(2013/08) August 2013

Joyful: for my nausea previously, which was quite bad for a day or two (puked everything out, including water), my gynae prescribed metoclopramide 10mg for me + veragel to ease the nausea and help tummy settle. but i didn't eat after two days cos i try not to take any medication unless necessary. initally was because we were afraid that i will be dehydrated from the vomitting.

Apparently thereafter i didn't get anymore MS. and up till now i feel quite normal except for bloatedness and very good sense of smell (i could smell my husband's coffee when he's in the kitchen and i'm in my bedroom at the other end of the house!)

mrstham: my husband say i over-react cos he doesn't see any pimples. haha. they are not the huge ones but quite small and sometimes can be painful especially around the nose. maybe i will try doing mask and see how.. sigh.

Frog princess: I like your replies! It's like talking to my own self!
which is we have the same mind set!
))

advice to new mummies: it's normal to be more cautious when you preg with no1.
just follow your heart. It's no3 mummies like me and frog princess who have experienced it all. So we are on the other side of the spectrum now. ;)

I would like to hear frog princess experience and opinion on confinement. ;)

wlilian: I read somewhere that we need to eat about 7 pineapples in order to induce labour.
I doubt anyone likes pineapple sooooo much. So we should be safe to eat cooked pineapple tarts. Just remember, don't over eat

Chirpy: it's important to stay happy during our pregnancy. With work plus family, very stressed. Do n eat things which make us happy. Then our babies will be happy too. ;)

I also read before that the more varieties of food we eat, our babies will experience more varieties of food in our tummies. It will help make them less fussy with food later after they are born. ;)

wlilian & frogprincess: the mention of pizzas.. i've decided to have pizza for dinner! :p

and AhCapp u don't tempt us on Salmon Belly! my hubby will probably say no to it too.. but i think i prob can't resist yusheng when CNY comes!

Amanda: didn't realize we preg mummies all crave for salmon sashimi! ;) I think for Yu Sheng, just eat more of the vegetables. ''accidentally' ate 1 or 2 slices of raw fish should be fine. ;)

Frog princess & poky: my no1 is sort of in full day childcare. No2 just started playgroup as she will be only 2 next month. Current maid has to go home soon because she has other plans. So new maid will come. My mum in law will come help train new maid and I hope she or my mum can help 'supervise' the new maid till we can trust her alone.

I have not told my new maid about my no3 yet. Because I want things to settle down first. Will see how. If need to, then will need to send no2 to full day childcare or the no3 to infant care. I m actually of 'slowing down' for work wise next year after no3. I'm currently 'walk one step see one step' first. But deep inside, I a bit worried if I can cope with 3 kids and a full time job too. Sigh

Gentle reminder to all mummies:

Get your hubby to apply stretch mark cream on your tummy for you. ;) Just lay down and ask him apply daily. Said he is helping both you and the baby. It will be a good time for you to rest while your hubby works for you (and the baby) ;)

william
hubby take care of them more especially since know hvin #3. i think he actually a more hand on daddy than most father that i know of. but then he work late. so most of the time it stil me takin care of the gals.

joyful
hv told my gals liao... #1 go n broadcast to her sch when i was only 7wks? on n off will sayang my tummy n ask when bb comin out... #2 stil too young to give reaction..... lol

frogprincess
arrangement ah?? i also headache... for #1, mil help take care from 4th mth til 2.5yrs. then she enter full day cc so tat my mil can take care of #2 when i go back to work. #2 start full day at cc at 20mths. wanted to drag til she after 2. so tat she can take only 1 pnuemoccocal jab... but due to fil sudden health prb. we enrol her earlier while the sch hv place for her. now can only hope by the time go back work nxt yr. mil can help to take care of #3 lor.... else.... most likely is infant care in worst scenario.... i got no maid. my mom wont take care of my kids. unpaid leave will b too siong, especially since we hv 3kids.... too high expense to survive on 1 pay.... so only infant care lor.....

ahcapp
sigh... hubby stil refuse to let me eat sashimi... tell him lot of preggies also eatin at resturant. he only shoot me one sentence... "u want to take the risk ah?!"....

