(2013/11) November 2013

fuzzybear: specialised is good la.. but really not easy to juggle work and family... i do have a female VP in my office with 2 kids

donno how she do it..hahaha..

Ha, looks like I'm going to buck the trend. Most likely having a girl! Even though scan was from backside view, gynae said nothing sticking out lol.

Yay! Congrats Ankh! Ur first one is a boy? If like that one boy one gal just nice!!!

Winkle!! I just puked again. Arghhh I thought I have stopped. Help!! When will it stop???

Actually I think it is because we can't see what's behind ur VP's closed doors. I'm sure she sacrificed something. Just that we dunno. I see my ex-bosses working till 3am daily. She may be very young but holds a higher position than us. But when her daughter is sick u can literally see her breaking down. Can't slp can't finish work can't think. I rem that she cried on my shoulders cos her daughter had to be warded and we were entering our peak period. She is gd in the sense that she will clear all her work and will not pass her responsibility to us. But can really see her dilemma when she had to present to ministers and her gal being so ill. There's always something that gives. Just that we don't see it.

fuzzybear: maybe you're stressed up mentally? that's y ur puking cldnt stop? try to relax abit more.. hehehe..

i donno y..i am feeling impatient..can't wait for Oct / Nov to arrive!! can't wait to see my little one!

Fuzzybear, winkle, thanks! Not 100% confirmed until detailed scan, but I'll take it as girl la. If really turns out to be boy I'll be wondering why underdeveloped at 16week scan hahaha!

Fuzzybear, my first one also girl, so good, recycle all the clothes and whatever girly toys. Actually hoping a little for a boy then confirmed can get one kid into a SAP boys school. I siao liao, gender preference based on Singapore primary education system lol.

Snake,

Not yet. I'm having phlegm. Maybe when I feel better then start. Are u all eating those self-brewed type or bottled? I'm too lazy to brew on my own.

Winkle, oh no, that reminds me of the Chinese saying 'ZI sun man tang' overflowing with kids! Er, did I possibly just make a dirty joke?

snakebb: I juZ drank 2 bottles of birds nest.. Trying very hard not to puke!!!! Aargh!!

Ankh: zi sun man tang is good & mighty ma!! Hahaha... But don "chu chu liu zong" can Liao... Oops! Hehehe.. *just kidding*

I started drinking bird's nest weekly since my first trimester. Hmmm received many mixed advice on this, but I trust my mom

Long time never come here. budy with facebook group.

Can consider self employment like me. I'm a real estate agent. Everyday wake up 12pm. Work few hours a day. Then go back sleep. Flexible hours also. I'm my own boss, no boss to report to.

Btw my EDD is now 8 nov instead of 23 nov, can help to change? Thanks!

are your immune system a tat lower than usual. I just caught a flu from my hubby and usually he is the more sickly one. I don't usually fall sick. *sob*

A good Sunday morning to mummies,Unable to attend class w my boy today.Waiting him outside the class now.Take this time to send a msg to mummies.Yesterday went Fu Hua to enquire abt cordycep as friend told me is good for mummy and bb.The sales told me to pour a bottle of chicken essence w a bottle of plain water plus 6 cordycep.brew for 2-3 hrs and ready to drink.Any mummy taking cordycep and how u prepare them?

Hi snake bb!

I archived this 2 recipes some time back.. u can try:

http://yukiecody.blogspot.sg/2012/10/chicken-with-cordyceps-militaris-soup.html

http://ellenaguan.blogspot.sg/2009/09/cordyceps-militaris-chicken-soup.html

Actually I didn't know we can take cordyceps. It's like cannot eat too heaty/cooling so I archived this recipes a long time ago but didn't dare to try since preggy.

& when I googled if this herb is safe for pregnancy, the results are mixed.. So fu hua said the herb is ok?

just to share

my TCM advised me to start taking Bird Nest only in 3rd Trimester.
In second trimester, i was advised to take Pao Shen weekly.... or Dang SHen Bei Qi Soup at times.

Good morning mummies. Hope all had a good long weekend.

I haven't check-in the thread for quite sometimes. So many posting to read.

I am entering week 16 however feeling of nauseous is still on and off. Hoping it will go away soon. I have yet to tell my boss about my pregancy. I will probably tell him next week after my gynae visit this Friday.

