(2013/11) November 2013

SN: my hub doesnt agree to using carriers, not bcos he dun like to carry the carriers.. haha..

mummychua: considering that we are from the same gynae, i suggest u call tmc to confirm u are on their appt list. if u're not on their appt list, then better to go earlier than 8.30am like 1 of the mummies here. think she walk in at 8am or something for her queue number. i was told tt my appt is on 9.30am n when i was there then realised i'm not on their appt list. end up spending 5-6hrs at tmc. -.-

I have the Ergo organic & Beco Gemini carrier.
If i have to compare the both, i would still prefer Ergo because it is more comfortable than the Beco.
Somehow, the Ergo fits according to my body but the Beco feels kind of stiff and i still feel my shoulders aching with it. The Ergo is also easier to adjust when the bb is inside.

I used the Ergo for all my travels with my #1. It was a gd investment!
Only thing is Beco can allow bb to face front and the designs are pretty. But most of the time, bb will fall asleep when being put in carrier so i feel that it's better to let them face inwards.
In fact, i want to sell my carriers off as I would like to try the manduca. Heard a lot of good reviews about it. How much does it cost?

Fuzzybear, hope everything turns out fine!

Littleprince, wow, really admire u for surmounting the bf issues.

Mummychua, no harm in being a bit kiasu in confirming Oscar appt, nor arriving a bit earlier.

SN, my friend used her patapum carrier for her 2 yr old when she was 32 weeks pregnant n holidaying in hk. She made sure the belt sat securely on the hips under belly. Kid was on her back. Her hubby also willingly took turns with her. But really, I don't know whether advisable to use a carrier now for u.

Er, nothing wrong with guys carrying bb in carrier leh. My hubby also did it before so i could carrying on yakking with my girlfriends in peace lol. Once I saw this macho man carrying TWO kids in a backpacking looking contraption; one kid in front, one kid sitting high up on the back. It was a waaaaahhhhh, kowtow moment.

kayliz, I can't rem how much I bought my manduca, it was in 2011. I think it cost about $230-$260?

I tried the bjorn before, and i couldn't carry beyond 30minutes, my back was aching. but with the manduca, I could carry and walk for hours.

Ankh, oooohhhh, so there are pregnant mummies who still use baby carriers ar? hmmm. yah, agree the baby must be at the back liao. cannot be in front. hmm. but think i better play safe.

fuzzybear, oh dear, hope everything will be alright.

I think macho guys with baby carriers look very good! Like got the gentle touch :p Maybe just get a more neutral colour.

Kayliz, I saw a few BPs and sprees selling Manduca. Any mummy knows what's the difference between the different models?

Littleprince, me! I'm still planning to use my MIM sling for #2. The Manduca is for my hb cos he doesn't know how to use the sling, but I will still bring my sling along for bf in public. But I salute you, can sling your boy until 4yo. I had to stop when my girl was 2+ cos the weight was too much

Sei, thank goodness. i thought how come no one mentioned abt MIM sling anymore. yes, sling is good for bfg in public.

actually, it was not advisable to sling my boy at 4YO then when he was already more than half of my weight. but i really enjoyed the convenience of being handsfree, especially when he was sick and i had to bring him to the doctor on my own during rainy days.

SN, if your tummy is not in the way and your bb is light enough maybe you can try. carrier on the back? for me i stopped carrying my gal. she too heavy and big for me liao. even my hub cant stand carrying her for long.

daddies on carrier looks so manly lor. keke... but carrier can get hot in local weather so alot of guys are not willing to use it in sg.

there is a shop selling all these structured carrier in square 2. u all can go try the differences between different carriers. i think i tried almost all, find manduca the best in terms of comfort and function. their infant seat is slim and build in unlike the others which add additional bulk. and the backing is extendible so it practically grow with your child. nowadays their design getting nicer too, although beco still look prettier. no difference between models just the design only.

i got my manduca in 2010, it was close to $300, super expensive but i think i saw some one in bulk purchase selling them under $200, very good value considering that other carrier costed almost the same price.

