(2013/05) May 2013

Xuan, Rejoy
same lor, I'll also eat smaller meals but i'd snack quite regularly. Usually ask for less rice at lunch if i do eat rice.

Bbkk
Yup my gynae also. even when baby was rear-facing in the scan, he told me it was a girl. hehe.

Xuan - your baby very secretive haha. Think your next visit should be able to confirm gender le bah. If wanna buy baby stuffs stick to neutral colors first?

My tummy also feel very tight after a meal. It's like feeling full most of the time.

fabbie - i also easily feel tired after walking for a while, cannot enjoy shopping at all. Like old lady after walking/standing for 15-30mins need to sit down and rest liao. And got backache also. T_T

Xuan
for me, both my babies i only managed to know the gender during the detailed scan. i think gynae should be able to see one leh. now should be easier to see rite? hopefully u can know the gender soon! if not, just buy some neutral color clothings first? i was telling my hb, even if second one turns out to be girl, i will still let her wear blue at home, coz no one will see mah, dun waste money, haha

worried, you're right! I also let my #2 wear blue tops & pants. It's OK one lah. Haha. I also like the tops with pink & blue bunnies. so cute!

fabbie
Each visit to your gynae is $200 to $300? Wow. What does it consist of? My visit last week was $100 and I already found it expensive! My scan alone was $30 leh. Next check up i want to find out why scan has gone up to $30.

wrt leakages: Can chk how to determine if it is harmless etc, e.g due to incontinence rather than amniotic fluid?

If for incontinence, would it be advisable to use panty liner or to switch to poise?

fabbie: I'll feel pain down below, used to be at the pelvis but now it has shifted upwards to the bikini line area, near the prev c-sect cut..

For mummies who went for c-sect prev, do you feel this too? Need to know if it is any cause to be alarmed.

worried: am hoping to go for natural, shall see what the gyn says coz till now he still din mention anythg on the feasibility, just advised to keep bb's wgt low, i.e below 3kg..

wrt SAHM, anyone considered being a SAHM? Am toying with the idea but scared tt the considerations that am gg thru now may not be comprehensive and then regret aft tendering..

-#1 will still go to cc coz she really enjoyed the cc
-#2, am hoping to look aft personally, at least until 18 mths if am really planning on tendering
-housing loan will require cash payt since there wont be any CPF coming in
-living expenses will all gotta rely on hb, nt sure if he can take it or is agreeable..

Conerns:
-current workpl's still okie, as in, still quite okie if need to take urgent leave to attend to #1 so nt sure if it is gd to give up all these.. coz when #2 attends cc at 18 mths, forsee tt will kanna virus often too, then if I were to start on a new job, cfm wont be nice/gd to keep on taking urgent leave, whereas if am still at the current workpl, think shld be acceptable to the rest..
-nt sure if it will be hard to find job thereafter
-in future, wld #1 be unhappy tt I did nt devote such time to her, i.e still continue wrkg whereas when #2 arrives, I tender so as to look aft #2
-there will be no subsidy for #1's cc?
-savings'd be eaten into since cash will be needed to sustain the housing loan, nt to mention tt there will be no inflow to the bank acc..
-what to do with bb together if we were to face each other daily.. Wld the infant care provide more organised stimulation etc..

bewildered: unless u can find part time that works at least 56 hours per month then u be entitled to the govt subsidy.

all the above i also got think before. confirm not feasible to me...
money not enough

xuan - our babies are the same pattern de! mysterious and shy! hahaha. but at least your gynae gave some clues like dont buy blue. my gynae never say much...i asked if its a boy, usually can confirm early right..gynae only say boys more obvious. my gynae v.play-safe de...and he say he will usually take a pic of the part for the parents so i guess he just dont want to commit to anything now. nw just pray and hope 4 weeks later baby can be in a better position! meanwhile, all the baby clothes i bought are neutral colours (orange, green, white, grey, brown, colour, purple..). will be buying the cot etc after CNY liaos..no time to wait for bb to open legs. hahah

jill - good luck!! may your baby be guai guai and in the best position!!

fabbie: yah lors, 1 visit to gynae can easily cost $200/300...and somemore just to go see gender like v.waste money. and not 100% confirm will get to see gender, thats the worse thing!haha. detailed scan, doc cant see the part lehs. maybe my bb's legs perpetually crossed at 1 angle so cant see. anyway, just hope bb is safe and healthy. boy/girl, i think me and hb already leave it to fate liaos. haha.

re: water retention
my colleague told me it was a doc who told her eating strawberries will help. it also helps with cramps. not sure how effective it is..but for those who like strawberries, can try.

re: baby movement
somehow my bb's movements still feel pretty much the same, not any stronger or more frequent. i must lift up my shirt and look closely then can see the waves. am hoping to see more of the waves...esp for my hb coz thats the only time he can bond with bb.