Any mummies started to wear their maternity clothes? I need to start taking out my maternity clothes from storage this weekend as my normal working clothes are getting too tight.

Wishing all a good week ahead.

bird nest, during my #1 i used to take bird nest once a wk during 2nd trimester. my gal come out very fair and got alot of hair. although i think the hair and skin is more of inherited rather than the bird nest lah... but i super like bird nest leh. although no expert in cooking it.

jos jos, any reason why can take bird nest only in 3rd trimester?

wenny, 16wks and you still not showing? your bb hide quite well. im only 14wks already have a bump although not obvious, no one commented yet. but i can only wear those bb doll dress to hide.

yeah... finally im in my 2nd trimester too!

where is everyone today? super quiet here. monday blue?

hi all mummies.. i am here the newbie here..
currently abt 16 weeks, edd 1/11-3/11.. having my first bb now..
getting excited to know my bb gender soon.. hopefully the detailed scan next month will be able to see..

My mom cooked the birds nest with pao Shen. She had it when she was having us and its supposed to boost bb's immune system.

Hi all, I'm a new member, Gwen. Now 14+ weeks and I'm seeing Dr Ang at Gleneagles. Nice to meet all of you!

Hi hi mummies. Good long weekend? I usually plan a lot of activities to keep my boys engaged over LWEs... but still feeling so crappy with all those yucky pregnancy symptoms I just let them spend the 3 days watching a lot of DVDs and playing on my ipad. Feels so guilty. Haiz.

Winkle, you are referring to classical music type of concerts or heavy metal type? lol. I think those very loud type might not be a good idea?

Wenny, I started wearing my maternity clothes to work last week. Feels so much more comfy!!! My baby bump is huge man. I was looking at some old photos and my tummy was about this size when I was 5+ months pregnant with my #2. When I was 7 weeks, my 6yo asked me if I am having a baby cause my tummy is getting so big. I think it might be because my last (unsuccessful) pregnancy was very recent? Just Dec. So the uterus hasn't completely shrunk back? Anyway, would prefer it wasn't showing lor. I'm in a male dominated industry and I honestly think I've never seen another pregnant woman at meetings and conferences before. Feels awkward leh.

RE: birds nest. I took 2 teaspoons of the eu yan sang birds nest concentrate everyday from the onset of trimester 2 for both #1 and #2. #1 is ok. Fair but also not super fair. #2 is super dark lor. Both got nice skin. But all babies have nice skin one mah. So I don't think eat birds nest= baby will be fair...

winnie: yaa..i think skin col is genetic one rite?? me and my hubby are both not those very fair kind.. so i dont expect my bb to be snow white also.. but i am curious to know more on how to prevent jaundice...

Hullo mommies! Welcome new mommies. Do drop in and chat with us.

My medical leave got extended cos I'm still spotting. Definitely better but I haven't actually stopped bleeding. I'm running out of mc. My boss told me if I work from home then I can don't claim mc. So will be working from home for awhile. Today the nurse had to jab me twice for my proluton jab cos my butt has too many hard spots. Meds couldn't go in!! Bloody painful. Told the nurse to take the needle out and jab me again.

Re: birds nest
Don't think it will influence how ur baby will turn out. It is after all just a protein. Haha. I just eat as and when my mom or inlaws boil for me. I took a lot for both my boys and they turned out rather dark and not much hair too.

Snake_bb, are u still bleeding?

Winkle, u still puking? I don't think going to a concert will harm ur bb.
enjoy urself! I don't think u can prevent jaundice. It is more on how the enzymatic reaction of ur baby's liver is. The best is for ur kid to stay in ur tummy for as long as possible. Even babies of 38 and 40 wks gestation period have different enzymatic rates to break down bilirubin.

fuzzybear: i didnt puke for 4 days already!!! *fingers crossed* and good to know that your bleeding has now gone down to spotting. my appetite is slowly coming back... but juz now i onli ate some fruits for lunch.. not feeling hungry and very sianz of the food in CBD...

fuzzybear: i heard people saying by drinking coconut water one week before you give birth can prevent jaundice!!!! LOlz..

my sil told me this.. she has 5 kids.. all her previous kids had jaundice if im not wrong.. den her last 2..she tried coconut water and both came out fine...

