(2013/08) August 2013

re flu/cough: hmmm,i think most mummies having the same symptoms around this period of time. I was having flu last week, and though seems to be recover now, but still having stuffy nose. may be our body is undergoing 2nd stage changes?

btw, slightly out of topic. Was wondering what are the diapers that mummies are using for their new borns? Just comparing & trying to look for a good deal during this week Baby Expo.

Vinette: i dun have access to his CC leh! Haha. I will go check out the web. Thanks for the info. I have the stretch tummy feeling almost every night. Put some cream. You will feel better.

I have been coughing for a long long time too. Maybe 2 months or more. Haha. Anyway. I just hope to recover soon cos I am afraid that my stitches will split if i go for c-sect and i cough badly after that. Haha.

Yuki: i think can try to request for diapers samples. Then try first incase allergy

i read from somewhere .. it says flu is a common symptom of trimster 2 and same goes for heart burnt .. not sure if it is here to stay for the whole tri 2 or wat ..

so mummies who caught a flu bug .. make sure u get plenty of rest and drink more water ...

Hi! Great that many of you know baby's gender already! I don't know it yet and will only know it by next month which is my detailed scan. I couldn't buy any baby clothes for him/her during the recent baby fairs!

My detail scan is tomorrow... Cannot wait to meet my little bun and know if its a boy or a girl.. My instincts are so strong thats its boy.. =D

Usha, is this your first baby? My first one is a boy and I've been hoping this one will be a girl! My instincts at first is that this is a girl but I'm starting to doubt...

usha, have fun at the scan today!!

lyra, im in same situation with u. im ok if its prince or princess, but princess preferred to balance up! the gynae din wan to tell earlier, so likely to be gal already. we shall see next wk at the scan!

to all sick mummies, rest well, eat medication. I am much better thanks to taking medication regularly. Just a few more days to expel the phlegm and i should be back in shape! lost some weight recently due to the sickness, so hope the appetite can be back to normal!

Usha: have fun at the scan today. Can start shopping already. I will be going for my detailed scan tomorrow but I already know the gender and its not what I expected. Haha. But nvm. Most imptly is to be healthy..

help needed
My hubby is going for courses during 27 April till end May (every sat). I am trying to find anetenatal courses but online seems very limited. Called KKH, Eastshore, raffles hospital already.

Looking if there is any nearby anetenatal classes which is easy location and is not on saturday...

Anybody have any ideas?

wlilian: i was also looking out for prenatal course! there's prenatal course at TMC.. there's wkday course!

btw, for prenatal course, when are we suppose to attend? wk 24? but prolly i will go for the wkend one cause hubby has to OT on wkday..

I have sign up from TMC, for WBB class (Starting in May) during the 1st Mum & Dad congress, took the weekend class even when it is more ex but no choice as hubby is afraid that he cannot make it for the weekdays lesson.

To us the most important point is both can attend together.

I think its more expensive but heard great feedback for her classes. Its at abt $330.
but cheaper if you are delivering in TMC.

melilone & wlilian: i check on the online website that it's 380 for wkend if you're not delivering at TMC.. i'm planning to sign up for WBB class too! btw, is may too early for august due date babies??

diorly: i only feel very bloated everyday. lol

Diorly: I always thought tot I need to "release air" but nothing came out. Happens from week 17. Last night, I felt a concrete push outwards from my tummy inside than I relise its the baby. My hubby can even feel it with his hand. Btw, I am at week 19.

Wlilian: mt a also have. Weekdays and weekends.

Most antenatal classes start when we r ard 7 months if i dont remember wongly. If teach too early, we will forget what we learn..

Yes Yes Mt A cheaper 100+ But we wanted WBB. Cos hear that she can give very useful tips.

I'm starting mine in May wor. when we sign up they say May class a good timing, we blur blur everything oso ok lor, see if can video a not haha otherwise will take notes hope that we do not forget when we need it. haha

Diorly I dun have gas leh, when i do its reli tat i wanna fart. haha
Feels bloated all the time, sometimes worst feels bloated but hungry, not sure how i get this kind of feel.
Not sure wat is fluttering (read what other mummies wrote but dun have the same feeling)so till now still cannot feel baby =( 17 wk n 5 days today.

After lunch do u all feel so full n sooo very sleepy like can doze off instantly? Don't even feel like walking kind.

I m feeling lidat n feel very guilty.

