(2013/08) August 2013

Ellen, i tried tingkat b4 when my girl was 3 months old and i didnt even have time to prepAre my own meals.. Foods were still hot when they came.. Now with nea's regulations etc, i guess they also cannot cook too early?

Agree with usaginoko, get the trials from the tingkat co, since u dont need to commit for one whole month.

Ellen: I've tried catering from Neo Garden, Kim's Kitchen & Meihao. We liked Neo but they delivered the food very early at 4+. The food from the other 2 were quite oily.

Till now at wk15 my in-laws still duno I'm preg. Hopefully on my wk16 check up on 4th March I'll know the gender. I always wear loose dresses n avoid sitting near my FIL so that he can't start the topic of "生多两三个、生龙子"with me.

P: my mum hired a gd part-timer from agency. She later agreed to charge my mum cheaper w/o agency knowledge. The agency fee is one-time $80 with free replacement for 6 mths. This round I'm getting from the same agency coz my mum's pt cleaner full Liao. Mine starting this coming week. Hope she's gd!

Today had a very bad mrt ride. When heading to jurong east, at the track crossing one nyp gal just fell on my back pushing me to hit the grab pole! She didn't even apologise. My tummy is badly cramping now.. With that pain, had to stand all the way from Jurong east to raffles place! I just hope nothing is wrong and i can just do my work in peace today!

usaginoko: for staycation, i stayed in mandarin orchard. convenient for whole family to watch movie at cathay which is just nxt door.
we are not into swimming pools. :p

After finish shopping at baby fair last weekend, now waiting for mothercare fair. dun dare to buy anything for #2 cos havent go thru 20 week scan. mostly for myself and #1. hehe...

usaginoko: for staycation, i stayed in mandarin orchard. convenient for whole family to watch movie at cathay which is just nxt door.
we are not into swimming pools. :p

After finish shopping at baby fair last weekend, now waiting for mothercare fair. dun dare to buy anything for #2 cos havent go thru 20 week scan. mostly for myself and #1. hehe...

Ellen: wah....true....but i think during confinement also cannot go out might be troublesome also, dont know if breastpump would be needed if your baby is with you 24/7 during that time....so many things to worry

diorly: lol..try for no.3...nowadays no.3 can get $8K wor...

usaginoko: your FIL must be those traditional type one...lol...my hubby wants a boy but i think my MIL wants a girl..cos my hubby side is all boy one...then my own grandmother is those extremely traditional one...also want a boy....hai...but of cos...me and my hubby say if either boy or girl we will still love...just that prefer boy..lol...

Usha: omg...thats bad....need to monitor, maybe call up your gyne to see if its okay? Did you hit you tummy against the poll badly??

hi ellen, i would like to share with you my experience with my #1 before u decide whether you wanna to buy a pump before bb is out. I started to latch my #1 when we were still staying in the hospital after i delievered. this is to stimulate our milk duct so tat our milk supply will kick in sooner. As a newborn, he kept falling asleep whenever i latched him for less than 5mins. my milk only kick in 6 days after i delivered my boi. I didnt realised tat i started to produce milk until i felt pain n some burning sensation on my breasts. Both my breasts were starting to feel as hard as rock. I tried to latch my boi but he did not suckle hard enough to get the milk out from my nipples. As i was afraid of getting block duct, i decided to try my manual pump to pump out my milk. My manual pump had became my great saviour for tat day.

If you r not sure whether you will have plenty of milk supply or you will breastfeed for long, maybe u can buy a manual pump like wat i did for my #1. One bad thing about manual pump is while pumping 1 side, the other side will start leaking milk. And pump slower compare to electric dual pump.

oister: i will only buy insurance for baby when she's born. the usual one: medical, critical illness and endowment. no intention to buy pregnancy insurance.

wlilian&Oisterbaby: Thank you your concerning words..

Went to meet my gynae. Baby is fine. Just cramps due to the forceful hit. But no bleeding so nothing to worry about. Back to work now. I really felt like crying in the morning! What a society do we live in. With that pain when i boarded the train from jurong east, noone offered to give up seat and not as if my tummy is small anymore! I even tapped e lady seated at the reserved seat and asked her politely, she just answered me she's tired and went back to sleep. So many people saw yet noone still gave up their seat. at times like this i really regret getting pregnant! It easily costs me $35-$40 to take a cab from home to office. Today is one day i feel so so so stressed and depressed. At least seeing the baby is fine made me feel a little better than the morning! I just told my husband, from this month pay onwards, looks like we need to budget extra money just for taxi rides to work!

