(2013/05) May 2013

Nlimm: gynae nvr gimme multivitamins.. I had to request for it lo.. cuz I think usually buy from pharmacy themselves wor. I dun have fish oil..

Debbie: I took strepsils n pi pa gao.. Hee

Debbie : I also have sore throat . I was given mac lozenges after assess by doc .

Iko: I am taking new obimin prenatal vitamins and Natalie forte fish oil as prescribed by doc . They are available in the pharmacy

Debbie, y don't u try honey and lemon? I take the Eu Yan San Manuka honey for my job n it really works. U may wanna consider

Went to see gynae this morning, a bit surprised that my weight is 49kg...lighter than pre-pregnancy weight. o.o

Quite relieved bb is ok, heart beat normal and size is fine for 17 weeks. Cannot see gender yet cos umbilical cord between the legs, so cheeky. Doc said pink discharge might be due to some infection, some blood shed together with other discharge caused by pregnancy hormones. Just have to monitor closely.

Went window shopping after that. :D

Tampines sale
The tampines baby sale was full of ppl, I see a few lugging big plastic of clothes... I dun see much choices though. No newborn clothes, the smallest is from 6 months and very messy with limited designs.

Baby expo
Yea nlimm the expo nothing much, quite a few rompers sale and I think the selection much better than the tampines... But I can't find anything close to what I shortlisted in Carters.com

Philips avent sterilizer selling at 99, usual 159. Not sure if that's a good deal?

Other sales
There's 10% discount for combi at baby kingdom, taising(distributor) and at takashimaya till end of dec. Taka got sale for other brands too for the prams and car seats, and there's bundles of Medela/Philips pumps and bottles.

Wanna get the combi pram with 10% discount but not sure that's too early. >.<

Chiro: u r so light!! Weighing scale got problem izzit? Hee.. my bb also got e cord in between the legs in e last scan..but doc said like nth portruding.. so likely a girl..

Re: fish oil
Abit worried now tt I'm missing out on the fish oil supplement all e while.. Hope wun affect my bb development.. gg to check out e pharmacy ltr.. haiz! Can't sleep liao..

Mummies wanna check something, after peeing do you all feel tightness at the tummy area ? I do have that kind of feeling everytime after visiting the toilet.

Iko: same I'm taking the new obimin and fish oil. Dun worry too much, u try go pharmacy see can get. It's still not too late to take now.

JC: if I'm not wrong is week27. But better if you can get a letter from the gynae, in case some officers super kniao.

Debbie: me too take strepsils and pi pa gao.

morning mummies... i went to the baby expo yesterday... waste time... nothing much... but die die must buy some stuff, so end up bought 12 pairs of mittens, 2 jumpsuits, 2 training pants for my daughter, 7 pairs of socks... i think wait for the one in March... that should be more... i haven't sign up for cordlife yet though...

oops just checked.. next fair is 24-26 Feb... then after that no more until we pop...

Baby kicks - i can feel it more now and even from the outside... gonna get more fun... woohoo...

Thanks mummies, will get pipa gao and buy some manuka honey. Just saw doctor also. Throat and cough so terrible -.-

Iko, I just started taking fish oil supplements recently. Don't worry you're not missing out a lot. My friend is scared of swallowing big tablets and capsules. She didn't take any fish oil supplements at all throughout her entire pregnancy. Her daughter also very smart heehee. Anyway my gynae say not all fish oil suitable for preggy. They must have the suitable EPA and DHA combination. I only know neurogain. I taking DHAxtra. Don't know if can get at pharmacy.

Anyone know when is the next Taka fair coming up? Can't wait for it!!

Have a good weekend mummies!

Vi: How Do u know if the multivitamins contain fish oil? I just chk mine.. din state fish oil or dha leh..

Debbie/Esther : tks for e info.. phew!

Think feb fair is just nice. By than all of us shd know the gender

I so wan to go for a last trip before my 3rd trim.my hubby say we can go bkk. Hopefully can make it lah..

WTS: Duphaston 10mg tablets

6 tablets left.

Selling at $5 for all 6.
Expiriing in March 2015.

Self collect at Tiong Bahru MRT.
Clementi MRT and Jurong East MRT on weekdays only.

Pls PM if interested.

Iko0508, I m taking the brand called gan ilia. It is meant for pregnancy n lactation.
There is dha n EPA in it.

I asked the nurse, n she told me I do not haf to eat additional fish oil coz this pill includes all. Plus, no fishy smell too....
That is all I m taking now...two pills a day

Debbie : I take Manuka honey everyday leh. It's natural so I think should be okay. Wish u a speedy recovery.

