(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

was hospitalized for one day in KK a few days ago. vertigo and vomitted till dehydrated
I think it's due to my blocked ear but it maybe caused by food poisoning... Now getting more cautious of what I eat.

Znatasha no wonder din see u ar here for few days. Hope u r alright now. Yes have to be careful of what we eat now.

Thanks everyone. Just got home. Thank God baby scan was ok.

When I reached thomson, the A&E doc advised me to check at the gynae instead. As dr loh's away, they had to call up various dr to see who can see me. Fortunately, tlc dr Phyllis liauw was available. Was told to take things easy today and monitor this 24 hrs.

Ladies- must always wear seat belt no matter how short the distance. The first question dr liauw asked me was if I was wearing one.

Whiteclover, glad that you and baby are well. Take care.

Sade, thank you, am much better now.
Seeing my gynae this Sat, can see my bb. The KK doctor only monitor using their hand-held ultra sound machine, which wasn't very useful and can't see bb.

hi, I went to all the sales but still have no idea what I should buy. Any advise as to what are the necessary things to have in house when bb comes out? Breast pump ( medala? or avent?)-hand held manual type or pump type?
sterilizer (which brand?)

I'm planning of having one kid only (due to age) then would it be a waste to buy brand new?

Wonder if I should buy the low-end type?

What do you all suggest?

Hi znatahsa, maybe u can drop by to kiddy palace counter, they have a new born 0-6months to buy list.

It's depends on your budget on buying high or low end products.

I also have no idea what to buy initially but then as time passes by u will know what to buy. Maybe it's still early so that's y still lost.

For sterilizer, I m getting pigeon brand, ameda for breast pump. Get a dual pump to save time.

If u have no hand me downs items, then there will be a lot of stuffs to buy.

Look for our file done by whiteclover, there is a list to buy.

whiteclover,
glad to hear that u and bb are ok... take it easy for the next few days.

znatasha,
take more fluids like soup and juices to keep yourself hydrated.

there's checklist on things to buy. i used to have that checklist must go and dig it out. shouldn't buy the electronic items so early as there's warranty issues. usually shopping can be done late 2nd trimester to 3rd trimester.

Whiteclover: Glad that you and baby are fine. Take care, ya.

ReikiBaby: Wah. Cannot scratch? Too late liao...I am happily scratching this few days cos really cannot tahan the itch. And have rashes too. I so kiasu quickly get the Clarins Cream that Sade & BB Shower recommended. Luckily, today the itch has reduced.

Usagi: Same. Mine have red rashes too. You can try the Clarins Cream. Think is quite good. Better don't use so much steroid cream.

Whiteclover, was the impact of the accident strong? Good to know that you and baby are fine! rest well now!

znatasha, hope u're feeling better now too!

Whiteclover, good to know you're ok. Please take care!

I've been having stuffed nose and I read somewhere that stuffed nose is common in 2nd tri. Anyone has the same experience?

Thanks. Just woke up.

Znatasha - do take more fluids. Porridge water is good. Can check out the big ticket items (stroller, carseat, pump, sterilizer, cot) at the fair first. Some items can buy early if price is ok as warranty starts from birth or purchase date depending on which is later. Can check with the SAs before buying.

Koirc - can try this nasal spray Sterimar. It is safe for pregnancy as it is isotonic, non medicated.

There is another sale coming up oct 17
Robinsons cardholder sale: 20%

Receive an Exclusive voucher of $30 with minimum $180 charged to OCBC credit card (Limited to one redemption per customer in a single transaction.

Thank you sade and eskimobaby and whiteclover for the suggestions and the link
Thank you ladies for your concern, me feeliing alright now

Afternoon ladies! Yup. Starts today.
Hope r u going?

White clover if u r going, then don't over stretched yourself. Cos u still have to take it easy for these few days.

Thanks sade. HB don't allow me to go today. But will prob go over first thing in the morning. (Hopefully before it gets crowded).

Not that I am buying diapers. But I heard last year the pampers diaper sold out on first day.

Whiteclover, thanks. I am going to see GP later cos now my throat hurts!

Ladies, I was planning to go Babyfair today since it's Friday should be less crowded right? But I just woke up! And now need to go see doctor. Sigh! Think I will go on Sunday instead and pick up all the leftovers.

