(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

Thanks luv n reiki bb. I cant take most food n hence not eating. So feeling really weak n lousy... Will try to eat today.

I started multivit yesterday - so hope it helps..

Sade, can I find out how you cook the black chicken soup? I only know how to cook with herbs, but think there are some herbs that cannot be taken in pregnancy so been avoiding..

Bb normally I would cook with 8 red dates and 5pcs of dang sheng with 1 skinless black chicken. Boil for 2hrs. I shared with hb. Must parboil the black chicken. Cos v oily. Been drinking it weekly sin 2nd trimester. dang sheng is a v good herb as it can help to bu our qi. Cos we need qi during childbirth. I tried Googling dang sheng and was amazed by the goodness of it. No wonder my ah ma told me dang sheng v good.
I told reiki baby the other recipe cos she don't like Porky smell.

Hope I prefer to drink homemade birdnest. I also did bought the hock hua 6bottles birdnest cos I find the birdnest in each bottle more than other brand. I only drink bottled type when I m busy. Act v easy to boil bird nest. Just soak it for half hour and then double boil it with pao sheng for 30-45mins. Add rock sugar during half way.

Kittykatty, good to hear that your scan went well!

Thanks, babysmurf, bb and precious baby, ya I checked with the nurse about my first scan and she said Dr Foong said anytime on week of 22 Oct. and since my DH is traveling, I booked the scan on 24Oct so that he can be there too. By then, it will be 3 weeks after my BT and in my Week 8.

Hope, yup, from EYS cos saw the discount too. Bought the normal rock sugar one cos I'm afraid I wouldn't like the less sugar type. I think I'll be taking one bottle weekly.

sade, I actually bought Hock Hwa's bird's nest b4 that. Does it have more bird's nest than EYS?

sade, do u know if there're different types of pao shen? Which type can we take?

Luv, for me I felt the hock hua bottle type is more concentrated.

I bought the wild type of pao sheng from hock hua too. The sales told me to buy better grade type. So I just listen to him lor. Those better grade type are in one whole piece and he will use machine to slice for us.

Ladies, how do i know when my ms is over? When the nausea n vomit is gone? Or when your appetite is back? Which comes 1st?

Whiteclover- i just googled dreamgenii pillow as i hv been looking for better sleeping solution. Hv u tried? Any gd??

Tutu, didn't get that. I got a mother care wedge that is inclined cos already had a body contour pillow. No space already on bed. But the dream genii looked amazing. But not cheap. It's abt $150 plus. 10% off if got mother care card or ocbc platinum.

Hi Sade, my sil also mentioned that cordyceps are good for baby's lung. While birdnest may cause baby to have phelgm. But how often do you take cordyceps and how do you 'mask' the taste? Can use pao sheng with it instead of dang sheng?

my tcm doctor mentioned that can only add tonic like pao sheng or cordyceps into chicken essence fr 6th mth on... Wonder if it's ok if I start to take ard 4+mths.

Znatasha, hmmm I m no expert n I din see tcm ever sin bfp.
So maybe its your body type hence the tcm suggested that to Add aft 6months.
Actually I love to drink cordyceps with loin pork and pao sheng. I don't find it Porky or any weird taste of cordyceps. I drank it once a week. Just 4pcs of cordyceps ea time.
One of my friend drank cordyceps from first trimester till end of 2nd trimester and she told me her bb seldom fall sick.
My aunt kept on saying that I look pale and weak hence keep on advising me to drink more tonics. So that bb can be strong.

Morning ladies

May I check with anyone experience this. I always find myself having urine leakage. Like wetting my underpants. Is this common. Arrgh.

Ladies, on the topic of birdnest, any tried the concentrated one? One teaspoon a day. 1 bottle can last 1 mth I thk.

Znatasha, guess it all depends on ur tcm dr and ur body type. I have been taking cordyceps pills since b4 my FET until now

Babysmurf, i reckon is bcos bb is resting/pressing near to our bladder hence the easier leakage. I do find my panties slightly wetter now. it cld also be due to watery discharge which i find myself having more of it.

