(2013/11) November 2013

oh can start booking massage lady now already ah? my tt friend keeps telling me can only book 2 mths before edd so i havent start looking ard for 1! any recommendations from experienced mummies here? massage lady wont clash 1 rite, tho we are all having nov bbs...

by the way, any idea what's the market rate?

Morning ladies. Tgif!!

Mummychia,
Catered from natal essentials 2yrs back. This rd i think most likely will cater from them again as my dad says he is getting on in yrs so mayb v tiring for him to cook. Plus i need help from my parents to help me with the 2 older kids.

I already checked price with them; $15XX for 2 meals per day for 30days. Since i catered from them before so i will get some discounts.

Re: massage lady
I used to book Mdm Hamida but i lost her contact aft my phone crashed. Sobsob! So nw i need recommendations too =p

still thinking if i should get confinement lady or not..because i can't get use of the idea of an outsider staying in my house.

Mummies..whats the common pros and cons of having a CL? I know the obvious pros is mummy able to rest but being a first time mummy and not being use to outsiders, I am thinking if I can do it with some help from my MIL and just cater confinement food from outside.

Arissa u must decide soon already if u want a CL. heard most of the popular ones are already taken for end of the year.

think the pros n cons depend on whether u get a good or bad CL. haha.. good CL will let u have ample rest n help u handle most things, but bad CL will just give u more nightmares. i'm also a 1st time mum, planning to get my mum n hub to take turns help me during the 1st mth n cater confinement food.

Val: i booked with Mdm Ida. She was very popular among the mummies in my thread 3 yrs ago, i didnt manage to get her that time coz she was fully booked but she recommended me her cousin, Mdm Suria. Mdm Suria was also super nice and i loved her but i lost her no. too. I rem i was having probs with breastfeeding & MIL i cried while talking about it and she hugged and cried with me like a sister.. I called Mdm Ida last mth but a bit paiseh to ask for Mdm Suria, and since Mdm Ida is available, i will engage her. Her no. is 94249829. U can just SMS to let her know u wish to engage her for post-natal massage. Then she will ask u some info such as EDD. When u deliver that day, just inform her and she arrange your 1st session with you.

She charges $50 for an hr massage (price nv increase since 3 yrs ago) including wrapping. You can buy the cloth for wrapping from her or she can rent one to u for a small fee, and u return her after ur last session.

i saw the food menu from natal essentials.. super yummy! my friend catered during her confinement too and told me it was yummy.. but the portion is big.. if you're not a big eater you can just order 1 meal per day and split into 2 meals..

i might do that because i eat like a bird...

Arissa: when i had my 1st child, my mum did my confinement for me. But it tire everyone out.
My mum wld wake up at 5am every morn to boil the water for me to shower later in the day, then go marketing. She also had to cook, look after bb's needs, wash up, and not forgetting her usual household chores.
Thus at night, she needed her rest and i would handle bb alone.
As i moved to my mum's house for confinement, my hubby was not around on weekdays since he had to work and was studying part time.

Therefore, this time round, i decided to engage a CL. It is for the better of everyone.
I will let the CL nap in the day. But at night the CL will sleep with my bb except for feeding, she will bring to me.
In that way, everyone can have ample rest..

Kayliz,
Thanks for the contAct. $50/session is v reasonable. And what i like abt post natal massage is also that everytime aft massage i get a milk fountain! Lol. Ok, joke aside, massage is really a way to relax and step away from the parenting duty for awhile. I always look fwd to massaging time =)

Winkle,
Yes. The food from natal essentials is really yummy!! Their soups is really brewed type for hrs type. And yes, their portion really big!!! 1 serving can feed 2 adults, so i usually share with my hb except the soups =)

Re: cl
Alth this is my 3rd one, have nv engaged a cl before. Always my hb and my parents help out. My #2 one i even do hsewk on my own coz too boring to lie in bed whole day. I am nt used to a stranger staying over at my hse so i do nt engage cl. Overall, its managable for me.

winkle i lol at your "eat like a bird" comment! i heard abt the confinement catering providing big portions, but i'm thinking also tt i can share with my hub, n my mum also can eat abit. so save the trouble of them gg dabao/ cook again also.. just hope they wont end up with nose bleed. haha...

my bestie tried before newbaby n she recommended that to me.

wow really must book massage ladies now le ar? I scared like too early...

as for CL my MIL says wana do confinement for me..think she doesn't like the idea of having a stranger around in the house also.

any mummies don't feel preggie anymore?
i'm like suddenly don't feel preggie except still getting up at night to pee n feel bloated...getting so paranoid again.

all this talk about confinement food makes me feel like eating it now! SLURP!

