(2013/09) September 2013

Tracy - My CL ask for transfer as deposit also. She ask for $700.. A bit too much. but since she is good...I just transfer.

Hi Tracy,
What I did previously was ask CL when she is on town (if highly recommended then should be often).

Then I met her under the Blk she was doing confinement for a brief 10mins to pass the deposit, ask her questions and most imp to make sure I am comfy with her.

Find tt more assuring.

Hi all~ been a silent reader and coping with major MS!! This is my #2.. #1 I also had bad MS. Vomit morning to night kind =(

So sad that my cny is ruined. Cannot enjoy any food..

my EDD (according to self calculation) is around 13th sept. Doc still to confirm as my last visit with her , bb was too small to measure accurately. But can see heartbeat flicking away strongly!

Nice to meet all of you here, heres praying all our MS will shoo shoo shoo shoo shoo!!!!!

Hi Hui,

i still use the same skincare,bathcare that I use before I was preggie. DOn't think it matters much =)

Wow, must book CL so early? I thought of doing only when I enter into 2nd trimester. I am actually very worried bout getting a CL because not sure how it is w an extra person staying at our home and scared to get those that like to boss me (a new and inexperienced mother) around or stop me from taking shower/ wash my hair. ;p btw normally the CL sleep w baby?

Just curious does anyone have flaky and itchy scalp during this time? Is it safe to go for scalp treatment?

Welcome Ardente! Unfortunately there is no running away from MS! Hope it spares us during CNY so can enjoy the goodies & go visiting!

Which hospital you delivering at? Do fill up the google spreadsheet as well as other mummies too.

Hi Gals.. gave in to my crave for thai food. I vomited out some whitish stuff this morning and feels so much better. Dont have the neausea feeling in my chest... but do gag on and off... hahah!!! It was the same for my first pregnancy too...Like spicy and sour food now.

Morning ladies...horrible night...could hardly eat much dinner. But forced myself to drink a cup of oats to prevent gastric...but the nauseous feeling continued. Kept waking up every other hour...

Realized my taste buds have changed...things really taste different now.

Updated the spreadsheet...Realized I'm the oldest. Yikes... Lol

Minnie, there are many kiasu mums out there. If you know of a good one better to book them first. I'm waiting to see if my SIL's CL is any good. Or I got to search too... Can't use back my last 2 CLs.

i will get all the contacts of the CL from my friends and share here. then if u gals can't find any, then you can consider my friends' CLs

Emmie, I totally forgotten, you are in Sep 2010 or Jun2012 mummies?

Yesterday watched the "Meet My Family" at 9 pm channel 5.
Wooww 8 kids!
I already suspected must be Catholic and I am right!

But they say wanted 6 kids lor. Hahaha.. but maybe got a few unplanned too..

I have not tell anyone else, including my own mom. Huhu.. Don't know how to tell.
Last time when I said about the 2nd one which age difference only 20 mths old compare to 1st one my mom already quite negative. Instead of congratulate me she said so fast...
Even though she has no part in the children upbringing huhuhu.. She rarely come here and most only 1-2 weeks lor..

Some more when she saw me still pumping until 3 months pregnant she commented don't do that, it's not good for the baby..

That's why I am still feeling upset now. Part of me already accept, but another part still feels gloomy..
I think this is worst than last time when preggy with #2..

The only thing that makes me excited is only the probability of boy huhu.. Becoz last time when preggy #2 I already knows must have been girl sure 99%. That time because my period has been regular already, and I know got one time I didn't follow the NFP rule, and sure girl..

Good news is this time I really suppress my morning sickness until no one can see me wanting to vomit all the time. I hide by coughing instead hahaha.. Just now my colleague ask me how come now u have constant coughing :S

JTS! Very funny.. Last time before marriage I always wanted a dragon baby, but I thought so fast compare to my tiger baby.. Therefore give up thinking..
My colleague asked me when I come back after #1 maternity leave, then I said I want snake baby (that time haven't preggy with #2)...

In the end I get both!!!

Got once I think about the snake baby that I shouldn't HS with my hubby until snake year sure ended. But it's too late already, already got it.

My hubby already asked me after the dragon baby what next, I said pig baby. Maybe if I want to avoid I won't HS at all the whole year. huhu...