littleprince, i only use sling for the first month. once i got my carrier, sling is throw aside liao. i got bad shoulder cannot take the strain sling puts on the shoulder. but sling very good for breastfeeding on the go. i got friend who can shop and bf they kids at the same time with sling. power....

xuan, the clinic nurse called to make the appt infront of me leh. tmc wont tell us anything on the result rite? i presume the clinic will only call if the result is bad. so no call means everything is ok?

littleprince, it's not that i don't want to use a sling but I dunno how to use! haha! I bought a pupsik before but I try and try and try still fail. in the end, i sold it off. really need some skill to put the baby in the sling. is MIM easier to use than pupsik?

fuzzybear: take good care and don over exert yourself.. my friend had too much walking during the M'sia election week because she went back to vote plus shopping..came back she bled and was on strict bedrest.. cannot get off bed unless bath or toilet visit..

jiayou jiayou!!

ya mummychua.. the 1 who did my scan at tmc din tell me anything abt my result. n yes i called up the clinic 2 days after my scan n they told me specifically "no calls means good news", haha...

Litprince,
Me! I use slings for my kids. My boy till 2yo coz aft that he prefers running than slinging. Lol. Currently still slinging my gal. I have 1 MIM and 2 pupsik.

SN, I was also hopeless with the sling until one of the experienced mummy in my previous thread showed me how to use it correctly during one of our gatherings. After that I loved it! I never tried pupsik before so can't comment.

Hey mommies thanks for all ur concern. Baby is ok BUT there's a huge pool of blood in my womb. The blood pool is half as big as the whole amniotic sac and is as big as the baby who is close to 7cm long. Doc says its placenta abruption but luckily it didn't detached at the placenta portion. I have to be warded for 48hrs min cos there's too much blood. Sigh.

Feeling really low right now. Why me? Why so many probs? I just want to have a healthy baby. So hard meh? Can't stop tearing cos this came as a big shock to me.

SN: I bought a MIM sling and also didn't know how to use until i gave up! Because at that time bb was so small and fragile, i was so scared i would twist her when trying to put her in.
Until she was about 5-6 mths and able to sit, i went through internet and youtube videos to learn and learn. Finally i was able to sling her and she loves it at night when i sling her to sleep.
I love that we can fold and keep the sling when not using, and also use as a blanket when she is sleeping in the stroller..

Fuzzybear,
*hug* did gynae says wat causes the abruption and anyway to prevent it from abrupting futher or detaching?? Be strong, baby can feel you. U r in gd hands, ur gynae will do his best.

dear fuzzybear, it is good that both baby and you are safe, that's what is most important. if you feel sad, baby will feel it too. must stay strong for baby's sake ok? rest well in hospital and jia you, jia you!!

fuzzybear.. can understand ur worries.. hope the situation stabilised/ improves in the next 48 hours. must stay strong n continue to fight with your baby!

Fuzzybear, so happy to know that your bb is ok. Sometimes really no answer as to why such stuff can happen. But you are a strong mother, and your bb is fine. Must envision both of u pulling thru this okie?

Val: You are not curious to know the gender of your bb meh... For your first born, what colour of bb items to buy? How to choose name? You shopped for nutrual colour bb items and prepare 2 set of names (1 boy & 1 girl)?

Even though I already have 1 girl and 1 boy. I am still curious to know the gender of my 3rd child.

Sheep: At least better than nothing I guess. For my 1st and 2nd bb, none of the sonographer gave me the scan pic. This time the sonographer gave me 4 scan pic in an A4 size.

Ergo Carrier: I used Ergo for my #1 but bought it when my girl was 2 yrs old so didn't get to use it very often. I find ergo is good carrier to get as it balance the weight on both shoulders. I didn't use the ergo for my #2 as he prefered to be on stroller. I sold off my ergo thinking I will not have any more kid.

MIM sling: I used MIM for my #1 when she was 3 months old. I find it too much cloth to manage. As the bb weight increased it put too much pressure on one side of my shoulder.