Sade, I am going today in the afternoon. Go see see look look coz not sure what to buy too haha. Hope they have the stroller I want though!

Koirc, anything u have in mind to get?

Hmmm Maybe I drop by aft work cos I m staying at east side.
Whiteclover Your hubby dotes on u n bb so that y u can't go.
Whiteclover Maybe u want to buy bb girl clothing at the spree forum? I Just bought some from Carter under maiom spree. Cheaper than buying in sg.

Wen to metro sales yesterday at seng kang. Nothing much to buy. Looking forward to Robinson sales.

Koirc, take care. Went GP on wed evening. The GP refuse to gv me med cos i was preg. End up asking me go to kkh.
Btw what you plan to get from the fair? Im clueless and still dare not buy any. When is your detailed scan?

Whiteclover, take care. Read that buying from Baby kingdom n the hypermart is about same pricing as baby fairs. So better rest well now. Can always chk out the fair when you are better.

Ladies Just came back from bb fair. Hmmm I only bought some clothes n socks. Nothing much at bb fair.

Not much baby cot. No pigeon, no combi. There is medela Booth, avent Booth, tomme tippee Booth, some strollers such as Capella, maxi, pre prego, quinny. Some Booth selling cheap bb clothes.

Hope, I don't have anything in mind to buy. Just wanted to go see see look look. So is it worth going?

Btw, ladies, I only feel my belly is tight at night. I feel it is smaller when I wake up in the morning. Ok, am I being paranoid again? :S

Koirc, dun worry, it's normal. Happens to me too.
Think at night tummy is bigger and tighter cos of the undigested food. After a night of digestion tummy back to actual size.

Koirc dun worry its also the same for me
morning tummy smaller n night very tight n ve to walk rather slow too n bigger at nite too.

Koirc, hmm depends if you want to get things like steriliser, bb clothes, strollers? Saw a lot of people carrying Avent things though.... I didn't stop by coz I'm not buying anything.
Me also tummy smaller in the morn then bigger at night ESP after meal! So i think it's normal

Luv, np! But may go tml morn instead. Anything in particular u want me to check?

Me too till now also. When I wake up in the morning, my tummy looks so small. But at night it gets bigger n tighter.

Hmmm, personally if u like shopping then can go bb fair n look look see see. But I felt kiddy palace is good enough to shop unless u have items in mind to buy at fair. Cos its v crowded.

Hope, can check if Avent has discount? And maybe car seats?

Think I'll go see see look look at Baby Market this afternoon. Aim to go to the Cordlife booth and check out the photography packages at least.

Luv there is an avent Booth there. N then some items are sold out last night. Guess good disc for avent.

Thanks sade! I'm wondering if i shld change brand for the pump. You decided on Ameda (or was it Medela)? Mind sharing why?

Luv, few frds using Medela PISA. But rather ex. Read from forums, some prefer manual pump. Is manual pump difficult to use? Totally clueless.

Reiki, manual pumping is not difficult but it'll be tiring on ur hands to have to keep squeezing the pump. Consider getting an electric one esp if u're going to pump in office. Manual one can get as standby if u want. Avent ISIS Uno comes with both manual and electric option.

Luv yup should be decided on ameda cos its cheaper than Medela. My friend recommended me this cos she had been using it for 2 full years n its portable n not so noisy.

Luv, I was meeting frens at Taka and had a quick look... Think there are sale on car seats and Avent if u have Taka card. Certain items have discount even if u don't have Taka card. I will go tml with hubby to take a look and buy some things.

Sade, i see. Yeah, i hear that Ameda is much cheaper than Medela. The Youtube "tutorial" on Ameda also makes it seem quite easy to use.

Hope, I went down to Taka after Baby Market. (Baby Market really nothing much. I only signed up for Cordlife there.) Taka's car seats are rather limited so I din really look closely.

I did end up getting Avent dual pump. Was still considering Ameda but remembered the price wrongly and thought not much diff b/n Ameda price and the promo price for the Avent dual. Come back then realise seems like Ameda is cheaper by $100 than I thought. Ah well... at least I'm familiar with Avent. I shall take it that I saved a couple of hundred bucks cos original price was abt $300+ more ex!

Reiki, yeah, usually quite a huge diff. Manual pumps can get at less than hundred bucks. Electric minimally over $200 for single pump i think?