(2013/11) November 2013

Hi all.. Celebrating mother's day at my in laws'.. I'm down with cough & headache and really sleepy but does not seem like a gd time to leave yet. Wonder how long I have to stay..

Regarding supplements, I'm already 14 weeks but still taking the small folic acid & fish oil only. I dun hv calcium or iron. But as long as gynae thinks it's sufficient then I'm fine because I hate swallowing pills..

Kayliz> try to find a spot on the sofa to rest? I'm sure the rest won't mind since they should all know you're preggy. That's what I do at my in-laws. =P

You're so lucky lor.. I think I read in previous archives that someone said the rest shoud be taken at week 20 onwards? Duno why I have so many to take! & the iron pills make me gag coz it tastes bad & is so big to swallow! One of my gfs only has 1 pill which consists of all 4 to take. So fortunate right..

Sheep: Thanx for the info.. My gynae prescribed me antacid.. But I still vomit after taking .. That's y I don't dare to try gaviscon...

Winkle> as far as I know, antacid is for gastric juice. It doesn't stop heartburn. Coz I tried the gaviscon double action which is antacid & stops heartburn, it helps. If u want to try, can just buy the liquid sachet from Watsons to try( think abt $1).

I was quite desperate fr my MS to stop previously so I just try anything & everything. Med(metoclopramide) didnt work for me but i still take. seaband & sour plum also no use. Eat what puke what so sian. so depressed few weeks back then wondering why my pregnancy like so difficult while many around me has no MS at all. *so envious*

I know how you feel so meanwhile, hang in there! How many weeks are you alr? It will be over soon!

hahaha ya we are in the same boat... Very sianz one.. But no cure also..

Thanks.. I'll try and see Watsons have the sachet anot.. Will buy and try...

Happy mother's day everyone!!

So happy my gal wished me happy mothers day without prompting. Then she asked what and when can she have a gift too for children's day. October leh, duh........

Winkle, oh dear, still have vomiting? Hope u find some relief soon!!

Sheep, now I'm also taking 4 pills - obimin, calcium, fish oil, and duphaston(to stabilize pregnancy). Have the most problem digesting calcium n fish oil pills, but gynae said since I have problems eating fish and dairy products, got to take both these pills. Think my blood test showed enough iron so for now no iron pills.

Regarding the pills, pls do not take iron/Obimin at the same time as calcium. Can't remember which one will prevent the absorption of the other. Obimin has a bit of iron too. And calcium of course never taken with tea or coffee.

Fuzzybear, glad to know you're at home. Hope your kids giving u a nice mummy's day.

Ankh: yaa.. Me still having MS.. Haizz... Feeling nausea while typing to you...

It's so nice to have ur little one saying happy Mother's Day.. Can't wait for mine to say but.. Maybe 2 more years to go.. Hahaha..

just bought luvion fetal doppler from taka.
sadly i didnt managed to locate the heart beat =(
disappointed and got me paranoid again la..

but hubby say could be cos of wat gyane pointed out.during our scan also that the cell tissues between my tummy n baby is quick thick thats why my scan also not as clear as others..

think i'll bring forward my 16 wks chk up by a week

My boobs started leaking now. When I had #1 only started after 4 mths+ but this time is earlier. Will wake up with 2 wet stains on my top. My nipples are sore and the skin on my boobs feels tight that I would go braless 24/7 if I could. Anyone experiencing the same thing?

Good morning, mummies!

Ankh> thanks for informing! I didn't know the calcium & iron pills cannot take together. The clinic nurse didn't say anything at all. I also didn't know calcium cannot take with tea... Glad you told me!
Ever since I'm preggy, always have cravings for sweet drinks like peach tea, sweet bubble tea, etc.. Which I never do. I used to take less sweet. My body has gone haywire. =_(

Kayliz> I thought leaking only starts one mth before we are due? I also wish to go braless 24/7. Using bra extensions now but getting a bit uncomfy.. Nursing bras don't feel good either. So sian.

sheep

my gynae said calcium pill to take at night and iron pill to take in the day. and, if you drink milk for breakfast, you can only take the iron pill after 3 hrs from intake of milk else the iron pill has no effect. its a headache for me coz i drink milk every morning, must remember to eat the iron pill 3 hrs from my milk which i often forget till after lunch.

Hi Nov mummies,

Hope it's not too late to join the grp. My EDD is 2nd nov and I'm with Dr HK Ho at mt A. Will be popping there as well.