Groovy, dont feel so negative. it's a blessing from God. you have to think positive. your baby can feel it. He will be unhappy if he knows that he is not welcomed.

wah fer!! I cant wait to see the list of CL. Thank you for helping. I cannot announce yet therefore i cannot ask my friends to recommend. Do you know the price range for CL? I heard of some from $1200 to $2000+. I wonder whats the difference.

Groovy, from Sep 2010.

Ferendipty, that's a nice gesture but make sure you secure your own CL beforehand.

Candy, usu price is dependent on experience. Think the norm is now at least 2k... And that does not include the angpao before starting and after completing. Sigh really getting expensive.

Emmie - can you advise ang bao how much? I just called up 1 lady and chatted with her. Can the experienced mummies here advise what questions should I ask in order to determine if she will be the right one? Or is it just heng sway?
I found a list of Confinement ladies recommended by the mummies.If anyone needs, I will post up the numbers here later.

Candy, angbao amt is up to you. I have even heard of some CL who states the amt to give. For my previous 2, think we gave $68 initially (any nice sounding number). At completion, the first one we gave 188...can't recall how much we gave for the 2nd.. :p

you can ask her things like what she usually cook during confinement, whether she will cook for the other family members like your hubby, etc. does she clean the house, what her price includes, can you bath etc...what kind of things she expects you to provide... I guess its a gut feel also..unless she comes highly recommended by someone close to you.

she say will cook for my hubby, will clean the kitchen after cooking. Will cook 3 meals a day for us. Will take care of me n baby.

Advise me to bathe after 1st week is over (but depends Natural delivery or CS), will prepare the water to shower, I also asked about the placenta she advised it is strong foul smelling n best not to consume if I plan to BF cos maybe not good for baby to absorb.

She needs 1 mattess, will be sleeping with baby. Booked until July liao. She say need $300 deposit for confirmation.

Candy, I paid $200 as deposit. My cl cost 2.3 k n if she cooks for my inlaws have to top up $100. I think the most basic requirements are gd hygiene when taking care of bb, cook well and pro breast feeding. I dun want someone to add in my misery by commenting no milk n so on. This was wat happened w my 1st cl. Other things will be doing laundry for baby n ur family n sweep and mop the flr in e morn.

Try to find out if the cl is very stubborn or ma fan if its recommended by ur frens.

Yesterday went gynae checkup. Baby is abt 2.5 cm now at 9 weeks. Brought my 2 kids along, #2 still young no feeling .. Lol .. Was discussing w #1 where is e head , hands n legs. Baby grew so much over e past 3 wks!

genice, good to know ur #3 is growing well. Mi still counting the days to 18feb, my neck is getting long.. paranoid mi dun feel pregnant at all! I need a time-turner!

Candy so she will be free in aug? Cos in case you deliver early, must make sure she available

Bluberi, I'm looking forward to my checkup on 18th too! Hopefully MS will start to ease by then.

Emmie, i keep wonder if my #2 will be ok inside tummy anot. Coz no MS at all, so worrying. Very sad history repeating. I have to keep reminding myself that i need to keep a positive mind!

Bluberi, did you have MS with your #1? 18th will arrive soon cos of the CNY hols period. Positive thinking!!! For me I hv to keep reminding myself not to stay angry. :p

I just confirmed my CL this afternoon, thru a friend recommendation. I hope she's ok. But the charge is consider cheap. $2k. Is it a must to Give Ang bao before starting?
Going for gynae chEck on Friday. Hope everything goes well.

Bluberi, I dun have MS for all my 3 pregnancies. Think different pregnancy different symptoms. Dun worry too much.

Hi to all new mum or mum to be.

I'm also looking forward to my next gynae visit on 13th Feb

MS still as bad.
praying cny myth will be true.

Wow, I was still thinking of finding CL after first trimester. Think need keep finger cross and hope to be able to find a good one.

Hi Fer, look forward to your CL recommendation list. Do get yourself one before sharing with us.

Hi bluberi, hope everything goes well. Dun think too much and stay positive.

Thanks Ann.

To stop myself for been paranoid, i decided to walk in n see gynea for a peace of mind later in the morning plus get the necessary medication i had taken when i had #1. My hubby thinks better to get medication asap rather than wait till 18feb.

Wonder if can just walk in kkh private suite see gynea or go 24hrs clinic.

Called kkh n managed to change my appt to next wed evening. Trying to stay very positive n hope i can keep myself sane during cny holidays.

