(2013/11) November 2013

*peek*

Hello!! i just came back from shopping.. has been a pretty rough week at work. hence decided to do some retail therapy. went to Mothercare at Paragon. they having 15% storewide for those multi-pack rompers. for other loose items, buy 2 at 20%, 3 items at 30%.

Re: ASOS
I bought some recently.. i m a UK size 10 but i can't fit into size 10 leh.. too big for me..

Jasline, so it warms up very fast? shit now i m so tempted to buy.

I am feeling so chuan now.. haizzz..

same here. my warmer is pigeon brand. really takes some time to warm up. I'm still using it to warm up chicken essence every morning! hahaha

littleprince, i don't want the parcels to be sent to office as colleagues will start to kpo and ask "what did you buy??" etc.

asos clothes, i buy my usual pre-preg size as well and i can wear them now. there's allowance still, for the tummy to grow bigger.

so currently pumpkin patch, mothercare, isetan have good baby buys? oh no.. making me feel like gg to do some retail therapy to reward myself for a busy week also! >.<

xuan :

Thankzz! Shall check them out ..

I like the fans you bought!!! Hiakzz .. Have you tried them out? Quality okie? Which seller, you remember?

furzz: quality ok but i havent put in the battery to try it out yet. dunno if the wind from the fan is strong anot. i've attached the seller's link with the photo. =)

Xuan, yes i want to check out Pumpkin Patch too. they have pretty gd stuff. but i find the material not as gd as Mothercare.

Min, glad ur scan is gd! ya i dun think u need to worry too much abt the bb's measurements. cannot be every baby fits the measurement nicely.. some will be bigger, some will be smaller. poor u, still puking.. really tiring man.. when do u have to jab until? ur butt must be really sore now.

Snake_bb, u sound overwhelmed.. do take care ok? rem to stay positive for ur boy.

Little Prince, u bought so many things from ASOS! are u planning to have more kids?

Re: type of button/ tie shirts
Just get short sleeves. easier for u to layer the baby like swaddling them if it is too cold. if u slp in aircon then u might want to get a few long sleeves to let them slp in but i find swaddling will keep them warm enough.

Re: sale
Isetan's bb fair is on. and they have the steriliser set with steriliser, 2 bottles, brush, milk dispenser, warmer and Moo Moo Cow training pants for $199. Ergo baby carrier at $229, Bright Start Bouncer at $69.

linxiaober, you wear a size 12?

winnie, i am a size 8 but wearing a size 10. it is a little loose but still ok and with allowance for 3rd tri. i prefer this coz when i had #1, i could not fit into most of my clothes by 3rd tri. but there again, different people different fitting. for those who has not ordered before, maybe order 1 or 2 pieces to try first.

bless, i can't fit into my normal clothes since 1st tri and i do need sufficient working clothes so have to buy lor (justifiable hor?)

kayliz, for those beyond knee length clothings, i sent for alteration. i just bought #10 this morning! i love #1 most!

Third3timemum,
Wah!! Tats alot of links u have shared. Thanks for sharing =)

Lit_prince,
Oh yes! The super baby food book was a popular book back then! I have 1 of it too. Haha. 

2jmum,
Ya. Just clarify on next visit and see wat he says. Dun worry so much 1st ok =)
I didnt buy much for my #3. Gals always alot of things to buy. I am one of those tat shops alot. My gal is only 2 but i have stocked clothes till 4y for her and she has 5.5ikea storage containers of new clothes. Somemore she small size so all her clothes are of long mileage. No chance to clear the new clothes. My #1 has 2 containers of new clothes =X cant resist when i see nice clothes. Nw i am learning to control myself.

Hikaru,
Welcome to the thread =)
I have a mix of long and short sleeves but mostly short sleeves. Both my kids dun really like to be swaddled much. I always find 1 arm or both arms sticking out aft the 1st mth. At hm will wear short sleeves coz i do nt on aircon. 

SN,
Have fun opening up the cartons =) i hate it whenever i miss vpost or reg mail delivery. The wait at post office to retrieve items is a long wait.

oh still got bugis sales hor.. thanks Jasline for reminding! hope i can get hub's lazy bum out of the hse this weekend. hehehe...

counting down to 6pm now. busy for the past few days, now just lazy since i've met my deadline liao. =x

Jasline: haha.. i only thought of that recently when my gal was on milk strike and i took out the warmer to use again. then i realize the chic essence bottles fit nicely!

little prince, hahaha.... 13 items! u surely enjoy shopping at ASOS.

Looks like many bb sales going on... good for the weekend!!

enjoy bb shopping this weekend mummies!