Pupsik pouch sling: I used it for my #2 when he was 2 months old. I like the pupsik better than the MIM. The sale person taught me how to use and ensure I know how to use before I bought it. As bb weight increases I stop using the sling too. I sold my pupsik too thinking I will not have any more kid.

I am tempted to get Manduca carrier this time since there are many good review about it.

Fuzzybear: You take care and rest as much as possible.

I have 1 MIM Sling, 1 MIM's pouch, and pupsik pouch, for newborn, I find the easiest to use MIM's pouch, its very neat and handsfree, however it doesn't have padding like pupsik. When my baby's older, the MIM's pouch is too small , so I switched to Pupsik's pouch and used it till he's about 2 years old, it can be quite hard on the shoulder if the baby is heavy. I am not used to MIM's sling as there are too many 'cloth', need to pull & adjust , find it hard to use, but my helper then love to use it to make the baby fall sleep.

Fuzzybear>glad that both you and baby are ok, have a good rest

Wenny,
Curious (so that i can start buying things) but this rd decides to do something diff from the previous 2. Haha.

For my previous 2, we know the gender before detailed scan. So easier to prepare. This rd, i will just need a new set of clothes for hosp discharge. So just buy white in color. Yes, names prepare 2 sets; 1 boy and 1 gal. Still shortlisting.

Re: sling/pouch
Mine all 3 are pouch, nt the sling with ring type. I realised MIM more fitting than pupsik but the designs for the latter nicer. My hb prefers the MIM more.

fuzzybear:

relax and be positive, talk to baby...at least baby is ok right? just rest more.
did gynae say anything about any risk? if not then things will probably go ok?

Fuzzybear: can understand your emotions now.. especially when gynae diagnosed us with so many problems and said nothing can be done, just rest & monitor.. but since the BB is ok and growing well.. just take care of your body and rest as much as possible.. few more mths to go! Jiayou!

i also bought the baba luna carrier sling. It's supposedly adjustable and easier to use than non adjustable slings, but still didnt succeed. so i sold it off as well. I have already given up hope using slings/pouches. haha. shall just continue to use my manduca.

Thanks mommies. Trying to keep myself cheerful. Feeling slight cramps. Haizzz. But nurse just came with Doppler so can hear baby's heartbeat.

It's very demoralizing cos u dunno after all the effort put in, whether u will lose the baby. I didn't do anything much the last 3 days. Just went back to work. I can't be resting all the time. 2 kids to look after, my boss also not understanding. Quite depressing when I'm trying my best to juggle everything yet this still keeps happening.

Haizzzz

Fuzzybear: Work is important but so is health. If anything happens to your baby, no one in the company can compensate it to you. Therefore.. work can wait. There will be someone to do it if it is so urgent. If the boss not happy, that is his problem, u have valid reasons and medical reports to prove your condition. Take plenty of rest.

fuzzybear, since we all work in this BIG organisation, they are suppose to lead by example. How can they be mean to pregnant ladies when the government is trying to boost the birthrate?

Hello all.. I am at paragon now... Waiting for my Oscar scan.. Hope everything will be ok...

Fuzzybear.. Keep positive and look on the bright side. Everything will be fine.. The mummies here will be praying for you.. Hugs

I know work isn't as impt as the baby. It is demoralizing that ur boss make snide remarks. When I called her and told her I'm being hospitalized she said "oh so Monday on MC again?" I repeated that I'm gg to be hospitalized and won't know when I will be discharged, she said "ok then u confirm everything then tell me." wah sey hear also blood boil.

She doesn't have kids cos her health isn't very gd. She is abt 10 yrs older than me but she is diabetic so decided against having kids.

Oh well.

Fuzzybear,
Ignore her nasty remarks. I got tt from my team lead when i was expecting my #1 too and was given 10days mc. Its nt our wish to be given such long mc or to be hospitalised. I know you arent in the best of mood now. Just concentrate on the more impt stuffs. Hope ur bleeding has stopped.

