(2013/05) May 2013

Hello mummies~ Im having a bad flu left over from a terrible fever over the past few days.. temperature even went up to 38.5 degrees. Now getting better... i really didnt want to take panadol but no choice.. it helped to bring my temperature down. Now im left with flu and dry cough.. those kind that you cough in midnight with no phlegem jus dry cough, cough until ribs machiam cracked a bone. HOpefully this wil be over soon... Wishing everyone a happy lunar new year and prosperous one with the arrival of our little one in May~

JC: lol i totally know how u feel leh... i also have frd try very long le still cant get.. then i have my another frd womb no more cannot give birth dou she wana get another one.. i have frd who is 6 months pregnant have twins just miscarriage. so like how u feel lor like feel bad this n that. so i know how u feel thats why i kept my pregnancy also quite long from some of my friends.. and yeah.. they mend well those keep saying but some how we just dont feel good lor right? lol suan le. anyway CNY is over! no need to hear so much.. we just wait for a few months more to POP! awaits that moments! ^^

dian_tang: i just smile at my auntie lor but i think she saw my face change she say but small better la.. no need so big for gal -___- lol but okai la.. this year CNY is damn damn tiring.. my hub say like working OT sia. eat n eat n eat run here n there. is super damn tired! aiyo.. thank god tmw will be normal day i can peacefully stay at home n rest. hahaha

jill: ya take panadol and rest well will be better =) hope u get well soon! if ya sleeping in aircon room maybe try to sleep without it 1-2 days it does helps. =)

Morning all.

for those starting work today like me, have a good day

Morning mommies. aww. today back to work!!
On leave tomorrow and friday!! Really super tiring this Chinese new year. So many places to run.

JC/ fabbie: don't be to bothered by what people said bah. My aunt also keep asking me baby's gender...keep ask:"uh? 6months plus liao eh. still don't know gender meh...your gynae lousy is it? if not why cannot see.. my boy hor last time very very early can see liao eh..."

Then super sian. I must repeat & repeat to tell them baby love to sleep on my placenta facing down. so, covered the private part that's why can't see. They act like they're some professional like that. Then said actually my tummy not very big for a 6months preggy, said I never eat ah? why I like never put on weight still same size la...not good la...got gain weight a not la...etc. I just smile and said:"ha-ha. is it? ohh..." And everyone is 'molesting' my tummy like I'm some fortune Buddha (-__-!)

Agreed that as long as baby is healthy, don't be too bothered by what people said about the size of our tummy. Big then big loh. Small then small loh. It's only a few more months away before baby pops! So, why care about them.

IUI/IVF: yup. I also feel u. My own elder sister have been trying to have one for years. She just had an ops last Nov 2012 to remove something that is blocking her fallopian tube. And that's the culprit that she hasn't been able to conceive. She also very demoralise. After the ops, she has been trying hard, hoping to have one baby but then every time her menses come she will sms and tell me she very upset, feels like giving up already. And don't know if she wanna go for IUI/ IVF. she is now trying to take some medication to make her eggs turn bigger hopefully the chances can be higher. It hurts me when she tell me:"why is everyone around me getting pregnant but not me...I've been trying to hard...I just want one..." Every time she tells me this I feel so hurt.

same loh..my elder brother and SIL also marry very long no kids. I thought they don't want kids until i found that they are actually seeing doc to TTC.

but my SIL schedule very busy. She is always travelling. When i annouce to my family, i also feel very paiseh. so i try not to fuss about my pregnancy. Just take it as normal so that she won't feel bad.

actually the more they worried and stress abt it, the more difficult it is to get preggy. I also tried for almost 1-1.5years before getting preggy. i even went for operation to 'drill holes' in my tube so that the eggs can come out easier and i was diagnose wif PCOS.....

it is good to go to holiday and relax.....

ya..we also see TCM, try those old folk methods, than decide to see western doc. Eat clomid and femara and doc tell me i am not ovulating
. 3rd appt push me go and do IUI.

i told my hubby stop first lah..i am not comfortable with IUI and IVF. Than shortly, got pregnant le. I think is 'zhu ding' 1 coz i was scheduled to go on a business trip during that week of conceive. If it wasn't delayed, than we would be successful.

