(2013/06) June 2013

Kome
You know what sometimes it is me itchy backside after 1 bottle trying to see oif there are other nicer ones.

My #1 group more atas de they use california babies, mustela or gaia but to me a bit ex wor... though they smell really nice

I tried GAIA for my # 2 before but i don't like it. End up i still use back Kodomo. I like the smell of it.

Understand. My hand also very itchy, wanna buy this and that to try out. In the end all don't like than throw to my mom's house for my bros and nephew to use. :p

Birdbird, my blood pressure during pregnancy now is around 95/50 so even lower than yours.

Gynae never say anything also, they are only concerned about high bp or pre-eclampsia.

I m using puréen too.. It is 2l at 10.90...very worth while n it's cheap... Last yr, I bought fr kiddy palace...buy 2 get 1 free..only 7-8plus per bottle...

I noe kkh has a store tt sells puréen...not sure of e pricing...

my #1 uses kodomo shampoo and body wash so 2 different bottles but! he has used the same bottle since birth n he is 16m now haha..it last super super long..the body wash jus finishing but the shampoo still alot left...for sch i pass them the johnson yellow bottle..not yellow liquid hor..tt one is for both body n hair..coz easier for them to jus haf 1 bottle

i also hope i can slim down after birth if not cham.. my thighs and arms become soooo flabby and my butt also become very meaty.. this is so different from my #1! Till date, i have already put on 8kg! OMG! i looked like a humpty dumpty lo..

Vivi: for pureen detergent, u can get it @ $9.90 from GIANT (1L bottle). i always buy half a dozen at one go cos it cheaper..

kome: for the kodomo detergent.. where do u get it and @ what price? at least i can make a comparison..

for body wash.. im using pureen yogurt head to toe.. it smells nice and cost $6.50 for 1L..

hapieger
Normally I get it from NTUC at $17+. Pureen Detergent is good also? Maybe I should consider pureen since is much cheaper

Hapieger
Wah I just checked the pureen detergent. It is $10.90 for 2000ml not 1000ml, same as Giant's?
But then hor my side no Giant so can only rely on Kiddy Palace.

Kome
Pureen is not bad smells ok and a little will do and little suds so easy to wash.

#1 for I dont use head to toe le since they are toddler so more dirty so I use separate shampoo and body wash.

I not sure how many ltrs but know that it is in bigger bottle. Will go and check again for both brand and compare which one is more worth it.

vivi: hmm.. the bottle is in red right? hmm then it should be 2L ba.. guess only one standard size.. GIANT selling @ $9.90..

i think kiddy's stuff tends to be more ex so i normally dont get from them.. :p

my #1 still using head to toe.. too many brand to choose from and dunno suits her or not.. sigh.. very mafan~

Hapieger
Mine is the blue one....
Ya lor Kiddy Palace stuff can be ex but my side at Toa Payoh no sell only Kiddy Palace....

Kome: if pureen is really $9.90 for 2L then kodomo is really EX!! ya, better to check it out.. we shld save whenever we can.. haha..

hi gracie gal.. i cant post on ur thread.. not sure why.. im interested in item 9 & 10.. can u pm me on the price. thanks..

hapieger
Yes, medical hall is really much cheaper. I got my sons milk powder from a medical hall which cost lesser by about $5+ but the medical hall is not near my house at all so hubby every month go there and buy 7 tins of milk powder straight 1 time to last 1 month.

Ya... isit kim seng medical hall? Theres one right below my block so its quite convenient... but they increased the selling price again range from $3-$5 per tin... so do check it out again before u make the next purchase... so expensive to raise ankid nowadays...

Hapieger
Ya.....especially for boys. Aiyo.......my 2 boys really a monster. Can eat a lot.

Ok.....will remind hubby to check out the price first before purchase.

yes~ my gal dont eat alot but she loves her milk so much that she can drink 500ml before sleep!

oh ya, i have checked the pureen detergent.. its $9.90 for 2L...

Wah here so quiet where is everyone?

If not wrong Kim Sang has a online web that you can order? reach a certain amount and you can get it to deliver to your house....

Last time when #1 drinks stage 1 milk, I bought from Tong Ren Tang, 6 tins at 1 go...

It is really expensive to buy powder milk and 1 tin doesnt last long so crossing fingers that I will have breast milk for #2...

Oh by the way when should we take those nursing tea and what brand is good?

Vivi - you can only start to take nursing tea after delivery, not before. If you want, can bring to the hospital and start drinking immediately after bb is out.

I tried both Traditional Medicinals, More Milk Tea, and Weleda Nursing Tea. Prefer Weleda as it has more of the active ingredients.

Hths!

Btw I just ordered diapers and laundry detergent from kimsang, they're delivering this evening. Before that I used to order from redmart.com for the convenience, but kimsang is cheaper..

Oh yah why not switch your child to drinking fresh milk? My kids take only fresh milk now.. We transitioned them after 1yr old, just pour into the milk bottle and warm in microwave.

Then when gg out I just need to pack the small packet milk, they will drink from the straw. More convenient..

Hapieger - we buy Pura which is Australian milk when its on offer, otherwise normally its just Meiji milk. Sometimes if we order groceries online then I get the organic UHT milk by the carton.

When we lived in Switzerland the stores only sell formula for up to 18 months.. So all the babies there generally switch to fresh milk by 1yr old.. Singapore is so cute I see formula being sold for primary school kids!

But the milk is definitely cheaper there, even if we buy organic.
I find formula here so super duper expensive, organic fresh milk too.. Guess its because everything is imported here.

Btw my eldest actually began to grow fatter after we switched to fresh milk.. When she was drinking formula somehow always very skinny!