Piggie,
My then team lead who make nasty remarks is a father himself. I think some ppl are just mean, whether they are parents or nt.

Just finish my Oscar scan... Took an hour! Baby just not in the right position to take the measurement.. End up have to try taking measurement from the baby position as best as possible... Scared of the results now.. Mummies, you know how they calculate the risk using the measurements?

Morning ladies, I'm at tmc now waiting for Oscar scan, sian I missed my appt time now got to wait liao. Didn't know that the traffic to tmc can be so bad. My house is only 15mins away but today I took slightly more than an hr to reach.

Fuzzy bear, how's ur bleeding? better?

Gd morning!

Nopes bleeding is not better. Brown blood coming out which is normal. Doc says to expect blood for a wk or 2. I really love my doc. He came to check on me at 8pm last night and again at 7am. Very reassuring. He said it is likely the more episodes of bleeding, the more likely I will continue to bleed. But he will make sure that baby's life will not be threatened. If need be I will be on bed rest for as long as it takes. He really listens and answers my questions with all honesty. He didn't hedge from the tough questions but he also told me how he would prevent me from miscarrying.

Oops Mummychua, hope u don't have to wait long. I might not be able to do my Oscar at all because I'm near 14 wks. My doc said may be I have to do a FA scan with Dr Anandan at 14 or 16 wks.

Arissa, Oscar is based on combination of scan and blood test results.

Mummychua, oh dear, must be all the peak hour traffic. Why don't u take a walk to the nurseries? If PD not checking the babies the nurses will draw the curtains back. 6th level nursery window bigger than 4th level's heehee. Can also peep at the wards at the same time.

Fuzzybear, all for the bb! My MIL was telling me for her 3rd and last pregnancy she was pretty much on bed rest nearly throughout due to incompetent cervix and bleeding. And hor, my bro-in-law from this pregnancy is the healthiest, sportiest out of the 3 kids my MIL has. So jiayou!

mummychua thot ur appt at 9.30am? saw ur posting at 9.05am only wor... hope u dun have to wait that long.. did they tell u estimated wat time will be ur turn? if not so soon can go novena sq for a good bkf 1st. hehe...

fuzzybear ur doc sounds really good! hope that makes u less worried.. in the meantime, can only trust that ur doc will do his best, n tell bb tt u n bb must win this difficult situation! jia you!!

Morning mummies! Jux done with my Oscar scan.. Pretty fast and baby is cooperative too.. ;)

Fuzzybear: please have a good rest and ignore ur boss.. Ur health n baby is the prority.. Cheer up gal!

Fuzzybear, looks like u are in good hands so trust your doc and rest well that he will take good care of both u and bb..if only my doc was as like yours...haiz

arrisa
I just did mine - results took 3 working days to get back to me. I did it at TMC. they need scan results and blood test to work out risk factor

ankh
I signed up for hospital tour and went for that after my morn scan actually. not bad, got to see the rooms with water bath, which I never knew TMC had.

fuzzybear
how come u didn't do Oscar at 12-13 wks? 14 wks cant do anymore? how come?

Re:post Natal Massge & Confinement nanny
finally confirmed my post natal and confinement nanny today. 2 things off my mind

hael, ur post natal massage can confirm so early? i heard from my other mtb friend tt usually can book only 2mths before edd...

did u find urs thru friend's recommendation or forum? cos my friend still looking for hers...

Xuan, my appt is at 8.30am. U know what I'm done. Leaving tmc now. It's surprisingly fast.

Fuzzy bear, jiayou! As long as bb is ok, it's all worth it. Good that u have such assuring doc. I got a friend who was bed rest for her whole pregnancy, did one surgery during pregnancy. Her bb turn out to be very smart. Her gal can read by 2.5yr old.

Post natal massage can book now. Otherwise those popular ones will be booked up. I think my msg lady already fully booked for Nov.

I still can't find cl. Haiz. If no cl then I will hav to start looking for confinement catering liao. Any to recommend?