Hi Bluberi, why don't you see a private gynae first? I know that kk does not entertain walk in, unless emergency. Or call up central appt to change date of 1st appt loh. Anyway heard that lack of MS does not usually mean anything. A very lucky friend of mine said she never felt nausea throughout 2 healthy pregnancies. Another friend who had bad MS until 6 months also had healthy bb gal.

But I know what you mean. With#1 I had on off MS, one day good, one day really bad, spotting on and off... I was paranoid!

Hmm... I never did confinement! Not used to idea of having someone stay with us, and wanted to save money too as my son born with heart problem. I bathed everyday, washed dishes and clothes everyday, but I ordered confinement catering. Mum came over on some mornings to help with newborn but mostly I did it myself. It is possible. In other countries, many people also didn't have money to spend on confinement ladies, so they depend on family for help loh...

i didn't have a confinement lady and i think that helped me more! i was picking up very quickly ie showering baby, breastfeeding, handling baby alone etc!
My mum cooked my meals in the morning and i will heat them up in the afternoon. it was pretty easy. babies sleep most of the time so i got to rest too

Me too no confinement lady for #1! Mom and MIL took turns to cook for me and I bathed everyday too hehee. One thing I will definitely indulge in is a massage lady!!

Not superwoman, pte gynea also needs appt. no walk in. I called raffles womens clinic earlier on n they said they are fully book plus the gynea went or emergency delivery. I managed to get kkh change my appt to next wed le.. Keeping my ingers crossed that bb is ok n this pregnancy will be as smooth sailing as the time i had #1.

Getting my mum to do confinement for me again coz my hubby said CL too exp. he rather give in my request of staying single bed ward (i complained for #1 the 4 bedded ward i had no peace). Might consider confinement catering for lunch so my mum only needs to cook dinner.

Talking about CL, I'm having a headache thinking of the sleeping arrangements for CL and bb. My home has only 2 bedrooms, 1 occupied by me, hubby and #1, the other by my mum-in-law. Dunno if CL can sleep in living room but then how is she gonna look after bb at nite
Was toying with the idea if inlaw stays over at her other son's pl juz for the confinement period but then scared she'll be offended....haiz...

bluberi

i understand how you feel..
i had one m/c in 2011 too... so i understand how u get the paranoid feeling. Can't help it sometimes but feeling fear... but pls stay Positive.... talk to your bb to alleviate the fear

if you really want to see a doc before CNY, you can try walking in to KKH O&G dept, they have specialist to attend to you too. But it is best to get polyclinic referral to have cheaper rates..
but since your KKH private gynae next appt is already next Wed, i guess no harm waiting.

Hi Ann

You can try calling my confinement nanny.
Very clean, responsible and doesn talk much.
She cooking are good. She even prepare breakfast for my hubby and my brother-in-law who is currently staying with me.
PM me for her contacts.

hui, i will stay positive. Have kept talking to bb to be strong n grow healthily.

have decided to hope for the best n wait for next wed appt. my emotions like roller coaster going up n down ever since finding out abt this pregnancy. was already considering going for SO-IUI as i actually tested negative on the hpt at week 4.. oni had the positive on the hpt at almost week 6.

my sis told me to make myself happy during CNY, else if i'm stressed/paranoid, bb will be same.

Confinement catering gives like so much food that I saved half in the fridge and ate for dinner... Just top up with fried veggies and its a good meal. But I was picky over food and requested no innards and ginger on the side. They catered to my request! Once even order pizza and share with my hubby at dinner haha.

But no confinement nanny was tough... Bb feeds every 2-3 hour, in between still washing dishes and folding bb clothes. Surf net on Dr Sear's website on how to pacify fussy baby haha. Even have to take bb out shopping in stroller (to buy veggies) after checking for jaundice at polyclinic. Luckily can borrow my mum and her car at that time.

Yes, qiqi, a plus point was that you bond better with bb as you are the main caregiver! Make sure hubby also does his share to "spread the benefit". After all this yr onwards they get paternity leave so mummies must put to good use.

Hi Mommies

I have a brand new unopened tube of Mustela Double Action Stretch mark cream, expiry Feb 2014, letting go at $40 (neg). Retail price is $59.90.

What it is:
A deeply penetrating cream that helps prevent and reduce the appearance of new and recent stretch marks.

