(2013/09) September 2013

Hi Mommies

I have a brand new unopened tube of Mustela Double Action Stretch mark cream, expiry Feb 2014, letting go at $35. Retail price is $59.90.

What it is:
A deeply penetrating cream that helps prevent and reduce the appearance of new and recent stretch marks.

What it does:
Patented ingredients, Elastoregulator, Lupeol, Arabinogalactane, reinforce the elasticity of the skin to withstand stretching and keep skin supple. A complex containing Sophora Japonica and Mineral Trace Elements assist in skin renewal and moisturizing Shea Butter and Avocado Peptides soothe the skin and provide a sense of comfort.

AND it is formulated WITHOUT:
- Parabens
- Synthetic Dyes
- Petrochemicals
- Phthalates
- Triclosan

If keen, pls PM or whatsapp me at 91397020 for fast deal. Thanks.

Regds

Oo.. Mirai and Gene, your gynae must be those very popular and well renowned ones.

I think if you are comfortable with your gynae and don't mind paying a bit more should be fine.

Hope all have a good Sunday!

Any 2nd or 3rd time mummies still breastfeeding?
I feel quite sad now my supply has become only 1/4 of what I usually have and now baby (9 mths) doesn't really want to latch anymore I think becoz of the low supply or too used to bottle.

This time I have tried to still pump milk 3 times a day but the supply is not there anymore.
I dunno when I should stop totally.
I think one reason of the very low supply is becoz I didn't drink much now as drinking will make my stomach feels bloated and feels like want to vomit.

Last time during my #1 time I manage to pump milk until 3 months preggy but I remember got one mth I only pump once a day. But my #1 is not latching unlike my #2 who wants to latch until I got preggy and supply drops a lot. Last time I get preggy when #1 is 1 year old and pump until she is 15 mth old. Now I get preggy when #2 is 6.5 mths old and managed to total breastfeed until she is 8 mths and start to supplement with fm afterwards

I was hoping I can do tandem nursing when this baby is born so at least I don't feel too guilty to my #2. Hux really miss the bonding when she latch but even when she is latching in the morning she only latch for not even a minute or only one minute and looks like she only drinks about 20 mls when latching becoz I pump after she latch and I know how much supply I can produce usually when she is latching in the morning she only latch for not even a minute or only one minute and looks like she only drinks about 20 mls when latching becoz I pump after she latch and I know how much supply I can produce usually

Hi Mirai, that's gd. So long you are comfortable I think it worth the price.

Hi Groovy, I think you might be too stressed up so ur #2 felt it and did not latch long. Just try your best, if really can't, then it's better to switch to formula milk, then not that stressful for you and #2, ESP now u r preggy with #3.

Ann Chua,
My niece said she will forward me the contact tonight.

Mirai,
Will check with u gals when i got the contact.

Hi groovy,
Dun feel too bad. No babies and pregnancies are alike. Many reasons for not latching, aside from supply drop. Ur baby could also be disliking the change in taste, ur letdown has slowed down becos of progesterone, 8-9 mths happens to be at a mental leap stage too if I remember correctly. In any case the main reason for supply drop during pregnancy is hormonal change. And nothing you do can influence that. I didn't want to wean my first either and was trying to see if I could do anything to get supply back so did research.

Anyway, it's not all or nothing. If ur baby loves bf, she'll come back to it once ur n supply arrives and you can still tandem if you want. Also, you can just latch at night when she is more receptive generally and u have more milk too. The most impt thing now is to rest well and take care of the one inside.

HI Groovy, did your gynae ask you to stop pumping/latching? I think when you are pregnant, somehow our milk supply will drop alot.

Hi, for mummies who suffer morning sickness/vomitting, do you all take another dose of your folic acid/ vitamins/ hormones pills prescribed by gynae?

So far I only vomited around 2-3 times but it's usually right after my breakfast and taking my pills. I'm currently taking folic acid and Utrogestan (progesterone) pills and wonder if its ok if I have a missed dose due to occasional vomitting.

Groovy: guess u dun have to feel too guilty about bf ... when #3 is out u can supplement #2 with bm again~ that what my ex colleague did ... she didnt bf #1 cuz her son refused to latch n she was very diligent thus her supply was really low n she gave up after 2 months ... for her #2 she was very hardworking n has more than enough to feed #2 so she replace 1-2 feed of bm everyday for her #1

viiv,

Yes...im still taking my folic acid every morning. Ytd i vomitted twice too. Maybe had too heavy lunch. But i only has 2pcs of roti prata kosong only & after that i felt so bloated.

hi gals, how's your weekend? i accomplished quite a few things during the weekend.

finally confirmed on my CL. met up with her on sat and placed $500 deposit. also went to spring maternity and bought a few maternity wear.

went to first mum and dad congress on sun. signed up for wong boh boi's prenatal classes and also bought a medela freestyle breast pump.

i'm slowly ticking off my checklist... but really spending alot of money... abit heartache.