Chocpockie, it's normal to feel tired during preg. I have a toddler n I feel so guilty that I'm always too tired to bring him out to play. When I feel my energy coming back, I'll quickly bring him to playground or for a quick shopping trip. It's unpredictable when I'll suddenly feel the tiredness creeping in. But recently in second tri, I feel much better already.

for WBB's classes, do they have it every month? i was looking at the schedule. the may sat classes start 11th may and end 11th june i think a bit early. if can do mid june - mid july one i think about just right.

my EDD is end Aug. those early Aug EDD ones i think May - June ok bah. in case bb decides to come out early. haha

wlilian, I was checking out the Mt. A antenatal classes. They say for August delivery, usually they will recommend attending the classes in May. For the May run, the weekday classes are on Friday evenings, 6:30-8:30pm.

Chocpokie I think the tiredness n burst of energy alternates, but when the tiredness hits, I really just want to let go of wat I'm doing n just rest or sleep...ESP in last few wks when I was v sick..

I agree with bbreeze: It's bouts of extreme tiredness and bursts of energy!! Sometimes I feel so energetic I'd feel like going for a walk or a swim. Sometimes I just feel like totally zoning out or sleeping!

As for prenatal classes, I recall taking it around 5 - 6 mths pregnant. Second trimester is still the best time to do most things. There's also information on diet, exercise, taking care of ourselves, etc which would be useful knowing early than later. Also, my class back then required us to sit on the floor - third trimester may not be so ideal?

True, sometimes really alot of energy like in the morning. Then as time passes during the day, just feel like not doing anything.

Frogprincess is correct, antenatal class cannot attend too late oso. Cos the 1st few lessons is abt taking care of ourselves. Like exercises, posture, diet etc.

does anyone haf advice on runny nose and Flu.. Saw my gynae.. he just said flu bug is in the air and gave me Loratadine which is one tab every morning.. it isnt helping at all.. i feel so miseable blowing my nose every 5 mins at work..

im really not sure... both my nose is blocked.. the yellow tablet or the meds given by the gynae doesn work. Hot water/tea with lemon isnt helping either..
i just don noe wat to do next..

Usha, I think its norm for us to have block nose just like having nose bleed, nowadays i'm so used to it tat i will just dun care so long as it dun bleed non stop.

Hi all august mummies,

My bb is due end august.
Would like to know when should detailed scan be scheduled? Is 19 weeks alright?

Wishing all a pleasant pregnancy

Usha, u may be having a sinus instead of a real flu if flu med doesn't help. Some of my frens have sinus during pregnancy for a period of time. They blame it on the hormones changes.

Maybe u try some inhaler or vicks to soothe ur block nose?

Poppy: depends on ur gynae, but detail scan is btw 20-22 weeks. Mine was schedule during my 22nd week.

was so excited when i went to gynae yesterday coz i was so looking forward for the baby gender & able to see my baby.

hahah...guess wat...baby not cooperative & not in good position. gynae was patient to adjust the baby position, but he/she close even tighter like "no peeking"!!!

so sad...need to wait another 4 weeks for the scanning. if baby not cooperative, need to wait till detail scan....

going into week 17, no baby movement. sum said baby boy move's earlier around 16th week. no "quickening" meaning may be mine is a gal?!?!?!....guessing is also quite tiring....haiz

frongprincess: agree...usually after lunch, i will feel very tired and lazy...always walk back to my office, i will feel shortness of breath....

Usha: try ginger tea+ honey +lemon? It might help?

Poppy: yup...week 19 is okay...my scan was done towards end Wk19 also...

Yuki@east: lol...not true...i feel my baby quite early...during week 17...but she is a girl...and she seems to be very active...sometimes alternate days i will feel her punching and kicking me..my girl also dont let me see but the sonographer for my detail scan was so patience..^.^ she ask me to try to turn left then she scan, then sit up then she scan, lie down right then she scan...whahaha..but then she couldn't see anything..in the end when i lie down back..she try and try then nothing was between the legs only line...so..she say it should be a girl...

wlilian: i met a couple yesterday at gynae & they're expecting their 2nd (10 weeks now). they said their 1st child, 16week scanned was a gal, 20weeks scanned also gal...but u know what... 6 mths preggie...gynae said "alamak...birdie came out liao"!!! lol...so detail scan suppose to be accurate...some times...ultrasound also not accurate...

Yuki@east: noooo...dont tell me that....dont give me hope anymore...I want a boy....lol...will meh..the birdie just "pop" up like that...>.<

lol..me and my hubby initial gut feeling is a boy...but end up we were both wrong..

what about you? what is ur gut feeling and you want boy or girl?

Mine is a baby girl and I start feeling her movements at week 18. Now I'm at week 20. She's very active. Everyday I will get to feel her kicks and punches.

I feel that I'm so fat now. Can see my legs and arms are fatter
at times I get to eat alot.

Any mommies heading to baby expo this weekends?