I think post-natal massage is really for relaxing and not so much about losing weight. I did my post natal massage 1 week after my delivery although mine was natural birth. by that time, my tummy was already greatly reduced in size so i felt that the massage didnt help at all and that breastfeeding was the one that did the job. So i think i will give post-natal massage a miss this time round.

fuzzybear, jiayou! good that your gynae is so caring!

Fuzzybear,
Somehow missed ur post. Anyway, gd to hear that. A gd and reassuring gynae is very impt and does wonder to calm you dwn =) just cont to rest well and leave the rest to him =) hope u will get discharge soon =)

SN,
Ya. I agree with u. For my case, i dun feel that the post natal massage helps me to lose any weight. Mayb more of expelling wind and water retention and ease the aches. However, i would still wanna engage 1; i wanna relax abit la. Hahaha!!

Mummychua: I was at TMC too this morning.. My appt is 9am.. It's was Surprisely fast n I left ard 10.. ;)

TGIF! Happi lunching mummies! Jux went to try the mee Sotong n gudo gudo which was on tv last night.. Now super full... My appetite is picking up.. How abt urs? Hopefully our MS goes off soon ya! ;)

Heya mommies! Congrats to all who passed ur oscars! Hael, I was supposed to do my Oscar yesterday but because of the bleeding, I couldn't. By the time I'm discharged, it will be passed the most optimal time for the scan. This is usually done btw 11.5-13.5wks. The standard measurements to compare to are also within these weeks. Too late and u run the risk of having false results.

Re: confinement food
I tried Natal Essential. Quite decent and portion is big. But hor if u bf u will be so bloody hungry. I would judge that per portion can feed u 1.5 meals. Ur hb might be able to share a bit but def need to pack extra food. Also confinement food might be to heaty for the guys. I'm gonna try Chillipadi catering this time around.

Thanks guys for ur well wishes. I'm very glad I have such a gynae. Though his charges are a lot but he is very compassionate. He specializes in IVF actually so he has seen many heartbreaks. May be that's why he is more compassionate. He really goes all the way out to reassure u. Nv once made me feel as if I'm asking stupid qns. My old gynae for my #1 was really bad. He told me i was overtly kan Cheong when I spotted with my #1. Can see blood clot too but he said no big deal and not to come into clinic unless I'm gushing blood.

Oh post natal massage! I didn't do for my first baby but I did for my 2nd cos my old thread did a bulk purchase. Really regretted it. Didn't help me lose weight partly cos I'm naturally skinny and I have to wait 4 wks post c-sec to do the massages. Didn't work on me, wasted my time cos I could be slping. The masseur is gd though just that I feel it didn't work for me. Won't be getting one this time around. I rem feeling very pek chek with the oily skin and binding. I used Origins Jamu massage. They allow bulk purchases.

Bbz, ooh, where buy the gudo gudo? Ytd had to try vomit but nothing came out, not even gastric juice, so MS def better. Sad ah, that this is how I know my MS lessening. Curry foods also can digest well. Mmmm, maybe I eat curry chap chye ben dinner again.

fuzzybear, ur gynae lc Foong right? I consulted him before, and his English blew me away. So prim, so proper. The few Brits I've met r more chor lor than him. Alamak, I think instead of saying intercourse, he used the phrase 'do the deed' wahahaha!

hahaha, yah fuzzybear, i felt very pek chek with the oily skin and smell and heat from the wrap as well. my bed stinks with the oil, even though already lay an additional layer of cloth over the bedsheets. my feet was oily and i had to wear slippers the whole day until it's time to bathe. so overall, i felt that all the inconveniences post massage outweighs the relaxing short period of massage.

fuzzybear, sounds like you are in very good hands
Don't worry too much and just take the chance to take a good rest.

