(2013/06) June 2013

Kome: so far driving not an issue to me.. i think i enjoy driving then taking transport. But if i am not feeling well i will avoid driving.. my car is stock up with sweets to keep me fresh and in case i feel like puking.

So far i nv puke in car yet.. n now MS fade off.. so i think its ok. i had friends who drive until full term.

ariel> i see. i jut did a prelim registration for my BB at school nearest to my hse. My hse downstairs is childcare cum kindergarten. So IFC have to walk a bit....

Girl^Girl > Hmm I am not sure since I stand at the same spot everyday and did not have any problems till today? 1 thing is that I feel that there is no breeze.

tangbai > No leh.. I drank a cup of milo before I go to work and will buy food at canteen. I normally do this and no issues.

Windy > Yeap, waiting for my hubby to pick me up from office now. Appt @ 2:30. I reckon will have blood test later. Thanks for the tip.. I will put some gummy bears in my bag tonight!

Girl girl:
Hope u recovered by now

Absent mama:
Wah at least ur Hb nvr complained he's tired. Tell him another few wks u be better lor. Mine fr wk13 so much better n less sleepy

Kome:
There's once I felt giddy n immediately stop by road side & another round stopped by to puke in plastic bag I prepared. But I'm 14+ now so much better but once a while still naeseous but compare to whole day last time it's relief aldy

Rice Wine:
Anyone relatives or Frds making? Can help me ask if they sell, I will like to place order for it

angel> no lar where got recover so fast...still waiting for hosp to call leh...*slow*... but no choice, the lab culture tests takes 2-3 days...

i still feel giddy but not fainting spells. Haiz...and nausea especially at night.

My Angel is back
Ya...... Occasionally i will feel nauseous too. Just that heard so many cases of suddenly faint so am abit worry while i driving.

Rice Wine
My mum actually use Wincaris as a substitute of rice wine to cook during my last confinement. Think she also heard from some other aunties saying can use wincaris to substitute rice wine. Coz nowadays not many people know or want to do it.

Talking about rice wine, what is that for? Cooking or washing hands? I heard some ladies use that to wash hands?

My Mil that time asked someone to make yellow wine actually I dont like this kind of food cooked with wine like a lot of alcohol taste....

I think for me I only like to eat mee sua and the kidneys... I dont like the yellow wine chicken....

rice wine is gd to consume during confinement; even gd if ladies having menses cramp. different dirlects have diff rice wine. my granny is hockchew, used to do hong zhao jiu. if i'm not wrong, yellow wine is from hakka

Yup Tangbai my mil is hakka...
Ok this time round maybe let me try to appreciate confinement food since this is the last round for me le....

Check with you all huh Avent single pump preloved at $90 using for twice a day for about a few months worth to buy?

Kome:
Usually u shd be able to feel giddiness b4 really faint so usually I just stop for a while

Vivi:
Rice wine is to cook some dishes during confinement

Tangbai:
Thought rice wine is red? Those my ain't made last time r red.

Vivi:
I bot tt during my #1 shd be using this round if still functioning. Sound cheap but u need to know when u pump 1 breast another will drip so then I need put a container below my other breast haha. If I have a choice I won't even buy single pump.

hi angel,

not all rice wine is red, as i mention above, diff dirlects has diff way of making. red one is from hockchew ^_~
i learnt from my grandma how to make it but nowadays not easy to find the ingredients, some need to get out of sg.

Kome, I'm driving everyday I feel okay. Just got 2 times I need to stop at road side and puke. But I will judge, if really feel unwell, will try to rest before driving, and will always have puke bag in the car.

My angel and Joanne
Thinking of getting it anyway my first pregnancy milk supply was low and I gave up after a month as I do not have much knowledge.

Now I have better knowledge so thinking of getting it hoping my supply this time is enough. Of course have to be more hardworking this time pump at night as well. I do have another ameda dual pump Le but have heard of reviews that the avent one is good so thinking if getting them.

I also thinking of putting bb in infant care aft the 4 mths maternity. But no idea how to choose a good one. Aiyo, so many things to plan for..

hi all mummies, im new here

I just started finding the infant care and was told that I will be on waiting list for Oct 2013..

Absentmama, my boys are 5 & 3 respectively. I salute you - still can go work. I'm like almost half dead already and is currently on mc. How do u manage? I don't even dare to drive now... Even sitting in hubby's car or in the cab makes me nausea. Always have to think where the nearest toilet is when we reached the destination cos' confirmed will puke.

Vivi, I would recommend getting dual pump. Single pump is too time consuming. For my 1st boy, I used avent manual single pump. Good suction and extraction of milk but it took me at least 40 mins to finish emptying both sides. Then I switched to medela single electric pump. Very bad suction and just didn't suit me. In the end, bought the ameda dual pump. Suits me. But boy managed to latch eventually. Used the ameda pump quite extensively for my 2nd boy cos he was hospitalized for a while. So conclusion is, electric dual pump is the way to go.

Puked 4 times today. Feel quite horrible and told my husband that I may want to admit myself to hospital cos worried that I might be dehydrated. Will monitor till tomorrow and if I don't improve, may call gynae and see if I need to be admitted to be on drip.

Lilac
I also heard the manual pump is good but since I have the ameda dual pump so can use both when the silly is established ba. Keeping fingers crossed that I have milk for this time and will succeed.

Hugs hope your this terrible ordeal will be over soon. I also just pop gastric pills got some reflux too

Absentmama, my boys are 5 & 3 respectively. I salute you - still can go work. I'm like almost half dead already and is currently on mc. How do u manage? I don't even dare to drive now... Even sitting in hubby's car or in the cab makes me nausea. Always have to think where the nearest toilet is when we reached the destination cos' confirmed will puke.