JC: yup, my sister is taking clomid now too. her gynae told her that her womb is recovering but her fallopian tube bcos being blocked for quite long, tt side a bit 'useless' already. As in the egg count is very low, so the chances are pretty 50/50 thing. She also tell me she very tired of trying already.

rejoy: I told her don't too gan jiong or worried too. If not very hard to conceive. she last time workaholic, now she tell me she slow down already. Recommended her a TCM to adjust her body also. The TCM was recommended by my ex colleague. My ex colleague tat time tried very long for her #2 but keep no news. go see gynae then found out her ovulation and egg counts not good. very weak and low. she depressed also. the gynae tell her the chances very low for her to get pregnant...but after seeing the TCM for 6months she manage to get preggy. So, ask my sister go try also...

morning mummies!! happy CNY!

am back at work too.. sian.. super no mood to work.. bonus is see how also.. cause also based on department then they moderate out again.. sian..

totally agree on the fortune buddha feeling.. everywhere i go, people never ask start to touch my tummy and i can only smile though i feel so uncomfortable! touch already then alot of "Oooooo" and "ahhhhh" -_-" then alot say my face totally change lah, my nose big lah, this lah, that lah.. MUST BE BOY! but when i say, no its a girl they all, i mean all, gave that bewildered look like HUH!! how can it be -_-""" like what Xuan say, they all suddenly become professional.. say cannot be girl lah, pointy tummy lah, this lah, that lah.. ZZZzzzzzzz but my nose is big to begin with...

then there's also this professional talk about eating more hashima and bird's nest.. i just listen and be polite.. but then everything is very subjective to these... i also don't want them to spend money and buy these cause i don't really fancy but everybody insist if i don't eat, baby won't look good lah, won't be fair lah, blah blah blah.. the killer is when they boil these with red dates.. for sure sore throat.. last night was hashima with red date.. this morning 4am wake up sore throat.. told them my situation but nobody believe.. my mil says where got such things..

Hi everyone, happy CNY!

Rach, what's hashima? Sounds like a malay name to me. Haha.

Xuan
aiyah nevermind lah, just ignore them. old folks are like that one. anyway just remember next time when we grow old, try not to sound like them :D

Baby's moving quite a lot today. And i keep feeling hungry!

Afternoon all!!!

ya lets all forget about what people say and leave it to our husbands to explain hahaha anyway do u gals start dreaming? today i dream of my baby!! i dreamt that i put my hand on my tummy my baby actually can grab my hand. -___- sounds weird lol is like my tummy skin become so flexible till my baby can grab my hand. and whats more i dreamt that when i use a torch light to shine my tummy i can see my gal inside smiling. LOL

These days not sure i ate TOO MUCH or what.. i cant even sit properly.. whatever i try to sit here n there i just cant make myself comfortable.. haiz. and experience heartburn.. but my mouth just cant stop eating.. -____- wah i cant wait for my next monday appt!!

anyway gals hope u all have a big big angbao from boss and have a good day at work! ^^

Rach: don't believe too much. cause we all have different body immune system. Oldies also said eat more bird nest good la this and that la. but my gynae ask me don eat too much cause might cos baby to have sensitive skin when born. moderate eating will do.

pinktulip: yup. never really bother what they say. just smile n smile. my baby veryyyyy active today too!!! Kick non-stop since morning...

fabbie: yes yes!! I dream of baby few days ago too!! but scare the shit outta me!! Dreamt that gynae keep tell me it's a boy then give birth it's a girl!! Then everyone start asking the hell outta me again. freak me out. LOL!!!! hubby said I xiang too much of baby. hahahahahaha! my next appt on Saturday! can't wait to see baby also...

i have been having dreams since i know i pregnant.

no open work ang bao leh..my boss on AL coz her MIL pass away before new year. Don't think she will give when she come back tmr.

tomorrow is Vday. I just went and bought a card for my hubby. Plan to write him something sweet. I think must 'chong yi chong' him lah. I told him i want to go eat Sakura for Vdae dinner!!!!

alamak i think my hormones are working...i crying as i write the card..hahahha

me! i've been dreaming of baby these past few nights! but all very weird.. first time i dreamt that baby was born and within a day, she is as tall as me and we converse as if she's an adult already! second time i dreamt that i was delivering baby, like go toilet poo poo like that very fast.. then within few days, baby grew so fast and we converse as if she's an adult.. omggggggg...