Wlilian: hahah....ok...my bad shouldnt give you any hopes. not "pop up", i think more like intially too short, then grow longer to be able to "SEEN" hahaha. both of us feel that is a boy...but may be we are like ur case, wrong assumption! i wanted boy, my hb wans gal. anyone surrounded u saying that u might be carrying a boy?

Serene Ng: yes, i plan to go to expo this Sat. Not sure how big is the expo though.

Serene Ng: nope..not going to the expo...they are mentioning the one is May is the one with the bigger venue and more discount..so crossing finger for May....

Yuki@east: hmmm....short to long? Mine only got lines wor....lol..at first everybody is telling me they feel i am having a boy...but then as the days grow by..i crave for sweet stuff and my tummy becoming rounder and rounder instead of sharper...it seems to slant towards girl...causing my hubby to change his instinct to girl...

My hubby broken alot of girls heart...i think that was why he doesn't want a girl...for me..i got broken heart by alot of boys..so i dont want my daugther to suffer the same fate as me...so i wanted a boy instead... T.T

wlilian: no matter boy or gal, is our precious right? if i didnt recall wrongly, is ur 1st child....try for 2nd chance lor ;)

btw when do u start to crave for sweet stuffs?

Usha, hope u r feeling better. My nose is very sensitive now. In tri 1 I've runny/blocked nose every night so I had to sleep w/o aircon. Then now tri 2 I'm ok to sleep in aircon room but the moment I leave the room in middle of night, I start sneezing when I return to the room! It's just 5mins go kitchen, come back sneeze and runny nose starts. I don't have remedy for it. Usually take the yellow pill for runny nose and rest more if possible. Temporarily relief only and it comes back again

Poppy, my detailed scan is scheduled at wk20. You can check with the nurse at the gynae clinic. For me, the detail scan date was booked 2 mths in advance.

Yuki@East, your bb very shy! My girl open legs wide during scan. Now she sleep &amp; drink milk also open legs wide.. very chor lor! At wk 18 I can feel movement from inside but hubby touch nothing wan... Hope u get to know gender by next scan and can start shopping

Serene ng, I'm not going Baby Expo. Coz it's usually smaller than those baby fairs organized by magazines. Plus I feel still early for me to buy anything.

Possible for the a boy to be mistaken for a girl - I think the testicles and penis supposed to descend to the outer body between X-Y weeks. However, some descend later; hence the mistaken gender.

Detailed scan: Both my #1 and #2 were done at 20 weeks. This #3 will be done next week - also 20weeks.

Movement and Kicking: Having had a boy and a girl (and seem to be expecting a mei-mei)... I think it is very individual - to the baby as well as the mommy. My gynae commented that I feel movement very early (17w) - probably a combination of my baby being very active, or I have sensitive abdominal muscles (like I have any left after 2 pregnancies! hohoho)

Hi usha, I'm also like u, been eating medications for 2 wks plus not much improvement. Today I cave in and went to the 24 hr clinic at Kkh. Got a different medication and antibiotics..honestly, I feel so much better after starting on those med...I hope I can sleep better, eat better, and dun have to cough until my pelvic area pain anymore!!

Do take care of ur flu. My persistent chesty cough is the result of a flu not attended to properly. I was on piriton (the yellow tablet) and supposed to take 3x a day, but I din follow..if u r not getting better, better consult gynae again. In total. I consulted GP twice and once today at kk.

May all the sick mummies take heart and gt well soon! We need to fight the bacteria! I can't wait to get well and see the little one at detailed scan next wk!

Poppy, welcome. Usually detailed scan is 19-20 weeks. U should be doing urs in abt 1-2 wks? U haven't gotten a date from gynae?

Am selling BN Avent Milk bottle
1) 1 x 125 ml - $10 (RP: $13.90)
2) New Born starter kit with 4 milk bottles, 1 pacifier and a brush. - $45 (RP $55)

Both will be at $45. Pickup location can be arranged or postage at your cost.

Keen, please watsapp me at 98482804 or PM me.

8220709.jpg
8220710.jpg

I had flu issues every now and then, gynae suggested to take flu jab since everyone is having flu like symptoms. I had mine last week when I did my detailed scan. Mummies who suffered from flu might want to consider this option as it can last for 6 months, basically covering us during our pregnancy journey.

Those w flu or sinus, try sleeping w a humidifier. May help. In the morning, fill some hot water and breathe in the steam. My hubby who had morning sinus says it helps.

Happen to drop by and read some mummies suffering fr blocked nose.
I have persistent cough for a long period of time that doc asked me to see a specialist. They diagnosed it's due to a kind of sinus. You may want to check with your GP or gynae if you could use sinus rinse. Basically it's just saline water and we use it to rinse our blocked nose. I find it useful coz inhaler usually contain a bit of steroid.