(2013/07) July 2013

i think is not common to see gender at oscar test. My sonographer did not tell me the gender for both my kids. But subsequent visit to gynae, i think the gynae may be able to tell.

i did all my scan and test and oscar at my gynae clinic and all by himself.
for my no 1, at week 14 or so, i know the gender leow. my friend preg with no 2, at week 12 she knows the bb gender leow.
i think is the position of the bb bah.

Just went for Oscar. They also refused to tell me the gender, say it's not important. Most importantly is the baby is fine. Now I think I need to worry only the blood test results cos I got high fever at 39 degree last night. Not sure virus will impact the baby or not...

finally manage to secure a confinement lady. in 3 to 4 years time, the price increase few hundreds

catherine, my gynae says if fever, we need to eat panadol to bring down the fever, she told me it is safe for pregnant mummy. She says fever will affect baby she ask me don't "ren" and don't eat medicine. I was asking her i have headache is it ok, she says headache ok, but if have fever must eat medicine.

Wow I was wondering a confinement lady earns much more than a graduate in a month. Plus still need to give 2 Ang pows.

N every few yrs they can raise their salary...

abby,
i think not easily also lah, need to be on the ball, wake up in the night and do the housework and cook.
but its good money i must agree.

I don't think it takes long to learn how to be a confinement lady since no professional skill or certificate is needed. Just have to learn how to cook the confinement food.

If get a bad CL still have to pay. Nobody to regulate.

Others in profession like nursing or social work, work so hard n need skills also don't get to increase their salary every 3-4 yrs by hundreds of dollars.

Just my opinion.

After I gave birth to #1, just ordered confinement food. I couldn't wait for the 28th day of confinement food to be over...was so sick of it.

Now I think as long as eat healthy diet after giving birth can already. Cos my #1 had jaundice n they said not to eat ginger which makes it worse as it comes out through breastmilk. N confinement food has lots of ginger.

Had 5 days of malay postnatal massage n wrap.

Is not really the food only, mummy need to rest after give birth especially one who have c-sect. Take care of baby e.g. feeding, bathing and cleaning up after poopoo can be very tiring. somemore waking up at night to feed also not easy. With confinement lady at least mummy can rest well.

not an easy job but is good money for confinement lady.

I went for chk up on wk13 n gynae cfmed that she can't see gender yet
so must wait for next appt which is oh so long!

I've decided against gg for Oscar. Jus a personal choice.

I can't find a CL!!! Been calling more than 5 and they are all taken up! And I tot I am still considered early...

Sighhh

Ordolla, do you need a CL? I've used this CL for the birth of my first child and she's extremely good, honest and kind. Even though, I didn't know I need to give an angpao when she first arrives. She didn't ask for one and when she left, she gave my baby an ang bao. I still keep in touch with her and we chat quite often, updating her my daughter's progress. PM me if you need her contact.

I heard from a colleague (who is due in June), that alot of CL are already fully booked. Seemed like June and July have alot of newborns!

Im going for my Oscar tomorrow....

good morning ladies
saw the posts on CLs. wow, seems like year of snake also a popular year to have babies

i have not started finding, will do so after my Oscar on 21 jan.

if need to resort to agency, any idea which one is more reliable? i was thread surfing the other day, saw that PEM (can't remember the full name) has quite a few negative reviews

Lina, my OSCAR is also on 21 Jan at TMC. Are you doing at TMC too?

I'll be going down alone cos hb is busy at work.

So different treatment lo.. First pregnancy treat me like queen.. Second pregnancy, like a slave..

Yes.. gyne fully booked also...
I want to change gyne also cannot called 2 gynes all not free.
I tot s'pore birth rate low still not enough doctors.

tabbyz,
hahaha... i gg for mine this friday. hb also not gg. he say cannot always take leave to go with me on weekday.
1st preg, can go weekends but cos weekends my gal got class in the morning and we dun want her to feel that got another bb, then we dun bring her to class together.
so i suppose most of the check up i will be gg on my own on weekdays morning the back at work in the afternoon.

I heard normally 1st pregnancy n birth hbs always treat wives better. But I guess in gng for checkups hbs do have to work n wait boss say they r not the ones with the baby inside them, so no excuse.

My 1st pregnancy our gynae had night clinic.

For my 2nd pregnancy I am blessed my HB still follows but
might be due to him working night shift till his current
freelance job is over this week. Or becos I had HG n fainted b4. Haha!