pinktulip: hashima is xue ge.. when we googled last night, it means some fatty tissue from female frog's fallopian tube.. which is i think around her ovary area? i read already i super feel like throwing up!

baby has been very active lately too! kick and punch and kick and punch.. haha.. so amazing..

no open work ang bao for me too.. cant even see my boss.. he run away man.. haha..

my company is consider small. only 40+ and only 15 ladies and chinese. so the boss did give us ang bao out from the company....

open work ang bao: my CEO, CM and finance manager did give ang bao for open work. Think they more hard working and more money. Please loh...they jus got their BIG FAT BONUS! =( hmph!

jill: I've already invested in a US set Medela PISA dual breast pump. My sister got it for $300 directly from US when she went holiday last 2months ago...I saw Motherhood got someone selling US set at $410 for PISA. you maybe wanna take a look. But it's a US set thou. If you don mind without the local warranty...Cos it will cost double in SG if you buy...

Hi all mommies!!

So sad the looong CNY break is over. Almost had to drag myself off the bed and to work this morning. Lucky its still considered a pretty short work week.

Dreaming
Been too tired this cny period so didnt dream much. But I read that its normal to have dreams of our babies now...and our babies are probably dreaming of us too! So amazing...

Think my bb is excited over CNY...was kicking and moving alot esp at night. Told my hb our bb is 'moving hse' or 'renovating' inside. haha.

Jill - I am intending to get my breast pump from this seller: http://singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/7848439.html?1357221475
Like Xuan said, if you dont mind the US set not having local warranty, you can consider coz outside (kiddy palace) etc is selling at $600-700? My fren got a US set and its working fine for her...just need to buy a voltage converter or something. I will probably get the breast pump in March or April...closer to edd.

i plan to get all these at the baby fair. One shot settle everything. If i miss out, than i will get at Taka fair.

BTW, is it too early to get those bean sprout pillow now? haha..i planning to buy from pupsik. my hubby say if i buy, than never too early or late. If it is him buy things for BB, i will definitely say 'can wait lah..no need to buy now lah' -_-

Jill: The link that sleepyskies provided was the seller I'm referring to. I just need to get the voltage converter or something like sleepskies mention. Many told me theirs also working fine. It's really expensive to buy in outside.

JC: probably for bean sprout pillow will get it at a later time. MIL said wanna make but not sure...she keep think that it's STILL EARLY NOW! (-_-!) end march she going HK holiday. she think she have a lot of time to prepare things for me lo..tsk. everything now I have slowly buy myself.

Abit confused cos we jus got a pre loved medela single electric.. wonder if should buy the dual leh... hmm scared later my breast Bu Zhen Qi..

Jill - yours is bb #1? If so, I think can invest in a good breast pump. I also thought before later no milk/not enough milk then will waste the $400++ pump. But I think shld just get a good pump and motivate ourselves (and our breasts) to work hard! Should not even think abt what if no milk...just every few hrs pump! We can do it de!

hello mummies... happy new year!!! 28 weeks today.... hello 3rd trimester... just seen doc... he says my little boy is 1.3kg... slightly above average 28 weeks old babies... he's growth rate is faster than his jie jie... next check up 1 month from now..
grrrr....

sleepyskies- Thanks girl! hehehe yeah ok tonight talk to hubby.. Baby maine, ur boy is growing big! Good!!! Baby centre chart says 28 weeks roughly around 1005 gms. This is my 27 week.... Next visit on 23rd Feb!!!

hello mummies, hope everyone enjoy your CNY celebration! =)

Babymaine, wow your bb boy growing very well. ^^

Jill, my next visit also on 23rd Feb hehe.

Breast pump I think I will get the Medela PISA local set for the warranty.

Happy cny mummies! It is such a long and busy day back at work today. How I wish the holiday is longer

I am getting so stress at work that I keep having isomina and tummy discomfort.i think my irritated bowel syndrome (ibs) is back. Ibs disappear for a ehile after I am preggy. Snuone experiencing ibd noe too? How to overcome ar?

