(2013) ivf/icsi mummies Support group

Precious baby - u tahan first. Rest at home also can do shopping with fingertips. Online also a lotta of things to buy and can keep yrself occupied.

Precious baby: u Tehan another 3wks. Urs cannot wait to come out. What ur baby weight now. Eat more beef, milk n durian boost ur baby weight up. I better start my engine first. My baby 1kg at 25wks Liao. Another 4 wks to see dr tan again lol. Tell ur baby wait till may to enjoy the govt grants. I have been telling her guai guai stay till may don't so early. Mummy have buy her stuffs heehee

Mofmm: haven't get any stuffs for her except the carseat n 1sets of clothes. Now looking for her playpen to sleep in. Do we use baby detergent to wash their stuffs or just the normal detergent can Liao.

Babysmurf: it is better to get baby detergent

Yes, it was labour contradictions indeed! Hehe delivered a healthy baby boy on Fri noon - he was 2 weeks early!
Anyway when I got chked in e observation room, I was 3cm dilated already.

Congrats Ain! :)

Babysmurf, recommend buy Tollyjoy brand. Your cousin at expo maybe can help u buy 2pkts of their baby laundry detergent at $16(lots of pp buy). It won some award as best baby laundry detergent. Also heard must wash bb clothes separately as our normal detergent like dynamo is too harsh and irritate baby's skin.

Hehe, seems you will have more fun times ahead buying the rest of the stuff. I intend to get the pigeon stuff like earbuds n sterilizer at Taka fair.

Hi Preciousbaby, do take care of yourself and baby. You might want to do online shopping as in research what you want to hit and then have DH or family member buy for you and bring to you. Not the same as gai gai but the thrill of acquiring stuff will be there. Must boost baby weight up as best as you can with lots of protein.

Babysmurf, my last scan on wk 24, bb weight 700gm. Now hb keep stuffing me with food, trying to boost up the bb weight.

Thank ladies for ur concern

congrats ain! rest well!

precious baby do have bed rest sin instructed by Dr loh. it's really important n bed rest can really help. don't over exert yourself.
like what Whiteclover had said do online shopping.

ain,
congrats!!!

hope,
how are u? still spotting?

precious baby,
do get lots of bed rest and let your fingers do the walking ok
keep talking to your baby

Ain, congratulations! Welcome to motherhood. Enjoy your confinement!

Precious baby, take care and have a good good rest! Ya, stick to Internet shopping for now! Also there will be more fairs coming! Just 3 more weeks!

I've constant mensus-like tummy pain since yesterday wonder if it's a sign of labour. Only see a tiny faint brownish stain on my pantyliner.
I just saw my doctor on Sat but BB position not engaged yet and only 36weeks and baby fr scan is only 2.4k and ard GA 34 to 35 weeks.
Wonder if it's caused by too much cold drink (coke) and a big coconut since Sat.

Eskimobaby, no more spotting now. Seeing dr Loh tml so will see why he says. How are you coping with confinement and bf? Everything ok?

Zantasha, Do you still have pain or the brownish spotting? Hmm if you are worried just call your gynae and ask him? The last time I didn't feel any pain but turns out there's mild contraction.

Morning mummies!....

went buying bb stuff at isetan fair (avent/pigeon 20% off) over the weekend after prenatal class and on sunday. Sigh the snoopy rompers at Fox too cute lar....

now left lugging over clothes from my mum and check out diapers. Like some mummy frens say, dun buy too much NB size, coz S size already cater for 3kg-5kg...

Znatasha - I think u shd alert your doctor just in case.

Same happened to me when I took coconut. The cramping was so bad that I thot I was gonna deliver that day. My tcm doctor said not everyone can take coconut. I am considered the "liang" cooling type, so coconut shd not take.

Znatasha,
Should let ur gynae know cos just in case if u r going into labour, ur gynae can take precautions like give u jab to mature baby lungs or try to give u additional support that u can tahan till 37 wks.

Hope,
I'm doing ok. Bm still not enuff for bb so now giving half bm n half fm. Getting a little heaty from all the confinement food liao.

Girlgirl,
I give half bm half fm... Like he's taking 60ml in total so i give him 30ml bm n 30ml fm. Even if latch he's still not full so have to supplement... Dunno when my supply can catch up...