Am also taking Ganilia and no fish oil

Can I know how baby kicks feel like? I feel some movement on the upper belly yesterday and today

hi mummies, do u guyz know by when can we travel till?
Thought of planning for a trip in feb'12 but not sure whether it will be too late to travel ;)

Morning everyoneeee

Fabbie/Tsm/ half boiled egg:
Ya endure for another few more mths hehe. It was my favourite last time too but fortunately for this preggy i cant stand the smell:p

Chiro/ Esther:
Haha end up I went expo fri sat n sun but sat n sun solely in popular sale , got $100 worth of bks :p

Chiro:
Gd to hear tt u n bb r fine
combi pram: maybe u wait for taka sale? I always see combi pram have sale

Iko:
No worries start now la coz fish oil we generally start in 2nd trim.Plus u shd have fish in ur daily meal right. Get pure fish oil better, y nOT u call in n ask if can just buy fr the nurse or outside pharmacy. For my Gynae, if ever I'm short of supplement I will just SMS her n she get her nurse to prepare for me n Hb goes n collect .

Esther:
Not for me after pee I feel so relieve hehe b4which so ' tight'

Baby Maine/ all/ Taka fair-24-26feb:
Wanna make this our 1st cheonging cum hitea gathering ?

Darche:
Guessed u Better check w the airline u taking I rem some take preggy women till wk32 some till wk 35 depends on which wk u in beside ur own health condition.

morning ladies...

am doing my detailed scan tomorrow... so exciting...

Had severe shoulder ache last weekend at night... wondering whether it's rheumatism bcos of the cold weather at night...

Anyone stayed in an aircon room during confinement? was talking to hubbs last night and just rem that i probably cant stay in a aircon room and he cant live wo aircon...

Had been a tiring weekend for me. My #1 down with flu, cough and fever. She is super stick to me over the weekend. Think I am getting her flu and feeling a bit of sore throat.

Bbkk,
Yes, my #1 is a girl oso.

Taka baby fair:
Gd to know that its ard end Feb. Seem like the duration not very long this time. I look forward to Taka baby fair too. I always go there and buy cartons of huggies diapers. Usually buy above $150 got free delivery. But I think usually its fair is ard March and sept like that.

dian tang: I am using Combi miracle turn, a gift from friend. It is light weight and easy to handle. Just that, when the child is not in the pram, and if you hang too heavy things at the handle, it will over-turn. Also, I feel that it is not as spacious as Maclaren. cos now my boy is a toddler, he looks squeezy in it.

dian tang
same here, i m using the Combi miracle turn, so far, it has been useful. same like charliebrown, my toddler looks squeezy in it. my sis says that should condemn it liao, but i thot its still very useful.

iko0508
your appt on 2 jan is detailed scan? my apptmt is also on 2 jan! will be 20 weeks by then. hopefully can know gender too

Good morning mummies! Brand new week n Christmas is just ard the corner..
can't wait for the week to end fast!!!

Btw, I went to expo baby fair ytd. The romper there are real cheap. Bought a few rompers, mittens, blanket swaddles and cloth nappies. Any mummies using cloths napies for your babies?? What do you think of cloths nappy?? I bought like a dozen. Wonder if its too many??

Charliebrown and worried 79: thanks for the comments. That is what i hear abt the overturn issue. Haha.. but i think i prefer light pram . May look ard for other brands.

Detailed scan: mine is on 03 Jan 2013 too!

Shirley, cloth nappy can use a few for swaddle or as protection on the bed. I dun use for nappy, most often use diaper. Lazy to keep washing. Dozen is a lot, but never mind lah. Can use in other area.

My detailed scan on 29 dec, quite close to some of you here ladies

shirley
i bought 2 dozens of cloth nappies for my #1, more kiasu than u. only used it for a few days when CL was still around. i find it abit troublesome though...so in the end, never use it as nappy, i used it as a cloth to put on bb's pillow, but when bb is younger, i just used the nappy as a "pillow". need to do alot of washing if using cloth nappy

Hi morning!

Combi pram: dian tang, same with u ,I oso planning to buy a Combi pram but might b changed now coz hearing the overturn prob from Charliebrown and worried 79.

Btw, which brand of pram with light weight and easy to fold? Mummies have any suggestion?

Dian Tang - I'm going to get Combi Miracle Turn Premier. What I heard is it's very light so have to be careful if you wanna hang your bag on it, then some mummies said the seat abit squeezy as the baby becomes toddler. Think no stroller is perfect. I'm choosing this model cos it's light enough for me and it's easy for me to close the pram. Peg Perego is more stable but I find the closing super complicated lol.

iko0508 - My gynae said fish oil is optional, since no proven study that it is necessary. I bought 21st Century Fish Oil, it's distilled and free from mercury. Maybe you wanna look around in the pharmacy first?

nlimm - Okies I will wait for the next Taka sale then! Cos now buy seems too early, by the time baby got to use become old pram liao lol.

tsm,
no lah, charliebrown and me are saying that our toddlers outgrow the pram liao. the miracle turn is a bonus, coz u can actually turn your pram 360degrees with ease one, very easy to use. but as a newborn, i think combi is really not bad, partly becoz i have not tried other brands, so u might want to hear more views from other mummies first

Bbkk: ya lo. My mum psycho me to get it. I guess I can only use it on other areas. Bo bian..
my detailed scan in on Christmas eve. Will we be able to make the result on the very day itself? Cos my gyne will be the one doing it for me.. Any idea??