Mummies..this is the baby list i came out..wit the help of some mummies who posted long ago.
attachment_icon.gif
BB List
BB list.xlsx (18.5 k)</td></tr></table></center>

I mentioned my Braxton hicks to my doc ydae.. he said not pain then ok... but morning I wake up till now got the sng sng feeling... haiz... pls ar pls ar... as much as I wanna stay hm and rest pls let it be after next week after I hire my replacement...

Mrg all
Wet wet day.....not working today n tml.....
Is medala pump good?
Trying to look for second hand set........but not sure which to get

Dreams...I also haf funny dreams but cannot recall them now

Cramps
Do u gers start having cramps? I got it twice last night......different legs...ouch.....can't stretch on time....besides stretching, what else can we do?

Babymaine: wow your baby boy taking in all the good food this CNY . Growing very well.

Jill/ chiro: same! My next appt on 23 feb.

Vi: yup. I do have leg cramps too. My hubby will help me massage a little every night before heading to bed n it works out pretty good. As in the cramps not that bad...

hi mummies! i am still off today cos going for gynae visit today.
but hor...i am scared leh..wait said i put on 5kg how how how...
been eating sooooooo much lately leh.

xuan: the mother &amp; bb fair u posted on fb is current feb issue one rite...think maybe later i go buy a copy.
happy got pureen booth....going to stock up on my things.

vi: u try not to stretch your feet outwards...try stretching inwards instead...should be better.
during #1 time hor...i very gut lut...i soak my feet with warm water 2x per week...and i did not suffer from any cramps

Hehehe so fast ahhh... oh gosh... counting down... where is the chart where it states all the users gynae and EDD? hehee shall i update mine? I had abit of pain in tummy yday.. not sure what was that.. during my sleep though... my cough is recovering! Phew... Thank God..
back at work today, took the later bus and when i got on, no one give space again.. only give me free glares. haha

Oh so conincidental, all our visits on 23rd Feb.. looking forward together. :p

talking about pump...let me share my experience.
during #1 time hor...i also got this thinking, wait no milk how...then i tot of saving money so i bought single pump. single pump is much cheaper and then i wanna make use of the 40% staff discount at philips so i bought that.
then when discharge, i took FOREVER to pump. eg. i need to pump 1 side 25 mins rite...so i take = 25mins x2 = 50 mins for a cycle of pump...sit there gong gong wait..then 2 hrs 10 mins repeat the whole freaking 50 mins again. waste time and i cant do other things. if got CL still ok, but its really tough if CL left. how to sit there pump 50mins, if bb cry how..

but then the pump died on me before the confinement ends. the milk backflow to the motor and cant work. panicked...and ask hub to rush to avent to repair. heng changed a new set for me. ok...then after CL left still using, then pump died again and it was a sunday! avent closed! thus rushed to kiddy palace and bought the cheapest medela mini double electric. relieved cos pump time reduced to half.
then subsequent bought sil 2nd hand PISA and fell in love with it. pumping time further reduced to 15 mins, cleared both, cleared lumps.
and my mini electric i kept for office used while i hearted my pisa at home.

2nd pregnancy. sold the mini electric and bought a 2nd hand freeestyle from ex thread mummy. cos everyone raved about the pump so i wanna try too.
disappointed with the suction, cos much weaker than pisa. just that i like it being portable. but then cos its small, its rather flimsy. and be careful of dropping it.
used it in the car, during holiday, in tour bus, in toilet.

personal recommendation, for #1 time mummies, PISA is a good pump. recommended. when stable milk output or 2nd time mummies can try freestyle. but i find its more for seasoned breasts.

hope u guys dont find me loh soh..

2ks, thanks for the advice...will consider Pisa........
Hopefully bonus will b good..or at least same as last yr...coz need the cash to buy all these......

Cuban, thanks for the advice...gg to show hub....tell him he has to help ,assuaging
Hahha...coz he is the culprit of my situation

Vi &amp; those considering 2nd hand pumps

Re: 2nd hand pumps.

Do read this article before you buy a 2nd hand pump ok.

http://www.llli.org/llleaderweb/lv/lvjunjul04p54.html

I'd suggest buy a first hand pump.

2Ks
WOW! You sure have spent a lot on pumps!!!
I survived on a single MANUAL pump for 16 months for #1. Using hand me down from SIL &amp; she bought me a new manual pump also. Wah, my arms got muscle man.