7 pineapples?! tat alot siah!! pineapple i wont take la.. but young coconut drinks will b higher than tat!! i find it really help to keep bb clean n less "white spots". =p

tellin colleague at work ah? they alrdy spreadin without me sayin. so save my job liao... once i called in to boss to say on HL.. they alrdy say must b pregnant again la. wat else?

ahcapp
juz realise that our #2 r of the same age! u in feb 11 thread? i in mar 11 thread. but gave birth in feb due to GD. lol

Ahcapp n poky, both of you oredi have 2 kids ah? I m same as both you. My elder gal turning 8 and my younger boy turning 3. Ask u how u all cope handling your toddler huh? I m a sahm and really going crazy handling my boy as he is in the terrible 2s stage and wif all current pregnancy discomfort going on.. Everyday he shows diff pattern, I find him even more terrible after I m pregnant.

I remember when I was pregnant with him, it was a breeze handling my no.1. Probably due to the wide age gap. She was 4 then but very sensible and helpful. Now with a toddler and my pregnancy, so xinku.

Today is a horrid day... Feel so terrible again..ms feels terrible so I vomited lunch out. Now dinner no appetite can only drink soybean. And I have a splitting headache...totally no mood

Sorry to rant but I think I'm not strong enough mentally, trying my best already...sigh sigh. Dunno how u all manage with like 2 kids, one already I headache...haha.

But my boy so cute, started asking how come bb not coming out yet.. Haha

juz ate pizza for dinner. think the lil' one doesn't quite like it cuz i felt like puking after that.

first time the feeling of puking was so strong.

I love pizza lo... Esp the veggie pizza from Pizza Hut!! Yummy! Now im more towards vegetarian tastebud leh...like i DONT LIKE chicken at all except chicken nuggets lol. I also seldom eat fish cos no cravings for fish..and i dun mind eating pork, but not really cravings too.. lol

So more vegetarian leh..

Katherine: I just had my pizza dinner too! But the chilli pepper was so hot that my gums hurt...think my tummy can't take the chili well, LS when i came home. Haha.

Ahcapp: I've been having a lot of fish since my pregnancy.. Bb seem to like fish. Fish soup, curry fish head, fish everything also can.. I was so tempted to take salmon sashimi when we went to Sakae sushi that day. But I stopped myself and ordered some teriyaki chicken bento instead. Well.. In the end bb don't like the taste and I lost all appetite that night!

Bbreeze: pls go rest!!! It will get better so hang in there!

I just had maggie mee for dinner + supper.. haiz..sometimes really dulan hubby for just having his own dinner n forgotten about us.

Oh no diorly, don't eat too much Maggie mee..high msg n unhealthy... U so nice to your hubby ah? Mine he will get an earful if he makes me wait too long for dinner! :p

Hi ladies, was sooo busy wif work this week so seldom come in. Mi coming to week 10 soon n realise i hav no more ms ;) *cross finger*. Not like my #1, my ms is all e way till birth.
I also have not told any colleagues abt my pregnancy except for my boss. Guess will only reveal after week 12.
Nowsaday tummy getting bigger so was quite headache on wat to wear to work every morning. Wear maternity clothes seem to early as tummy not protuding. Wear normal wear, my pants r veri tight at e waist area. Hav to unbutton my pants. Still manage to squeeze into my dress. I guess 2 more weeks later when i reach 2nd trimester i hav to start wearing maternity clothes.

Goodnite everyone.. Mi turning in soon. Sweet dreamz

Poky: Yea my gal will be 2 next month and she was born in feb 11
so our gals both born in the same month? What a small world! :D Wah, you have no maid? You super power! I didn't have a maid till no2 came along. But I was struggling sending my no1 to and fro my mum place every day. Plus housework and stuff, a lot of unhappiness in me. Then no2 comes and really no choice so we get a maid. My life then became better. So I really respect working mummies without maids. No kidding. It's a lot of effort trying to cope (for me la)

