(2013/11) November 2013

morning mummies.. i am At paragon starbucks now.. just had breakfast.. going for my appointment soon at 9am.. hopefully everything is fine..

I wore my n95 to work! Everyone looking at me like alien and wearing e n95 make my hair so messy. But for bb sake.. I dun care my image le!

Arissa - things will b fine! Happy watching ur bb!

Fuzzybear- girl or boy oso got it own problem. Hope they r sensible enuff n hardworking. . Tt v contented le... hee..

yesterday i received a pm out of the blue selling n95 mask:

"Retail price at $68.80 but you can order now at S$49.0 + S$4.70 for box of 20 pcs."

I think you ladies must have received it too. LOL. i didnt know N95 masks are so ex. but i got a free one from my brother. hehe.

pinky, if you need to take public transport, better wear n95. don't need to care about image liao. even though i only walk from my flat to carpark and then after work from office across the road to wait for my hb, i also feel very intoxicated just standing in the polluted air for 5-10minutes.

morning ladies, so quiet today. where's everyone? i think today haze is getting even worse i got very bad sense of smell so havent smell any burning smell for the pass few days but today i finally know how does the haze smells like. tried to get my friend who's working in nuh to get n95 mask for me but they ran out of stock. haiz...

today i almost loss my temper with mil. ask her to shut all windows and door to prevent haze from getting into the house. then she say it will be very stuffy as there's no air circulation. ask her to go to the room and on aircon for the whole day, she say cannot waste electricity. ask her to bring my gal to the library or mall for free aircon. she say cannot, ppl tell her old and young should not be outdoor. tried to explain to her that with her windows wide open there is no different staying indoor or outdoor. then she become unhappy. haiz... i give up. taking leaving tomorrow to bring my gal to aircon mall.

linxiaober, how r u now? still having fluid leaking? perhaps u should see a doc there to confirm that things are ok?

val, im interested in the photoshoot. can pm the details?

massage lady, any recommendation? my friend looking for one but my dont do in her area.

Fiona/Mawanab- I still haven't decide which hospital to deliver.. ya understand Mt A car park having construction. I wan deliver at Mt A. But pull back pt is doctor can reach on time. My fren was dilated at 9cm n her gyne haven't reach e hospital. End up e nurse told her cant wait anymore cos e bb heart beat dropping. So she went into delivery room. Lucky gyne reach jus in time to get e bb.. only there for 15 mins lo..lucky both mother n son r fine!

i think it is always better to deliver in the hospital that your gynae's clinic is at. So the gynae only needs to walk up to the labour room and not have to drive to a different hospital. but that said, TMC and Mt A are near by, should be able to reach in 10mins by car at most, unless got unforseen traffic jam. however, no 1 usually will have lots of lead time, unless you are delivering no 3, then probably there's a likelihood of baby popping out too quickly.

mummychua, my boss said everyday she and her mom will argue about the windows. she will insist to close all windows but her mom will say open them cos no air circulation and the debate continues about bad air versus no air. LOL. i think it's a old folks thing. they would rather have bad air than no air.

Mummy chua- ya now e masks run out like hot cakes! Oh dear..ur mil v jialet. If me were u, I will lost temper too. How abt asking ur hubby to tok to her?

Linxiaobee- u still havin fluid coming out? Hav u called e doc?

There is this app name Myenv. Go download e apps cos will update e Psi over e island.

SN - ya so I wearing n95 now. Can re-use how many days? I think if e haze goes on for long, my masks cant last oso.

pinky, after i left my mil place i called my hub to complain abt his mother. he promise to call her to warn her. lol... mil is very scare of hub, she do everything he say.

depend on how long u use. if whole day then change once a day. if every now and then, then u see the condition of the mask. last time when i work in hospital during SARS got to wear whole day, i end up having pimples growing along the mask outline.

i think carpark renovation is still ok ba, still got valet. its not like tmc got better parking. and i like mt a better, tmc like very cramp and squeeze, didnt like the feel of the place. i think mt a more peaceful.

sn, i got a friend mil also like my. she complaining to me this morning. not just open windows, can go exercise too. ya, my mil went exercising this morning. *faint*

good morning. Haze really bad...
if can, stay indoor and on aircon better.
I shut all windows at home still can feel the haze in the hse. Need to get the air purifier ball later. at least keep room air fresh with essence oil.