Luv, really ah??? I rem u mentioned u had this poking feeling? I had that now and then but not frequent. I did tell dr Loh at last scan but he didn't say anything.

Hi GirlGirl, aiyah I Didn't know Isetan had sale leh else would have gone n stocked up on more clothes from Petite Bateau.
Sounds like you are 90% ready!

While my in laws try to be helpful, I can't help be appalled by all the potential conflicts I may face. Already they insist I carry the babies home in my arms and not the car seats tho I told them about law n safety. Then they come up with funny ideas like they want me to leave babies with them mon to Fri, only bring back on weekends!!! When I objected they ask for 2 days a week leave with them. All sorts of funny ideas and my MIL never even take care of kids before. I told her is tough babies cry a lot n she tell me she will beat them if they cry until they stop crying. Was so shocked - who heard if grannies beating babies! If tell me my kids naughty need to discipline is one thing but beating a baby for crying is ridiculous.

Even better, keep telling me not to buy anything for babies as may have hand me downs or gifts from cousins. Waited n nothing so last 2 weeks been defiantly buying up a storm.

Ugh, just needed to vent. I get along fantastically with my in laws since marriage zero quarrels but now I sense the winds of change coming.

Eskimobaby, jia you yah! I'm sure u can do it! Did you drink water? Heard not suppose to drink water during confinement?

Can I ask you something? You did FET right? During the 2WW, did u go bk for the progesterone blood test? Asking on behalf of a Fren coz the nurse never ask her to... Only schedule preg BT.

MofMM> petite Bateau, expensive leh....i dare not buy after seeing the price +_+|||...i only got buy fox baby (got 1 outlet at near my hse)...coz got offer.... the rest is all chap palang...at home let baobei wear normal clothes coz i scared very hot (especially with the studio apt construction near my hse....)....

ok lar...where got 90%... heehee...haven't wash clothes hor... i dunnoe why baobei like a lot of things :p ...hubby say next time can inherit all his snoopy soft toys *pengz*

*pat pat*..dun be angry lar... my guess is that yr inlaws scared u too tired with BBs...but try to talk nicely to them that u want to take care of them as much as you can...

Mofmm: Ha ha, there there, just take things as they come and deal with them one by one. Slowly your in-laws, you and DH will adjust to the change. As for me, I'm thankful that my in-laws live in a different country. Only need to deal with my mum. But I can also forsee an adjustment period for her and us because I used to spend a lot of time with her. You are right about the car seat, you need it! Actually, my mum also asked me about it yesterday and I told her that it is the law!

Yesterday, I went to check out the top floor of Paragon. Wah, for girls LOTS of cute stuff to buy but not much leh for boys! Didn't buy anything as it was only a scouting trip since this is my first time going into kids stores. Hopefully the mothercare fair this weekend will be good!

Mofmm - luckily u r not staying with yr ILs.

Mine also became super kan cheong abt my baby and that adds to a lot of stress on me. I also insisted that baby has to use carseat though my mil says no need.

More to come lah...just stand firm on issues that u feel strongly about. Once u compromise, difficult to retract in the future. Am shocked abt the besting of babies statement.... It shows how outdated they r in taking care of babies.

In laws are indeed headache. My mil will tell me what she tinks i shld do, eat etc. And will keep repeating. But i usuali smile it off and when buay tahan, will tell her nicely no need or dun like or dun have. Haha then will tell dh if next time she repeats again please do the talking. I guess somehw my mil knows im stubborn and goes my way so she only can say but wont insist cos wont do means wont do. And luckily i have a fil who will always be very neutral to ask tell her the young pple will know what to do. Lolz.
Many older generation dun see a need for carseat but for bb safety i insisted. Told dh that i will not compromise bb safety by removing car seat just to accomodate one more person in the car in future. Perhaps i was very firm since beginning of marriage so in laws oso somehw know they cant hv their way as they like. Haha.....imagine nxt time i get such dil...haha i sure suffer. Lolz

Oh no, is it a law to have baby in baby carseat? What happen if there's adult to carry the baby.
I didn't know of the law cos i see my cousins just carry their baby in car, and i just got a child car seat yesterday in expo using the cordlife voucher

Congrats, Ain!