For 2nd baby, I bought an Avent single electric. I feel that I don't take that long to pump. Just 30 mins for both sides. Can yield enough milk for baby to drive.

I think I want to buy an Ameda Lactaline dual pump this time round. But if i become housewife, a bit sayang the $400 to buy. But it's still worth it I guess, compared to $40 per can of FM. Say no to FM companies. Hehehe.

Am thinking of this issue... If we still want to give EBM after going back to work, do you mummies bring the same pump to office and bring home to sterilize everyday? Seems quite heavy to lug to and fro everyday for PISA... Then have to pump at least twice during office hours right? Do we need to clean the device after each pump?

Chiro
I've never used PISA before but I've heard it's heavy.

You don't have to sterilise everytime after using. Usually I'd sterilise at home every morning. Then I'll keep the pump parts in a ziploc bag after pumping in office, then keep it in a fridge. Then I'll use the same parts to pump a second time in office.

As for pump, I used to use an Avent, so it wasn't that heavy. But on lazy days, I would leave one pump in office, and another at home. So i don't have to lug around my motor everywhere. But that was a single pump, lah, so not that expensive.

Pinktulip: cos u already seasoned mah..some first time mummies cannot handle de. Its very tough on them. Esp if no cl or home alone...

I bf my babies 14 months and 19 months...thus already earn back the fm money la... fm is so exp!!
My pisa is 2nd hand at $350 local set and my freestyle is $300 US set. So ok la... 3rd bb already confirmed save a lot.

JC, Babbiee,
i can fully understand how you gals feel. cause i feel the same. Till now cause the tummy too big cannot hide liao then i openly announced my prenency. Cause i know not 1 but 2 ppl who bb during detail scan was announced to have some "problem" and have to terminate the pregnacy. so sad lor. I guess i am paranoid and will keep worry till after the baby is born.
To those not so understanding frend/relative, i jus ignore. Goes to show how insensitive they are. cause "touch wood" in the event something happen. we will be the one facing the whole thing and not them. cannot imagine having to "ïnform" everyone of the sad news. the less ppl know the less ppl to inform.. jus my point of view.

2ks,
i did the complete opp of you. for my no 1, i bought freestyle because of its size and weight. thinking of getting PISA now. shall use PISA in office (to cut down pumping time) and freestyle at home and when i am out over the weekend.

my hubby just openly annouce in FB..say he 'gao da wo de du zi' and he will fu zhe ren. My hp beep non-stop since than till now..ask me why no annouce -_-

can i check...Medela free style and pump in style - which 1 is better? another stupid qns, how do we store the milk? we pump straight into the bag or pump to the bottle than transfer to the bag to store?

Blurdopey
I can relate to what you say also. Nothing is confirmed until baby's born. Let's pray &amp; hope for the best ok. We all wish for a happy &amp; safe birth for both mommy &amp; baby.

2Ks
not seasoned lah. Just that we don't know what we're missing if we don't use double pump hehe.
So is it reasonable, my #1, i use manual. #2, i use single electric. #3, i use double electric. Upgrade phase by phase

JC
U can pump into a bottle, then pour it into the bag. some bags can store flat. But i think first 1 month, unless u're letting them feed through bottle, don't need to store much in bags. Just standby a few bottles will do.

2Ks: yes dear. It's the feb copy of mother and baby
what can we buy from the puréed stall? Any recommendation? I'm on leave today n tmr too! Haha. I can't wait to know how much your baby have grow!;)

I also worry abt bb's health every nw and then...wonder whether its getting enough nutrients, developing well, gained enough weight etc. think its some stage all mommies go thru until they hold their little one in their arms.

JC - your hb v.funny! hahaha till nw, my hb and I nv really announce on FB...only family and close frens/colleagues know. As what the ladies have shared and what I heard from my frens, Medela pump in style advanced (PISA) has a more powerful suction so many prefer it over free style. Free style's suction not as powerful but the plus point is that its portable and not as heavy as PISA - good for mommies who want to express milk when they get back to work. So depends on what you want.
I stay near where I work so I will get PISA..plus my frens who have used both models prefer PISA over freestyle.
As for storing milk...I have no idea. Need advice from 2ks or pinktulip on the procedure after pumping. hehe.