Mummies, I saw the discontinued avent warmer at Mustafa and it is $126.. Didn't want to buy at 1st coz the box looks opened before and resealed with lots of scotch tape. Only 1 left. But later on read the box abt the fast warming time, &amp; can select whether u r warming FBM, Chilled bm or room temp &amp; also the amt of milk u r heating. So I opened the box to check condition &amp; bought it anyway. There's 2 yr warranty but since it's discontinued, I wonder if got any use or not.

Kayliz, a milk bottle warmer is really not required. I used my avent warmer for one week and realized using the traditional way of warming milk is sufficient. The warmer is sitting in the storeroom now ;p
You can just pour hot water into a steel container and can heat up liao.

Hi pls add me

EDD: 02 Nov 2013
Hospital: TMC
Gynae : Dr Adelina Wong
3rd time Mum

Question on Medela service Ctr :
I understand some of you brought your existing set to the service Ctr for review.
Does the checking at the ctr take the whole day?
Will you get back the set immediately if there is no problem?
Do you ve to bring everything there like the tubing n bottle?
I will Prob bring the motor, battery pack n the charger there- do you think it's sufficient?

Hope it's not crowded as it is very far for me and likely to take leave for the trip.

smiley74, I went on a Sat morning and didn't need to queue, and there were only 1 to 2 customers throughout my stay there. checking was pretty quick, i left in less than an hour and you can walk around their showroom (Mums &amp; Babe shop is there too) while waiting. i saw everyone bringing their pump home after checking and depending if you know what is wrong with your pump, you can decide if you only need to bring motor or everything (if your set is new, then tubing and bottles not necessary). you only bring everything if you are intending to buy spare parts to change? hope this helps!

Hello mommies! had a good weekend? Did u guys do more shopping? Can't wait for Wed to come cos i will be taking half day to go shopping at the Taka Fair.

Little Prince, thanks for telling us what to bring. I always thought just bring the motor will do. Why need to bring spare parts if u are changing? they will give discount? wahahaha.. i just bought my tubings cos Mums &amp; Babes was having sale (but end up spare parts got no discount).

Kayliz, SN, i got a almost BN Avent Warmer over the wkend too. this mom bought it but nv use and was selling at $50 so just grab.. seems pretty gd man.. haha.. at first my hb was a bit hesitant cos he is very used to the traditional way of warming up the milk (using hot water) but we have timed it before to be abt 5 mins with 2 changes of hot water. hopefully this will reduce the time for us.

fuzzybear, in case don't know how to tell them the name of the parts you want to change? :p if you know, then i think its ok not to bring la. eh, M &amp; B was having 20% sale when i was there and i think it includes parts leh. but since you have bought yours then its ok la.

what are the good deals to look out for at Taka Fair? i will probably drop by on Fri night.

Mothercare sale ends this Sunday, for those who wanted to buy stuffs there.

Hahah yeah i know what to change. i probably need to change connectors too for my Personal Fit shields. cos the milk has a habit of getting stuck in there and there's no way a brush can get there. Always have to use toothpick.. very annoying.

Actually I only wanna grab the bottle exchange and also check out car seats. I need a car seat for the bb as my #2 is too young to be upgraded to booster. dunno how to squeeze more carseats into my car man..

Bibi: i tried to use hot water in mug method before, but i heard cannot use water that is too hot? And if it is chilled BM we gotta keep changing the hot water inside.
Thus all along i used my Pigeon warmer coz it heats up BM at a consistent temp of 40 deg..
But Pigeon takes too long to warm up, and i have to keep checking, so i decided to get a new one..

Fuzzybear: good deal u got! Its 50% less than the retail price!

I also took out my pump to check.. my tubings also got mouldy. So disgusting! Lol..

speaking abt car seats, my car has 1 for my #1. normally i will sit at the back with her if hubby drives. My MIL, although they have their own car, always refuse to drive theirs when we are going out together. So one will sit in front while MIL will squeeze with me at the back with the carseat and me. Super no space la! so nw want to quickly install another car seat behind!

my #1 can switch to booster seat, but is there any diff between the ones without backing (a stool like thing) and those that looks like a chair?

kayliz, the one without backing is for 22-36kg. There's another type that advertise 9-36kg. Basically that is a high back booster (looks like a chair). For 9-18kg, you use it with the 5-point harness. For 18-22kg, you can remove the 5-point harness and use with normal seat belt. For 22-36kg, you can remove the backing and just use the "stool" with the normal seat belt.