Thirdtimemum, yes, think boys are easier.

mummychua>Although I have not given birth in other hospitals other than Mt. A, I still will go back to Mt.A, the experience was great!I was told by an auntie I met that TMC cares more for the newborn, and Mt.A cares more for the new mother, which means maybe TMC is more pro when it comes to newborn, not sure how true. But to me, I need to be comfortable with the environment, just not sure how the carpark renovation will affect during that period , hopefully they can complete earlier.

Febie>even when they are growing up, you will need to worry more for girls, like their safety etc

btw TMC & Mt A.. i think external factors like carpark etc is one thing, but internally i prefer TMC. Based on my experience stay in a 2-bedded for both hospitals, TMC is more spacious. Food is nicer.

I delivered my #1 in Mt A. I liked the nurses when i was in the delivery suite. But the service after i got into my ward was not so gd coz the nurses seemed to be shorthanded. But anyway, i dont have much problems with both.

this time round, i am seeing a diff gynae who only delivers at Glen E. I dont even know the parking situation, etc but it seems crowded with many tai-tais when i went there once. I just hope it will be as gd.

thirdtimemum, be it boys or girls, we got a lot to worry too.. dun think too much. You will be amazed at yourself when the time arrive.
I believe u will enjoy all the first time with your girl

finished my detailed scan and consultation with my gynae.. all Normal and my baby is still boy
...my low lying placenta have also improve and have moved up.
grateful for what i have now...

Yes it's so scary high! Gonna buy air purifier later but don't know which to buy. I can see and feel the smoke even at home with all the windows and doors shut! Sigh...feeling suffocated!

Yeah manz, now psi 299, I'm still at gynaes office WITH my #1 n hubby, and still no n95 mask. Bleah. Anyways, confirmed I'm having a girl! My #1 is sooooo happy. My placenta also low but not covering cervix, so phew! Bb come out healthy can already

Mummychua- I uses e mask go n off work n during lunch. Maybe I used another 1 day n see it still works well.

Haha...yaya tell ur hubby to let his mom noe. Sometimes I oso tell my hubby to tell his dad. Is not my dad n is awful to tell him straight at face sometimes. So hav to pull hubby as e middleman. Keke

Arissa - congrats tt yr placenta has moved up!

Thanks all mummies contributing e pro n con of Mt A & Tmc.. maybe I book tmc standby 1st. Jus in case no room for me.

I juz came bck from lunch n realised e food centre all so empty!! Nobody wanna lunch out aldy due to e haze.

take care all mummies... PSI has hit 371 now.. even my yoga lessons might cancel due to the haze... mask are out of stocks everywhere..so cover with a tissue..better than nothing..

Febie,
Agrees! Ur #1 may cry and it will nt be healthy for him to witness it.

Ankh,
If u wan get a purifier. Humidifer doesnt work as it only wet the air. U can try sharp, novita or honeywell purifier. Tat sld filter the smaller particules. But, likely alot of places may have run out of purifier. U may wanna call before u go dwn to the store. 
We wan clean air!!! A holiday away from SEA is so alluring right now.
Same here le! I clean the toilet seat and put toilet paper on top before i use. For my gal, i intend to buy those disposable toilet cover. I know super environment unfriendly la but eeks, so dirty lo!
Congras on ur baby gal! =)

Manawab,
Think there is a 'profile' link right at the top of the page in the center. U try and see if u can set ur pm there.

Kayliz,
Hows ur gal? Hope she is better nw? Speedy recovery to her.

Fuzzybear,
Hahaha! I also worry my kids will be ugly n stupid. For gals being preg at young age think have to drill them the correct value from young and look at the kind of friends they have. I know of someone who told the family she wanna get married n preg at 18 coz her surrounding friends are doing tat =.=" frankly, i worry tat my kids will befriend the wrong grp of ppl and tt will spell trouble...parenting really no easy feat! Diff stage diff worries. 

Xiaober,
Are u still leaking nw? Even when lying dwn? Hope u are no longer leaking. 

Arissa,
Congras tt the scan went wrll and the gender remained the same =p and great news tt the placenta is adjusting itself higher =) gd news amidst all the bad news abt the psi!!

Re: haze 
If really no mask try wet hanky, sld breathe better. 

@linxiaober
Did you smell the liquid that leaked out? Could be urine or discharge wor.
Sometimes I can feel the discharge coming out also..

Re: autistic kids
Oh yes I’ve heard about it linking to paternal age as well..

@ fuzzybear
So nice of your company to have N95 masks leh..its like getting extinct everywhere. My company only kept stock for the surgical masks…

Hello! PSI is at 371. Stay indoors!