I'm expecting my #2 and #1 is 2yrs 4 mths now. Bit apprehensive abt how we can cope with two but guess I shan't stress too much abt it

kayliz, leaking soo fast?

i'm opp of you actually, i can't bear not wearing a bra cos it just feels soo strained and heavy when i take off to sleep at night.. :D

now i give up and keep my bra on all day / night, not comfortable but better then the sore feeling when i turn... but my breast are getting big fast and they don't look like they belong on me anymore... :S

sheep / little prince - yup, doctor also tell me to take the iron pills in the AM and calcium at night, she said it was better for body absorption...

Sheep/Priscilla: It's not leaking that much like when we r breastfeeding but drops of clear liquid dripping when my boobs are pressed (eg. During sleeping, having my daughter sleep on my chest, etc).
If i squeeze it i can see all the small droplets forming out from the ducts. But for my #1 it was the same case, i asked my mum before and it also happened to her in her 2nd trimester.

I feel better wearing wireless bra, but they dont give much support..
I'm still wearing normal wired bras, but feel that my boobs cant breathe. I wore a cup size bigger which i got for my 1st preg, but still dont feel comfy. Lol..

Silver, how many weeks are u at now? Usually doppler can only detect heartbeat around 12 weeks and above.. If the bb is too young it will have difficulty detecting.i also bought a doppler but I bought it from eBay.. The brand is Sonaline B Fetal Doppler.. Still waiting for my parcel to arrive..

any mummies feeling giddy and kept burping? i have been feeling giddy everyday last two weeks.

i m onli eating mulit vits and folic acid. i eat multi vits in the morning after breakfast den drink milk at nite so it will not clash.

@winkle i'm at 14 weeks going on 15 weeks now le..
thinking firstly could be hard to detect heartbeat since baby is quite small and also my tissues are quite thick, even scan also not as clear as other ppl =( sobx like waste money le..

i'm gona try again tonight ...

oh any mummies got any recommendation where to buy bras? with good promoter that can help you measure? i'm quite lost what size and which kind should I be wearing now leh...my current ones all seemed too small and I was told to wear full cup instead of half cup

I stopped wearing wired bras after bf #1... too uncomfortable :p Priscilla, I'm like you, I have to wear bras day/night, else my boobs will feel sore! Now I'm wearing bras I bought from comfy's BP... a bit like the genie bra advertised on TV. It's very comfortable, good support, and doesn't feel tight even after my boobs grew bigger.

On pills, I'm taking folic acid and obimin only. I'm also taking Anmum almost every day.

kitkat, you could be low in iron? I usually feel bloated at night

Silver: try to go around ur tummy really slow.. Actually my fren don encourage me to buy doppler coz it usually makes ppl paranoid haha.. But I went ahead la..

I bought some bras from spring maternity and I really don like wearing maternity bra.. Firstly no support.. Secondly the shoulder strap super thick and uncomfy.. Thirdly, no support means your breast will look droopy and it just feels and looks really weird from outside..

Morning ladies!!

Sheep,
I am only given multi vits. Nt sure f my gynae will gives me iron and fish pills in my next visit. If yes, i wanna reject iron pills coz it will give me constipation.

Fuzzybear,
Glad to hear u have been discharged. How long did ur gynae asked u to rest at hm? Ex nvm la, mos impt baby is healthy. $$ can be earn back.

Angie,
Welcome to the thread =) 1st time mummy?

Kayliz,
My boobs are sensitive and its nt helping when i am still latching my gal. 

Kinderbueno
Welcome to the thread =) my #2 just turned 2. Hehe. Eventually u will be able to cope with 2. Just rem to prep ur #1 for sibling's arrival.

Hi mummies, sorry to disturb. I have one good condition wooden Rocio baby cot with Fibre Lux mattress to let go at $120 (UP: $399) as my baby prefers to sleep with mummy instead..Self collect at Admiralty. If need transport, additional $10. Interested please pm me. Thx!

Kitkat,
U can consider taking red meat to boast iron level. Iron fortified cereals, beans such as kidney beans, spinach just to name a few.

Kitkat, erm no don't eat too much liver. It is high in vit A which is bad for baby. Just take iron supplements. Could it be that u have low Bp hence u are giddy?

Re: Doppler
The hospital used it on me at 10+ wk and again last wk. can detect heartbeat all the time. But it takes some time to get the heartbeat. I rem one night the nurse took 20mins to detect the heartbeat. Was so scared man. She kept going around the lower tummy to check. Around and around. So don't fret if u can't find it immed. It takes awhile. Also note how u were lying just before. If lying on left baby might be more to the left. But hor I don't recommend getting a Doppler cos it just makes us super kan Cheong if we can't find the heartbeat.

I'm doing my Oscar later at NUH. Today is the absolute last day to do so. NUH told me to come in at 4pm.