Vivi, I would recommend getting dual pump. Single pump is too time consuming. For my 1st boy, I used avent manual single pump. Good suction and extraction of milk but it took me at least 40 mins to finish emptying both sides. Then I switched to medela single electric pump. Very bad suction and just didn't suit me. In the end, bought the ameda dual pump. Suits me. But boy managed to latch eventually. Used the ameda pump quite extensively for my 2nd boy cos he was hospitalized for a while. So conclusion is, electric dual pump is the way to go.

Puked 4 times today. Feel quite horrible and told my husband that I may want to admit myself to hospital cos worried that I might be dehydrated. Will monitor till tomorrow and if I don't improve, may call gynae and see if I need to be admitted to be on drip.

Am new here! Nice to meet and learn from all of you! Currently am at 13 wks 5 days!

Please add me to the list!

Edd: 13 June 2013
Gynae: Dr fong
Hospital: Gleneagles
Baby #1

Shan991, I put my boy in IFC at 3+ mths. See if anyone recommend any of e IFC near ur place.What I did was I called up a few ifc and went down to e IFC to talk to e teachers n look ard at e environment.

vivi, I used e Avent single manual pump in e beginning but I dun like it, not suitable for me, tedious n tiring. In e end bought e Medela Pisa, so much better tho supply is still not great. I think key is need to b very hardworking to keep the schedule ba..

Mummies, if you had low BM supply for your previous kids I highly recommend this book:

"The Breastfeeding Mother's Guide to Making More Milk"

Can order from bookdepository.uk or get the ebook version from Amazon. The book is published by la leche league and addresses all the possible reasons why you may not have enough milk and how to rectify it. What are foods and herbs to take, how to get baby to latch properly etc. Worth reading now before baby comes cos later on will be too busy to do so

i got the ebook one and regret not getting hard copy cos my kindle spoilt. Now can only read on desktop on iPhone.

i register for waiting list for my BB (after 4 mths ML) ard Sep 2013. Under My first skool (nearest to my hse) woodlands IFC very limited
... my inlaws are working. my own parents stay far from my hse but my mum said she will help me here and there during my 4mths...

felicia> hello to you!!

corina> hello to you too
yeah i do agree that these days we have to plan early!

Breast pump

I bought pigeon but not tt fantastic..I feel Medela is e best..but exp

I latch on which I feel easier,more milk n less tiring..pumping u must b diligent,sterilize n store e bm n warm up..

IFC n cc

Really got to queue way in advance..I gave up n will b putting my boy into play group next mth..

Ms

At week 15plus,I m still puking and feel sleepy always..hopefully will stop by 5th mth same as #1..

My-Angel-Is-Back! > My SIL actually asked me when is my EDD last weekend as she wants to help me order rice wine. She said her friend's aunt (i think is aunt) makes rice wine. You want me to check for u as well?

Corina & Felicia > Hi!

absentmama > Thanks! Will try to see if I can find it in Kobo..

Just curious, do u mummies immediately buy the breast pump before delivery or try to latch on initially first to see if you have sufficient supply of milk? I want to BF but afraid that I do not have enough supply.

wy_June> I bot a single pump before i gave birth to my first one... However, after birth, as i want to increase my milk supply, i latch and pump daily and hence i regretted the single pump cos is hand held and time consuming. In the end i got myself a USA set Medela free style pump that can free my hands and pump 2 breasts at the same time... good investment i feel.

To add on, is more of "kiasu" mentally that i bot before belivery la.. in case bb cant latch well... haha.. But experts will say latching is the best..

wy_june, I have the same concern as u previously, so I latch on first. But cos I didn't latch correctly so it was very painful till I told my hubby to go n buy one quickly, tats y got the manual pump.

Absentmama
Thank you for the suggestion. Hoping this round I can make it.

Wy June
I buy pump first because I am afraid that by the time confinement I need one I can't go out to get it and hubby is clueless at this.

I bought after delivery..scare low supply..

I also dun dare to latch on.scare pain..my Frez kept encourage mi..else I will have give up bfeed..latch on must b at e correct position else will bleed,pain n sore..

This time rd,I wanna latch immediately after delivery..

Girl girl
How to say leh different people will have different thoughts about pump.....

But so far avent I heard ok medala pump in style good...

Thanks all.. I wanted to buy Medela but it's expensive so am wondering to buy before delivery or after I confirm my supply.

Girl^Girl > I heard Medela is very good. My aunt previously bought Avent and find that it's hard to use so swap to Medela. I also feel that it's up to individual but I do see more +ve reviews on Medela though.

yup..if u google online, there will always be positive/negative reviews on each brand and the type of pump they carry... I used medela free style and it suits me...

Actually if you can wait, those interested can buy during Baby fiar... usually got promotion and freebies... Taka Baby fair coming in Mar 13. still in time for June mummies..

Also can buy those lightly used 2nd hand where mummies gave up bfeeding..normally they slash e price quite a lot or throw in lot of bundle.

Girl^Girl > Erm.. Maybe I am 1st time mum so my jaw drop when I saw the price even though I know it will be exp. I am thinking of getting Medela Freestyle.

I am thinking to get during fairs / sales to have some savings. Only thing is I am worried that my supply is low and it will be wasted.

wy_june> ya the price is quite high. I see the bb things ...more ex than adults things...lolxxx...initially the bill will shoot up ...