Wow, looks like most MTBs went to the bb fair over the weekend to stock up stuff. I only bought diapers and some pigeon products like the laundry detergent and softener. It was so crowded when I went on Friday afternoon and parking was such a headache! I saw a lot of people queuing to buy Aden & Anais swaddles. Is it good? I bought muslins already so I didn't bother to queue for that. Wanted to shop for stroller and car seat but I got overwhelmed by the different types again and end up not getting anything. Will go and see during Taka fair. Anyone knows when it is?

Reikibaby, your baby is big compared to mine. My baby is only 3kg now. Are you going for weekly scan now? My next appt is this Friday.

Usagi, I did not. I transfer back to my gynae at Mt. E so I won't be delivering at SGH.

Koirc> i saw Mother & baby mag that taka fair on 6-24 March at the basement atrium there. For stroller and car seat, do set a budget and try to research online, if not u will be overwhelmed...

i bought stroller (Capella S705 4-wheeler) at $300+. Some strollers can cost up to $1K but there are some which ranges at $200++. Car seat wise, cannot really say much coz we dun drive...hehe...

Lil: no car is okie. Strap your baby to yourself in a carrier or sling when taking public transport.

Znatasha: if u own a car, is by law that ur child have to be in carseat.

Ladies: be ware of mil, my mil help take of my nephew, every time from birth, he cry, she carried him out in hand in a car. Until now abt 14mths don't like/ used to sitting in carseat. Is very dangerous. Cos ebrake or anything. They got no protection will fly out of the car.

Koirc, yah baby is eating whatever i put into my mouth. Dr did a 3d scan for me and bb looks chubby. Lolz.
Im seeing dr nxt fri. Guess he feels not a need to see me weekly. Haha probably he oso tinks i might just pop beforr i see him? Did your baby put on weight frm last scan? 3kg is good. At least no need worry cant push.

For stroller, guess you can decide if you wan it to be dual facinv. Means baby can face you or face out. Cos we need a carseat so i got a stroller that can also fit the carseat. Then can just move baby from car to stroller w/o waking baby up.

Lil, if just taking taxi, no need carseat cos it will be a chore carrying the carseat ard. Unless the carseat can fit onto you stroller. But usualli ppld dun get car seat just for taxi. Save the money for other stuffs bah.

Babysmurf, very dangerous. I know of a baby who knock his head in the window while mum carrying him in the car. Told dh we will let bb be in the carseat once discharged frm hospital so that baby will get used to being in carseat the moment in car. They must associate carseat with car. Unless need to latch on bb while in car...

babysmurf> ya...i bought babybjorn carrier also. take bus or wat easier...hehe..coz some places having stroller or pram not very convenient especially narrow/single lane escalator.

i bought graco playpen (the stages element) at the First Few Years at Paragon Level 5. cost me $299 i think. But very easy to set up lar. Quite stable also.

Reikibaby> hahaha...BB chubby face ah...lolxxx ya... some strollers can only face one side. Mine can switch over, and some strollers come with the travel/car seat unit like wat u mentioned.

Babysmurf, I bought my combi stroller at Taka sale coz they have 10% off combi products plus additional 10% off if you are a Taka card member. Best deal that I came across for Combi so far. Not sure if the coming Taka baby fair will have additional 10% discount for card members.

Girl, thanks. I still have time to check out Taka fair I think...

Babysmurf, I saw Graco playpen at Isetan the other time going at $138 or $158 (can't remember). You may want to check it out or there's always the upcoming Taka fair.

Reikibaby, which brand stroller did you get? I am also looking for one that can fit carseat. I want to do 3D scan too but I don't think my gynae's clinic does that leh! :S Do you think I can just go to any clinic to do the 3D scan?

Koirc, i think shldnt be an issue right? Haha you paying for it mah. Or ask ur gynae to recommend where can go.. lolz.
I got Quinny zapp extra and carseat is maxi cosi. But the down side of this stroller is that you cant keep it with one hand carrying baby. So unless you drive ard or take mrt. Else not convenient for taxi n bus if travel alone. And the car seat is baby carseat means sit till abt one year old only. Cos i prefers bb to sit rear facing in car as their neck is not strong enuf to support the brake impact if front facing.
But i like the design and that the stroller allows the toddler to sit up right or lie down and sleep in dual facing. And also the baby carseat can directly fit onto the stroller frame.