Re: post natal massage
I had c-sec for #1, so had to wait one month. I engaged Auntie Su last time, recommended by my sis and she is very nice so will be getting her again if she's available. I lost more than half the weight by end of the first month, but she commented that I was very sore and tired... which was true! I usually dozed off during the massage as it was so comfortable. I only managed to do 2 sessions though, as I was alone with bb at home and had to ask my mum to come over when I did the massage so it wasn't convenient.

Re: confinement
My mum will also be doing confinement for me this time, but I was thinking of ordering tingkat for 2nd month. Any recommendation for tingkat lunch? Seems like most of the caterers only cater for dinner for tingkat.

xuan
I pre-booked bec my sister told me for her when she called around when she was about due most post natal ladies said they were booked alrdy. so I decided to be kiasu in case last min cant find anyone & stranded. mine is charging $450 for 7 days. she was an ex-nurse from TMC & recommended by my sister's ex colleage. she uses ginger oil & lemongrass therapeutic grade essential oils to rid wind. no extra charges for binder. she does double binding

Sei,
I catered from mom's cooking for lunch before. Food is gd. Mayb you can consider that.

Re: massage
Hmmm....my massage lady dun use oil but cream. i usually remove the wrap and head for a bath within hrs aft massage =) i am those who can bathe anytime (even at at 5am in the morning) during confinement type. =D

kayliz: i just texted Mdm Ida to enquire n she recommended me Mdm Zaliah, also from her team. Have u heard anything feedbacks abt her before?

Val: yes that's right! They are very gd and unblocking milk ducts that the milk just shoot up when they press. But it is very painful also. But the body massage was so gd i would fall asleep.

Ankh: my CL is recommended by a friend so i think she is ok.. moreover my room and the room she will sleep in is just next to each other.
I will leave our doors so i can hear if bb really cries very badly.

With my 1st child, although my mum was the one helping, i pretty much wanted to manage everything on my own. I even refused to let my mum sleep with bb when she offered to help.
As a 1st time mum, i was super possessive with my bb, i wanted to be ard her 24/7. Eventually i realized that it really tires and stress me too much.
Maybe this is my 2nd child, i am more relaxed and not so stubborn.

ankh: its located at ang moi kio one... the stall name is Yunus N Family... i dont know i consider lucky or not.. touchwood.. so far only puke once... jux no appetite.. n i choose to eat less cos i try to hold not to puke it out.. i have craving for curry too! and i like to drink orange juice or those F&N orange... haha~ so far you have other craving hit?

Re: CL
i have already booked few weeks ago... my no.1 tt time was done by my mum.. now she's busy looking after 3grandchildren le so unable to help mi this time round..

Re: massage
im taking up auntie Aida... i'm comfortable with her on the massage part and shes motherly type.. my sis who is going to due also using her service for both pre n post natal massage. but i have not booked her yet.

thanks kayliz.. i did a search n saw tt forum page as well. saw a few feedbacks here n there on mdm zaliah but not alot. i think she shld be ok lah.. dun think mdm ida will want to spoil her own reputation since she said tt it's her team. haha..

hi all mummies to be :D was reading the thread and seems that i am really slow :D ....

haven't started to look for confinement lady or massage lady ... also didn't look at baby stuff yet......

seems like i need to play catch up :D

hi ladies, now that we are on this post natal massage topic, just wondering how much does it cost? And is it useful in reducing weight?

I'm expecting my #3 on 17 Nov. Nice to "meet" you!

Re: Post natal massage. I did it both for my #1 and #2. But both times I didn't finish the whole package cause cannot tahan. Didn't like the smell and found the massages painful. I bathed once a day with herbs and didn't like that oily feeling after the massage. The masseur would massage the scalp and face too and I found that really gross. I was already experience post natal hair loss and she still rubbed all that oil into my scalp and hair. yucks!

Having said that, I think the binding does help to force everything back to shape. Though a good binder and corset might do the same trick I think (?)

check with you all ah... anybody suffering from excessive salivation?