Thanks weiwei..

Just wondering from your research when should we stop breastfeeding/latching during pregnancy?

Af first I wanted to stop maybe when in 3rd trimester but it seems nowadays baby doesn't want to latch anymore so it feels a bit difficult..

Huhu I also finally found out the reason why my #1 stops latching when I go back to work last time! It's becoz I over pump and latch mostly after pumping when the milk supply is not a lot already.
For my #2 I always tried not to overpump so I managed to get her latch on until she is 8 mths old. But now my supply is really very minimum so she started to be fussy..

It's a big problem to latch at night for me now becoz no supply = baby cannot sleep! I found out when I preggy suddenly my baby cannot sleep at night anymore and the reason is that low supply.
That's why currently I only latch if she woke up before I pump in the morning. But if she doesn't wake up I just pump my milk. Total 3 times pumping in a day..

During pregnancy the rule supply = demand is not apply anymore.

And I wanted to share to first time mummies in the early months when baby is born it is a lot easier to increase supply
Therefore jiayou later when baby is just born! Don't supplement with FM at all as it will make u lazy. hehe..

Btw, I already supplement with FM after she is 8 months old. Becoz supply totally decreased I think by then I only have 1/2 my usual supply. huhu.. And now after 1 mth becomes only 1/4

Hi Mirai, thanks!

Hi viiv, I also threw up my folic acid pill prev. Now I know when I throw up, usually after meal, SI I took my pills after I threw up.

Hi ms blur, think the prata too oily so u feel very bloated. Carbo food always make me fill bloated so I take smaller portion.

Hi Ferendipity, haha.. Me too spending a lot of bb stuff. Tdy gg to shop for clothes. Think tummy really growing and showing now, need new clothes.

Ferendipity, that's a lot of stuff you managed to accomplishe! u really plan far ahead!

Ann Chua/Ferendipity, I am already showing at coming 12 weeks! Can't really wear office pants already...too tight when sit down...how many weeks are u ladies now?

Ferendipity,
Wow....you really confirmed and getting yourself many stuff. Is Spring maternity having sales nw? I also need to get some clothes alrdy, coz' tummy showing & my pants all getting tight.

winter79,
Im into my 12th weeks this wk.

msblur, we r in the same situation! DUring my 1st pregnancy, think I only started wearing real maternity clothes some time around 5-6 months. This time round seems to be showing much earlier...Thinking of switching to legging style pants

Ann, winter79, msblur

i'm in my 14th week liao.. i also can't get my working pants and jeans, that's why i have no choice but to buy maternity wear. i thought i could delay abit longer. hahahaha...

no sale at spring maternity but bcos i got no choice, so i bought a few. intend to buy more progressively.

winter79,
Im wearing legging style pants nw. Luckily came with sizes, so can tahan till nw. If wearing pants, will be too tight when i sat down.

can go Cotton On buy those stretchable skirt... 2 for $30 if i m not wrong.. can wear for work! comfy and coz its stretchable at waist.. =)) i ve been surviving on that and some dresses..

ferendpity, I also signed up for Wong Boh Boi's parentcraft classes during the congress. I chose the weekend classes as we don't live near AMK. Also bought the maternal milk to try. Hope it'll taste as good. I'm drinking the milk by Nestle now and it taste weird.

Any recommendations for cheap and good maternity wear? I'm currently wearing normal dresses but bought them 1 size larger.

Angelic^Soul, that's cheap! will check out when free.

You all can try asos.com for maternity wear. can be quite cheap for some brands when on sale. I find local maternity wear rather overpriced.

charmayne, i also choose weekend classes.. when is yours? mine is sunday 3-5pm.. maybe we will be in the same class if yours is the same as mine...

msblur, asos is overseas website but they ship internationally

I'm in wk15 now. Tummy started to show last week.
Ya, I think cotton on is gd. Am gg cotton on to grab cheap clothes too. Dun want buy maternity clothes, feel they are expensive and not nice too.

Ann, i think for now we can still go for normal clothes with loose fitting... but as we progress to late 2nd tri / 3rd tri, we will definitely need maternity clothes...

in fact those few pieces i bought over the weekend at spring maternity, i can even wear them after i gave birth. i just have to put a belt and it will look like a skater dress.

Ann

My gynae is good but her package was much cheaper when I had my #1 and since I'm comfortable w her, bo bian lor.

I'm in my 15th week and my bump is huge! Way bigger than #1 but I heard it's the norm.

Dear all MTB, I am in 12 weeks now and this is my 2nd pregnancy, I went to do the down syndrome test, to check on the baby's neck thickness, the reading shown 1.8 mm, is it consider normal? I am worried. My gynae said is slighly thick, and waiting for blood test now. Can any mummy advise me on this? Thank you.

Queenie

I think below 2mm shd be normal. Mine is a horrifying 3.5mm and I'm scheduled for a genetic test tomorrow and amnio test on 18th.

I'm still keeping my fingers crossed.