Chocpockie: my no1 just turned 5 and no2 is hitting terrible 2 next month. The difference is I work full time so in a way, I only 'deal' with my toddler when I'm home in the evening. So you have to admire my maid, no me, for looking after the 2 kids. ;) my no2 is a gal, so both hubby and I feel she is slightly easier to handle than our no1 (a boy). It is not easy on you to be a SAHM to do everything ESP now you are pregnant. Is your boy going to school soon? If yes, I think the few hours away in school will help. My gal started her daily 2hr playgroup since this month. If possible, when your hubby is home, let your hubby take over while you rest.

p (breeze): I think I can cope better now is because I have a maid to help me. She look after in the day while hubby and I will do the job at night. It sure helps a lot compared to those days when I have only no1 but no maid. We all have our own bad days. On such days, just rest more and let your hubby takes over.

ahcapp, mine on 19 feb.
yep.no maid. cos we really dun like hvin a stranger in the huse. bside, cant garantee maid wont give prb. pay so much still need to deal with all issues n trial n error til u get a satisfactory maid? i pass.... ya, i stil strugglinto cook for my gals n fetching them back everday from work. thus i really get frustrated when #2 still come cryin at my legto b carried when i ardy tryin to finish up the husework.

chocpockie
like ahcapp, i admire sahm. whole day with kids can really drive one up to the wall! same like urs, my oldest is turnin 5 tis yr, she more obedient n can play or watch on her own til i ready. but it the #2 that causin the heahache. reviously i cant tahan her constant cryin while i doin my job. alwaystry to pacify her half way. now.. bochap. she can cry allshe like. she hv to wait til i done b4 i can sit down with her.

does ur boy goes cc?

Talking abt maid, i dun like strangers at home also and i find very troublesome same as poky. I will place my baby at infant care better

Ahcapp n poky, my ah boy started pre nursery this year at a church Kindy for 3 hrs daily. Luckily he settled in from day one. But I need to send n pick him from school. Very tiring for me ut I can't bear to put him on school bus at such a young age. When he is in school, I quickly go mkt n do some laundry. Thereafter, time to pick him again.

Ahcapp, so nice that u have good maid leh. For me I thot of getting one but then again, I really fear another set of problems for me if I get a lousy maid. Somemore my hse is only a 4 room flat. Haiz, will see how it goes. Luckily u that u only need to handle the younger one in the evening. My hb does take over my boy after his work but he comes home usually at abt 8pm. Then I still need to guide my p2 gal on her homework. Faintz!

Poky, I understand! The younger one is normally the headache but at least yours is a gal n shld be easily to handle than a boy. My boy is really attitude problem at times. Only watching TV will keep him quiet but watch too much oso no good. Cham!!

amanda: i love pizzas from Timbre but the lil' one disagrees with me

diorly: i have been craving for shim ramen for very long!!! but i dun cook at my in-laws, if go back to my parents plc n they see me eating this, they will screammmmm at me

ok! first step to omit caffine in my diet! changed my daily teh to milo today!

oh ya! those with #2/#3 and staying with in-laws.. where did u all do ur confinement? ur parents' house or in-laws?

Confinement: #1 - total misery. Baby was early, CL couldn't come. Mom refused to help. An aunt came but was so restrictive and so bored, plus my MIL hovering in the background (just so because she is MIL and wanna be involved).... so it was very noisy, very suffocating, and very depressing. I cried so much. Indeed, it was a total "CONFINEMENT" for me.

For #2, I forced my mom to help (by threathening to go without any help otherwise). At the end, she cooked, I took care of the baby, and the maid came one week later and did the cleaning. Much better time. I slept everytime the baby slept, otherwise I just watch TV in the bedroom or surf the internet. #1 was in full day childcare and I have to fetch her, so a bit of outing time makes me more sane, too.

For this #3, prepared to go without maid, similarly will threathen my mom. Else will just order the catering. I find that the most important and difficult thing in Confinement is the the daily meals. Things like changing and bathing the baby is so simple. Anyway we feed the baby 24 x 7... so CL really not much value. Anyway CL prefers those unsuspecting first time mommies... 2nd time mommies.. maybe... 3rd time mommies, I am sure nobody wants!