Winkle, u still have MS huh. 15 wks already right? I just vomited too. Feeling so miserable, vomit on top, bleed below.

Val, I'm on hospitalization leave till 23rd. Hope the bleeding stops soon. Brown blood and like day 4 or 5 period.

Fuzzybear: hope u feel better soon! Ya me still merlion-ing.. Haiz... On mc today coz don feel well plus office doin renovation, the glue smell is super strong.. Management even sent out email to recommend expecting ladies to avoid.. Haizz... Super sianz also.. Avoid means work from home but I can't work from home coz I'm juZ a small fly..

Kitkat,

Ya i also read better don't take liver cos we should avoid animal-derivative Vit A.. Vit A from fruits and and veg are fine though.. Maybe can let ur doc know on the next visit, maybe just need a supplement..

Fuzzybear,

Later i'm going for my Oscar at nuh too.. 4.40pm, might see you
You have to walk slowly and carefully k.. Hope your discharge clears off soon.. Take care!

Fuzzybear, take care and rest as much as you can. Hope you have a good experience seeing bb later!

My OSCAR is only next Monday. Looking forward to it!

Kitkat, I do feel giddy quite often, especially in the mornings. Take a long time to apply make-up these days cos I have to break it up with rests on the bed! Lol.

Welcome Angie!

How's lunch, ladies..?

Recently keep eating fish beehoon soup for lunch. Never seem to get sick of it, can eat everyday. Weather so hot, downed a McFlurry also.

Now feeling so full, and not much work to do. Super sleepy!!!! Not helping that i have a boss who likes to play relaxing spa music in his room.
I wonder how to stay sane until 6pm.

kitkat, other than iron-rich food (no liver) and supplements, also try not to have sudden movements to reduce the giddiness. For e.g, when you wake up in the morning, lie in bed for a few min, then sit up for a few min before you get out of bed.

kayliz, my current craving is mee siam and lime juice! I couldn't take spicy food before but I've been having cravings for spicy food this pregnancy!

Wahh kayliz ur boss so zen one ah? My office environment is ppl making conf call, typing furiously on the keyboard.. Boss shouting in the room at times coz pek cek with subordinate.. Lolz!!

I am joining this thread as my edd is 7 Nov. Have been reading this thread since I found out my pregnancy but don't dare to post because I have 2 previous miscarriages. Now I am 14+ wks, going to 15 wks then I dare to make my presence here.

I had quite similar experience as Silver for my 1st pregnancy. Found out baby's heartbeat has stopped only on 10 wks checkup which doc mentioned baby already died on 7+ wks. No bleeding, no cramping that time for me to know about the miscarriage.

Then my 2nd pregnancy, i had light bleeding at 5+ wks and doc said the baby cannot further develop due to low HCG hormnone and asked me to wait for menses to come.

Now the 3rd pregnancy, which is my first baby, I can't help but feeling paranoid always like Silver lol...keep thinking if my baby is ok or not cos i don't have much MS, only bloating, hungry easily, sleepy, tired, sometimes no appetite and having bitter taste in my mouth in first trimester.

Entered 2nd trimester feeling even paranoid, cos not too tired and seems like i don't feel hungry easily now. Appetite didn't improve much though. Worse thing is I had car accident last Sat which added in my paranoid! Lucky bb is ok after 2 separate checking in NUH. But as usual, can't feel to feeling paranoid if the accident after-effect on bb will come in later or not...*touchwood touchwood!*

Sorry to have bombard u all with my story. But I hope I can learn and share my experience with you all here. Nice meeting u all!

Please help to key in my details in the table

EDD: 7 Nov
Child: #1
Gynae: Prof Mary Rauff
Hospital: NUH
FTWM

sei: yesyes! i loveee spicy food too! i can have laksa yong tau foo for breakfast~! shiok..

winkle: i really LOL at your post and just nice my boss walked out looking at me. OMG. Yes he very zen one. Every day got classical music to listen. Maybe is male boss so not so temperamental like female. Haha!

Welcome SY! Don worry.. This pregnancy will be a successful one
I also paranoid one.. But paranoid I also can't do much.. I'm not Tom Cruise so can't afford ultrasound machine at home Lolz!

SY, welcome to the thread! Thanks for sharing your story. Stay strong! Will pray that we all will have healthy babies and smooth deliveries.

I'm also expecting my first child after trying for 2.5 years. It has been tough..

Still in my first trimester. But praying that God will bless the baby and nothing bad will happen.

Have a great week everyone!

Kayliz: the way ur boss talks also zen one ah? My side most bosses are male but still stressful environment..

