(2013/05) May 2013

JC,
My hubby say he felt so dangerous going to these fairs with me lo. He say must be extra careful to lookout for container trucks (preggy ladies) and not to bump into them!

Fabbie, bb fair@ expo this weekend.

Bbkk, I think shipping alone for strollers would cost at least sgd200.. Cos it's v bulky.. Imagine that it'll be a at least 10kg weight for shipping!

2ks, is urs baby jogger city select? The removable double stroller? Is that gd? I'm thinking of getting that too... Waiting for my bro to go to US and lug it back for me, hopefully he's going soon before I deliver.. But it's around 20kg! Plan to ask him to bring the pram on board while checking in the second seat..
Amazon is so cheap at usd650! Mothercare selling at 1.3k!

is the mothercare fair worth gg? coz seems that mothercare pdts r priced much higher. hw abt taka fair? heard nt cheap too

sorry, when is the Mothercare fair??

MyAngelIsBack: Mmm. My sister said she is ok to accompany but haven't confirm with me. LOL. If by tmr she cannot confirm with me, I'll join u all? hehe =D

My hubby also not free on Friday, no choice gotta go a lone. Thinking to carry back pack there. Then can dump everything inside after that take taxi home...But hor...I predict Friday also a lot of people eh...LOL!!! Like everyone taking leave to go...

bbkk: i have a chest freezer at hm also...
i think i bought at $270.
pump u dont have meh??
i also thinking of air fryer but hor...hub dont like philips brand...so maybe see others.

reddish: yes, mine is baby jogger city select. i have to tell u its real heavy. but then its very very stable and good to push. but when u collapse the 2nd seat, u got to take out the bar and the 2nd seat then can keep.
and it prob occupy alot of space in the boot.
but then i really like the stroller despite it being heavy...its quite stable and can do shopping with it, the basket is really big and can store alot of things.

i bought the adapters for infant car seat also...thus now looking around for 2nd hand maxi cosi cabriofix, if dont have then i get a new one.

fool4love,

the last time during my number 1, doc advise to mointor baby movement at the same time every day. so if there's consistent movement, think its okie de.

Wt81, I don't plan to go to Mothercare fair.. The q is going to be crazy like mad on the first day, and when gd buys are being grabbed up fast, then it'll be left with nothing much..

I'm planning to go to bb expo and taka fair next month to grab all my necessities for #1 and #2..

2ks, yea I think it's like close to 20kg for it! Ooh, u mean we're able to collapse the stroller with both first and second seat(just gotta remove first seat front bar)? Sturdy is gd! And I also love big shopping basket. Have been using quinny Zapp xtra and quinny buzz, and their shopping basket is so pathetic!
Really praying that my bro would be going us soon.. My #1 is still enjoys sitting in the stroller whenever we're out...
Oh yea, I also intend to get the car seat adaptor. I have the cabrofix from #1 but I haven't start washing it yet... :S also don't know how to remove the seat cover from the car seat...

Morning everyone!!

Is the Mothercare fair the one at the Harbour Front outlet? I see so many fairs here and there abit lost. haha.

Yup, I think babyfair @expo on Friday will be swamped with people. But shld be better than wkends I hope...just want to quickly settle the bigger and more essential items before I get too big and tired to do shopping.

Thanks to mommies and the deals on decals and night lights. Will take a look at the BP for decal and go Ikea for the lights!
I am still thinking where I saw the cute night lights (hang on wall kind)...will share here if I manage to find the deal.

Someone mentioned abt bringing more cash to the babyfair coz alot of the stalls only accept cash payment. I am thinking these shld be the smaller stalls which sells clothes etc? Coz carriers, slings, cots and pumps these kind shld be allowed to use NETs or credit card right? If not, i dont know how much money i have to draw liaos...hahah

fool4love - agree with fabbie and chiro. Dont worry too much if you dont feel baby moving at a certain time. When bb is furiously moving, we pay alot of attention so when the movement stops, we become paranoid. Am sure your lil darling is just taking a break...the stunts will begin later!

reddish: last time mothercare sale only 3 days..then got alot of value buys so the queue is horrible.
but u might want to see this time round the sale drag for 10 days...but also while stock last la. think of not for priority VIP on 28 feb, the rest of the days should be fine.