P: Having the same situation as you...i'm so worried not sure if anything wrong with baby...yesterday in the evening time i start to feel very puky and then keep vomitting acid...then feeling cold and headache...tried to eat dinner cos feeling hungry...but came back spend 15 mins in the toilet puking...this have never happen to me before (that why i am worried) cos by right WK 11-WK14 your morning sickness sympthom should be reduced... whole night still on and off have headache...now still having headache and feel abit pukey in the morning... T.T

I ate laska, papaya & drink carrot juice yesterday afternoon...not sure if any of this is causing my baby to be uncomfortable...

diorly: woah..envy can eat maggi mee...my hubby dont let me touch maggi mee...i did tried to mention salmon sashimi...wah his face turn black...then say you want to take the risk meh...Then i wanted to drink crystham tea yesterday (warm mah so maybe will make me feel better) then i search online...seems like taking it like quite dangerous...
Hubby totally gave me death stare...

Qin: nope...totally stop taking caffine...my hubby dont like...he very protective of the small one...

Still abit worried...cos his colleague was telling him that baby can just for no reason MC...so this baby is our first child..and we really wanted a kid...so doing the best to protect it...furthermore i had irregular menses...so this baby considered not easy to get...

wlilian: it could be the laksa...due to coconut milk. My mom usually caution us not to take any laksa as we are unsure if the coconut milk is fresh or not. You can try taking some plain Meiji crackers and something warm to reduce the nausea. As for headache, hydrate yourself. You can take any fluids that appeals to you (acc to my gynae, soft drinks are fine! haha) If it is not much better, take paracetamol. Hope this helps!
Hope you will feel better soon!

My 2 pregnant friends always wake up middle of the night and eat cup noodles..haha..

Wlilian ; understandable la cos #1 more gan chiong. I feel I m more relaxed with no. 2 but of cos many things I still don't dare to touch. But compared to no.1..I abit cramp only quickly run to see gynae liao..

Hoping to have a girl.. what about you all?

Bubbly29:
dont want to take paracetamol...>.< I heard it might not be good for baby...yah i was scared...cos my friend was saying coconut is "cold" one...i so scare i miscarraige..T.T

chocpockie
i do hear that boys tend to get more action than gals. but i dun hv any boy to compare. so cant tell.. lol on one hand, letin them watch tv allow us to do work at time, but then we will think too much tv not good for kiddos. so contridictin! i try to choose more "educational" shows.... now the 23mths usually watch phonics or number shows with her sis... instead of bb can read! lol

frogprincess
is it? CL will choose their customers also? i nv had one... so duno...
for #1, mil cook lunch n bring over to my home in the noon n play with my gal while i faster eat n wash up the utensils that she put the food in. then set up the bath tubs n items for her to bath my gal. (up to now, i stil find funny.... i wash n clean up husechores n the breastpump. take care of the bb when she poo or change diaper. but i not allowed to bath her cos i not suppose to touch water? then hvnt i been touchin with the washin up n fillin up of bath tub????) after the bath, then she will go back n left me n the bb alone again till hubby back in the night with the dinner that he fetch from mil on the way home.

For #2
stil the same, mil cook.. but only for 2wks of the confinement mth? cos bb was hospitalized twice in the mth for high jaundice. i stayed in with bb to take care of her. so juz outside food if hubby not able to help me get the food from mil. but this round. bb was bath by me liao. older gal went cc, so i only had to care for #2 durng daytime. nighttime, got hubby ard to help out with both kids.

this round. most likely stil mil cookin ba. i tot of caterin so that delivery in included. but can garantee #3 will get admitted for high jaundice also. then the catered food at home no one to receive or eat. also wasted. sigh.... so mil cooked, easier to communicate....??

wlilian: My gynae &amp; GP says it is ok to take paracetamol. The drug is harmless but then again, to be on the safe side, if you don't want to take paracetamol, you can do cold compress. I find that it helps.

I am not too sure if coconut is 'liang' or not but I do know that it can cause tummy discomfort in some pp....

diorly: hmm..me and my hubby wants a boy...
I think my hubby did to much karma last time liao..he scare got girl...wait end up our daugther get cheated by guys...whahaha

At first i had a gut feeling its boy...but now abit unsure...yesterday did the tummy ring thingy...they say you take your wedding ring and you lie down on the bed. Then take a thread through to the wedding ring and slowly lift the ring up from your tummy...