I'd been so tired everyday and all I could do was to read all the posts and sleep. hahaha..

Im in my 17th week and my MS is fading though i still feel bloated some times after meals. It's another boy this time and we do not know what to feel. hahaha.. happy because my #1 has a playmate but disappointed because we wanted a girl. But we are glad that #2 is healthy and growing well despite me not putting on any weight.

There is a baby fair from 1st to 10th March at Mothercare Habourfront Centre branch. Anyone going? I remember the last time I went, the Q was crazy. We had to Q about 1hr to get in.

Anyone has any recommendation for 9am - 5pm confinement lady?

Usha:ROAR...that is a stupid lady...the seat is reserve for a pregnant lady or old people...what kind of excuse she has "tired"....if she is ever going to be pregnant, let her get the same treatment....dont be sad...i always believe what goes around comes around....she will have her karma one day...

Hmm for me and my hubby we always take the cab to work...its much more expensive..but he cant wake up..and my work place is just to far...every month will roughly spend around $400 just for transport...

Oisterbaby: nope..not going to baby unborn insurance...my cousin is an insurance agent and she says that the price is too high to buy already....rather u wait till baby come out and baby insurance for them instead...

Joelle, totally understand how u feel abt the gender. My #1 is boy. So do hope #2 is gal. (I will know my gender in 3-4 weeks time).

Thou many will say baby healthy is most impt. But still hoping for one boy n one gal mah. kekez.

Usha, cheer up! *smile*
No choice, nowadays ppl very thick-skinned! & very gd pretender! Don mention abt seat, even Elevator also can meet very kiasu ppl!

Imagine we are preggy & with a stoller with our #1. This morning Im the 1st to reach & press for the lift while waiting. Those behind me can dash in 1st. Sometimes even leaving me have to wait for 2nd lift! INSANE!

Moreover they always practise First In First Out (FIFO menthod)!! argh! so irritating.

true lah.. no one will give up the seats one. even lift got to fight for it. haha.. with just #1, still can easily push up escalaors. but with 2 babies nxt time, it might not be possible to push up escalators anymore... really die die must queue for lift.

Usha: oh dear, hope u feel better soon. And agree, that was a stupid woman.

Ur area, got any of those private bus shuttles or car
Pools to raffles city? Better than train right.. Or take train at a different timing?

I ride the train with my girl plus stroller every morning. I find, just 5 mins makes a difference too.. Like 7 to 710, its empty but 715 onwards packed!!

Another alternative that i am
Considering is to hire a taxi to fetch me every
Morning. But must find one from
Ur area. Example u pay them the meter price but not booking fee. They lose out on the booking fee but its guaranteed income for the meter fare alone..

these days very hard to rely on the kindness of people to get seats!

anyway i went to the expo baby fair yesterday. think cos it was the last day already and i went late too, around 5+, there was not much crowd left.. bought stretch mark cream and 2 maternity shorts only. other than that was just price checking for budgeting. will probably only start real shopping during the June fair.

wlilian: wah,cab to work every morning very expensive! like usha, it will cost me 30-40 dollars to get to work from home.. alternatively, maybe check if there's any express bus services from somewhere near your house to your work place?
i can take an express bus from just right outside my house to reach shenton way for $5. definitely much more manageable! but my husband usually sends me to orchard where he works then i take another transfer bus for ~20 mins to get to my office la. usually can get seats so its still ok for me.

Thanks guys for the input on the insurance. I think i will check them out then consider the options .

I took cab to work almost daily during my first trimester for a month then my hubby starts sending me to work. My cab fare was 20 plus each time to and fro. Really very expensive but no choice. If i take the Public transport, i need abt 2 hours to reach my ofc including waiting time. I think people are getting more selfish. Myself included. Haiz. I hope i will be able to teach my children the right thing next time. Hopefully their generation will be better.

BabyS : thanks for all the advice.. =D

Just curious are pineapples safe to be eaten now that im in week 17? Im having very strong cravings

skymummy: lol..i was hoping for a gal too but its another boy. I feel bad for being gender biased but cant help it cos i tot it would be nice to have a 'hao'.. lol. Anyways, its already a blessings to have kids.