Worried79: I am also very annoyed by the fact that need to wash. Like super sian. Probably I will use like half of it if baby Gt rashes due to wearing diapers. The other 6 will be on other areas.

Prams: I know nuts abt prams.. Thought wanna get maclaren brand.. Is it good?? Don't know should buy before baby comes out or after..

Shirley,
I used cloth nappies (those traditional type that need to fold) during daytime from my #1’s birth till 1 week after my CL left. I oso lined the nappies with disposable nappy liners so that its easier to clear the poo. Used about 6 to 10 nappies each day. The nappies needs to be changed once wet and its hard to remove the stains when they poo.. I feel that the tedious part for cloth nappies are frequent changing, washing and takes up a lot space when drying. I already cannot cope with taking care the baby, bf and housework (takes up too much time) that time so gave up on cloth nappies in the end.
On the other hand, cloth nappies are have other uses like folding it to make it a pillow for the baby, light blanket and swaddling (but she always break free from the swaddle)

Pram: actually my fren maybe passing pram to me which pass down from her fren too. But I am not sure abt the condition of it. Kind of like combi cos the handle can be flexible . Sorry I haven t do studies on pram yet , so I only know combi can do it. How abt maclaren?

shirley
i agree wif griny. maybe u can try it when your CL is around for the first month, then decide whether u want to carry on. first mth CL doing the washing, and when i noticed need to change so many times, plus the washing, not an easy job, thats why i gave up, rather use diapers lor

Fool4love:
Ya during my #1 me n most of my Frds in aircon rm hehe. This one definitely ba, I'm aldy a scare cold pax but usually during CL u will feel warmer then normal n when we deliver may June r hot mths definitely on aircon

Worried/Iko:
How come ur appt interval so far away de I thought ard3-4 wks interval?

Shirley:
Mine maclaren but 7 kg
I no choice coz I wan bigger pram so can last longer fortunately I got this coz my boy is tall n quite big size those lighter r smaller hes longer then those when he's 1yr plus . Maclaren has lighter one ard5kg but smaller.But I shd be getting a light weight one this round as in future when bb in pram,#1 will nag to be on pram ba at times see how 1st.

Cloth nappies:
Shirley how much u paid for it there? I be getting a box during taka fair shd be cheaper. Ntuc giant selling at $19.90 a box.

Griny:
Wahh ur CL so nice use cloth nappies! Wash like siao lor. After calculate electricity cost n water cost etc Hb said just use diaper haha plus our Plc not much sun difficult to dry.

Nlimm,
I asked my CL if she is ok with cloth nappies, she agreed even though I can see her reluctant expression. I oso considered the use of utility bills but more of the hassle part, so switch to disposable instead. Daytime used cheaper brand like Pet Pet and huggies ultra for night time.

Prams:
I have 2 strollers currently. Both have its pros and cons.
1st one is Graco pram, passed down from my colleague, its not light weight, used it more frequently when my #1 was younger (since birth). Dunno whether its pass down, it seems like manoeuvring it is not no gd, I can feel some resistance when I turn left or right. But I like it bcos the wheels are quite big and its easy to go over humps and uneven roads. It does not turn over easily.
I bought a 2nd cheapo stroller called Seebaby from Qoo10 recently. Its super light weight that I can lift it with 1 hand, very easy to manoeuvre so gd for travelling to nearby places. However, it gd for older kids as it does not recline flat, cannot hang things on the handle as it will topple without a child and going on uneven paths can be harder due to small wheels.

For those have not got the pram, imo, there is no hurry to get it. U can buy it after your baby is born. Let your baby try on the pram whether he/she likes it or not den decide to buy the pram.

nlimm
i thot now our apptmt is once every mth? i also feel that its very long...but what to do....now can only see bb once a mth

Worried /diantang /bbkk /nlimm: yupz!! Detailed scan on 2jan..now 2nd tri my appt is 4wks apart.. lidat also good la.. if not v siong on wallet..

Chiro/nlimm: it's optional? No wonder tt time I ask e nurse she keep saying No need.. cuz I can't speak canto n I tot e nurse dunno wat I'm talking.. language barrier.. then sometimes I dunno How to say it in Chinese.. aiyo!

Fool4love: me lo.. I sleep in aircon.. cannot survive the hot weather in Sg esp if u bathe with e hot herbal water.. I even wash hands with tap water..

Cloth Nappies
I would want to try out part time cloth diapering, using those modern kind like Bumwear. Any mummies using?

I m thinking of cloth diapers
like what some of u say, use nappy liner

prams, haf not decide on it. thinking whether to buy or not
maybe wait til BB is born

gg to see gynae tml. maybe fix my detail scan