worried79 - am intending to go for natural delivery. getting nervous as we start to near 3rd trimester~~~

pinktulip - i didnt know theres BP for aden & anais swaddles in SMH. Someone mentioned it in a post here and I googled to find out more...seems good (but exp). so when i saw it in Robinsons with 15% + 5% off, i just bought. haha. there are a few online websites you can buy aden & anais swaddles too..was comtemplating to buy frm these places - http://www.pupsikstudio.com/shop-by-brands/aden-anais/, http://www.heartsatmind.com/brand.php?brand_id_selected=1&brand_name_selected=Aden + Anais&prod_number_selected=40)

bewildered - am thinking of becoming a SAHM too but probably not for #1...maybe after #2. does your current workplace allow you to take no-pay leave? if they are, then you can consider that coz at least you will still have your old job when you return to work. better be in a familiar environment than start afresh..thats how i feel. i did consider taking no-pay leave after the 4mths ML..but i think it wont be so nice for my colleagues...esp when we are all abt the same age (2 are getting married and 1 probably intends to start a family soon too). will wait till bb is out and see how...

haiz...i tell myself cannot be angry today because today is 'li chun' but my contract staff really just want to push her limit.

Today must go bank in $$ okie. Just symbolically bank in $10 also can. Cannot withdraw $$. If wear red go bank, even better.

worried : i hoping for natural because can recover faster. Not too sure whether i will go for pain relief because i don't know how painful it is. People say is like 100 times x menses cramp but i never experience menses cramp before....

bewildered - maybe can negotiate with your employer whether can do flexi-hours or convert to part time? Then still can spend more time with your #2 without sacrificing too much?

BBK: haha i rather they say Big lor.. rather they say small.. makes hear already low moral.. but i try to siam those topic liao. i leave it to my hub to handle.. he told me he will explain to them why this n that. LOL sound so uncle

Charliebown.. YEAH!! time really files so fast le.. mine appt also 3 weeks aiyo.. im like eh 2 more weeks my appt liao thats fast! yup next week we will be 28 weeks le.. ya EDD 6 may too?

Jill: good luck! hope u can know baby gender so u can start shopping! ^^

pinktulip: yeah.. dou 3 months like so long.. but im abit kan cheong le. LOL that time i didnt sign package for my usual gynea see 1 time is 200+ but i go and see 2-3 visit they ask me sign up the 580 package so i wont spend too much. 300+ gynea is in TMC hospital that one quite expensive n gynea talk alot but i felt talk alot also no use.. haha u mean u now scan need to pay money? mine no need le.. mine that time 8 weeks i think i sign my 580 package all the way no need to pay for scans. free one.

2ks; LOL no matter how i dress or make up hor. my faces looks distorted haiz. so i try to tarhan and just dont keep looking at the mirror can liao. now the only thing if go CNY visiting is put fake eye lashes can liao. LOL got that everything is OK. hahaha

Rach: thanks 3rd trims should be 28 weeks. hehe i just ate a nasi lemak + 3 pc of lapis i cannot sit properly and breathe properly liao. aghrz.. and yes i heard BF also canont dye hair.. ARGHZ

Chiro: Online shopping le lor.. bo pian liao LOL i havent got backache yet.. but my below is quite numb.. sianz

worried: if nothing happen i will go for natural.. no.1 also natural. and i HOPE this time my water bag break it self n not doc poke to break it. cus i dont like THAT feeling. LOL

bewildered mine is always below.. last time dont have this problem.. i didnt c-sect before so i dont have pain at the bikini line there. i personally felt if ya income can take it.. just rest for awhile later then go back lor? for my no.1 that time i after birth i quit.. then a few 1-2yrs later my boss ask me come back to work again cus we all have been close. and i didnt regret tendering =) so it depends on u ba.

sleepskies: ya detail scan not TMC huh? hehe hopefully next visit u can see le!

baby movement
haha yday i was in my hub car listening to my korean pop song.. my bb actually like can hear.. she like kicking me with the music beat. LOL im like OMG... i felt no.2 inside respond like quite well than no.1 last time inside leh.. wah today thread quite fast!

