(2013/08) August 2013

Serene: is the detail scan normal like the doctor scan?? Is there the scanning of the heart and veins? Is your baby cooperative?

serene: congrats! u must be on cloud nine! hahah.. more motivation for u to last to the EDD! i can't wait for mine!!! and u can get more clothes on sale now!

wlilian (wlilian) :
Regards maid. Yes. Fork out $4k cash just to employ maid. Plus now have to give them monthly of $170 for salary. Not cheap. Last time give $10 - $20 for at least 8 mths. Sigh. But i still need a maid! No choice.

Which agency u looking at? I call and ask, agency fee ($1188) + Den plus their loan $2800.

BabyS: Is the 大 for all genders? If for me need to have "Da", maybe i'll follow my ex-boss, no chinese name at all!

Wlilian: I started birdnest at wk20 previously. But my mum this round say start early since birdnest cheaper
I think can start taking from Tri 2 liao.

Catherine: Have u seen GP already? That day i vomited 4x in a day I kancheong see GP for jab to stop it + get oral rehydration salts to drink. LS for 3 days sounds pretty bad! hope u get well soon.

I didn't take OGTT for #1. My routine urine test was ok & no family history of diabetes so gynae didn't suggest I take it.

Skymummy: the agency i go to is Great employment agency at katong. I didn't hear about the loan leh...i only know we need to pay the agent 8 months of their salary....then after 8 months then we start paying them. Excluding; maid insurance & admin fee...

BabyS: i have pain all over my tummy everyday.... until i think it's normal...

wlilian: if you go to the private side for NUH or KKH, the charge is almost same as private hospitals one. only if go to subsidized side then it's cheaper.

usha: i can't feel any movement but when my mom touched my tummy she said she can feel... LOL

Serene: Congrats!

vinette: my wait is longer.. till 10th April! haha.

USha: infant care about same cost as maid? hmm i thought infant care still be more expensive. haha. but anyway, without maid i will still need weekend helper to clean house. with maid at least can do everything for me. take care of baby and also help with household chores..

wlilian: sorry hor, before baby born, the non subsidised maid levy is S$265!! but what to do? i dont think i can clean the house when i'm heavily pregnant! lol.

skymummy: which agency did u go to? i will need to start sourcing soon too. maybe sometime in April or May. different nationality also different salary right?

poky: wah i was thinking to use the disposable diapers for the first few months too actually. there's small sizes for new borns i think, so not so "high". but i know what you mean about the frequent changes and the sticky poo.. haha!

Ellen: pain around your tummy everyday? That doesn't sound right leh? Unless u are very skinny size? then maybe your tummy expanding at a very fast rate?

Amanda: wah! $265...daylight robbery lor...luckily my MIL just turn 65 this month and we staying with her...so can reduce the levy to $120...

wlilian: good for you!! can't help. dio tok / robbed for a month lor. need to bring in earlier make sure everything is ok too. else when new maid come in half blur then need to teach, or got problems, cannot adjust, want to go home etc, i will faint man, esp first month confinement period i dont want to stress myself out.

bring in 1 month earlier teach household chores, clean up the whole house and let her get used to us first without the baby. then confinement month ask her to learn from CL on taking care of baby. thats my "ideal plan" la.

i also here "ache" there "ache" around the tummy every day. sometimes feel like someone is scratching my tummy from the inside..

wlilian: yea, on this painful tummy, i have told my gynae countless times, and when i was hospitalised i also told the doctors countless times daily, they even touched and checked my tummy etc and can say things like "oh the pain seems pretty localised" but they all still like no big deal leh... LOL... what can i do rite~ so i think it's no big deal lor..

Amanda: most pple told me bring in 3 months earlier... 1 month not enough... need to give buffer for things like maid no good you need to send back or any other surprise incident....

my bro was planning to get a maid before his #2 was born... that time everything ok liao then last min the maid visa got some problem then cannot come... then have to look for another maid... in the end only found one just weeks before bb was born...

on infant care: have been researching on infant care lately, i think i need to go and queue up liao....

Amanda: just to let you know if this have slip your mind...it was my MIL who inform me..saying that if we choose now we might not have alot of candidates to choose from...cos seems that Aug is their Hari Raya Period...so not alot of indoneisan maid might want to come...

has anyone's appetite increased tremendously recently.. im always hungry as a cow at my meal times.. but im so scared to eat in fear of the frequent heart burn.

wlilian: alamak. anyway i shall coerce my hubby to go with me to check out with the agencies earlier then. then at least i know what to expect.

ellen: wahbiang.. 3 months of 265 very chor! and my house so small.. nothing for the maid to do w/o baby leh... ask her to go downstairs for swim, jacuzzi and sauna? lol

USha: welcome to my club! i'm perpetually hungry! but cross my fingers, i haven't gained much weight now. 15w and 2kg is quite alright for now i suppose? lol

Ellen, huh everyday pain ah.. I do have some pains on and off but not so localized and sharp..