Xiaober, to be determine if u are leaking amniotic fluid, i recommend u sitting on the toiletbowl and placing tissue at the entrance of ur VXXXXX. see if it gets wet and how fast it too. sometimes we think we are having discharge but we aren't. also if u are leaking, u really suggest u cut short ur hol and come back. this is because ur bb is susceptible to infection (amniotic sac is sterile).

Mummychua, i feel u.. my parents is like ur MIL.. they think opening the windows is ok else they feel very suffocated. my dad still brings my sons downstairs to the playground lor..

Congrats Arissa! a boy for u!

I gave birth in Mt A and Glen E. personally Glen E's experience is better, nurses seem more hands on and knowledgeable.

millie, thanks a lot! have informed my gf!

went for my checkup earlier, gynae went through oscar results and checks. so far so good and gynae initially said looks like baby girl, but after that saw something pointed which we could not differentiate if its a nub or an indication of a boy! so, will wait till detailed scan in 3 weeks time to check again.

boy or girl, still our kids ma. so long as healthy and grow up well, thats all thats important!

my company gave our N95 masks today too! oh, and TMC gave out normal masks too.

linxiaober, maybe give a call to gynae to check on your condition? or is there a gynae at where you are to do a quick check than wait till next week?

linxiaober, just monitor. dun worry too much.
All will be fine. just relax. it will help.

congrats Arissa.

Ankh, dun worry, placenta will move during the pregnancy. as long as safe range, just relax. congrats on having a princess.

Yes Val. #1 super closed to me. cannot afford to have him witness all these... sometimes when I vomited due to morning sickness, he will feel affected too.

Pinky, yes, the hawker centre are so quiet today.

those driving please be careful due to the poor visibility. PSI has hit highest at 371 now.

Val, ya! i worry non stop abt how my kids will turn out. i know nowadays we have lesser kids per family, so we invest a lot in them. plus for most working parents, they hardly see their kids. to them indulging in their tantrums or their requests for gifts is something that they can do to assuage their own guilt. also when we were young, we hated some stuff our parents forced on us. like finishing our food or gg to bed before 9pm. so when we have our kids and they refused to finish their food, we give them chance and let them throw it away. or let them stay up late. I think these small indulgences slowly become the norm, ur kids do not have the discipline to just do things that are unpleasant but still have to be done.

That's why i m so hard on my kiddos. i know if i set them on a narrow path, make them do things that they dun like but are gd for them, they will slowly learn the meaning of discipline. i think kids are too young to make choices for themselves.. we parents cannot expect them to know what they wanna eat, when they wanna eat or slp. parenting is a lifelong journey and worry!

Silver, we have site work like multiple times a week.. and we are only given 3 pc per pax.. not enough lah.. our internal work SOP stops at haze level of 300! abv 300 no guidance. :p

Ankh, congrats on ur healthy princess!

Fuzzybear- ya totally understand. Tt time we were debating girl or boy better? Say girl will lugi den parents will worried more. Girl more things to fan n worried from a parent view. Boy wont lugi but may stir trouble like gangster or a playboy. So conclusion is boy lesser things to worry. Haha..

E haze so bad! ! Can tell ur boss dun let u go site since u gt bb.. I hope gt stop work order man. Morning went bck office n I smell haze inside my office!!!! Gosh. My co nv giv masks le.. boo..

Attending class from tues to sat. Damn boring. E trainer kept talking n laughing himself at e stuff he said. We were all like nt listening lo.. zzz

saw u all discussing bout hospital. I delivered at TMC. At the observation ward, I met a nurse who was quite impatient w me. Spoke to me harshly when I was feeling contraction pain, but there were other nurses there who were nice to explain to me what was happening (I was induced). So I think it really depends on who u meet. Overall my experience at TMC was good. The nurses at the ward were nice and helpful. Dunno if it was because I was staying at premier one bedder. Initially wanted one bedder, but all full so upgraded. This time will go back to TMC, mainly becos my doc is there. I dun wan him to rush here and there n miss my delivery. Haha...

Btw my sil said she got masks at guardian 100 pcs at $7 today. Then I also managed to buy the normal face masks at a shop opposite Hougang kang kar mall. The shop sells toiletries, 10 for $3.90. If u all live nearby, can go and get.

Hey all mummies.. I think it's better now. I did smell when I feel it. It's not exactly urine cos the smell is quite faint. I will continue to monitor and see how. I now staying at mountain areas cos wanted to come rest n relax. Hahaha end up like that... Told my baby to be strong hope everything will be fine. If not I will probably go and see doc when I reach back city area... Thank you for all your concern.
I guess having a baby now makes me paranoid and worry when there are small problems..