We are also looking for booster seat for my #1. Most prob will get the 9-36kg one... I saw a good deal at Isetan sale, model is bonbebe comfort cruise selling at $99 (usual $189) but we were thinking maybe wait until end of year then buy. My friend is going to pass me an infant car seat for #2, should be able to use until about 9mths.

My in laws also usually sit in our car when we go out for family outings. FIL sit in front with hb, and MIL and me squeeze behind with #1 in her car seat. Not sure what will happen when we have another car seat, but most likely #1 gets to sit without the car seat which I'm not very keen... sigh...

anyway to relieve backpain?
I wake up ever monring around 3-4am due to backpain.
I have pre-existing backpain before preg but now getting worse.
All the doc i have seen so far tell me, it will get worse by the day as my tummy will be getting bigger...
I have tried to sleep on my left, right but it doesnt help...
any advise will be useful..

Kayliz, no difference btw those boosters without backing and with backing to me. The booster is to boost (haha) ur kid up to a level where by the seatbelt no longer cuts into their throat. think the kid needs to be abt 90cm min to sit on booster. I didn't know abt the weight difference.. i have read that 15kg is the min for booster though. My #1 has been using a booster (without backing) since he was 2+. so far so gd.

I don't allow my kids to sit without carseat leh.. inlaws will want to squeeze so we usually tell them we can't pick them lor. i have a few frens who got into accidents and their kids were quite badly injured as they were not strap into car seats.

Little Prince, yup i recently changed to a MPV because of baby #3! not a gd time to change car but no choice lor.. i really dun want anything to happen to my kids. i might drive very carefully but there are always idiots on the road that drive recklessly and their stupid actions can hurt me or my kids!

mummychua: was it u who was previously looking for maternity pants and i told u i bought mine from taobao? i just received them over the weekend. material was good! i bought from 2 sellers, thinking want to compare both materials, turns out that both are good, design has a slight difference although they are both black.

here's the link:
http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r.1.14.363.OEekfi&amp;id=2395168178

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=16703591350&amp;spm=2014.12193480.0.0

both items are less than S$12 each after i include the shipping.

Mummies, i don go shopping since I know can buy bb stuff online. I will buy from carters and TB. Will use peeka agent for TB. Delivery abt 4-5 weeks. I feel myself prefer to stay at home more than going out since having #1.

mummies! i need some help.. hahaa
lunch time i went window shopping.. and i saw this bag.. i like alot!! but i know if i buy my hubby will turn black.. but now 50% off!! should i? :p
now is $175, original price is $350..

Fuzzybear, why are u changing maid? My boy still will cry when goes sch. But abit better. At least he will stop crying after awhile in class. I hope going to sch b4 2yo wont affect his interest in sch in future.

linxiaober: buy!!!!

i also need help. I found a freelance female photographer &amp; i really like her works. So i checked with her for her price and it is $650 for maternity shoot with 25 edited images returned. Hairdo &amp; makeup provided. If i sign a newborn shoot with her after that, it will be $150 for 10 edited images.

To me the $650 is quite ex, but if i take both on average is $400 per pkg, is it worth it?

kayliz: hahaha thats like the same response i have from my friend.. but $175, can buy quite a fair bit of baby stuff leh.. but so tempted to buy something for myself..

Hmmm.. you like their newborn works as well? if you like i feel its okay.. cos on avg i think is about there? provided you dun take extra photos of cos..

Am considering graco and britax car seats. So headache, don't know which one to buy. Any feedback mummies? Don't know what to consider when deciding on which car seat to buy leh...

SY: i did not do much research on car seat brands when i got mine. To me its all the same purpose just the brand, design and texture of the seat.. My #1 only started to sit on one at 18 mths. I only considered if i need a convertible one or not. End up i got a normal car seat since it can last till she turns 4 yrs and we can switch to a booster. I chose one within my budget and design i like.

linxiaober, if you really like it very much, buy and maybe tell hubby its 75% discount and not 50%? :p

car seat, preferably get one that can last from newborn to 4YO then change to a booster? but safety cannot be compromised so please buy one and make sure baby is in it whenever the car is moving.

Me too, did quite a few bb shopping over weekend at mothercare. swaddle,sleepsuits,front button tops,socks,maternity bra... :D finally cleared some items on my buying list.

I also bought a brand new avent dual electric pump from a mum who had a brand new set but never used at $350....

Some bird nests too :D

Done my week 25 check up today. placenta still slightly low though but gynea still say ok...baby is at breech position. I have been experiencing braxton hicks lately, gynea said if the hardening disturbing my sleep and it gets persistent say 4 times a day.... she advise to take some meds to relax the uterus. baby is now 832g.. just the right size and gluclose test on next visit!!!! yucks!