no...the baby jogger city select, whenever u wanna collapse the stroller, u got to remove the 2nd seat. the frame is heavy, the seat is not. but its quite easy la..just a click only. but then cos its bulky thus it occupy alot of space in the car boot. my hub always nag lor. said he got monster behind. and i think if driving wish/stream, the stroller cannot put unless collapse the back seats.

and yes, when the kids are on it, its very heavy.
but i have no prob going up escalator with both in, down so far i tried with 1 in the stroller, still okay. both i havent tried yet.
now maybe cos preggy i no confidence yet maybe try later.

ya we went mothercare to try the maxi cosi on the baby jogger plus an extra seat. its quite okay...hub is convinced with it.
if u looking for adapters can ship from amazon. no need whole set, just the adapters will do..

2ks, i gave away my pump. that is a single pump, going to buy pisa next month.
your freezer u bought is first hand or second hand?

bbkk: ooh....pisa is good...u will love it.
my freezer is 1st hand. kadeka brand (under KDK)
but mine is the smallest around and mine is deep freezer...
i post pics for u see in fb.
there are many others brands now...farfalla, then home dunno what...
some cost $299
alot of ppl using farfalla cos of the drawers.
for me, i tot chest freezer is meant to be deep in...thus i open those open from top one

oh thks,i saw the pic.
i saw alot selling second hand still ex leh. deep freezer like very big leh. maybe i can consider yours

bbkk: 2nd hand hor...if lets say $200 hor, then still got to arrange transport. if car cant go in, think transport around $40
i get my new one at $270 if i didnt remember wrongly.
giant/ntuc hub got sell also...

Oh icic... Yea.... My hb also complained about my quinny buzz... Big, bulky and heavy.. But thankfully my girl likes to sit in it. Hopefully this city select would be manageable for us!
Most mpv has no car boot so got to lay down third row of seats.. Even though we've just gotten a mpv, but so far we haven't used third row of seats, so that has always been our boot compartment for stroller..
The car adaptor alone on amazon cost usd59 mans! So exp!

Bbkk, yea agree that Pisa is v gd.. strong suction and it's dual pumping! I can't imagine doing single pumping everyday! @,@
Hmm, for chest freezer, perhaps u can kiv first? U can get it after confinement when ur milk has stabilized... no pt getting it so early cos it'll be a white elephant at hm for the next few months... Get a new one ba cos it'll comes with free delivery and warranty...

BBkk,
My chest freezer is 2nd hand previously used to store ebm oso. Techno brand bought $150 that time. but of course need arrange transport to collect from owner. Sometimes when you go to those hypermart like NTUC extra or giant, they oso sell chest freezers. Oso quite gd price. I remember i saw 1 at NTUC Xtra Jurong Point $259 for chest freezer but forgot what brand liao.

ya i think i wait till give birth then buy. my house also got cook, all full of meat so no storage.
will go giant or ntuc to buy new one better.

Wall decal: I also got mine from gmarket and the stock is from Korea

Mothercare fair: start on 1 mar for non members at harbour front level 3

reddish: u dont need the whole set. just the clips will do. i bought my whole set at $119 okay...
cos the baby hyperstore no stock and dunno when will come in, they sell only the clips at $69

its very bulky for city select. and its not free standing if u collapse it. u go test out 1st la...mothercare harbourfront has it. but they dont hv the double seat.

ya...dont get the chest freezer too early.
for me, cos i know i will have milk so i bought it before i deliver #2.

its very useful for my case.

Need to seek advise.
For Medela PIS, there's 2 types of bag that comes with the pump rith.One is the backpack while the other is the sling.

May I know whats is the diff between the two?
Jus diff style of bag?? Is the pump detachable from the bag?

blurdopey: if i am not wrong the metro bag (sling) is usually only available for US set.
for local sets its usually backpack.

for new pisa, the motor is in the back pack. but u can take it out. but when u take it out, it be like metal base with yellow top.
what i do is i put it inside my medela cooler bag. can zip with the socket inside too.

older models the motor c/w a pouch lor...now new range dont.