Thx Mummies for sharing your tawts.. =)

Hmmm, have tawt of no pay leave but like what sleepyskies mentioned, will feel paiseh to other colleagues coz tt's like hogging one headcount of the Coy and then not being able to contribute and others hafta take my load.. flexi is nt really applicable in the current work place too coz no one tried before.. =p

True that tis better to be in a familiar environment.. hmm, but what 2ks shared on the part time clocking 56hrs sounds feasible.. coz as long as watch spending, then my share of the housing loan can be catered for the coupla mths fr the bank (tho heartache to see only outflow and no inflow..) or best still, if I can find a p/t job that will contribute CPF tt's just enough for my share of the housing loan.. =p then if can keep the benefit of the cc subsidy, shld settle most of the monetary concerns.. coz cc fees are no joke if the $300 subsidy's nt avail, works out to be additional of $3,600 pa..

worried: I'll be going for natural delivery, with epi. I have low threshold for pain. My #1 also, I quickly asked for epi cos gynae told me b4, if you've decided on epi, then ask for it earlier. The downside is I shivered badly and that I could not feel the urge to push.

thanks mummies.
my gynae told me most likely c-sec for me. that means i just admit on a designated date, and bb will be out on that day? my #1 was emergency c-sec, so no experience. anyway, what if bb designs to come out b4 the designated date???

charliebrown
i was supposed to go thru natural for my #1 too. had epi and me too, was shivering very badly. as if i m in a winter country. i asked for 2 blankets, but still shivering like nobody biz....

sleepyskies, chiro
Hmm, looks like the BP ones may not be authentic. But it could be leftover stocks from the factories too. Like not worth paying so much hor. For a peace of mind, buy authentic from Robinsons or credible online shops lor....

bewildered
i've been thinking and thinking for months about going on NPL. I think I'll go PT first. Then go NPL. Need a lot of $ to go on NPL. If not how to pay for insurance, etc. Those are monthly staples.

worried79
What did yr gynae say if we get contractions before "designated" C-sect date? Would it be a C-sect also? Is yr gynae pro VBAC? Vaginal Birth after C-sect.

Bbkk: yah loh. sibei sian. I also think he kia si. Scare Later girl I sue him. LOL!. he said he saw the ball ball la. LOL. But said need open leg then he can say 100% chop! confirm is boy =( Now I assume is boy lo. even hubby also assume boy.

sleepyskies: yah loh. I only got some white and yellow clothes. don dare commit too much on the color. wahh! Our baby wanna give CNY surprise ah! I told my hubby said:"u see la! everytime u don go with me.. baby don wanna show other pple. Next appointment u better go." so, I hope next appointment on 23 Feb baby can cooperate a bit lo. give daddy a one day belated birthday gift by confirming gender. wahahha! Ya. dono the leg why must close so tight!!! My gynae keep telling me got smtg there. between the v part. like balls. but he also don dare to commit. sian 1/2. My baby likes to sleep on my placenta! Literally lie flat and stick there my gynae said thats why hard to see =(

Worried79: me too!! I'm planning to go thru natural if possible since it's my #1. Hope I can tahan.

JC: so good! you didn't experience menses cramp before! You know a lot of experience mommies is freaking me out! As me don't listen to other mommies what experience the pain of what motherhood, need epidural just go ahead! don't torture myself...but I'm like...mmm..I wanna try eh. but my tolerance level not sure can a not. HAHAHA! Let's jiayou!!

fabbie: you're so funny! Actually I also feel that after preggy everything I wear looks so er xin and EXPANDED!! (-__-)!! feel like BREAKING THE MIRROR! and the skin condition not so good also. Your baby so K-Pop. haha. My baby hates hardrock music. was watching the voice on channel 5 during the weekend, and when the woman started singing rock song, my baby like so tends up!!! my tummy become so hard and hurts a little. then I rub rub and tap tap my tummy to calm baby down. LOL! Same like me...hear such music makes me headache. hahaha!

pinktulip
he did mention VBAC initially. but after saying some medicated terms, then he recommended that i go thru c-sec, will be easier and safer for me....

Xuan : hahahaa quite cute hor when baby hear the song can kick kick kick.. about my face no leh i see my pass photos when i after i give birth my no.1 i felt im like younger.. LOL sian la..maybe im old liao this time. ..Zzz haha

charliebrown: wah we about the same week but EDD different! but i hopefully hope to have may baby also. LOL but i got a feeling got to induce again..

is it painful to induce?
i ask the midwife during the class but she very simply just touch on the topic. She just mention will put the pill..if 6 hrs no reaction, will put another pill. Also, with injection or something.

I ask my gynae if i control well can carry to full term, she tell me 'no' because of some medical term. So i confirm will deliver in week 38.

if i didnt remember wrongly. mummies that have GD cannot carry baby to full term for some reasons.
thus usually 38 weeks will induce if havent labour

she menton this medical term but i can't remember what she say.

week 38 will just now fall on the same week as our ROM date. If i can choose, than i will choose that day to induce

congrats jill!! u can start shopping!!