I had that since week 6 and it's still going strong at week 12. I suffer from severe morning sickness too but this excessive salivation thing really takes the boot.

Been to see ENT specialist, chinese sinseh and dentist but nobody could help me. Getting really depressed from the condition. Gynae actually suggested that I terminate 2 weeks ago cause the condition is really affecting me

If anyone has any experience with this problem, please share how you cope with it and if it will actually go away k? Much appreciated.

Winnie: what do you mean by your gynae suggest u to terminate?

usually people with severe morning sickness will have excessive salivation.

how many weeks are u at now??

i had it during the period when i was diagnosed with that hyperemesis thingy.. but i guessed my excessive salivation wasnt that bad as urs.. it gets better as the pregnancy progresses.. hopefully you'll feel the same way soon!

Hi Winkle,

I'm at 12 weeks now.

He meant to terminate the pregnancy
I was quite offended by what he said actually but I guess he is just that kind of a gynae - very no-nonsense, matter of fact type. Which is why I liked him in the first place.

I don't get the excessive salivation only when I feel nauseous. It's a 24/7 thing which is why it is really eating up my life. I barely talk nowadays cause I'm always holding a pool of saliva in my month and that means a lot of my work is no longer possible (I'm in business development and need to talk to people all the time), and bonding with my 4 and 6 yo boys is difficult.

winnie, who's your gynae? wow, he's not very pro-life to suggest termination. I think you should feel better by week 14. Usually most symptoms wear off by week 14.

Winnie: huh but terminate pregnancy cos of excess salivation? the suggestion from ur gynae seems too harsh. i mean it's something that will get better overtime mah.. moreover it's not affecting ur bb isnt it?

SN, actually he is a christian and so does not perform TOPs himself. Still shocked at what he said. But I guess he is laying down all the options for me? He basically said that he has no cure and the only cure would be to terminate.

Xuan, no, not affecting bb. On the contrary, both my doc and the sinseh says that usually it is an indication of a very healthy pregnancy. Guess that is my only consolation
But it is really a horrible, horrible condition and when I goggled for remedies, there have been mothers who choose to terminate because of how miserable the condition made them.

Made my husband agree to do a vasectomy after this. lol. Don't ever want to go through the ordeal again.

ya lor..i also think it's very harsh to just ask someone to terminate the pregnancy just because of excessive salivation.. the bb is healthy de lei!! *angry*

i'm 14 weeks going 15 liao.. but still having morning sickness.. i can feel it's getting better..

Winkle, congrats on the disappearing MS! *envious*

SN, wei da ah? See if he really does it first. Maybe humouring me only. Cause every time I puke for the nth time in a day I will seek him out to "tekan" him. lol. Just say say to pacify me first.

Kayliz, oh me too, during #1 time I couldn't relax. This time round I hope to just feed bb, eat n sleep during confinement. CL said she wants to feed me till I get rosy cheeked and plump

Bbz, I had so many cravings! Dunno if u were reading this thread about 6 weeks ago, but I think i mentioned I had potato craving. Then in one day I ate 6 potatoes lol. Aargh, I think must ask hubby to get curry puff tonite. Potato n curry in one package, yum yum yum.

Winnie, I felt much better the day i started week 14. Somehow can just feel my energy level come back up. And the last day I really puked was week 13 day 6. Your gynae reminds me of my gynae. Hope he's experienced enough to make it worth your while.

Winkle, my blood clot cleared!! So relieved.

Anyone feel indigestion or nausea worsen after taking calcium pills? anyway to lessen it?

Hi Winnie,

one of my friend had excessive salivation. She carried a mug wherever she go and spit into it. Hope u feel better soon. She was on mc for weeks during 1st trimester. Eventually gave birth to a healthy baby too.

Regarding massage, I enjoyed myself w that during my #1 time. It's really really relaxing till I fell asleep every session even though I told myself not to. It's also extremely helpful when u have blocked ducts in ur breasts during bf-ing. I dunno if that's blocked ducts, but I basically get lumps during the initial breadtfeeding period. Though the massage lady may not be able to clear all e lumps but it certainly felt better after each session.