That's gd Winkle!! Hope ur appetite starts to come back. I also haven't puked since Thurs but my appetite is bad. Like I can only stomach 2 spoons of rice for dinner. Just had some lor mee. Now feeling super nauseated.

I hope I stop bleeding soon. Very sian to keep seeing blood.

Nv heard abt the coconut thingy. I know ppl take it cos they say baby will come out cleaner if u take the coconut water. Nv heard that it is gd for jaundice. Anyway jaundice happens when bilirubin from maternal red blood cells cannot be broken down by baby's liver's enzyme. Don't think u do anything to prevent it.

thats means u didnt put on weight since trim 1 also? try to eat something soupy la.. easier to digest maybe u will feel better..

i think the coconut thingy is just some old wives tale la..

Nopes. I lost 4kg since the day I tested positive. Yet to gain anything back. Met some relatives over the wkend and they kept saying I lost so much weight! Anyway I'm sure I will gain it back as my appetite picks up later in the pregnancy. I'm sure u will too!! Hehehe. Soupy stuff doesn't help. Just can't swallow.

I personally cannot stand the smell of raw vegs not fruit juices (the blended ones). I tried coconut for my first preg. Omg it made me want to puke immed. I feel like I'm eating grass!!! I didn't bother to drink anymore and both my boys came out quite clean. Again, it's just an old wives' tale!

wahh!! 4KG is alot!! i hope you will gain back very soon... how many weeks are u at now? i'm about 17 or 1 or 2 days past 17 weeks.. i can feel i'm gaining slowly..

if can't swallow anything..maybe drink ribena, milo or take yogurt.. eat some ice cream..mee kia soup or bee hoon soup.. thats how i ate during trim one... and i can keep down iced water..but not room temp water.. so during trim 1 i drank alot of cold water..better than not keeping any fluid down... =x

I think I lost quite a bit initially cos I was still bf-ing. After that it was just non stop puking and really bad appetite. I try to eat more in the day cos I can stomach it better. So breakfast and lunch usually abt 70% of my usual intake. Dinner is the worst. Can't eat anything at all. I take soups, milk, even plain bread. Whatever I can stomach I just eat. But I usually just throw up after. Haizzz. Water wise I drink as much as I can during the day. Evening I stop water completely. Puking water out is the grossest!

Technically I'm supposed to be 15 wks 5 days today but my doc and I both think I'm likely to be 16 wks. He didn't bother changing my EDD cos he says i will def pop early so not an issue. So I just take Mondays as the start of a new wk. I have so much phobia of this pregnancy that I'm counting the weeks to the day I can pop safely. Another 21 wks to go.

i can't take milk.. i will puke.. so i stop drinking milk..

don't worry..as long u keep urself and bb hydrated, both of you will be fine
and rest as much as you can.. eat watever vit pills gynae gave u...

i understand how u feel..haizz.. even anti-vomitting pills doesnt help much rite? can only wait for our body to adjust and get better..

Hi ladies, hows the long weekend? Went out everyday since last thurs and nw its pay back time - tons of clothes to wash =\

Bunny_mummy,
If u lazy/duno hw to brew can get those concentrated bird nest in bottle. Everyday just eat 1 or 2 spoon(s). Its v addictive coz v yummy when chilled and v convenient to consume. =p

Winkle,
I did attend concert in my 2nd tri but is baby prom la. Hahaha. I have friends who did attended concerts when preg also. No harm. Its something u like and will enjoy so will baby. Probably baby will be dancing inside. Haha!

wenny,
I am still feeling nausea on n off and i am entering my 17week this week. I am not wearing my maternity clothes yet but those normal clothes which are more roomy for me, some are already too tight. Planning to get more normal dresses so tat aft i pop still can wear.

Belinda/gwen,
Welcome to the thread =)

Fuzzybear,
Gd to be working from hm too as it cuts dwn ur movements n still gets work done. Are u in gov agency?
I cant take coconut juice too. Tried a few mouths during my #1 time and i got bad contractions. Too liang for me le.