Going Korea in April..just booked the tour at natas yesterday. hub say it would be good to travel cos when #2 come out we wont be easy to travel. =.=" I'm not so keen in going for travelling as we just went Europe last Sept and Australia with my #1 in Nov.. And this trip we r bringing #1 along again cos he insisted going..he's only 4.5yrs old so kinda too young to go enjoy the scenery. =.=" When i was pregnant with #1, we also went Hokkaido for our babymoon.. lol.

Usha: u mean pineapple fruit or pineapple tarts? Tml I'm week 18. The last appt I had with my gynae is right before CNY. He say I can eat pineapple tarts now. But I think not too much as its consider "cooling" foods. If its pineapple fruit I think try avoiding it to play safe?

Serene: hmmmm i was thinking of eating pineapple fruit.. I had tons of pineapple tarts during cny all thanks to my colleagues and frens.. =P

Diorly: you brought #1 to Europe last yr? is it easy to bring toddler along if not driving? hmm.. was thinking of bringing him to Paris for shopping, go UK to watch EPL soccer match, then go scotland & sweden. but we dun drive.. and places like paris and london, some train station got no escalators one. so wonder how to bring along my luggages and carry my 1 yr old toddler at the same time.
hehehe... too used to F & E backpack in Europe without kids. now with kids, dun know how to travel F & E.

Catherine: Nope, didnt bring him cos there were alot of walking n travelling on rocky road..not easy to push a stroller too cos i We joined tour group..dunno how to F&E. lol.. Hubby actually wanted to go Switerland and Paris this time but dont bring #1 so i told him im not going. I must bring #1 cos i cant bear to let him miss us for so many days.. lol

usha, i dunno much about eating pineapples, but personally feel its quite acidic isnt it? maybe go for alternatives like pineapple tarts, pineapple juice?!

Tour
thinking of bringing #1 somewhere too, can do now that second tri have more energy. But i cant walk for too long else get breathless and feel heavy. maybe go somewhere nearby..

my hubby and i are thinking about babymoon too but not sure where to go! i heard my colleague saying that hk has cheap baby stuffs, even strollers etc, but i dont feel like going hk and i am too lazy to bring back baby stuffs from overseas. haha

catherine and diorly: wah, you sure you wanna take long flights while pregnant?? i dont think i can tahan sitting for so long! :p

joyful: i think the CL charges increase every year. regardless of how "Auspicious" the year or the demand. mine will be 2.4k. she quoted my friend 2.2 or 2.3k last year. boo too. i haven't meet to pay deposit yet.

Amanda: i go hk quite often hk dont really have cheap baby stuff leh. The cheap ones are the brands that i dont recognize and are usually china brands. The known brands r not muxh cheaper. And leh chey leh to bring all of it back..

Children's clothing r cheap but only if u buy from the markets..

Usha: wah that lady was really horrible la! Seems like you stay around CCK area? Then maybe taking 190 to town is better, but must board at the first stop to guarantee a seat...

Serene: thanks for the advice ~ I'm thinking manual pump is a good option too. Roughly how much is a manual pump?

BabyS: actually I just went back to HK during CNY and brought back lots of baby stuff.. Bought some new born clothes for around $6-7 at department store.. But I guess you need to know which are the department stores that have more baby stuff and run baby fairs often. Now is the season for baby fair over there also ~

Yesterday went for my company awards photoshoot.. omg I look so fat.. all the other gals look so petite besides me. Wish I could wear a shirt that says im not fat, im pregnant! Haha

Amanda: nope...have already considered all option..its either MRT then change at outrum then go to harbour front then take bus to my office or take no.10 to my office. All takes about 1hr 30 min during peak hours... T.T so i rather take cab...but at least my boss allow me to work from home 1 week twice..but sometimes i dont..cos its not good to disappear from work wait your boss think you are not needed at all

Usha: cook pinapple is okay, i did eat some during chinese new year but dont over take it...maybe 3-4 pcs its okay....its the same theory as cook coconut i think...^.^

Diorly: lol..that why nowadays i try to "show" my tummy...the bigger i make my tummy look = i am preggy not fat...