I donno if I'm exaggerating.. I think I felt my bb's first kick.. Very gentle on the lower left abdomen area.. I'm 15 weeks now.. Hmmm...

ya u guys are right the problem with Doppler is the moment u can't detect the heartbeat, you start to get paranoid which is what i'm facing now! grr...
brought forward my appointment for a week...looking forward to the scan this sunday..hope all is well since I've lost most of my pregnancy symptoms le..now 14 + wks going on 15.

Winkle: Yours is Jap company? In my working experience in 2 Jap firms i always find the environment very stressful.
My boss is very easy-going type and pretty chill so i would say he's quite "ZEN" hahaha.
It's great working under him and so far my co is quite pro-family so i am happy here.

Hey Min, I'm already at Fetal Care Centre. Not too crowded today. If u are here already, I'm wearing a dark navy blue dress with a red Longschamp bag.

Urgh I have been feeling tummy pains the whole day. Not sure if it is tummy pains or contractions. I really hope baby is ok.

SY, welcome. I understand ur fear. Every pregnancy I have the same fears until my gynae will joking tell me to schedule weekly visits. Haha. Hang in there. I'm sure this will be a sticky baby!!

Kayliz, so gd that ur MS is gone!!! When will it be my turn?

Fuzzybear,
Gd that you are on hospitalization leave now to rest. Hope ur bleeding will lighten and disappear very soon. Your baby is a little fighter. Jia you babe! =)

Kayliz,
I like soup based/"clean food" for dinner coz thats the worst meal/timing of the day for me. I used to like tong tou fou but this preg i super hates them. Fish also must see cooking method. I love sweet n sour fish nw. And i crave dragon rolls and mango rolls from sushi tei. Lol
Re: boss
My ex boss is very temperamental but he is a male!! Can call me aft work to ask me to help him. Aft i gave my advise he yelled at me thro the phone n hanged up on me. =.= 

Sei,
I like spicy food for bfast. Haha. I can have laksa, mee pok. =p

SY,
Welcome to the thread. Hope this preg will work out well and be smooth for you. Jia you!!

Thanks winkle, mawanab and fuzzybear for your warm welcome

Silver, don't worry. All will be fine for your baby..we all jiayou together..

Fuzzybear, your bb will be fine. She will be a sticky one too!

My next appt is at 29 May. Really wait until neck very long lol...

Thanks Val for your welcoming too! Yes, i hope so too~ Cos I am feeling very stressed with my SIL so excited over my pregnancy and already start to pack her baby's stuffs which her baby is around 8+ mths now while my MIL also always ask me to becareful, don't tired myself too much, blah blah..think they are more excited and happy than me while I am having my worries here.

ladies, my sis asked me to go easy on the spicy food cos she ate a lot of it during her 2nd preg and her girl is super fierce! lol...

SY, welcome to the thread!

winkle, I can feel baby's movement too! I'm about 15.5 wks now and last weekend I was watching Ironman2 on TV and baby gave 4 somersaults! I think you have to be in the right position at the right time to feel it hehe...

I'm also one of those with few symptoms, so I always ask hb if bb is still in there. Looking fwd to my appt next Tues!

Re: supplements
Thanks for all the useful info! Didn't know iron & calcium pills still got timing to take one.. So cheam! How come my clinic nurse never tell me anything? I've been taking in vain! By the way, I can't drink milk coz I've been puking & my colleague advised that drinking milk will make me puke even more.

Val> can reject meh? I told my gynae her iron pills are very big always make me eat till gag. She gave me syrup instead. Still cannot siam.. I have a gf only got 1 supplement (folic+calcium+fish oil+iron) to take. So envious!

Kitkat> I also feel giddy & burp quite a lot. Quite scared when I burp coz it makes me gag like yesterday Mother's Day, think I overeat. I burped till giddy then I threw out my lunch in the evening. =_= anyone know how to stop burping?

Kayliz> you gave me a scare! I thought the leaking is very jialak kind then I was wondering at work how... Haha.. Silly me.. Lol
I miss laksa ytf, it used to be my fav! Don't dare to take now scared I throw up then throat will burn!

Sy> hang in there! Everything will be ok! Stay positive! =)

Fussybear> how's the Oscar scan? Did baby dance for you to see? =)

Hey mommies, I'm done with my scan. They gave me priority. Baby is healthy. NT is abt 1.7mm. So far cannot see anything btw the legs though the sonographer says its too early. BUT my blood clot is still there and it is HUGE. Even the attending doctor says I have bled significantly. The clot is abt 7cm by 4cm, as big as baby! Sigh. To make things worse I threw up my pills this morn. Really very nauseated.

Ha although I'm on hospitalization leave, it's really hard to just lie around with 2 boys!!