I got my US set - Medela PISA (on-the-go-tote)
Can the motor be taken out also?? thou I everything was can be staff inside. I just have to carry the tote to office.

8133350.jpg

bbkk: doesnt matter which bag...
cos to me the medela bag is ugly leh...black black one...LOL
i usually take out my pisa motor. but then cos my pisa is at hm la..
i used freestyle at work and i use the metro bag.

so must see u buying local or US set.
if US set i get on the go tote...its nicer to me lor...

xuan: it can be taken out, but then it will be bare la, means u can will see the yellow top and the metal body.

i will prefer to take it out...cos i tot motor need to have some air also? and then lugging a bag at home is kindof bulky and funny.
i store my pump in a drawer beside my bedside table

Mine is the tote one, same one as what xuan has shown. But i din take out. Find it hard to take out. Got many velcro around the pump head that attached to the bag.

Re: Milk Bags
Can anyone advise if Lansinoh milk bags are good or not? I only used Nanny milk bags before. Wondering if Lansinoh is better. Where to get boots milk bags?

Re: Breastpads
Can anyone share which brand you use which is the cheapest and most usable? Thanks mummies!

Jill, yea me and Xuan seeing Dr Poon. He's quite nice. He delivered my #1 and i find his skills very professional. So i'm seeing him for #2 again. I also live near his hougang clinic.

Debbie,
I used Lasinoh and Nanny b4, I prefer nanny ones. Feel that its more durable and does not break easily after freezing
Breastpads, I only used pigeon b4.

Now sitting cross leg on the chair, BB kicking very hard!

debbie: i dont quite like lasinoh. cos it leaks on me few times. i been using nanny and boots.
boots sometimes u go WTS section, got ppl selling.
i cleared my carton earlier which my hub bought for me.

breastpads, i used boots, pigeon, korean brand, avent before. avent is toooo exp to use in the long run.
i stocked up my breastpads during robinsons 25% discount voucher.
pigeon is most comfy i find.

this time round i bought avent washable to try...
in long run, breastpads is very costly for me esp i bf more than 12 months

2ks, griny, thanks for the advice! I guess i will be using mainly boots and Nanny milkbags this time round. As for breastpads, i find it so costly. I also breastfed for a whole year. Thankfully towards the last few months i didn't really need many breastpads as i didn't leak as crazily like the beginning. I find it costly for long term too.

ok then i will get tote bag. but u all mention about what can take out,i am puzzled. i tot just take out only mah.. hehe

debbie: i am used to putting breastpads...cos u know some nursing bra no padding...so the breastpad will act as extra protection...otherwise i feel so bare...lol

wt81: depends on yourself la...if you leaks then u would prefer to change it.

bbkk: can take out one...but the motor is stick thru velcro to the bag u see.
i try take pic for u to see tonight.

Thats nice Debbie.. when i was still considering that time i was still thinking if i should go there. Maybe next bb go see him... his package should be more costs effective than the one i go now.

so u all think baby fair price better or mothercare price better?
I saw my bugaboo bee for VIP members preview, but i am not member.

confirmed more worth...cos shipping i estimated cost at least $200 shipping..
cos a bag already cost $30-40...and its much smaller than stroller.

plus if u get from mothercare, u will be able to be their member and then guarantee for yr stroller

2ks, haha thanks thanks... I'll go try it out soon..

Bbkk, for Mothercare VIP, u can go to their website to register as member. And if u purchased more than 300 or something, they'll auto covert u to VIP for a yr..

Breastpads- hmm I nv used it all along. Even when my boobs were leaking badly in the morning upon waking up, I also just let it leaked... Are breast pads that useful?

reddish: breastmilk very smelly when dry leh...then u let it leak to your bra??

when it leaks to my breastpads, i also find it uncomfortable and smelly leh.

i oni have around 30 pigeon pads which are hands me down too.. thats y thking of whether to buy more? duno enuf anot?

those who dunno how much to buy just standby a box will do la. the pigeon jumbo box is about 60pcs.
if change once a day, can use 30 days mah.

xuan: i buy my pigeon breastpads when robinsons have their half yearly 25% voucher for members.
then i usually stock up my breastpads and wipes...cos those items usually are not entitled to discount one.