Usha: me!! Last week baby had growth spurt and tummy got big. Thisweek my bloatedness is gone and my appetite plus cravings r back with a vengance!

Re maid: so their salary of abt $500, we pay some to agent to pay off their loan and some to maid? Why doesnt their salary include their food, daily necessities ah?

i wished the 500 included their food / necessities etc too! haha. actually that reminds me. i nvr think about what food to provide maid with when she goes over to my in laws' house w my baby in the day..

at night at most we pack for her simple food from coffeeshop. daily necessities at most buy from those value dollar shop or neighbourhood shops to save money lor.

but i think all those things will add up to quite some money. sigh

Ellen guess if its not sharp pain and u r not bleeding it should be ok

for me I experience pain too on and off. Sometimes its twitching pain, sometimes it feels like pulling pain at the sides which doc say its due to ligaments stretching, sometimes pain jus below tummy which doc say uterus expanding
but everytime i will tell the doc what I am still experiencing though its almost like repeating myself over and over again every visit

notice that the pain comes when am talking for too long or at a higher volumn or when i sit for too long or when am in a crouching position on bed for too long

Thanks mommies!

It's not the normal scan like gynae did monthly. It's a scan that you can see get to see veins, hearts, baby's features, etc. it's very interesting.

My little princess is cooperative. I told her not to slp during the scan. She really didn't slp. Actively moving and wave at us. Haha. Saw her yawn too. Super cute!! Unforgettable,moments

Can start looking for pink and girly stuffs!:) can't wait for her arrival.

pink_sapphire: i was already hospitalised once for heavy bleeding... stayed for a few days and everyday tell them my tummy pain :p and before that bleed 2 times also...

i have been telling them about tummy pain since week 10, i supposed it's fine cos so far no action is taken despite my complain... but what i find it annoying is that no one is clearing my doubts on whether the pain and the bleeding is related.

just today had some streaks of blood again.. sigh..

Anyone feel tat ur tummy size is small? I m reaching week 18. But i feel tat my tummy size is quite small. Was quite worried as my weight also never increase. Went to google on tummy size photo to compare against mine.. mine seems abit small as compare to majority. Hopefully i m not too paraniod.

HI Mummies! 2 days never log in and got to read back all the posts

Vinette: thanks!

Serene: congrats on having a little princess! U must be very excited about it
I'm waiting eagerly to see my princess in another 3 weeks' time during her detail scan too!
My tummy is noticeable but quite small too at week 17.

Re weight gain:
I have gained 6kg so far since last checkup last sat and gynae said that I should not have gained so much at week 16. The most 1kg gain. But I guess I have really ate a lot during the first few weeks. After lunch I will buy dessert or fresh fruits to eat for tea break and I never did any exercise. Gynae advised me to take more long walks, less Milo n milk related products and more red meat to reduce weight. Sian.... but I feel really unhealthy and flabby too! Maybe the Milo I drInk almost every morning and occasion desserts r making me fat??

Re: maids
Think I will be sourcing for one from the Philippines so that there is no language barrier, can take/handle pork & no hari raya puasa woes. Will go source in late may bah. Dunno whether will be in time or not??

Wlilian: didn't know that the admin and agency fees r so ex! But it is a one time fee only right? Then maid's insurance and salary we pay every month?

Btw did any mummies here use clarins stretch mark cream n tonic oil? Effective ?? and which areas u focus on every day?

Usha: for me appettie is still the same just that i keep getting heart burn during evening time...very uncomfortable...

Serene Ng: sounds interesting!! so excited to go for tomorrow scan...*crossing fingers* hope to know the gender also...

Ellen: i think maybe its normal for you? I read some blood for some mummies seems to be fine...but when you do your BB scan everything is okay right? Which doctor you go? If your doc has good reviews i think should be trustworthy right? Did they gave u any injection? One of my friend had a bleeding scare during first trimester...the doc gave her an injection and the bleeding go away...

Serene: should be okay lah...maybe you are athelatic...maybe that is why your tummy not stretching easily?? if doc never say anything should be no issue...

ttcing: yah admin and agency fees are really ex..yes...we need to pay maid insurance and government levy every month...on top of that the first 8 months of the maid salary is given to the agency...so you need to prepare 4K first...then after 8 months..every month then u also need to fork our maid salary....seriously expensive...but what to do...our pays are not increasing but all other stuff are increasing very fast...come to think of it...gov provide us the money...can only cover certain hole...in the end still got some where got a bigger hole...

I do use stretch mark cream but not very hardworking..maybe once a week...lol...i focus on my tummy and my hips and my butt...i got stretch marks to begin with so..for me...okay lor...but what i dont like are the cellulite...T.T getting worst..and i can't apply anything on it....

