha, i will be doing my glucose test end this mth n process is what luvnhope described. i understand ur worry cos even my mil asked dh why my tummy still so small. i put on 1.5kg and am into my 25th wk liao. as long as bb is growing fine, i reckon all is good

Chevy, thanks for the info. OK I think I'll just ignore what others said abt my tummy size. Maybe 1st pregnancy tummy will not be as big.

ZnAtasha: u all have done a gd job. Another few months u will be carrying ur baby in your arm. Jia you.

For me only starting I also have lot of worries.

Dian_tang: may I know what jab u r taking?

Godislove: I taking proluton jab once a wk.

Babysmurf, we shall all jia you together!

This is a good place to get advise, information and encouragement, glad that I joined.

Hi Reikibaby,

I bought Fisher Price. Ard dunno 150 or 159. Not alot of choices at Taka, I just picked the one I think ok. I think get the essentials first wont go too wrong. Not like getting toys, buy le might regret coz see a better toy. I remember seeing a shopping thread in this forum, they selling Fisher Price for $90. Not sure if is same model though.

Chevy, dun need compare la. No one is behind or infront. Just shop happily lor at your own pace. For me, different la. Hubby also busy with MBA, then i am going to be busy with audit. Might as well settle first. He is definitely not the type to keep going expo. So far, we nvr go expo before for BB fair. I didnt do much research on the stroller either. I am comfortable with aprica, so I just buy. Is expensive but quite light. Hence, I just buy. Come to think of it, it is more expensive than my cot bed that can convert to junior bed ($399), car seat ($399)etc. Hahaha.

Znatasha,

Be happy, your mood will affect BB. Work is not as impt as our precious BB. Maybe you can try to get a maternity pillow to put between your legs and sleep on left side. I sleep quite well with the pillow.

Babysmurf, don't worry so much. As long as the doctor scan and tell you the baby is fine then no need to worry unnecessarily. How long is your HL?

Lil ponyo: my next review on 11 dec. hL till 10dec lol. But call them everyday n squeeze in a dr review today. 1 wks after my discharge. But have traces of blood. Haizzzz

Hi Babysmurf, I'm just thinking in layman terms (but I may be wrong) that the old blood from the clot has to be cleansed by coming out somehow. So perhaps, from the bedrest, all the old blood is just stuck in there and cannot be expelled. Hence every time you move, they is spotting. Maybe just need to have the clot fully come out once and for all?

Do I make sense?

wow, whiteclover, ya, the price is good. Yesterday i saw at taka still 399. Hence, I bought medela Pump-in-style pack with breast pad + i think nipple cream if i am not wrong. Tonite i check again. They are delivering to my hse this noon.

whiteclover, glad that u finally bought the ameda pump at that special price too. On top of that, there is another 5% rebate on your bill.

Btw, u should open up and try the flange to see if its fit or not. and also to check for any defects.

Babysmurf : I am taking the same jab as urs , twice a week . My doc said as long as dun see red , it is ok. Maybe u want to call up the doc to ask . Did u manage to see a doc today?

Usagi: where do u get the maternity pillow?

Sade- which brand of bottles did u buy to fit ameda or any other accessories u get for it?

Wondering how milk bags work? Is it pump into bottle then bottle transfer to bags?

Whiteclover I viewed on YouTube and it's seems like their milk bag is good. But I alrdy bought lanisoh brand milk bags. Think I m a bit too ks.

I bought pigeon bottles way before I bought the pumps. Don't know can fit or not. Thanks for reminding me to check it out. Will check out n let u know.

Dian_tang: after yesterday Jab, much better left only small blood clots. Manage to see dr tan today. Baby grow slightly bigger. Extended my hL to 24dec. He said quite common for IVF Pts.

Babysmurf: at least u get assurance from Dr, hope u feel better now. Did the dr say how to clear blood clots and how
Blood clot come abt?

Luv, not fully ready yet. Still left with car seat n herbs n diapers. ;-)
Will buy car seat on this upcoming bb fair. N herbs end of month.
Lots of washing to do now. Getting more n more excited!

Dian_tang, I totally feel your pain. I am on 14 days HL now and have been occupying myself with tv, books, online games and sometimes a bit of work here and there.. yesterday i was so miserable to be home..felt like just going out shopping! but of coz cannot.. Spotting stopped alr, just feeling slightly bloated and hungry every 3 hrs or so. Very thirsty also, so keep going to the bathroom. Anyway, i read that spotting is quite common for pregnancies so stay positive ok?

Usagi, good to get your shopping done earlier and got rebates somemore!

Babysmurf, for the past 3 wks i've also had proluton jabs once a wk. Glad to hear that your baby is growing well! by the way, what is pts?

Godislove,
My stuff delivered today turned out they missed one item not scan n delivered. My pigeon sterilizer cum warmer set at $190 I think. Think I won't buy le, too bulky, and my mum says use traditional method to warm n sterilse will do. Are you gals also doing traditional way? Dilemma.