And the haze is getting quite bad please try to stay indoors or maybe get those portable ionizer to put in your bag.. It does help at least when my hubby bought for me it helps me when I have stuffed nose and the air felt cleaner too.. Maybe is just psychological but better Dan nothing.

I m bored too..

Winkle, tell ur manager PM Lee says we shd all stay indoor.. He just announced that the young and the old needs to pay just $10 to get treatment at any GP for respiratory probs and conjuctivitis probs! MOH will foot the rest of the bill.

Xiaober, don't walk too much then. u might find that u leak more on ur flight back. have fun.

Pinky, nah, i worry only.. when the time comes u just have to do ur best as a parent. make sure ur hb and u are on the same page when it comes to parenting.

Kayliz - who eating e sesame chicken? Did u manage to get e hello kitty?

Finally off class le!! E weather is so bad! I didn't take off while on e bus cos it smell haze thou is air con bus. I dunno where my hubby got e n95 mask from. It so huge tt can cover to my chin. Dunno i wear correctly anot.. now gg watson n guardian see hav e yellow white n95 mask anot..

Pinky: nobody... but dunno why got the smell!!

How u know i got collect the HK? Hahaha.. i couldnt get it today! This morning 8+am my colleague already called to tell me it is sold out in all the Macs near our office.
She said her bro will be bringing his wife to all the Macs to find and help us get. The last I knew, they were at the 5th outlet also sold out...
So no news until now. Boo!

Fuzzy war: dun scare me.. Hahaha I intend to try my luck at the airport to see if can get free upgrade anot.. Cos I think the economy seat is abt too small for me.. Today then I realize that my tummy is getting big... So scary...

Kayliz: serious? I tot with this haze ppl should be hiding at home n not queueing for hk.. Hopefully I can get my dancing bone next week.. I only collect a few cute ones..

Hi Mummies, so glad to see this thread. So much life and action.. been missing out a lot.. especially on my initial clueless stages.

I am now 17 weeks. This is my first pregnancy, baby.. quite anxious actually. My EDD is 27 Nov 2013. Had my regular scan on Mon but gynae said it's too early, cant see my baby's sex. I'm hoping for a girl but even if boy..as long as healthy can already. I'm with Dr Regina at MD Clementi. I saw one other mummy there too as per the chart above.
I have not decided on the hospital for my delivery. Dr delivers at Mt A, Gleaneagles and TMC. Any recommendations?

Prior to finding out about my pregnancy, HB and I booked a post 1st Anniversary trip to Maldives. Now, I guess it shall be a Babymoon. Haha. We leave next week. Looking forward to get away from this crazy haze.

I'm also looking for prenatal fitness classes and parent craft classes as well. Yet to sign up for anything. Just starting to find out more and especially on affordable ones. Anything to share? Thanks in advance Mummies.

Morning mummies!! Another hazy day!

On e way to work, the haze is like over 200 kind..cos is super hazy. But apparently, e PSI at 7am was only 111. I really doubt e figure for PSI. Seems not so accurate. I can from my eyes tt is more than 111 lo. Regardless of wat, please wear N95 k!!!

Went Vivo pharmacy yst, all masks sold out! Heard from radio tt today all pharmacy will replenish e stock. Please go get N95 if u havent okay!

Hello push!! Welcome here! Oh so nice to go holiday especially at this period to escape from e haze!

Parant craft class - many commented TMC, Mrs Wong? Need to book early cos she is v popular! There is different rate for being a patient in tt hospital when attending e class which e hospital conducted.

Winkle - ur boss is crazy! Govt already said STAY INDOOR!! Your team building is outdoor? Any indoor activity? May be u can excuse urself to hide in the indoor? Or take MC today!

Kayliz - yup, i rem u posted u got a HK as well last week. I oso didnt get the ugly duckling HK yst. It was so crowded early 7.30am at Mac. Dint manage to get it! Heard tt some pple q at midnight. But nvm la, i collected only 3 HK so far.. missing e witch & ugly ducking.

linxiaober - haha.. is good to noe tt tummy is growing! means bb is growing! keke

fuzzybear - yea true... parenting is not a easy job esp when both parents r working. When off work, time spent w them is oso limited. Doubt can guide any ting out. Haiz.. See how it goes! No point worrying now! Jus focus on growing our bb in our tummy & hug them in NOVEMBER!!!

yst i went home saw my FIL open e door & windows!! was quite angry cos told him dun open lo. I immediately close e door & windows after i stepped into e hse. Seriously!! what's wrong w this old ppl. I complaint to my hubby. And he said my FIL said he CANNOT breath if e door n window r close. I was like UH? Still can breath de ma w e fans on. I tot is even worse if the door n window r open? bth... even my own parents noe tt they shld close e door n window.