Re: jaundice
Agree with fuzzybear; no way to prevent jaundice. Anyway, just to share, if baby has g6pd deficiency they gt to be tested daily to chk on jaundice level for 1st 2weeks of their life.

alamak Val!! you drank coconut during ur first trim?!?! i tot its a super big No No.. =x..

my ah bang have G6PD.. so the possibility of my bb getting will be higher??

i'm more concern about the volumn during the concert.. but i hope Jay Chou dont bing bing biang biang this time round........

Winkle,
No la, nt during 1st tri but during 3rd tri for my #1's time. Hehe.
U mean ur hb has g6pd deficiency? Its inherited and commonly only happens to baby boy. Nt 100% will get but 50%.

Haha! Nvm la, let him bing bing bang bang who knows ur baby will get some musicial inspiration and really into music like jay chou next time. If baby dun like just give u a few more hard kicks la. Keke.

ohhh.. i saw #1 and i mistaken as trim #1.. lolz! my bb will be most prob boy.. hopefully he wun get it from his daddy lor..

Winkle, ya just take whatever we can stomach lah.. i don't particularly believe that preggie women shd avoid certain types of food. The only thing i avoid is TCM herbs. that's because i m not sure the source of the herbs! not sure if it is contaminated with heavy metals or pesticides so just avoid lor.

G6PD cannot metabolise something right? can't rem what though.. i know my fren who has it told me she can't take TCM meds..

Val, ya minimising movement is gd.. i m so scared i go back to work and i start bleeding all over again.. was thinking to work another wk from home.. yes i work in the public service. why?

fuzzybear: i donno much about G6PD deficiency.. only know my hubby always have to tell the doc in advance he is G6PD..den the nurse will orh..thats all lei.. other than that nothing much..

im going down to get mcnuggets!

Yah, I didn't particularly avoid any food, but just high risk food like raw food, seafood etc, that increase my chance of getting diarhoea. Cannot take medicine now, it will be torturous to be sick.

Fast food, cold water, ice-cream, I just continue in moderation :p

Looking at how you girls spent your first trimester, my heart really goes to you

I am blessed that I only had the nausea and bloated feeling for 2 weeks, and I am back to normal till now. Just feel tired earlier in the evenings. Girls, take care ok!? Soon everything will be over and we will be able to enjoy our good appetite! ^_^

Hi ladies, anybody got confinement ladies to recommend?
I verbally engaged a CL three weeks ago at $2,000 den she asked a $300 deposit from me. i say ok, will ask my BIL to pass it to her when he returns to his hometown. last week, CL called me and asked for $500 instead and i said okie, will pass her deposit in Jun. den today she sms and asked me to T.T her the money and even sms me her account no. i i will discuss with my mum & hubby whether to continue with her onot. seems like she is not reliable and demands for money.

Fuzzy Bear, I just stopped bleeding. But having cramp and back aching. Back aching is quit bad. Gynae says my uterus is still not strong. So have to be careful. Don walk too much. Going work on Wednesday.

kitkat - usually they wont ask for so much one. my colleagues and i we paid only 200 dollar deposit. be careful a bit yah.. jus make sure.

Kitkat, if u are not comfy with paying so much then don't. I paid $300 for deposit only. If u don't want this CL, better get another one soon. Have u considered those trained by TMC? More ex but more experience and knowledgable.

Snake_bb, glad that ur bleeding stopped. Why don't u just take the whole wk off to rest? My bleeding is back!! Damn sian. Was just spotting very mildly since Sat. Now back to dark red/ brown in larger quantity. I'm not sure if it is because I walked a bit more yesterday or if it is becos of my bad cough. Have been waking up numerous of times coughing too. Very sian. Waited so long to stop and now it is back again!!! Damn demoralizing!

hi piggie & fuzzybear, we decided not to engage this CL le. will look for one thru agency.. thanks for the tips.

Aiyo fuzzybear, dun walk so much. relax and take some time to sniff the flowers!

kitkat, if u dont take this CL ur deposit will not be return rite? read from some other thread that there is a CL going ard conning ppl from their deposit. actually getting a good CL is a bit like lucky draw.

MS, very sian. i dont have any during the early months but dont know why my ms start getting bad from the pass few wks. yesterday i thrown up after every meal. got to sleep incline otherwise i feel that things start coming back up. haiz... is it possible to get ms only during 2nd trimester?