If you're worried, I suggest you do further tests

Ferendipity, I registered for the Saturday class from 2-4pm. But I guess I could still bump into you during the breastfeeding session coz it's merged and held on Tuesday only,

Queennie, my gynae said the upper limit is 2.5mm. So yours should be ok. Have you got the blood test results? Think it's impt to interpret both results together.

Gene and Charmayne, Thank you for your advise. I am waiting for the blood test result which will be out this friday. Hopefully everything is ok.

Gene, hope your baby is well too. Fingers crossed.

Queennie, no problem. Hope to hear good news from you.

Any mummies experiencing bloody stools? Was quite surprised when I saw blood after passing motion. Not sure if it's due to constipation.

Hi! Can add me to FB? [email protected] thanks!

Finally went for my first Gynae check last fri. This is #3 liao so very relax. But had a minor car accident 2 wks before so was a bit worried but was flying off so couldn't get to see Gynae. So glad everything was ok. Opting not to do Oscar again.

Maternity clothes: I refused to buy when I was carry #1 but regretted when I was abt to deliver. Cos still can wear after pregnancy esp if u buy duo function ones which can be used as nursing wear. Can try topshop, H&M (hit and miss. Overseas outlets have better option and cheaper), mothersenvogue and Maternity exchange at marina sq, which can also let u rent. So if u intend to have more than 1 kid can invest in some gd basics like black dresses and skirts for work.

Went for the genetic test today and was glad that everything seems normal. With these results, prof ananda suggested that the risk of MC if i go ahead w amnio is higher than that of having a bb w DS.

Thus, i think i'll opt out amnio and see how the detailed scan goes.

Thks gals, for all ur prayers.

hi Groovy,

The only guideline on when to stop is that it's the decision of mummy and baby and no one else
it depends on the individual circumstance.

Many have only minimal milk by the time 2nd trimester hits but they continue to comfort latch their babies because their babies needed the bond. Some stop at 1st trimester when there are medical issues, like previous miscarriages and in my case, heart palpitations.

Most importantly, make sure baby is well fed. If not enough milk, then need to supplement, else her growth will be compromised. If you are ok, you can still comfort latch her, if not too tired, can still pump and give her ebm. Any amt of ebm is help; in fact as the amt of milk decreases, the concentration of immune components increase in baby. When I had almost no milk left during my 3rd pregnancy (I miscarried that one), I gave her fm at night and then she latches cos she wanted mummy milk milk

Yah, true, during pregnancy the demand = supply rule doesn't apply anymore because progesterone increases to secure the pregnancy and protect the one inside you. and progesterone stops the letdown of milk ;)

Just went for my Oscar scan & blood test ytd. Everything seems well & normal according to the doc taking the scan. Results will only reach my gynae ard 3 to 4 days later.

Oh ya...my EDD was brought forward to 19th Sept nw instead of 25th Sept. Not sure if bb growing quite fast, length was 6.3cm nw. But my weight still remain the same as first appt, no increse.

Think im one of the unlucky one here. Got admitted to hospital again.. it all started on sat.

Sat- felt smth funny at vagina. Like one extra flesh over there. Look into mirror and it looks like the cervix to me.. already at entrance of vagina... hubby saw and shock as well.

Rushed to gynae clinic but by the time got check.by dox the "thing" retracted back. Gynae didnt get to see it. Use a speculum to check Insidr and say cervix is closed. So likely it was prolapsed bladder.. nth can do abt it so went home.

Sunday night- woke up one hr after sleeping to pee cos got urge to pee.. couldn't pee at all.. took me 10-15mins to coax the pee out in trickle... happen few more times in the night and the flow of urine only resume normal at morning time.

Monday night- pee at 10pm then go sleep. Abt 1020pm wake up pee again.. 1115pm wake up to pee cos got very strong urge to pee again.. same.thing happen. Unable to pee. No matter how I try to pee, coax the pee pee out.. it just cannot come out.. sit on toilet bowl more than 1hr plus n still cannot pee.. bladder got so distended and causing me pain. The so called prolaspsed bladder happened again and this time I took a picture..

Went to A&E and a tube have to be Inserted to drain the urine..

And 600+ml came out... omg... finally I am relieved from the pain..doc say need to keep the tube In for at least 24hrs.. so stayed on... next morning showed two gynae my picture and both said its prolaspsed cervix...

Sigh... I feel like an old woman...

Wei wei- only can wait for uterus to rise up.and out of pelvic cavity and Into abdominal cavity... then the cervix will rise up also.. by then shouldnt get the prolaspsed ba... worse case scenario is gotta put a ring inside to hold up the cervix... but doc say mine look like mild case....

As for the urine part. Ask me to pee more frequently. . But doc also say very difficult for night time.. that day only one hr lapse n totally cant pee le.. doc say uterus blocking neck of bladder... sigh

Now I can only hope uterus rise up SOON!!! this pregnancy really very drama for me... non stop action..