I saw an Ang mo couple at the clinic, the HB just accompany to the clinic then just plop himself on the sofa as the wife goes any doing urine test n seeing gynae by herself.

abby,
i think cos of my hb job scope also.
promoted so change from 24hr shift to normal working hours. but i am ok with it lah. i think no 2 more ching chai. hee...

but this time round, hb more on the ball. do most of the housework and ask me to rest. cos this 2nd preg, i am always very tired.
and he is like more gan cheong on this preg than the 1st one actually...

It's not just accompanying for check-ups..

Generally, I feel that I'm not treated as well and he's less understanding.. Like I tell him I am tired cos my body is making a baby 24/7 and he can say things like his body is making millions of "babies" everyday.. Really can faint..

My 15 mths son is clinging on to me like a Koala to a tree.. I've heard ppl saying that if you're pregnant, your kid will be extra sticky to you.. I don't like to believe in these groundless rumours but seems to be true for me!!! He doesn't want anyone but me and he wants to be carried all the time..

I don't know if I can carry him all the way through this pregnancy. Or will there be complications if I keep carrying him? I'm so afraid he'll hurt the little one inside!

Linda: ya I think 2nd pregnancy my HB better than 1st. Maybe #1 was when we were early 20s.

This pregnancy I am also more tired n nauseous n appetite not so gd.

My 1st pregnancy very gd. But I think we chose wrong gynae
to save $. In the end c-section. The gynae very keen to induce, n speed up labor process. Haven't edd already ask if want to induce. We weren't not happy with the way the birth progressed.

So thus this pregnancy we go back to Dr Paul whom I first
saw when I was pregnant with #1.

Tabbyz: wah I really want to see if ur HB can tahan if his body makes millions of babies daily through 40weeks gestation. Haha!

My daughter daytime won't cling to me. Only night time I must sleep beside her. When I started the symptoms of HG I didn't have the strength to breastfeed her anymore. We just told her she can't breastfeed as I am not well n not enough nutrients. She didn't kick of a big fuss or scene. Thank God!

She even played with the girls of the owners we rented a place frm in Scotland. Only returned to us at night or when my HB forced her to go out with him. She's very sociable n like to play with other kids.

My sister's son is very clingy to her even though b4 she got pregnant. I guess maybe it's upbringing plus child's own personality?

tabbyz,
hmmm... lucky my hb this time round more on the ball and perhaps, like abby said more experience.
and plus, before this preg, he live a life like a king, i hardly ask him help to do anything. so once he back at home only sit there see phone and wait for dinner to be ready, then after dinner, bath and go sleep with my gal as early as 10pm, but i still doing housework till 12+.

so now that he is doing almost everything, he knows how tiring it is and plus, my mil and sil keep telling him not to let me do too much housework and ask him to do. kekeke... reason also cos my mil have been bugging us for the past 5 years to have another one. so finally we decided and so hb have to do the work. hahahah...

My hubby works shift hours too... so far, he has only been with me for 1 visit to the gynae. Ive been going on my own on weekday mornings and go back to office after that.

I find it troublesome to tally my gynae's appointment with his schedule. Plus hubby will only know his shift 1-2 days before so it's difficult to plan ahead.

Tabbyz,
My boy also very clingy to me. Before preggy with #2, he is already clingy but he can be with hub as long as he knows one of us is with him but coming to sleep time he only wants mama. After realizing that I'm pregnant with #2, I felt that #1 is even more clingy than previously. Hub noticed it too!!!

Orangey, everyone around me noticed too.. My boy is so clingy that he doesn't even allow his papa to touch him. And he only became like this when I found out about #2.

I have another theory.. Maybe it is because I stopped carrying him as much as before since I found out about #2. And he noticed this and maybe he feels neglected or what and kept wanting to cling onto me.. Vicious cycle! The more I don't want to carry him, the more he wants me to carry! Super headache..

tabbyz,
i think children are more clingy when mummy is preg bah.
especially for younger kids.
my niece 4 year old also very fussy and clingy and start to act like bb when my sis is preg.

for me, i think my gal is older bah, she is 5.5 this year. so explain to her and she understand. hope when bb come out, she will still be understanding.

For me I stopped carrying my daughter (she's 3yrs 8 mths) maybe only once in awhile but I will tell her I can't carry her for long. She says ok.

My HB dun allow me to carry her. Even now he will say either he carry or she walks.