Serene: congratulations. Really happy that ur baby is so cooperative. I am counting down to my detailed scan next week. Hopefully all will be fine and i can start shopping. Gynae told me the gender at week 14. But i dare not buy anything yet. Ha.

Ttcing: im using the stretchmark cream but only in the morning around tummy and back area. So far no comments cos most of my frens say the stretchmarks appears after giving birth or end of 3rd trimester. Using it just as preventive measure.

Btw is it normal for the tummy area to feel hard? My hubby was asking why my stomach feels so hard now. Hmm

Amanda, I called up to enquire. That agency name MPL EMPLOYMENT AGENCY.

For me im looking at Indo maids. Coz Filipinos too smart. Most want off days. hehehe

William: yup. It's very interesting and amazing. Till now hubby and I still can't forget the image she yawn.

Oisterbaby: don commit first. Wait for detailed scan to confirm gender. I think detailed scan will be more clear on the gender.

Every night I'll spend some time talking to baby also will sing or play some songs for her to listen. At times she will kick/punch me.

Fall sick since tues night. Having bad flu and bad sore throat. Today add on headache. Didn't slp well for 2nights already. Later gonna consult doc and have plenty of rest.
Immune system drops since I'm pregnant.
When we sick, will we pass to baby? Or baby also sick with us?

Serene: dun worry la~ my colleague only showed tummy at 7 months... i didn't even know she was pregnant before that.... my mom said same case for her...

my best friend too... her baby bump only started showing at 5 months... her doc told her it's because her uterus sits more deep in that's why the tummy don't show....

wlilian: i already did many injections and until today i am still on hormone pills.. the last bleeding i had was so heavy that they almost did blood transfusion for me. first trimester also bleed twice...

my gynae is quite good so i am very confident in her, but again it's really annoying that no one is explaining to me about the tummy pain lor >_< at least give me some possible reasons mah (although i already read enough of the reasons online)

on stretch mark cream: according to feedback i gathered from many friends and relatives, general verdict: stretch mark is quite a matter of luck, if you are the kind that easy to get it, no matter what you apply also no use. if you are the kind that won't get it, you still won't get it if you do nothing... sigh.

going for check-up tomorrow, hopefully baby will be good and let me see whether is a he or she... haha

Ellen hope you are feeling better today
sometimes blood not well in clot so doc might giv medicine to aid in clotting the blood try not to take fd like jew's ears as though it helps thrombosis but it causes blood not to clot easily

hi ladies, there are 2 Serene in our thread. One is Serene(Coolman) thats me : ) One is Serene Ng. To avoid confusion, u gals have to type the full name out.

wlilian, ellen, tis is my #2 therefore tummy should hav shown early. as long as bb is growing well inside, i dun mind tummy not showing and weight not increase : )

ellen, so confirm ur bleeding does not affect bb right? did ur gynae know where the bleeding come from? As for tummy pain, i only hav it once awhile which i believe is uterus expanding.

BIRDNEST: I have a question to ask here. I have this supplier direct from Sarawak. Birdnest 7pcs (cleaned) at $95 incl shipping. Just need to soak in water (1hr) before boiling. Is it a good deal? Bought from her for my #1 and #2 pregnancy but no idea what is the price in SG.

skymummy: i agree filippino maids too smart.. a lot of demands and a lot of patterns. i'm thinking of getting indonesian maid, married w kids and with commitment type. hopefully more "obedient" and easier to manage.

ttcing: i'm using clarin stretch mark cream ever since wk 14! from what i understand from the clarin sales girl, the difference between cream and oil is
cream --- treatment and prevention
clarin tonic oil --- prevention.
so i bought the clarin stretch mark lotion. but i bought bio oil from watson too... it smells good and its cheap.

Not very sure about effectiveness yet as i read that appearance of stretchmark is dependent on ur own genes. But i know i'll be prone to stretch mark as i've stretch marks at my butt.. used to put on weight and lose weight v fast last few years

so i've been applying VERY dilligently at boob, tummy, thigh and butt... no stretchmark at tummy and boob plsss

pink_sapphire: thanks
yea need to be careful with what i eat hee hee

Serene C: yea tummy big or small not an issue so long as baby is fine
for the bleeding, they can only suspect on the cause (cos cannot see inside the uterus..) suspected that there is some blood vessels that is very near the surface, so it is very easy to accidentally burst it if there is some friction or movement... gynae found a fibroid very near the sac, and the presence of fibroid means there is a big blood vessel nearby... so...