If the ring is shifting side ways - girl
If the ring is circling - boy

Our circle leh...so still crossing finger, hoping its a boy...

anyway another 3 more days, hopefully oscar scan can tell us whether boy or girl

poky> wat causes high jaundice? jaundice is common among new born right?

wilian> I tot so long as no spotting, its not a sign of m/c, maybe its just the food, but i realize that for myself i cannot take papaya anymore the afternoon i eat it in the evening i will have headache. Have not tried laksa but will LS if take too oily food like chao kweh tiao.

confinement:

Ladies, try your best to do a good confinement. Last time I don't believe but after my No.2, I 100% believe. For me, my 1st CL so-so, I feel I din bu enough and I din follow exactly. After that got minor problems in my body here and there. Falls sick easily too.

No.2, I was very lucky to get a good CL via agency. Bu all the way and I try my best to follow most of the rules ( except I washed my hair during the last 2 weeks of confinement), I find my body much stronger after that.

This round, I am getting back to the same CL but I going to extend her another 2 weeks (total 6 weeks) to do a full 40-day confinement. I told my hb such $ cannot save... he no choice.. haha.

Melilone,

Jaundice can be caused by our breastmilk and it is common. Usually what I would do is before the day of jaundice testing, my CL will give FM to bb (if we think bb is too yellow). Level will normally will go down drastically during testing. My no.1 I don't know about this tip and bb landed in hospital, so no.2, I am much smarter.

You all can try this tip, if bb's jaundice doesn't go down after giving FM, then could be other cause liao.

Bubbly29, the mkt rate now is about $2k-$2.5k. Those better and popular ones will ask for higher prices. But of course, we have to do our homework to gather feedback on how good is this CL...

Bubbly29, the rate doesn't include food and tonics/herbs. All these have to pay our own. Sometimes I also feel that CL making good $.. While staying with us, all expenses is on us, they don't have to fork out a cent for their living expenses.

Too bad my mum and MIL can't help all like some of you who are so lucky. Only my mum can help do marketing...

But I must say I was pampered like a Queen during the last confinement. My only duty is to be the milking cow to my bb then... ;p

You all don't be too fearful of putting on weight (unless you are already on the overweight side) during confinement. My CL told me after she leaves, I will slim down automatically as I am taking care of the baby on my own. True enough, I bu until my face has good color and was plump. After she left, my weight went back to pre-prenancy weight fast oso... same thing happened to my SIL who gave birth 6 mths ago....

Bubbly29, you are welcome! But how come your hb's colleague paid $5K? For 2 months or it was during CNY period? Cos CNY period, CL may charge double..

Chocpockie: I am not too sure if is was during the CNY period but it was only for 1 month. Think I better start my list of upcoming expenses soon and start to save more!

chocpockie
true. havin mil cook confinement can save alot. need only to pay grocery n some top up for the help in cookin. but bside that, no one to help at all. no one to help care for bb while u pump, to wash the utensils after u eat, no one to change bb diaper or even to look after bb while u really tired n need a quick wink. so payin CL is not only to cook, but also b a "maid" to mommy n bb. but not all CL will help mummy all the way., also depends heng suay. =p

another reason for me not to get traditional confinement food or CL is also bcos i dun take most items tat is required... liver, roots herbs, ginger, etc.... liver cos i hate it. the rest? cause the jaundie in bb. so i didnt take to lower the jaundice level.

melilone
as wat chocpockie mentioned. BM jaundice is one of the reason. usually the most common. cos of my n their blood group difference, thus my kids tend to get high level. to the xtend of straight admittance to 3lights in the afternoon, n if not lower by the evenin, hv to change blood. mommy with O blood n bb with A or B. tends to get v high level as the molecules is not able to pass thru due to the size difference. thus the accumulation start n the jaundice build up. but after stop givin BM n under threapy to clear, it shld lower. But as i want to give them BM, thus they took longer time to clear up the jaundice episode.... for this round, i may opt for half FM/BM, as i really dun think i hv the time or energy to stay with the bb in hospital n take care of the other 2 while stil strugglin on my Moo Moo career... c how things r at that time, then decide ba....