JC: its not painful to induce dont worry.. induce is only dip only then make baby faster come out only =)

jill - congrats!!!! so happy for u! Time for more shopping and pink girly stuff!
You and your hb hoping for a girl?

fabbie - i cant rem who told me but they say induce v.painful de. the gynae will put a looong stick/rod/pole in....v.painful. i thought just put a pill will do or just needle and prick or something....

sleepyskies: i think u are referring to burst waterbag manually la.
some gynaes used their fingers, my gynae use a hook like thingy. its not that painful, just uncomfortable. its a very fast process, maybe less than 10s.

i think my gynae used the long hook thing to break my water bag too. the most uncomfortable thing i think is checking your cervix...cant stand it

Talking abt induce, is 16 hours considered long from putting pill to delivery? My #1 was like that and i already feel that its very long liao.

sleepyskies: lol mine use fingers.. wah got people use rod or stick or pole? sounds scary.. haha but people also say when full term ask to do with ya hub so let it naturally break water bag.. but i dont think any husband would dare to do that. hahah

worried: mine is dig dig dig then POke. faints.. its quite uncomfortable..

griny: mine is 12am go in. 7am pop liao. induce + epi.. u got jab epi??

fabbie
i dun know is dig or poke, but checking of cervix is like so many times....everytime they say check how many CM, i want to faint liao. really very uncomfortable lor

Haha. mommies...ask you all ah. when is it consider unsafe to do with hubby uh? LOL! like how many months shouldn't do with hubby already =X

I also heard before giving birth, the nurse will insert something to make you release everything right? Just in case, you 'poo' when u push too hard? mmm.. lol.

as long as u don't feel discomfort, i think can do till the day before u pop.

i see the pix during antenatal class. From outside into the Cervix, still got some road..cannot imagine the discomfort loh if put in finger to check.

i always tell my hubby. Woman very poor thing. Go see gynae kanna pop, still must pay $$

worried: LOL ya i know how it feels.. somemore mine is a MALE gynea LOL

Xuan from the day im pregnant i didnt do with my hub liao. LOL Ya.. they will insert u the pill in ya butt then u will poo like lau sai. that time i remember my doc break water bag then they insert the pill in my butt i went to toliet poo like hell. and i dont like it the TOLIET is quite OPEN so when u poo u will have alot of sounds. wah i totally hate that. so peiseh one lor.. Lol and the fart sound when u poo is like can last for u 5-10mins like that? hahah

JC: ya i felt woman really always in pain thats why when my gal came out i

fabbie
same lor, my also male gynae. but i used to it liao. thats why i stick to him, dun want to change gynae liao. must show your below one...shy lah. i agree lor, insert pill liao, like almost immediately need to go poo liao. but i think mine was quite fast lah

Xuan: They will insert enema into the anus then the effect's v fast, will have the feel to poop in like seconds..

worried79: sama sama, hate those VE checks, then always try to poke fingers inside, v painful.. but once on epidural and if the nurses perform the VE chks then cant feel much.. heh heh..

2Ks: for GD, gotta induce is it coz bb's size will get too big? coz think if with GD, bb seems to be bigger.. scary..

griny: for my #1, I had 2 pills inserted to induce and speed up the dilation, then aft being put on epidural, there was still another packet hanging there, supposedly to speed up dilation, but none of them worked and ended up, gotta do c-sect.. Gyn said tt dilation's too slow, but the first pill was inserted at noon and the c-sect was carried out at midnight, so basically, the time that was given to me to wait for natural was only like 12hrs.. Tis like really a short timeframe that was given.. =( so hoping tt this time round, will be smoother and can really try for natural..

So induce is like to start the contraction huh..than wait to be dilated?

I think goot thing abt induce is can prepare ahead like c sec minus the operation

griny: wah.. u dont have contractions or what mah? mine i think about 3am i ask for epi.. cus im like quite pain suddenly.. then the nurse say IF u want epi must tell me cus doc HALF an hr then come. im like WTH! forget it i want NOW then.. IF she didnt tell me.. maybe i will lun lor.. =( so wasted. but okai la. after the jam i have a very very good sleep LOL

Thank you ladies! i hope gynae is correct uh... cos 12 week i rem he told me 90% boy.. then 16 and 22nd week, he couldnt confirm until yday, 26 weeks... he say "definately" girl. LOL! So lets see man.. i dont wana get suprise during delivery.. haha

sleepyskies... haha my hubby hoped for girl first.. he say girl can take care of next sibling.. i have no particular preference as its our first child.

jill: congrats!

The discussion about the VE checks and the inserting of pills make me remember those times. The VE checks are very painful! The nurse still said I too tense that was why I shouted when she checked me.

The pill inserted to make me poo before delivery also worked very fast for me. Cos I was admitted to hospital as my water bag broke, then with this pooing and the fluid..wah, messy man. I also did not know what I was doing and just went through the "motion". lol

We mummies are very Wei Da.

haiz my bil always spray pesticide in his room and till now, thk i have sniffed about 4-5 times of pesticide liao thou he closed his room. but aft a while. when he openedhis room, the pesticide smell will spread to other parts of the hse. am worried for the health of my bb. sianz