Oh yah..did you guys read the news that maid levy has been reduce? I think to $120....

I'm new to thread. Hope to pick up tips from mummies...
Anyone with good overall oscar results but poor blood results?

Dilema: welcome to the thread...what do you mean by poor blood results?

Skymummy: i tot their salary was still 400+? yah need a maid...

hmm...so excited...actually as the day go by and you realize that you are nearing to your due date and baby going to come out to the world...hehe...

Was looking at those animal rompers for baby so cute!! want to fit my baby into it....

Pineapple: A constant discussion in many MTB forums... I subscribe to thinking that sometimes we crave something because our body needs it. E.g. red meat - iron, thirsty - water, etc. Pineapples are packed with lots of vitamins and minerals some of which help to build body fluids, helps control blood pressure etc. In all my three pregnancies including the current one, I crave for pineapple. I let myself eat one to two pieces, 3 to 4 times a week. I cut down a lot during this current pregnancy because of a sensitive tummy.

Fruits when eaten in a processed form - e.g. fruit juice, dried fruits, jam, cakes, etc significantly reduces the nutritional content; reduces the fiber content, and usually comes with a lot flavouring such as sugar etc. So, if you have a craving, best eat it fresh. Share with someone if you wanna control the intake quantity.

I am at week 16 now and baby has started to BUM me, usually late at night. This is the kind of manuever where their bum just "hit" your abdomen wall - when I put my hand there, I can feel something hard. And then there are those stretches that "kick" my bowels - usually one second later I would let out some wind! Doctor asked us to consider OSCAR but I feel that i am not quite the risk group so I have decided not to do it. So many mommies doing it, all above 35?

vinette: take care and drink more water...

frogprincess: hmm..i did my oscar scan and i am this year 28 ...i think nowadays even tho you are below the risk group doctor will still ask you to go for it? Not sure also...my doc never give me a chance to opt out...

actually its says age group higher, higher risk.. but there are also cases where young age and high risk. It all depends on your family genetics... If you dont mind the price, go for it for a piece of mind.

Thks wlilian!

My combination results (scan + blood) put in the low risk category. but if juz looking at the blood results my risk is high...so now considering whether to do amnio test....

same age as wlilian but still did it just to be sure, in this current society we have no means n energy to bring up a ds child, I would rather give it up if so n perhaps never to try to get preggy.

I really salute those parents with ds child.

I hope I will not be labeled due to this comment.

wlilian: thanks!! yeah
eating medicine dilligently now. just want to stop throwing up! and i'll be super thankful.

on a happier note, i found out yesterday i am having a boy! heeee.

wlilian: your doc never give you the chance to opt out? my gynae just explained and asked us to consider that's all.. my friend's hospital has this policy that once you are in high risk group, you must do both oscar and amnio! i dun understand why must they put the moms through such test with risk lor.

dilema: welcome~ what's your gynae's advice? cos blood test alone has high chance of false positive, so that's why the combined test result is more meaningful...

frogprincess: i didn't do oscar too... cos we've decided that knowing the result won't change the outcome anyway...

melilone: nah everyone has different thinking and know what is best for themselves and their babies, why should you be labelled~

dilema: I believe this is your decision, but your combination results already say low risk already...do you still want to do amnio test? there will be another detail scan i believe around Wk19-20...i think during that time you can confirm... but what i heard is that amnio test is not cheap (not sure if this is the one that poke something into the waterbag? If yes, i heard there is also a % of dangerous)...but overall is up to you i guess...another thing is that you can consult your doctor...but from what i know oscar scan is not 100% accurate also...

melilone: i know what you mean...but for me i hope i will never ever make such decision...its too painful already...

vinette: congrats...makes me excited to go and see my doc this sat...how many weeks are you already?

Ellen: nope...he just schedule...so i just go...but i guess i am just happy that there is another chance for me to see baby
But i think its decided base on the parents i guess..if they are going to accept a DS child..then it does not matter anot if they go for oscar scan...

I guess to do the Oscar scan is also to prep the parents for the circumstances..

I'll be only visiting my doc end of next mth. Hope can see e bb's gender..

For hkg, u must be able to catch the sales period, all will be super cheap..

Any of the mommies here their coy is hiring contract or temp staff? I'mmlooking for a job to work till I deliver..