What it does:
Patented ingredients, Elastoregulator, Lupeol, Arabinogalactane, reinforce the elasticity of the skin to withstand stretching and keep skin supple. A complex containing Sophora Japonica and Mineral Trace Elements assist in skin renewal and moisturizing Shea Butter and Avocado Peptides soothe the skin and provide a sense of comfort.

What it is formulated WITHOUT:
- Parabens
- Synthetic Dyes
- Petrochemicals
- Phthalates
- Triclosan

If keen, pls PM or whatsapp me at 91397020 for fast deal. Thanks.

Regds

8105040.jpg

oh for me, i didn't have to bother about household chores cos my mum will do it. haha. made my life easier. during jaundice checks, either my mum or hb will take leave to go with me :D yes, definitely helps with the bonding with baby! and helps yourself get the hang of it. i've heard so many stories of friends who are soooo lost when their CL left and they are not aware of baby's habits even after a month.

i will go for 10 days massage this time round! love the massage!

Sighz, does anyone here have morning sickness that comes at night? So pukey it's hard to sleep, and go toilet middle of night also have to deal with trying to sleep again with MS. Driving me nuts. Coz ifI don't sleep well, MS worse the next day. Luckily it's only half a day. Wk 10+ already:-B want to get relief soon!

Also having severely dry skin this time round. I feel ugly...

Tao, my boss always ask us what craving we have when we go lunch so my colleague help me break the news without coming out from my mouth. Hahaha. Luckily my boss is quite open with my pregnancy and he's so happy about it. Be open about it, I guess ur boss will support u just like my boss.

Me! My morning sickness usually at night. Usually until vomit at night. But nowadays in the morning also feel nausea. Huhu. Maybe becoz of stress too.
During my #2 very good in the day feels energetic. During #1 slightly worst becoz I have heartburn.

This time mostly becoz of stress. Feels like puking but nothing out yet luckily. And luckily can still hide with cough heheheh.

Quite stress up now! Suddenly kena brain damage again! Sigh the one I totally hate during pregnancy is the brain damage. My work software engineer lor so required thinking all the time. During pregnancy I feel I cannot learn as fast as before, got a short attention span, cannot remember a thing!

I even took a cup put in front of me then I asked my hubby has I took my cup already.

Totally hate it. Luckily I have about 3 mths to catch up after my maternity leave so now workload is quite okay already

Some more 2 weeks later my project lead goes for national reservice for 2 weeks and during that time need to be his replacement! Hopefully nothing goes wrong. Huhuhu...

Haha.. I have both in morning and night. Although night time MS is worst. Keep telling my hubby not to keep tossing about on bed as I feel nausea when he moves.

I have not told my boss as well. Am thinking to tell him after cny.

Any one having problem sleeping. Always take very long to fall asleep. Think because of my nausea feel.

Not superwoman and Ann, I give both of you high five because I also suffer from evening MS. Yesterday was one of the worse vomit from 5 pm until before bed time. So much gas keep belching (loud burp). Difficulty sleeping, woke up at least twice either to burp or go toilet to pee. I told hubby I am stopping at one baby.

Honestly I prefer my mum versus any CL but my mum lives w my bro overseas n she is in her early 70s so I worry whether she can take it. I think she is also a bit scared, so she asked is it easy to get a good confinement lady?

At the moment I am just hoping to get through reunion dinner at my in laws without dashing to the toilet bowl.

Hi all! Just had my first checkup today and based on my LMP I should be 6w6d. Turns out the baby measured around 1.27cm and closer to 7w4d instead! Heard the heartbeat too!

Anyway I was advised by gynae to rest more and not walk too much/too fast as I had some brown discharge for first time last night that has since stopped. Was prescribed Utrogestan 100mg (progesterone) twice a day and folic acid 5mg/day.

Was rather surprised on the list of food to avoid including citrus fruits (oranges, lemon, lime) and even strawberries and green apples. Anything sour is out basically. No coffee/tea, if i really want to, just one cup a week?! And no yogurt cos even yogurt is considered sour?!! Less sugar, less carbo, more proteins and milk. The clinic also gave me some milk samples, a info guide on pregnancy, and a goodie bag. Yet to see what's inside the goodie bag.

My next visit will be in 2 weeks time. Hopefully everything goes well.

Have a great cny to all mums-to-be here and don't tire yourselves too much the next few days during cny! Rest more!