Oya, i read online saying tt we shld mop e floor everyday. To clean away those dirt so tt we on e air con is cleaner abit....

And, how do u all do e laundry? I dun dare to put outside cos it will end up v smelly. So you all hang indoor?

Hope we mummies can stay healthy & fight against e haze!

Pinky: yup. i wanted to collect full set but already missed the 1st one as i was on holiday. Then decided not to start until my friend gave me hers.
Now i didnt get the duck so most prob will stop buying le.. the queue is crazy!

Last night my dad just opened up my frog to my girl! I was so angry la.. coz i wanted to keep everything in sealed condition.
Although it's juz a kitty but maybe hormones made me very mad!
Probably after i scolded him, he still turned ard to blame me for anyhow placing my stuffs... when it was placed in a paper bag on my desk and he was the one who entered my house when i was not ard and opened up my stuff!

and told me i'm so childish to buy kiddy stuff, selfish to keep it from my gal. ARGH.

kayliz: heard my friend selling her duckling kitty at $20. u interested?

mummies, i rem we once had a crab topic. was thinking of bringing my dad out for crabs this wkend but cos of the haze, i'm thinking of dabao-ing for the family to eat at home instead. Owen seafood at turf city is too far for me to go dabao, i'm staying at hougang. other than melben, are there any other recommendations for crabs? i need the place to be opened in the afternoon also cos we are probably having it for lunch. TIA! =)

Good morning mummies,

News say normal 3 ply mask wont make any diff. Only N95 can filter out the small particle. So, why are ppl still wearing 3 ply mask ley?

Went for details scan ytd, luckily everything went ok. It happened that i got a "not so experience" Sonogram who can't scan e baby's heart well and she doens't allow me to see the screen while she is scanning even I've requested.
but luckily a Senior Sonogram stepped in to help and she so experienced that she not only turn the screen to me, she eleborates every body parts of the baby to me like nostril, lips, fingers, toes, joints, spins, stomach, kidney, heart & etc... I'm so satisfied after her explanation. Seriously think all Sonogram should be trained to be able to share the screen and explain it in details to the mother coz we paid for scan and we should get to see it right??

By the way, how much have you ladies put on already? I've put on a good 3.7kgs already
eeek!!!

I read someone has leakage, I think it will be better to do kegel exercise more often to help the muscle down under.

I think people are wearing what ever mask they have. n95 is not available to most people up to today. Hope we get more incoming stocks today! Im wearing 3 ply mask too because I have no n95. Better to wear something then not wear anything.

Xuan: thx for your info~~! But it's okie.. i wont get from those who resell coz very spoil market. Haha.

Bless: N95 masks very hard to breathe in. I think i will prob get respiratory prob in it than without.. when i wear it, it makes me giddy and nauseous.
But for the sake of bb i still wear and walk faster to reach indoor areas. I find the N95 masks really ugly also, i put on another layer of normal surgical mask on top.
Hahaha.

i think wearing any type of masks now is better than not wearing any at all. i'm still wearing the 3ply surgical type cos cant get n95 plus i have history of asthma. some pple telling me to still wear n95 despite my asthma history, some telling me n95 is not suitable for me. -.- i'm getting confused already.

but anw me n hub both decided if we can get n95 masks, i will still try to wear it unless it really suffocates me. honestly, i already feel breathless in the 3ply surgical mask le. cant imagine wearing n95.

i've been feeling quite neutral with the haze the past few days, cos i feel there really isnt nothing much we can do except for trying to protect ourselves n our babies, n wait for everything to pass. but my patience is running short n starting to get annoyed already esp when i see kids on fb starting to have skin problems or hearing other adults having health issues. plus i'm starting to feel the effects too, chest feeling tight n headaches getting worse. argh!!

hahaha Kayliz, you're so funny... double mask!!

I agree with you that wearing mask makes us Mummy feels breathless. I was wearing it, after climbed up the overhead bridge i felt shortness of breath sia. I immediately took it off!! Makes me feel like breathing in bad air is way better than lack of X2O.

to be honest i dun think there will ever be a stop work order. they can maybe at most only "advise" employers to issue stop work order. can u imagine bus drivers, train drivers all stop work? those working in stock market, casino all stop work? imo, quite impossible lah. n i foresee even if my company says dun come to work, they will deduct from the staffs' AL.