Tutu,
For me it comes together, less nausea means more appetite.

Babysmurf,
I do leak urine esp when I vomit n sneeze but it seems better in 2nd trimester.

Something I learnt during first pregnancy. Sometimes we can't feel if we have finish emptying our bladder so lean forward a little when the urine stops flowing sometimes can have some more urine coming out. It's important to empty our bladder completely.

just wonder if any of your elders know how to treat "confinement wind". My friend just gave birth (c-sect) and she has had that since delivery. Can't sleep at night and feel numbness and cold on limbs. Her gynae did gave her sleeping pills but she don't want to take it.
Any traditional method/suggestions for treatment?

Thank ladies, I thought I got kidney problem or wet dream. hahaha.
Even I empty my badder. I have this issue lol. Sneeze, vomit n sometime got no idea somemore.

Babysmurf, me too! I read that we should pelvic floor exercise to strengthen pelvic muscle.

Btw, ladies, I just called the confinement lady whom my friend recommended. She is already booked! I am now on panic mode. Asking my other friends if they have anyone reliable to recommend. Die lah!

Oh so it is normal to have urine leak now . Made me do worried . I think I shd start the pelvis exercise that Sade mentioned .
Koirc: how soon we need to book confinement lady? Did u try the confinement agency ?

I also had urine leak once when I was retching unusually hard. Thank goodness only that one time *fingers crossed*. I wasn't sure what had happened initially. Was a bit worried after I realised it was urine leak, but figured it was better than having waterbag leak!!

Yup, sade is right. If can, try to strengthen the pelvic muscles. Will prevent such leaks and help in labour.

Im new to the forum. LuvNhope, you are here too..
Can i know how many months are u now?

Ladies, i would like to check if i should continue my Do and Dont's List?

psp, welcome!!

I'm 22 weeks along now.

Maybe you wanna share your dos and don'ts then we'll have a better idea what you're referring to? But generally yes, can continue the dos and don'ts that you followed during 2ww.

Hi Lil Ponyo, no need to pm you already... ha ha

I will take Immouncal in the morning with milo, take 4 pieces of brazil nuts, Dr Zou TCM, Folic Acid and chicken essence on alternate days..

Not taking any cold or raw stuffs.

psp, prob no need to eat brazil nuts liao in case too heaty. Unless u like the taste of the nuts then perhaps can take but reduce the portion?

Is there any milk and list that i have to follow?

Can eat Innards or not hah?

I am currently seeing Dr Sadhana but i guess she will transfer my file to other doctor. Any good gynae recommendation?

Psp: don't be notti no innards. hahaha
after ivf, she will still see her for 1 more time to close your IVF file before she transfer you to gynae.

Me still seeing Dr Tan HH at clinic D. But they very funi lol. When for my 1st scan n review with Dr Tan at clinicD, they consider as review case after IVF. My next appt also at clinic D with Dr Tan HH, will be consider as 1st visit as gynae lol.

when is your 1st scan.

Babysmurf, i also dont know. The nurse called this afternoon to inform me my beta level and then ask me to go down tomorrow to collect medicine. When she called me, i was shocked and keep asking her to repeat. Too happy to accept it but also very scared. Dont know if i can hold it for e next 9 months, cos the birth rate is not favourable.

No innards for how long? Can i take beef or lamb?

What shld i do in the meantime while waiting for my next scan?

psp, u can try taking the maternity milk if u can tahan the taste.

Babysmurf, google "kegel exercise" and you'll find explanation on how to do it. It's for strengthening pelvic muscles. Me not very diligent and haven't really been doing tho, hee...

Dian_tang, some people booked as soon as they know they're pregnant. Some waited till after 1st tri.

I prefer to use someone recommended at least it's tried and tested.

I'm going for my trial prenatal yoga class this Sun. Anyone keen to come along?

psp, that's quite a good reading liao!! Why do u say it's not high? Dun scare urself unnecessarily yeah?
KK's passing mark is 200 or 250 (can't remember liao) leh. You've passed with flying colours!