I'm in my 13 weeks now but I kept feeling bloated and crampy. Went for my gynae visit today and everything is fine. But I feel awful w a crampy tummy. Feeling so depressed I cried non-stop just now. I feel very tired also with no energy to play w my #1. I feel so guilty. I feel life is so meaningless. Everyday wake up feeling tired for work. Even when I take mc, I just laze ard. I have work to do but no energy or mood for anything. I wish to snap out if this...

Winnie: my MS still around... Nxt time I'm not going to say I'm feeling better Liao
coz Everytime I say that.. The next moment I'll start to puke! Today I puked 5 times!!! Aargh!!

Ankh: so relieved to hear the blood clot is gone!! Yeah!! Mine still donno lei... My Nxt apptment is 30th May... So long.........

bunny mummy, its the hormones. Im feeling bloated and crampy too, plus very sleepy all day long. and ya hate to wake up every morning at 6am for work. jiayou just a phase, it will be over soon...

post natal msg, i booked Mona. not sure if anyone heard of her but she is quite popular. rmb during my #1 she will measure my tummy everyday and for sure everyday got decrease one. after the 5 sessions my tummy is definitely tighter. love it...

CL, my 1st CL isnt fantastic. she cooks very well but super not supportive on bfing. keep commenting that i dont have enough bm ask me to go buy formula. lucky my hub supported me on bfing so manage to tbf for a very long time. so with her ard i was quite stress for the 1st 2 weeks as i got listen to her nonsense all day long.

winnie, surprise that your gynae will suggest termination. hope that your problem get get better towards 2nd tri.

Morning mommies! Will be discharged today! Yay!! I badly need a bath. Over here I can't even step down to pee. Had to do it on the bed pan which makes no sense cos I have to contort my body to pee. Then the nurses here are busy so the leave me alone, end up I have to get down from the bed, pack the bed pan away. Doesn't make sense lor. Might as well go to the loo!

Ankh, u consulted Dr Foong before? Ya he is very calm and well manner. Soft spoken too. So for him to get annoyed at the docs in HK was something to see!! Hehe. Though he is very ex but he always tries and finds cheaper alternatives for me. He is still hoping that there will be space in NUH for me to do the Oscar scan on mon/ tues. if not it will be at Camden but he said it will cost.

This baby really very ex man!! I really hope I can claim insurance!

Anyway Mommies, enjoy ur weekend and here's wishing all of u a very Happy Mothers' Day!!

bunny mummy, yah, that's what I have to do too - carry a spit cup around. Super unglam lor. Always getting dirty looks from people around me.

I know how depressed you feel also. Instead of making the most of my life everyday I keep counting the days, hoping Nov will come soon and this ordeal will be over. Let's jia you together and encourage each other ok? It will be worth it

winkle, wah, 5 times?! How to do anything like that? Hang in there... fighting! fighting!

Mummychua, thanks!

HAPPY MUMMY'S DAY ladies!

Fuzzy bear, great that u could go home. That some good rest , don't let ur mind Think abt work.

I just got a weird call from tmc asking if I'm diabetic. Should I be worry? By the way I'm not or I don't think I'm diabetic.

Happy Mummy's Day to all!

Finally got my Oscar results today! Glad everything is fine & baby is growing well at 61.2mm! Next appt gonna be 1mth time, so gonna miss seeing baby dance!

Anyone need to take a lot of supplements? I have folic acid, iron, calcium & fish oil! 4 pills to take! =S

Fuzzybear> glad you can be discharged! Stay positive for the baby! My baby also quite exp coz I was admitted twice for IV drips due to excessive MS. Did doc gave you mc to rest at home? Rest well & take care!

Winkle> I know how you feel.. My record was 8x a day. & recently, I found out that heartburn is a sure sign I will puke & I found out Gaviscon works perfect coz it stops heartburn & stops acid reflux(what causes vomit). My MS has gone down a lot thanks to gaviscon & it's safe for pregnant women to consume. Try!

Mummychua> maybe it's gestational diabetes? Don't worry about. It will go away after pregnancy. =)