Amanda: my family has a fair share of "encounters" with indon maids too... also lots of patterns siah, and sometimes not smart enough is also another problem... it really boils down to whether you can meet a good one... regardless of nationality...

vinette: yea depends on gene... so try your luck lor... LOL... my friend recommended Johnson and Johnson's baby oil, cheap alternative...

ellen: haha thanks. very sad.. need to see "heng" "suey". my aunt and cousin got burmese maid before too. good young girl, hardworking, but communication was difficult... i haven't sort out the communication part yet cos my MIL's English is quarter bucket type. i dont think her malay is good either. my SIL will be at home la, but shes busy giving tuition most of the time. anyway you take care regarding your bleeding issue k! if gynae doesnt sound any alarm then i think should be fine.

Amanda: LOL yea lor, just have to keep fingers cross and hope for the best ya~ My mom used to help my uncle "trained" the maids, she usually doesn't speak Malay also, but once with the maid, all the old kampong days Malay she learned as a kid will come out... not fluent la, just vocabs, but at least can get by LOL

yea gynae is closely monitoring, just hope i can survive the next 22 weeks without scary surprises~ :p

Ellen: yours really very serious...did you doc ask you to do bed rest instead?

serene (coolman): lol...i rather my tummy comes out...cos i already fat...then if i grow fatter and ppl just assume cos i eat alot..i'll be very sad...

Amanda/Skymummy: yes i dont think i will ever get a philippino maid...i dont like the way some of them are dress also and most of them will want off day....and i think they have alot of experience in working in singapore...thus they will out smart you..i would rather look for an indonesian maid who is a mum of a child already..and maybe 20++ so that they can emphazie with you and treat your child like their own child...

But like what Ellen say...it really depends on luck both philippine and indonesian there are also good maids...

wlilian: i think i will get someone around early to mid 30s.. older than me never mind. too young i scared they are not mature and will still get boyfriends even though married. haha.

yes and a lot of fillipino maids got very bad influence and dress till very trendy / short / sexy.. a bit scary. i think they are more outspoken too.

ya ellen, i think if your bleeding continues maybe it will be better to get bedrest.

anyway i think now indonesian maids also have to give offdays. by law. but i *think* can negotiate. if dont give off then pay more. i think about 17 - 20$ a day or so.

ellen: haha ya *pray hard for no stretchmarks* bio oil is 15 bucks for a bottle! not too bad too!

amanda: i just told my hubby about hiring a maid and he's agreeable. phew.. but my mil seems to have trouble with indonesia maids last time..so probably we will consider fillipino maid.. easier to communicate.

wlilian/Amanda: i'm already on hospitalisation leave for a long time... i think this year 2013 i worked a total of less than 10 days LOL.. but supposed to go back to work next Monday finally... see what my gynae says tomorrow...

maid i think older one better... but if they have kids then a lot of them dun want to continue with 2nd contract cos they miss their families...

then there was another time... one of my uncle's maids (indon), supposed to be 20+ liao then when she came we found out that she was only 16 and didn't know how to do housework at all zzzz.... didn't even know how to cut fruits.....

vinette: i bought from ASOS maternity. bought one size up then i'm regretting it a little cos its looking a little baggy on me. so i would say just get your usual size. but... depends on your weight gain also la, i have gained 2kg so far and tummy like barely there... its baggy both at the waist and at the chest area. theres one that looks super baggy on me, so i'm saving for when my tummy is bigger, then at least wont look so weird.

ellen: i guess then it depends on their motivation lor. that can only check during interview bah. i know my colleague's maid from indon, she has 2 kids, then her husband useless, only know how to take money, and got another woman outside, so she works quite hard to provide for her family. her kids are taken care of by another auntie in the village. then she's working hard to buy house for them and provide them w proper education etc. she misses her kids la, but she loves my colleague's young kid too and takes good care of her. well.. this maids thing really depends on luck.

anyway, health and baby more important la. else check if there's flexibility for you to do some work from home. at least not so taxing.

Hello ladies... most of us are already HALFWAY THERE, yeah? Recently I have been feeling stretches and hardened tummy - I think this is uterus expanding - no pain, just uncomfortable. Any mommies feel this too? I am still throwing up routinely in the mornings and most evenings - so this will be one of those cases that MS never goes away... envy ladies that had bid MS farewell.

Re maid - If hiring a new one, yes, do get them in 3 mths earlier... My first one was quite a flirt and very unpredictable. I fired her a month before I was due, and my 2nd one came in a week after I delivered.

Morning mummies! Hope yall have a great weekend ahead.

Frogprincess: I thought I'm the only one feeling that stretch tummy thingy. is very close to the bottom, i cant really cross my feet/leg, coz it always hurt/feel uncomfortable once i release my leg. I will check with gynae next week during my routine check up.

as for MS, try to take tomatoes, it helps to relieve. no more throw up for me, but still feel nausea some times. Hope you get better.

frogprincess/yuki: i feel my tummy very stretched too... sometimes even find difficulty standing straight... and also painful tummy ahhhh > < anyway, another 22 weeks...

went to check up this morning... looks like it's gonna be a gal cos gynae said she can't see anything coming out..... :p