Thanks absentmama, so far i only gave her small amount of marigold fresh milk mix with cereal before bedtime.. actually is there any diff btw fresh milk or formula? and do we have to warm up the fresh milk before giving to them?

jasmine, how long is the massage for $70-$80..? mine only an hr...

I asked my PD about formula vs fresh milk cos my girl just turned 1 and I also think fresh milk seems better for baby. Because my girl is still not taking solids very well, PD suggested to stick with formula because it contains more nutrients than fresh milk. I suppose if your child is taking solids very well, then milk is just a supplement. For me, milk is still quite a main source of food.

absentmama, not sure if I recall correctly, but you mentioned before that you microwave bm? I remember from prenatal class that it is not recommended to microwave bm... it kills the antibodies right?

vivimummy, can also consider fenugreek tablets. I ordered from Drugstore. The GNC 200 capsules bottle is S$15 and shipping around S$4

I order my nappies from nepia.com.sg. They deliver within 1-2 days and I can't find them in most supermarkets anyway. For milk powder I'm still getting from NTUC...

Chewie - yup I microwave bm but only for like 20s to take off the chill.. Dun think the nutrients will be affected much if its not overheated cos my hubby says its fine and he's a scientist specialising in this kind microwave /radiowave energy blah blah.. So I trust his judgement.

Previously I used bottle warmer, dunno whether its the warmer lousy or I'm not good with it but it takes too long and tends to overheat the milk..

Hapieger - if your kid will take cold milk straight from fridge then dun need to warm up. My girl doesn't like it cold so I will just warm to room temp in the microwave.

As for whether fresh milk or formula better, both have their pros and cons lah..

Fresh is more natural, less processed. But spoil faster.

Formula the manufacturers have removed most things in the milk then added more stuff in.. Thus the longer expiry date. Personally I prefer less-processed milk bah. We also have the fresh goat's milk delivered to us weekly from Hay's Dairies Farm, that one is expensive but I think worth it cos the goats are not injected with antibiotics or growth hormones - we went to the farm to ask.

Like for myself I don't take those pregnant-mother formulas, prefer to drink fresh milk also

Wow he's a researcher ah? Which explains all the overseas postings for research? Issit really ok to microwave our food? I try to minimize but sometimes it's necessary la...

I think using microwave for milk also must be careful cos of uneven heating. That's what I read online.

Yes bottle warmers can be quite slow and it seems to take forever when baby is crying. But I still bought a new bottle warmer. Used to it already

I'm also not into powdered milk and drink magnolia full cream, that's why so fat! :p

Haha yah I drink the full-cream milk we get for the kids, cos I read somewhere that skim milk is not good for health although I can't remember why.

Yup he's a scientist so the overseas trips all work-related. Actually microwave will cause uneven heating if its the old old type where the turntable inside is fixed and doesn't turn. We had this in our rental apt in Zurich really had to be more careful using it. Otherwise back here using our own normal version its been fine

After microing just swirl the milk in the bottle a bit can le, I've been doing it for years

Morning mummies..

My post-natal massage is $50/session and the lady recommended or 10 sessions. Not sure how long but think it's more then an hour. It was recommended by my friend so just take up..

I got a question for mummies who previously BF. If you latch-on, you will still need to express to empty right? So how do you balance between latching and giving the EBM? I was thinking to keep EBM for the night and maybe hubby can help to feed at times..

I know of bf mummies who never express the remaining... they are doing a good job. Still bf past age 1! But it's very tiring on mummy cos mummy do all the work and some end up becoming human pacifier at night. I can't advise much cos I went on exclusive pumping so no latching at all. Pump till empty...

I should be getting the diapers from GooN. Gets 4 pack S size.

Absentmama
I don't know how to use the bottle warmer also. Took very long to warm the milk, in the end gave up and just used hot water to heat up instead.

wy_june
I not good in bf so cannot advise you. Most of the time i just pump instead.

Chewie, when you were pumping exclusively, did you have to wake up in the night to pump also? And is it one pump = one feed?

I supposed latching and pumpin both has its pros and cons.

birdbird, initially yes - the night pump is a must... lots of sites recommend that. First month pump every 3 hours, second month 4 hours then keep dragging longer. Normally 1 pump I can do 2 feeds cos my girl doesn't take much. Initially I was getting around 1.5 litres a day and at my max, I was getting 400-500ml for the one of the pumps so could freeze the excess as well.

Wyjune -
when latching I didn't pump so basically like what Chewie said have to be human pacifier at night. Actually after the first month or so if purely latching you will not be able to get much through pumping after latching cos your body will have adjusted the supply to match bb's demand.

If you want to build up supply so that you can still pump after latching, you will need to do it from day one le. Which means getting up in the middle of the night to pump too.. Honestly it was just easier to co-sleep with baby and latch without fully waking up.

Chewie
I don't have as much as you.
I can only pump out for 1 feed all the way. Even though i did take fenugreek but still not bless with alot of milk. For 3 mths, i can only pump out 30ml max. Now i am not sure if i still want to get the fenugreek or not.

Kome, it's ok, I got 400 tablets. If urgently need in June I can spare you some
Actually I dunno if fenugreek helped cos I didn't take much cos it might cause gassy baby. I'm thinking domperidone immediately after delivery might have helped to get the milk started. I had lots of engorgement even though I pumped so often. Sigh, not nice memories coming back...

Thanks chewie & absentmama for clarifying.. I always thought we will still need to "empty" after latch-on to prevent engorgement.

I am wondering to go natural as in taking the nursing tea or get domperidone.