My little girl is glad that she is going to have a sibling. She will hug my tummy n kiss. She even talks to my tummy. She told me she wants to take care of baby.

Diff child diff reaction.

I still kiss n hug my daughter daily and makes sure she feels loved and cherished. We told her we might have to pay attention to the baby more cos babies can't do things on their own just like her when she was a baby.

One thing though I dun think she will give up her space beside me. She says she will sleep beside mama n baby beside my HB.

I am also wondering how my nephew will react when his sister is born this year. Hope my sister can cope.

I have been a silent reader since I knew I was 4weeks pregnant. I wanted to join the thread until I got my Oscar result because i wanted to wait till bb is more stable. I have been having spotting on & off. I am expecting my #3, edd 31st jul. My #1 is 7 & #2 is coming 3. This #3 is an unplanned pregnancy but I'm still very happy abt it. Initial, we wanted to stop at 2 but who know! God got better plans for us.. Indeed a great blessing! Can add me to the list & Facebook? Email: [email protected]

No. Of baby: #3
Gynae: Dr Adrain Woodworth
Hospital: Mt A
Edd: 31st July 2013

Mummies, lets jiayou together!!

Hi july mummies, i'm here to join the club!! Edd is supposedly last week of july but the dates keep coming up different with each ultra scan lol. I hv booked lian jie s my CL. Hvent seen much reviews abt her these days altho she was v hot when i had #1 couple of years ago. Anyone knw y? Or has anyone read abt her performance lately?

Orangey,
Paiseh ar! I had spotting on & off so didn't want to announce until bb is more stable and after getting my Oscar result. I was kinda worried becos I took slimming pills prior to that. My elder sis is still unmarried. Hope u understand! Hahahaha!

Cottagefry,
Oh! LOL! I kept thinking your sis is married and is a mother of 1. Maybe I got mixed up with another of our April MTB 2010 lol!!! Everything is fine don't worry, our babies are blessed babies

Like my gynae said, most mums did lots of "stunts" even realizing that they are pregnant and usually they are no harm to the babies. He said our uterus is quite a good cushioning for our baby and during 1st trimester, our babies get nutrients from the uterus lining cause placenta is still developing.

Orangey: yup both pregnancies I did drink some alcohol before I realized I was pregnant.

#1: drank apple martini, ate foie gras n drank tea all in 1 night cos wedding anniversary. After that I felt sick...

#2: drank champagne n wine in France, later when sick in Madrid went to pharmacy to get medication n even said I am not pregnant.

I agree our babies are blessed babies, Champions.

cymk, which Lian Jie are you refering to? The one I booked for July also called Lian jie
But I suppose its a differnt one?

Cottagefry,
Yeah! Let's jiayou!!

Abby,
Haha, yes yes!

Finally Tuesday! 1 more day to midweek! Am so busy for the month of Jan. This coming Sat gonna go down for my 1st appt for my new apartment and next sat going for gynae appt, yay!
Counting down to my CNY trip to Taipei in early Feb! Wohooo..

Wow Orangey you travel alot huh!

Actually I quite sick of travelling, my daughter also wants to stay put in S'pore for now.

Abby,
Haha not that I love to travel but have to travel. Last Dec was a work trip, cannot reject cause just 1 month into the job and realized that I am pregnant. Talked to gynae and he said its safe to travel so I went ahead. CNY cause Hub is from Taiwan so have to head back to Taipei to celebrate with MIL

Now my HB say he may have an overseas job in the coming months.

I said maybe I just go 2-3 weeks. But actually I dun mind staying in S'pore. Haha! Then still have to see gynae.

Abby,
Yah, I think I'm gonna pile on alot of weight in Taiwan! MIL is well known for "squeezing" food into our mouth and plus food over there tend to be oiler cause they really love pork lard, like to mix pork lard in the rice. Talking about desserts, wanna eat Xian Yu Xian but I don't think my MIL will allow cause its cold dessert

I have been eating mango milk ice at Kopitiam! I think the only hor drink i drink is chrysanthemum tea st soup restaurant.

Yucks I dun like pork lard in rice. Really sounds oily...

hi everyone, just did my oscar scan last week. did the scan and blood test in the morning. The scan took around 15-20mins. Blood test 5mins.everything is done within an hour including waiting time.

Late afternoon meet my gynae and know the result. Thank God! Baby is good and healthy.