How's other mummmy who recently went for check-up? Any update??

Happy days to all mummies!

Kayliz and little prince > Thanks for your advise on car seat. Will think over it.

Braxton hicks, I have been experiencing it as well.

So now we can start eating bird nest already? Am almost 25 weeks soon.

Littleprince: I intended.. But when I think of the $175 can buy me so much baby stuff.. I hesitate... So now still haven't decide..

Thank you little prince for the advice at the medela service Ctr!
At least I know if I should take the full or half day there.

Just went ytd to the mums &amp; babes store to check on the parts - now on 20% discount till 28 July.
Confuse w the funnel w the different sizes.

Xiaober, just buy lor.. money can always earn.. lost opportunities nv come back. haha.. plus it is half price!

SY, i use Britax car seat from 0-4 yrs old. Britax is a pretty reputable brand for car seats. not too sure abt Graco.
i think the key part is to have a car seat and use it.. i know moms who buy the seats but still prefer to carry the baby!

Snake_bb, glad ur son is getting better at sch.. persevere.. he will learn to adapt soon.
don't worry abt putting him off learning lah.. he will be fine! kids change and adapt a lot quicker than us adults. give him a chance. I am changing maid cos maid decided to gimme attitude and say she dun wanna work lor. i m not the type that will subject myself to her mercy. already selected a maid and the new one will be coming early-mid Sept.

Bless, oops u got history of GD? i def get more than 4 BH a day but my gynae says i have a sensitive uterus and didn't prescribe me any meds. wah u spent a lot at Mothercare? i might go for another round of shopping tmr!

Yup i have started birds nest too.. much later for this preg. one piece of bird nest per wk..
mom bought it for me at $160 for 12 pcs..

Smiley, ya it is tough to know what size of funnel to use.. u can ask the lady how to measure. i use 30mm instead of the standard 27mm.

take bird nest or chicken essence better? I'm not usually 1 who takes such things, but thinking if i shld start. i was telling hub tt i feel abit guilty to baby cos many mummies are eating tonic stuffs but i dun at all. =x

Morning mummies!!!

fuzzybear, how do you cook ur bird nest? double boiled method or slow cooker?
can get ppl to measure the funnel size??? isn't it weird?

xuan, $12 per pants is so cheap. i want to buy. so i got to registration with daigou or peeka. email them what i want then pay to the company? if i will to buy from different seller, will they consolidate the shipment or ship separate? how long is their delivery huh? paiseh so many question. :p

bless, i tok its still quite early to decide if bb is beech or not? correct me if im wrong... good luck with your glucose test.

kayliz, at the previous bb expo there is a female photographer called AshleyLow. i find her quite nice. her package quite reasonable too. 1hr maternity + 2hr newborn + 0.5hr ~3mth photography at $500. not sure if this package is still available. im actually quite keen to engage her service.

tweetyeve, you may want to do some yoga pose or swim to relive backache. just started swimming and i do find that my backache more manageable. i get to sleep better at nite too.

charmayne, the 20% discount fm M &amp; B does not include breast pumps from what i know when i was there. the prices are pretty fixed, only a matter of what freebies they throw in.

mummychua: ya $12 for work pants is very cheap! i'm wearing 1 of it today already... the rubberised top part is adjustable n still has lots of room to expand. the other pair i need to go alter the length 1st cos too long for me. hehe...

yup register with daigou/ peeka, submit ur orders thru their website. when u're done with shopping then make the payment to daigou/ peeka n they will help u place the order. they will wait for all the items to arrive at their china warehouse before sending the whole shipment to sg. for peeka, u can combine orders n deliver over if u have any additional orders at the last min. for daigou, u can choose to hold the items until all ur items reach then ask them to ship over. daigou also has a phone app to keep track of updates.

they have various type of shipping mtd, by sea, by air etc. i usually choose sea shipping cos it's the cheapest, but that will take abt 2wks to reach sg. from sg to us is quite fast for both peeka n daigou. if u want to receive ur items earlier then can choose air shipping/ express air. the websites shld indicate how long each shipping mtd will take, and how much each costs.

i am thinking of ordering a few more unwired bras. i bought 3pcs from the previous batch n they are super comfy! i can help u order the pants if u want. but i will probably choose sea shipping mtd which will take 2wks if u are ok with the waiting time. =)

Ya Charmayne, think the pump are on special price.
You may wanna check Robinson sales when they can deduct $50 on top of the special bundle price.

Anyone keen in getting Ameda pump?